DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the inward side” in line 9, “the seat space” in line 10 and “the air flowing toward the inward side” in line 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 11, as best understood in light of the section 112 rejections noted above, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koschinat (US 2001/0052725 A1) in view of Kawamura et al. (US 2021/0291585 A1; hereinafter “Kawamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Koschinat, in the embodiment shown in Figs. 1 and 3, discloses a wheel (wheel shown in Fig. 1) for a vehicle (implicit from paragraph [0001]), the wheel being rotatable around a rotation axis at 7 and comprising: a seating space (unlabeled space that receives brake disk 14 as shown in Fig. 1) for a brake disk 14 extending around the rotation axis (Fig. 1); a wheel rim 3 having a rim well (unlabeled portion of rim 3 that protrudes toward the rotation axis as shown in Fig. 1), the wheel rim extending around the seating space and the rotation axis (Fig. 1), wherein the rim well protrudes from the wheel rim towards the rotation axis (Fig. 1); and at least one spoke (either the unlabeled spoke between circumferentially adjacent ventilation passages 17 or the unlabeled spoke between circumferentially adjacent oblong holes 27 as best shown in Fig. 3) being connected to the wheel rim (evident from Figs. 1 and 3), the at least one spoke being arranged at an outward side (axially outboard side of the wheel) of the wheel and extending at least in part radially to the rotation axis (evident from Figs. 1 and 3); wherein, along the rotation axis, the seating space is arranged closer to the outward side than the rim well (Fig. 1), and the rim well is arranged closer to the inward side (axially inboard side of the wheel) than the seating space (Fig. 1), and the rim well obstructs the air flowing toward the inward side such that the air is deflected toward the outward side (evident from Figs. 1 and 3 that some air flowing toward the inward side through the ventilation passages 27 is presumed to be deflected toward the outward side by the radially inwardly protruding rim well in the same manner that Applicant’s radially inwardly protruding rim well deflects some air flowing toward the inward side toward the outward side; See MPEP 2112.01 I., which states, in part, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).”).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, although Koschinat further discloses the wheel rim comprising a rim portion that is tapered between the rim well and the outward side, wherein, along the rotation axis, the rim portion comprises a diameter increasing towards the outward side (Fig. 1), Koschinat fails to expressly disclose this rim portion is an air guide portion configured to guide air towards the outward side.
Kawamura, however, teaches a wheel wherein the wheel rim 20 comprises an air guide portion (at radially outermost “AIR” shown in Fig. 1) between the rim well (unlabeled radially innermost portion of rim and the outward side (Fig. 1), wherein the air guide portion is configured to guide air towards the outward side (Fig. 1; paragraph [0023]), wherein the air guide portion is tapered (Fig. 1), wherein, along the rotation axis, the air guide portion comprises a diameter increasing towards the outward side (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the tapered rim portion of the wheel of Koschinat would function as an air guide portion configured to guide air towards the outward side, such as taught by Kawamura, with a reasonable expectation of success in reducing air resistance and improving the fuel economy.
Regarding claim 7, Koschinat further discloses a system 1 comprising the wheel (Fig. 1), the brake disk 14, and a wheel hub 6 connectable to a vehicle (Fig. 1), wherein the brake disk is arranged in the seating space (Fig. 1), wherein the brake disk and the wheel are attached to the wheel hub (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Koschinat further discloses a vehicle (not shown, but implicit from at least paragraph [0001]) comprising the wheel, wherein the wheel is mounted to the vehicle in a rotatable manner (evident from Fig. 1).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koschinat in view of Kawamura, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gebeau (US 2014/0191565 A1).
Regarding claims 4-6, Koschinat fails to expressly disclose the at least one spoke having the claimed configuration so as to be configured to accelerate air as claimed.
Gebeau, however, teaches a wheel 100 in which the at least one spoke 104 is configured to accelerate air, which streams from the rim well towards the outward side, if the wheel turns in a predefined rotation direction around the rotation axis (Figs. 1, 2 and 11; paragraphs [0050-0052] and [0071]), wherein the at least one spoke comprises a blade portion 101 extending between the outward side and the rim well (Fig. 4A), wherein the blade portion is configured to accelerate air towards the outward side, if the wheel turns in the predefined rotation direction around the rotation axis (Figs. 1, 2, 4A and 11; paragraphs [0050-0052], [0057] and [0071]), wherein, along the rotation axis, the at least one spoke has an asymmetrical shape (Figs. 1, 2 and 4A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the at least one spoke of Koschinat so that it has an asymmetrical shaped blade portion configured to accelerate air towards the outward side if the wheel turns in predefined rotation direction around the rotation axis, such as taught by Gebeau, with a reasonable expectation of success in improving traction between the tire and the road surface while also improving the cooling effect on the brake components.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koschinat in in view of Kawamura, as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Bieker et al. (EP 0049527 A1; hereinafter “Bieker”).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Koschinat fails to expressly disclose the brake disk comprising the claimed at least one cooling air channel.
Bieker, however, teaches a brake disk 7 comprising at least one cooling air channel 8 extending at least in part radially to the rotation axis (Fig. 2), the cooling air channel being configured to thrust out air towards the wheel rim (Fig. 1), wherein the cooling air channel comprises an outlet opening (unlabeled outlet opening of each air channel 8 shown in Fig. 2) facing the wheel rim (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brake disk of Koschinat so that it includes at least one cooling air channel extending at least in part radially to the rotation axis and being configured to thrust out air towards the wheel rim with the cooling air channel comprising an outlet opening facing the wheel rim, such as taught by Bieker, with a reasonable expectation of success in improving the cooling of the disk brake. Further such a modification of Koschinat would result in the outlet opening facing the wheel rim between the rim well and the outward side.
Regarding claim 10, Koschinat fails to disclose the wheel hub comprising a guiding channel being configured to guide air from an inward side of the wheel towards the brake disk, the inward side being opposite to the outward side.
Bieker, however, teaches a wheel hub (comprised of 1, 2 and 18) that comprises a guiding channel at 23 being configured to guide air from an inward side of the wheel towards the brake disk (note Fig. 1), the inward side being opposite to the outward side (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hub of Koschinat so that it comprises a guiding channel configured to guide air from an inward side of the wheel towards the brake disk, such as taught by Bieker, with a reasonable expectation of success in improving the cooling of the disk brake.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Koschinat does not disclose “the rim well being arranged closer to the inward side than the seating space, wherein the seat space is between the rim well and the outboard side of the wheel”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as Fig. 1 of Koschinat clearly shows this claimed arrangement. Reproduced and annotated Fig. 1 of Koschinat is provided below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that Kawamura teaches an arc portion that restrains the air inside the wheel and that “a person skilled in the art would have no motivation to modify Koschinat according to the teachings of Kawamura”, first note the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In other words, the arc portion of Kawamura is not being bodily incorporated into the wheel of Koschinat. Instead, Kawamura was merely used to teach that it is known in the art that a wheel rim with a rim portion that is tapered between the rim well and the outward side, such as shown in both Koschinat and Kawamura, functions as an air guide portion that is configured to (i.e., capable of guiding) guide air towards the outward side as clearly disclosed in Kawamura (Fig. 1; paragraph [0023]).
In response to Applicant’s argument that “the arrangement of the wheel well, seat space, and air guide portion as described in amended claim 1 would not be considered obvious”, as noted previously, Koschinat clearly shows this claimed arrangement.
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615