DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of group I (Claims 1-5,7-9, and 11-16) in the reply filed 23 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicants’ election of the macrostructure as shown on page 17 of the reply filed 23 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17, 19, 21-23 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 April 2026.
Claims 1-5,7-9, and 11-16 are under consideration.
Status of Claims
The claim listing filed 23 April 2026 is pending. Claims 17, 19, 21-23 and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration for the reasons set forth above, 37 CFR 1.142(b). Claims 1-5,7-9, and 11-16 are being examined on the merits of this office action.
The search was expanded to the full scope of the elected inventive group (Group I). The closest match to the elected macrostructure species is described as the macrostructure as described in Arora (US 2018/0162907 A1).
The restriction between groups I-IV is maintained.
Priority
The present application claims status as a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/US21/65055 filed 23 December 2021, and claims priority under 119(a)-(d) to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/131,103 filed 28 December 2020. Applicants claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365 (c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDSs) submitted on 28 June 2023 and 10 April 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements are being considered by the examiner.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834 because it does not contain a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure. A “Sequence Listing XML” is required because claim 1 contains two formulas, both formulas consisting of 16 amino acids each. Per MPEP §2422, sequences containing more than 4 or more amino acids must be assigned a SEQ ID NO:.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2.; together with
o A statement that indicates the basis for the amendment, with specific references to particular parts of the application as originally filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(3);
o A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(4)
AND
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
o A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5,7-9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the claim language “particularly preferred”, which renders the limitations of the claim unclear due to there being no clear indication on if the claims require such limitations or not.
Additionally, claim 1 recites the phrases "preferred residues" (See the table in claim 1) and “(or analogue of any of the preceding residues)” (See the table in claim 1, pg. 4 of the claims), which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following/proceeding the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, page 2 of the claim set defines the variables of the first coil of formula I and the second coil of formula II as being independently absent or any residues selected from a group consisting of modified or unmodified amino acid residues and analogues thereof, then the claim redefines the variables in the Table. For example, aX2 is listed as being any hydrophobic residue. The scope of the claim is not clearly delineated.
Also regarding claim 1, the claims states that the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous amino acids but then says the “at least ten contiguous amino acids” have a formula of 16 amino acids. This renders the claim indefinite due to it not being clear weather the first and second coils of the macrostructure comprise 10 contiguous amino acids or 16 amino acids. The complete scope of the claims is not clearly delineated.
Claims 2-5,7-9, and 11-16 depend from claim 1 (either directly or indirectly) while not providing more clarity and therefore are also subject to the rejections stated above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the claim language “(where PG is a protecting group)” which renders the limitations of the claim unclear due to there being no clear indication on if the claims require such limitations or not. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the claim language “(preferably O, S, CH2 or NR)” which renders the limitations of the claim unclear due to there being no clear indication on if the claims require such limitations or not. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the claim language “(where PG is a protecting group)” which renders the limitations of the claim unclear due to there being no clear indication on if the claims require such limitations or not. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Additionally, claim 12 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it recites that the macrostructure of claim 1, is an antiparallel coiled coil being formula III, wherein each residue has the formula “
”. This, after depending from claim 1, wherein each residue is either any residue or any hydrophobic residue, renders the claim language indefinite. The claim is indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to tell whether the residues are to be any residue/any hydrophobic residue or if each residue is required to have the formula above without explicit guidance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is drawn to the formula of the antiparallel coiled-coil having the formula as shown below. The claims are indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain where the points of connection are on the helical and two-dimensional views of the macrostructure without explicit guidance due to the indefinite nature of the specification listing that the dashes indicate an optional linker (see page 38 of the specification).
and
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “macrostructure is CHDsos-1, CHDsos-2, CHDsos-3, CHDsos-4, or CHDsos-5”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what “CHDsos-1, CHDsos-2, CHDsos-3, CHDsos-4, or CHDsos-5” is meant to represent. The specification shows CHDsos-1, CHDsos-2, CHDsos-3, CHDsos-4, or CHDsos-5 to be compounds comprising various amino acid sequences; however, the claim does not recite these sequences and it is improper to read limitations from the specification into the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a composition comprising natural products without significantly more, due to the results of the following subject matter eligibility test using the generic claim, claim 1.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes. The claim is to “A macrostructure comprising an antiparallel coiled-coil, wherein the antiparallel coiled-coil comprises: a first coil of Formula I and a second coil of Formula II:T1-g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2 d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3-f3-T2 (I) T3-f'0-g'0-a'1-b'1-c'1-d'1-e'1-f'1-g'1-a'2-b'2-c'2-d'2-e'2-f'2-g'2-a'3-b'3-c'3-d'3-e'3-T4 (II)”.
