DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Claim Amendment filed 06/28/2023
2. New claims 16-20 were added, which are supported by original languages of claims 1-6, and paragraphs [0012] and [0022] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0084097.
Thus, no new matter is present at this time.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-6, 13 and 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to Claim 1: The applicants are advised to delete the semicolon (;) after the phrase “milled with” recited in claim 1.
As to Claims 2-6 and 17-20: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed g.mol-1” with “g/mol-1”.
As to Claim 13: The applicants are advised to replace the claimed “6PPD” with “6PPD (n-(1,3-dimethylbutyl)-n′-phenyl-p-phenylenediamine)” consistent with paragraph [0030] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/0084097.
As to Claim 16: The applicants are advised to delete the semicolon (;) after the phrase “in the absence of oxygen with” recited in claim 16.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Specification-Objections
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At page 5, Table 1, of the present specification: The applicants are advised to replace “g.mol-1” with “g/mol-1”.
At page 6, paragraph [0027] of the present specification: The applicants are advised to replace the disclosed term “6PPD (n-(1,3-dimethylbtityI)-n′-phenyl-p-phenylenediamine)” with “6PPD (n-(1,3-dimethylbutyl)-n′-phenyl-p-phenylenediamine)”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/1334421 (hereinafter referred to as “WO ‘442”) in view of Tsukada et al. (US 2007/0197688).
The broadest claim is directed to a reduced graphene oxide reinforced rubber composition comprising a milled material comprising a reduced graphene oxide milled with a liquid rubber, an uncured rubber elastomer, an anti-degradant package, and a curing package. The claimed reduced graphene oxide is clearly defined at paragraph [0011] of applicants’ published application, i.e., US PG PUB 2024/00840972.
As to Claims 1-9 and 12-20: WO ‘442 discloses a rubber composition having reduced graphene oxide particles distributed therein to provide it with satisfactory rigidity and reinforcement (Paragraph [0012]), corresponding to the claimed reduced graphene oxide reinforced rubber composition, useful for tire components (Paragraph [0005]), wherein the rubber composition comprises a milled material comprising a reduced graphene oxide (Paragraphs [0019]-[0020], [0031] and [0034]) that undergo milling, e.g., ball-milling, with an uncured rubber elastomer, e.g. styrene butadiene (Paragraphs [0035]-[0045]), additives such as anti-degradant package, e.g., 6PPD (Paragraph [0051]), and a curing package including sulfur and an accelerator (Paragraphs [0048]-[0050]), wherein the milling in a ball mill occurs with an oxygen content of <1 % (Paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0030]-[0031]), which is inclusive of the claimed zero amount of oxygen, i.e., absence of oxygen. WO ‘442 also discloses that such milling also occurs in nitrogen (Paragraphs [0019]-[0020] and [0033]). Moreover, WO ‘442 discloses that the rubber composition is molded and heated to form useful articles including tires and tire components (Paragraphs [0058]-[0059] and [0071]-[0072]).
While WO ‘442 discloses that a mixture of elastomers or rubbers may be used in its rubber composition (Paragraph [0045]), it does not specify them as including the claimed liquid rubber. It also does not mention using liquid rubber having particular molecular weights as required by claims 2-6 and 17-20.
Nevertheless, Tsukada et al. disclose the use of liquid rubbers having a molecular weight of 100-50,000 g/mol (which overlaps with the molecular weights recited in claims 2-6 and 17-20, i.e., 1,500-54,000 g/mol-1, 1,500-34,000 g/mol-1, 1,500-28,000 g/mol-1, 1,500-10,000 g/mol-1, and 1,500-2,000 g/mol-1) for the purposes of providing rubber compositions with desired viscosity suitable for tire applications (Paragraphs [00082]-[0085] and [0114]). See MPEP section 2144.05 (“The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since it has been held that choosing the over lapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.”).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the liquid rubbers, including those having the claimed molecular weights, taught by Tsukada et al. as the additional elastomer or rubbers in the rubber composition discussed in WO ‘442, with a reasonable expectation of successfully providing the same with desired viscosity suitable for tires.
6. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/133442 (hereinafter referred to as “WO ‘442”) in view of Tsukada et al. (US 2007/0197688) as applied to claims 1-9 and 12-20 above, and further in view of Durairaj et al. (US 2007/020539).
The disclosures with respect to WO ‘442 and Tsukada et al. in paragraph 5 are incorporated here by reference. However, they do not specifically mention milling using a stainless steel media, much less one that has a particular diameter, as required by present claims 10 and 11.
Nevertheless, Durairaj et al. disclose the use of media, i.e., stainless steel beads having a diameter of, for example, of 3 mm (i.e., encompassed by the claimed diameter of 3-5 mm), for milling purposes to prepare a rubber compositions having improved adhesion properties suitable for tires (Paragraphs [0011], [0117], [0121], and [0155]).
Given the above teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the milled material prepared from milling using stainless steel media having the claimed diameter taught by Durairaj et al. in the rubber composition suggested by WO ‘442 and Tsukada et al., with a reasonable expectation of successfully obtaining improved adhesion properties useful for tires.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 18/259,725 (hereinafter referred to as “US Appl. ‘725”; corresponding to US PG PUB 2024/0076457).
The claims of the present application and US Appl. ‘725 recite reduced graphene oxide reinforced rubber compositions comprising milled material comprising a reduced graphene oxide that is milled with a liquid rubber; an uncured rubber elastomer; an anti-degradant package; and a curing package, wherein the reduced graphene oxide has been milled in a ball mill in the absence of oxygen but occurs in nitrogen. The claims of the present application and US Appl. ‘725 also recite that the uncured rubber elastomer comprises styrene butadiene, anti-degradant package comprises 6PPD, and the curing package includes sulfur and an accelerator. The claims of the present application and the US Appl. ‘725 further recite that the molecular weight of the liquid rubber is 1,500-54,000 g/mol-1, 1,500-34,000 g/mol-1, 1,500-28,000 g/mol-1, 1,500-10,000 g/mol-1, and 1,500-2,000 g/mol-1. Moreover, the claims of the present application and US Appl. ‘725 recite the composition is placed into a mold and heated to form a cured rubber product and the milling of the reduced graphene oxide and liquid rubber uses stainless steel media having a diameter in the range of 3-5 mm.
However, the claims of the present application are directed to a product, whereas the claims of US Appl. ‘725 further recite particular steps in a method of manufacturing the same. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the steps recited in the claims of the US Appl. ‘725 produce the same product recited in the claims of the present application, i.e., reduced graphene oxide reinforced rubber composition, for the same purposes of using the same for forming a cured rubber product.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/HANNAH J PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764
1 Cited in the IDS submitted by applicants on 08/16/2024.
2 “Reduced Graphene Oxide (RGO) is milled in liquid rubber leads to a size reduction and a grafting of pendant elastomer chains without using a solvent-based process. The pendant chains help at improving the dispersion of the platelets, and if they have sufficient length, can bond covalently with the rubber matrix during vulcanization. Also, the process is an efficient compounding method that sharply decreases the tap density of the RGO powder and makes it compatible with industrial practices. It was also found that using liquid rubber during milling leads to better dispersion and mechanical properties compared to dry milling.”