Step 2A: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?
Yes. The claim is directed to a natural phenomenon (an antiparallel coiled coil comprising a first and second coiled coil). Premchandar et al. (“Structural Dynamics of the Vimentin Coiled-coil Contact Regions Involved in Filament Assembly as Revealed by Hydrogen-Deuterium Exchange.” J Biol Chem. 2016 Nov 25;291(48):24931-24950. doi: 10.1074/jbc.M116.748145. Epub 2016 Sep 30. PMID: 27694444; PMCID: PMC5122765.) teaches vimentin, a natural structural protein used to form intermediate filaments inside cells, being an antiparallel coiled-coil wherein the coiled coil comprises a first and second coil where the first and the second coil comprise at least ten contiguous residues wherein the ten have the formula described in the instant claim 1 (See pg. 24934, figure 1; See pg. 24947, Table 1; pg. 24931, “The fundamental principles of the filament assembly mechanism and the network formation have been widely elucidated for the cytoplasmic IF protein vimentin. … IF proteins form extended coiled coils that associate into macromolecular assemblies under a broad range of ionic conditions.”; pg. 24932, “The rod consists of two equally sized α-helical subdomains termed coil 1 (146 amino acids) and coil 2 (140 amino acids), which are connected by the 16-amino acid-long non-α-helical linker segment L12 … The first step in vimentin assembly is the formation of in-parallel and in-register coiled-coil dimers; two of these dimers associate into an antiparallel, approximately half-staggered tetramer…; pg. 24948, "Peptides of the following sequences 1A, 102NEKVELQELNDRFANYIDKVRFLEQQNKILLAELEQL138, 2A, 264DLTAALRDVRQQYESVAAKNLQEAEEWYKSKFADL298, and 2B, 383YQDLLNVKMALDIEIA TYRKLLEGEESRIS412 that covered the regions of interest in vimentin were obtained by chemical synthesis …").
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. The claim recites the limitation "A macrostructure comprising an antiparallel coiled-coil, wherein the antiparallel coiled-coil comprises: a first coil of Formula I and a second coil of Formula II". Describing the antiparallel coiled-coil as a "macrostructure" does not add any additional elements that amount to significantly more that the judicial exception to the claimed invention.
Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application does not recite a composition with elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and is subject to this rejection.
Claim 16 does not include any additional elements that are sufficient enough to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because while the claim 16 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising a macrostructure according to claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle. A pharmaceutically suitable vehicle could be water, a natural product. According to the FDA (“Water for pharmaceutical use.” U.S. Food and Drug Administration. (2014, August 27). https://www.fda.gov/inspections-compliance-enforcement-and-criminal-investigations/inspection- technical-guides/water-pharmaceutical-use), water can be used in the manufacture of pharmaceuticals, and that potable water used for the manufacture of drug products is primarily obtained from municipal water systems or natural sources like wells, rivers, or ponds (pgs. 1-2 ,“This ITG will cover the different types of water used in the manufacture of drug products. THE 8 TYPES OF WATER ARE:
1. Non-potable
2. Potable (drinkable) water
3. USP purified water
4. USP water for injection (WFI) …
The USP defines acceptable means of producing the various types of component waters. USP WFI may be made only by distillation or reverse osmosis.
Potable water is obtained primarily from municipal water systems but may also be drawn from wells, rivers, or ponds.”). Therefore, the addition of “a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle” does not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 due to each component of the composition being drawn to a natural product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Premchandar et al., hereafter “Premchandar” (“Structural Dynamics of the Vimentin Coiled-coil Contact Regions Involved in Filament Assembly as Revealed by Hydrogen-Deuterium Exchange.” J Biol Chem. 2016 Nov 25;291(48):24931-24950. doi: 10.1074/jbc.M116.748145. Epub 2016 Sep 30. PMID: 27694444; PMCID: PMC5122765.).
Regarding claim 1, Premchandar teaches vimentin, an intermediate filament (IF) protein, associating in to an antiparallel tetramer comprising a first and a second coil, wherein the first and second coils where each amino acid is selected from either any amino acid or any hydrophobic residue (See pg. 24934, figure 1; See pg. 24947, Table 1; pg. 24931, “The fundamental principles of the filament assembly mechanism and the network formation have been widely elucidated for the cytoplasmic IF protein vimentin. … IF proteins form extended coiled coils that associate into macromolecular assemblies under a broad range of ionic conditions.”; pg. 24932, “The rod consists of two equally sized α-helical subdomains termed coil 1 (146 amino acids) and coil 2 (140 amino acids), which are connected by the 16-amino acid-long non-α-helical linker segment L12 … The first step in vimentin assembly is the formation of in-parallel and in-register coiled-coil dimers; two of these dimers associate into an antiparallel, approximately half-staggered tetramer”).
Additionally, Premchandar teaches the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous residues, wherein those "at least 10 contiguous residues" have formulas corresponding to the limitations described in the table embedded into the instant claim 1 (pg. 24948, "Peptides of the following sequences 1A, 102NEKVELQELNDRFANYIDKVRFLEQQNK ILLAELEQL138, 2A, 264DLTAALRDVRQQYESVAAKNLQE AEEWYKSKFADL298, and 2B, 383YQDLLNVKMALDIEIA TYRKLLEGEESRIS412 that covered the regions of interest in vimentin were obtained by chemical synthesis").
Premchandar also teaches that vimentins form homopolymers and that the assembly process can be arrested at the unit-length filament (ULF) stage and that replacing a tyrosine with a more hydrophobic amino acid (leucine) completely stops assembly at the ULF stage (pg. 24933, “ULFs very rapidly form followed by a less dynamic longitudinal annealing reaction of ULFs with each other and of ULFs with short filaments … Interestingly, this very dynamic reaction can be completely stopped by a single amino acid change in this domain of coil 1A, i.e. mutating a highly conserved and bulky tyrosine to leucine at position 117 of human vimentin, Y117L (28). Also, the corresponding mutation of tyrosine to a leucine on the other end of the-helical rod in coil 2B, i.e. at position 400 (Y400L), produces the same effect, a complete stop of assembly at the ULF state”).
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arora (US 2018/0162907 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arora teaches a macrostructure comprising an antiparallel coiled-coil, where the first coil is Formula II and the second coil is Formula II wherein each residue is independently absent or a residue that is a modified or unmodified amino acid residue, wherein the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous residues, ([0008] “One aspect of the present invention relates to a macrostructure. This macrostructure includes: (i) an antiparallel coiled-coil structure wherein: each ◯ and each ⊗ is independently absent or a modified or unmodified amino acid residue or analogue thereof, with the proviso that at least seven contiguous amino acid residues/analogues are present in each coil, wherein a, b, c, d, e, f, g, a′, b′, c′, d′, e′, f′, and g′ indicate the location of the amino acid residues/analogues within the coiled-coil structure … ”; [0032] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I: g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3-f3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f′1-g′1-a′2-b′2-c′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3- b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”; [0105] “Another aspect of the present invention is a parallel coiled-coil of formula II: f0-g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f1-g′1-a′2-b′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3-b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”; [0181] “… each
is a point of attachment from a terminal nitrogen to H … each
is a point of attachment from a terminal carbonyl to H …”).
Regarding claim 2, Arora teaches that the length of the linker between g and g’ amino acids being 10-25 and the linkers between an a and d amino acid being 5-15 Å ([0008] “each Linker A is independently a linker between a g* amino acid residue and a g′* amino acid residue, wherein the length of the linker is such that the spatial distance between the Cα position of the g* amino acid residue and the Cα position of the g′* amino acid residue is 10-25 Å; each Linker B is independently a linker between an a* amino acid residue and a d′* amino acid residue, wherein the length of the linker is such that the spatial distance between the Cα position of the a* amino acid residue and the Cα position of the d′* amino acid residue is 5-15 Å”).
Regarding claim 3, Arora teaches g0, a1, b1, c1, d1, e1, f1, g1, a2, b2, c2, d2, e2, f2, g2, and a3, are present in the first coil and at least d′1, e′1, f′1, g′1, a′2, b′2, c′2, d′2, e′2, f2, g′2, a′3, b′3, c′3, d′3, and e′3 are present in the second coil ([0032] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I: g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3-f3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f′1-g′1-a′2-b′2-c′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3- b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”; [0105] “Another aspect of the present invention is a parallel coiled-coil of formula II: f0-g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f1-g′1-a′2-b′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3-b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”).
Regarding claim 4, Arora teaches each residue having the formula
([0080] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I wherein: a1, a2, a3, d1, d2, d3, a′1, a′2, a′3, d′1, d′2, and d′3 each independently have the formula (a)
… e1, e2, e3, g1, g2, e′1, e′2, e′3, g′0, g′1, and g′2 each independently have the formula (b) and g0 has the formula (b′)
.”
Regarding claim 5, Arora teaches the linker between at least 1 residue pair having the formula —Zn—, wherein n is a number from 1 to 25 and Z is independently selected at each occurrence thereof from the group comprising alkylene ([0254] “Suitable examples of linkers between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 in Formula I, and linkers for g0-e′1, g1-e′2, g2-e′3, e1-g′0, e2-g′1, and e3-g′2 in Formula II) include, without limitation, those having the formula —Zn—, wherein n is a number from 1 to 25 … and each Z is independently selected at each occurrence thereof from the group consisting of alkylene, … ”).
Regarding claim 7, Arora teaches that a linker between at least one of residue pairs g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 having the formula
(formula of group a)
and
(formula of group b)
where in the X is O, X1 is O, R is H, and Y is S ([0254] “In at least one embodiment, the linker between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2…) has the following formula [see formula of group a above]… wherein X is O, S, CR2, NR, or P (preferably O, S, CH2 or NR), wherein X1 is O, S, NH, and NR, wherein each R is independently H, alkyl, or aryl, wherein Y is S…”; [0266] “In at least one embodiment, the linker between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 in Formula I, and linkers for g0-e′1, g1-e′2, g2-e′3, e1-g′0, e2-g′1, and e3-g′2 in Formula II) has the following formula [see formula of group b above]… wherein X is O, S, CR2, NR, or P (preferably O, S, CH2 or NR), wherein X1 is O, S, C, CR, N, NH, and NR, wherein each R is independently H, alkyl, or aryl, wherein Y is S”).
Regarding claim 8, Arora teaches that a linker between one of residue pairs g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 having the formula
(formula of group b)
([[0266] “In at least one embodiment, the linker between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 in Formula I, and linkers for g0-e′1, g1-e′2, g2-e′3, e1-g′0, e2-g′1, and e3-g′2 in Formula II) has the following formula [see formula of group b above]… wherein X is O…, wherein X1 is … C …, wherein Y is S…”).
Regarding claim 9, Arora teaches that least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently selected from the group consisting of disulfides, diselenides, C1-8 alkylene, C2-8 alkenylene, arylene, heteroarylene, triazole-diyl, and thiazole-diyl ([0075] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I wherein at least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently selected from the group consisting of disulfides, diselenides, C1-8 alkylene, C2-8 alkenylene, arylene, heteroarylene, triazole-diyl, and thiazole-diyl.”).
Regarding claim 11, Arora teaches that least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently a disulfide bond from a cysteine or homocysteine residue, a diselenide from a selenocysteine residue, an alkylene from an allylglycine residue, or an arylene linker ([0076] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I wherein at least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently a disulfide bond from a cysteine or homocysteine residue, a diselenide from a selenocysteine residue, an alkylene from an allylglycine residue, or an arylene linker.”).
Regarding claim 12, Arora teaches the antiparallel coiled coil as being formula III where each dotted line is an optional linker and each independently have the formula
where R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d are each independently hydrogen, when a Linker B or a Linker C is attached to a residue of formula (a), the Linker B or Linker C is attached to or replaces one of R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d , each R4 in Formula III is independently hydrogen, and each R5 in Formula III is independently selected from the group consisting of H ([0280] “In a preferred embodiment of the compounds of the present invention, the antiparallel coiled-coil structure is an antiparallel coiled-coil of Formula III:
wherein: * represents the residue to which an optional linker may be attached; a1*, a2*, a3*, b1, b2, b3, c1, c2, c3, d*1, d2*, d3*, e1*, e2*, e3*, f1, f2, f3, g0*, g1*, g2*, a1′*, a3′*, b1′, b2′, b3′, c1′, c2′, c3′, d1′*, d2′*, d3′, e1′, e2′*, e3′*, f0′, f1′, f2′, g0′*, g1′*, and g2′* are each independently absent or a modified or unmodified amino acid residue or analogue thereof, with the proviso that at least seven contiguous amino acid residues/analogues are present in each coil; a1*, a2*, a3*, d1*, d2*, d3*, a1′*, a2′*, a3′*, d1′*, d2′*, and d3′* each independently have the formula (a)
e1*, e2, e3*, g1*, g2*, e1′*, e2′*, e3′*, g0′*, g1′*, and g2′* each independently have the formula (b) and g0* has the formula (b′)
”; [0081] “… where R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d are each independently hydrogen…”, [0082] “…when a Linker B or a Linker C is attached to a residue of formula (a), the Linker B or Linker C is attached to or replaces one of R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d …”; [0087] “…each R4 in Formula III is independently hydrogen…”; [0088] “…and each R5 in Formula III is independently selected from the group consisting of H…”).
Regarding claim 13, Arora teaches that in one embodiment of the macrostructure, one of R1a and R1c is an amino acid side chain and (ii) Rib, Rid, and the other of Ria and Ric are each independently a hydrogen ([0297]“ In a preferred embodiment, (i) one of R1a and R1c is the side chain of a modified or unmodified amino acid … and (ii) R1b, R1d, and the other of R1a and R1c are each independently hydrogen, …”).
Regarding claim 14, Arora teaches the antiparallel coiled-coil having the formula
([0008] “One aspect of the present invention relates to a macrostructure . This macrostructure includes : ( i ) an antiparallel coiled - coil structure of formula : [see helical wheel view and two-dimensional view above]…”).
Regarding claim 16, Arora teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a macrostructure according to claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle ([0323] “Another aspect of the present invention relates to pharmaceutical formulations comprising any of the above described compounds of the present invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Premchandar et al., hereafter “Premchandar” (“Structural Dynamics of the Vimentin Coiled-coil Contact Regions Involved in Filament Assembly as Revealed by Hydrogen-Deuterium Exchange.” J Biol Chem. 2016 Nov 25;291(48):24931-24950. doi: 10.1074/jbc.M116.748145. Epub 2016 Sep 30. PMID: 27694444; PMCID: PMC5122765.), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arora (US 2018/0162907 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Premchandar teaches vimentin, an intermediate filament (IF) protein, associating in to an antiparallel tetramer comprising a first and a second coil, wherein the first and second coils where each amino acid is selected from either any amino acid or any hydrophobic residue (See pg. 24934, figure 1; See pg. 24947, Table 1). Premchandar teaches that vimentin has linkers (pg. 24934, “Non-helical N-terminal (head) and C-terminal (tail) domains as well as linkers L1 and L12 are represented by thick black lines”).
Additionally, Premchandar teaches the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous residues, wherein those "at least 10 contiguous residues" have formulas corresponding to the limitations described in the table embedded into the instant claim 1 (pg. 24948, "Peptides of the following sequences 1A, 102NEKVELQELNDRFANYIDKVRFLEQQNK ILLAELEQL138, 2A, 264DLTAALRDVRQQYESVAAKNLQE AEEWYKSKFADL298, and 2B, 383YQDLLNVKMALDIEIA TYRKLLEGEESRIS412 that covered the regions of interest in vimentin were obtained by chemical synthesis").
Premchandar does not teach the macrostructure of claim 1, wherein the linker between residue pairs g0-g'2, g1-g'1, g2-g'0, e1-e'3, e2-e'2, and e3-e'1 is such that the spatial distance between the Cα positions of each residue in the pair is 10-25 Å; and the length of any linker between residue pairs d1-a'3, d2-a'2, and d3-a'1 is such that the spatial distance between the Cα positions of each residue in the pair is 5-15 Å.
Arora teaches a macrostructure comprising an antiparallel coiled-coil, where the first coil is Formula II and the second coil is Formula II wherein each residue is independently absent or a residue that is a modified or unmodified amino acid residue, wherein the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous residues, ([0008] “One aspect of the present invention relates to a macrostructure. This macrostructure includes: (i) an antiparallel coiled-coil structure wherein: each ◯ and each ⊗ is independently absent or a modified or unmodified amino acid residue or analogue thereof, with the proviso that at least seven contiguous amino acid residues/analogues are present in each coil, wherein a, b, c, d, e, f, g, a′, b′, c′, d′, e′, f′, and g′ indicate the location of the amino acid residues/analogues within the coiled-coil structure … ”; [0032] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I: g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3-f3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f′1-g′1-a′2-b′2-c′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3- b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”; [0105] “Another aspect of the present invention is a parallel coiled-coil of formula II: f0-g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f1-g′1-a′2-b′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3-b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”; [0181] “… each
is a point of attachment from a terminal nitrogen to H … each
is a point of attachment from a terminal carbonyl to H …”). Arora also teaches that the length of the linker between g and g’ amino acids being 10-25 and the linkers between an a and d amino acid being 5-15 Å ([0008] “each Linker A is independently a linker between a g* amino acid residue and a g′* amino acid residue, wherein the length of the linker is such that the spatial distance between the Cα position of the g* amino acid residue and the Cα position of the g′* amino acid residue is 10-25 Å; each Linker B is independently a linker between an a* amino acid residue and a d′* amino acid residue, wherein the length of the linker is such that the spatial distance between the Cα position of the a* amino acid residue and the Cα position of the d′* amino acid residue is 5-15 Å”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use the antiparallel coiled coil of vimentin as taught in Premchandar and modify it with the teaching of Arora due to both references teaching antiparallel coiled-coils and Arora teaching a range of acceptable linker lengths. Both Premchandar and Arora teach an antiparallel coiled-coil where the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous residues, wherein those "at least 10 contiguous residues" have formulas corresponding to the limitations described in the table embedded into the instant claim 1. This modification of the art takes a known structure and combines it with another structure having the same description antiparallel tetramer comprising a first and a second coil, wherein the first and second coils where each amino acid is selected from either any amino acid or any hydrophobic residue. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention
Regarding claim 3, Arora teaches g0, a1, b1, c1, d1, e1, f1, g1, a2, b2, c2, d2, e2, f2, g2, and a3, are present in the first coil and at least d′1, e′1, f′1, g′1, a′2, b′2, c′2, d′2, e′2, f2, g′2, a′3, b′3, c′3, d′3, and e′3 are present in the second coil ([0032] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I: g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3-f3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f′1-g′1-a′2-b′2-c′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3- b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”; [0105] “Another aspect of the present invention is a parallel coiled-coil of formula II: f0-g0-a1-b1-c1-d1-e1-f1-g1-a2-b2-c2-d2-e2-f2-g2-a3-b3-c3-d3-e3/f0-g′0-a′1-b′1-c′1-d′1-e′1-f1-g′1-a′2-b′2-d′2-e′2-f′2-g′2-a′3-b′3-c′3-d′3-e′3”).
Regarding claim 4, Arora teaches each residue having the formula
([0080] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I wherein: a1, a2, a3, d1, d2, d3, a′1, a′2, a′3, d′1, d′2, and d′3 each independently have the formula (a)
… e1, e2, e3, g1, g2, e′1, e′2, e′3, g′0, g′1, and g′2 each independently have the formula (b) and g0 has the formula (b′)
.”
Regarding claim 5, Arora teaches the linker between at least 1 residue pair having the formula —Zn—, wherein n is a number from 1 to 25 and Z is independently selected at each occurrence thereof from the group comprising alkylene ([0254] “Suitable examples of linkers between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 in Formula I, and linkers for g0-e′1, g1-e′2, g2-e′3, e1-g′0, e2-g′1, and e3-g′2 in Formula II) include, without limitation, those having the formula —Zn—, wherein n is a number from 1 to 25 … and each Z is independently selected at each occurrence thereof from the group consisting of alkylene, … ”).
Regarding claim 7, Arora teaches that a linker between at least one of residue pairs g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 having the formula
(formula of group a)
and
(formula of group b)
where in the X is O, X1 is O, R is H, and Y is S ([0254] “In at least one embodiment, the linker between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2…) has the following formula [see formula of group a above]… wherein X is O, S, CR2, NR, or P (preferably O, S, CH2 or NR), wherein X1 is O, S, NH, and NR, wherein each R is independently H, alkyl, or aryl, wherein Y is S…”; [0266] “In at least one embodiment, the linker between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 in Formula I, and linkers for g0-e′1, g1-e′2, g2-e′3, e1-g′0, e2-g′1, and e3-g′2 in Formula II) has the following formula [see formula of group b above]… wherein X is O, S, CR2, NR, or P (preferably O, S, CH2 or NR), wherein X1 is O, S, C, CR, N, NH, and NR, wherein each R is independently H, alkyl, or aryl, wherein Y is S”).
Regarding claim 8, Arora teaches that a linker between one of residue pairs g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 having the formula
(formula of group b)
([[0266] “In at least one embodiment, the linker between g or e and g′ or e′ residues (Linker A, Linker D, Linker E, Linker H, linkers for g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 in Formula I, and linkers for g0-e′1, g1-e′2, g2-e′3, e1-g′0, e2-g′1, and e3-g′2 in Formula II) has the following formula [see formula of group b above]… wherein X is O…, wherein X1 is … C …, wherein Y is S…”).
Regarding claim 9, Arora teaches that least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently selected from the group consisting of disulfides, diselenides, C1-8 alkylene, C2-8 alkenylene, arylene, heteroarylene, triazole-diyl, and thiazole-diyl ([0075] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I wherein at least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently selected from the group consisting of disulfides, diselenides, C1-8 alkylene, C2-8 alkenylene, arylene, heteroarylene, triazole-diyl, and thiazole-diyl.”).
Regarding claim 11, Arora teaches that least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently a disulfide bond from a cysteine or homocysteine residue, a diselenide from a selenocysteine residue, an alkylene from an allylglycine residue, or an arylene linker ([0076] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I wherein at least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently a disulfide bond from a cysteine or homocysteine residue, a diselenide from a selenocysteine residue, an alkylene from an allylglycine residue, or an arylene linker.”).
Regarding claim 12, Arora teaches the antiparallel coiled coil as being formula III where each dotted line is an optional linker and each independently have the formula
where R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d are each independently hydrogen, when a Linker B or a Linker C is attached to a residue of formula (a), the Linker B or Linker C is attached to or replaces one of R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d , each R4 in Formula III is independently hydrogen, and each R5 in Formula III is independently selected from the group consisting of H ([0280] “In a preferred embodiment of the compounds of the present invention, the antiparallel coiled-coil structure is an antiparallel coiled-coil of Formula III:
wherein: * represents the residue to which an optional linker may be attached; a1*, a2*, a3*, b1, b2, b3, c1, c2, c3, d*1, d2*, d3*, e1*, e2*, e3*, f1, f2, f3, g0*, g1*, g2*, a1′*, a3′*, b1′, b2′, b3′, c1′, c2′, c3′, d1′*, d2′*, d3′, e1′, e2′*, e3′*, f0′, f1′, f2′, g0′*, g1′*, and g2′* are each independently absent or a modified or unmodified amino acid residue or analogue thereof, with the proviso that at least seven contiguous amino acid residues/analogues are present in each coil; a1*, a2*, a3*, d1*, d2*, d3*, a1′*, a2′*, a3′*, d1′*, d2′*, and d3′* each independently have the formula (a)
e1*, e2, e3*, g1*, g2*, e1′*, e2′*, e3′*, g0′*, g1′*, and g2′* each independently have the formula (b) and g0* has the formula (b′)
”; [0081] “… where R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d are each independently hydrogen…”, [0082] “…when a Linker B or a Linker C is attached to a residue of formula (a), the Linker B or Linker C is attached to or replaces one of R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d …”; [0087] “…each R4 in Formula III is independently hydrogen…”; [0088] “…and each R5 in Formula III is independently selected from the group consisting of H…”).
Regarding claim 13, Arora teaches that in one embodiment of the macrostructure, one of R1a and R1c is an amino acid side chain and (ii) Rib, Rid, and the other of Ria and Ric are each independently a hydrogen ([0297]“ In a preferred embodiment, (i) one of R1a and R1c is the side chain of a modified or unmodified amino acid … and (ii) R1b, R1d, and the other of R1a and R1c are each independently hydrogen, …”).
Regarding claim 14, Arora teaches the antiparallel coiled-coil having the formula
([0008] “One aspect of the present invention relates to a macrostructure . This macrostructure includes : ( i ) an antiparallel coiled - coil structure of formula : [see helical wheel view and two-dimensional view above]…”).
Regarding claim 16, Arora teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a macrostructure according to claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable vehicle ([0323] “Another aspect of the present invention relates to pharmaceutical formulations comprising any of the above described compounds of the present invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The macrostructure being CHDsos-1, CHDsos-2, CHDsos-3,CHDsos-4, or CHDsos-5, as described in claim 15 was found to be free of the prior art. The closest prior art is described in Arora (US 2018/0162907 A1).Arora teaches the macrostructure having the antiparallel coil-coil being CHD-NHR2-2 and CHDDS-NHR2-3 ([0102-0104] “Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I selected from the group consisting of CHD-NHR2-2 and CHDDS-NHR2-3. Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I, wherein the antiparallel coiled-coil is CHD-NHR2-2. Another aspect of the present invention is an antiparallel coiled-coil of formula I, wherein the antiparallel coiled-coil is CHDDS-NHR2-3.”).
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5,7-9, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 10851133.
Regarding claim 1, Arora teaches a macrostructure comprising an antiparallel coiled-coil, where the first coil is Formula II and the second coil is Formula II wherein each residue is independently absent or a residue that is a modified or unmodified amino acid residue, wherein the first and second coils comprise at least ten contiguous residues. (See claims 1 and 13)
Regarding claim 2, Arora teaches that the length of the linker between g and g’ amino acids being 10-25 Å and the linkers between an a and d amino acid being 5-15. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 3, Arora teaches g0, a1, b1, c1, d1, e1, f1, g1, a2, b2, c2, d2, e2, f2, g2, and a3, are present in the first coil and at least d′1, e′1, f′1, g′1, a′2, b′2, c′2, d′2, e′2, f2, g′2, a′3, b′3, c′3, d′3, and e′3 are present in the second coil. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 4, Arora teaches each residue having the formula
. (See claim 8)
Regarding claim 5, Arora teaches the linker between at least 1 residue pair having the formula —Zn—, wherein n is a number from 1 to 25 and Z is independently selected at each occurrence thereof from the group comprising alkylene. (See claim 3)
Regarding claim 7, Arora teaches that a linker between at least one of residue pairs g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 having the formula
(formula of group a)
and
(formula of group b)
where in the X is O, X1 is O, R is H, and Y is S. (See claim 5)
Regarding claim 8, Arora teaches that a linker between one of residue pairs g0-g′2, g1-g′1, g2-g′0, e1-e′3, e2-e′2, and e3-e′1 having the formula
(formula of group b). (See claim 4)
Regarding claim 9, Arora teaches that least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently selected from the group consisting of disulfides, arylene, heteroarylene, triazole-diyl, and thiazole-diyl. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 11, Arora teaches that least one of the linkers for a1-d′3, a2-d′2, a3-d′1, d1-a′3, d2-a′2, and d3-a′1 is independently a disulfide bond from a cysteine or homocysteine residue, a diselenide from a selenocysteine residue, an alkylene from an allylglycine residue, or an arylene linker. (See claim 1)
Regarding claim 12, Arora teaches the antiparallel coiled coil as being formula III where each dotted line is an optional linker and each independently have the formula
where R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d are each independently hydrogen, when a Linker B or a Linker C is attached to a residue of formula (a), the Linker B or Linker C is attached to or replaces one of R1a, R1b, R1c, and R1d , each R4 in Formula III is independently hydrogen, and each R5 in Formula III is independently selected from the group consisting of H. (See claim 8)
Regarding claim 13, Arora teaches that in one embodiment of the macrostructure, one of R1a and R1c is an amino acid side chain and (ii) R1b, R1d, and the other of R1a and R1c are each independently a hydrogen. (See claim 9 and 11)
Regarding claim 14, Arora teaches the antiparallel coiled-coil having the formula
.
(See claim 1)
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5,7-9, and 11-16 are objected to. Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
No claims allowed.
Conclusion
/Daliyah M. Brown/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654