DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2023 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-26, 29, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ROMERO-ZERON et al. 'Formulation of an Encapsulation Surfactant System, EES, via beta-CD Host-Guest Interactions to Inhibit Surfactant Adsorption onto Solid Surfaces', Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2020, Vol. 59, pp. 15542-15555. [Published: July 28, 2020] (hereinafter Romero).
Romero is directed towards an encapsulated surfactant system having host-guest interactions on solid surfaces for enhanced oil recovery. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the solid surface used a sufficient concentration of a supramolecular chemical to provide a host-guest interactions to reduce absorption of surfactants into the surface. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the composition included the use of a surfactant and a solvent that were free of yeast. Romero discloses at page 15543 that the supramolecular host uses electrostatic charge repulsion properties. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the polar solvent used is water, which is above 10% and the supramolecular chemical is above 1%. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the surfactant is a cyclodextrin an alkyl polyglucoside that interreacts with the solvent water and can interact with guest molecules that are hydrophobic. Romero discloses each and every element of claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-26, 29, 31 and 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-27, 29, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROMERO-ZERON et al. 'Formulation of an Encapsulation Surfactant System, EES, via beta-CD Host-Guest Interactions to Inhibit Surfactant Adsorption onto Solid Surfaces', Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2020, Vol. 59, pp. 15542-15555. [Published: July 28, 2020] (hereinafter Romero).
Romero is directed towards an encapsulated surfactant system having host-guest interactions on solid surfaces for enhanced oil recovery. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the solid surface used a sufficient concentration of a supramolecular chemical to provide a host-guest interactions to reduce absorption of surfactants into the surface. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the composition included the use of a surfactant and a solvent that were free of yeast. Romero discloses at page 15543 that the supramolecular host uses electrostatic charge repulsion properties. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the polar solvent used is water, which is above 10% and the supramolecular chemical is above 1%. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the surfactant is a cyclodextrin an alkyl polyglucoside that interreacts with the solvent water and can interact with guest molecules that are hydrophobic.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Romero to select a surface active composition with each and every element of the claims that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-27, 29, 31 and 33.
9. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-14, 16-20, 22, 24-29, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROMERO-ZERON et al. 'Formulation of an Encapsulation Surfactant System, EES, via beta-CD Host-Guest Interactions to Inhibit Surfactant Adsorption onto Solid Surfaces', Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2020, Vol. 59, pp. 15542-15555. [Published: July 28, 2020] (hereinafter Romero) in view of the teachings of Negin et al, “Most Common Surfactants Employed in Chemical Enhanced Oil Recovery”, Petroleum, 2017,Vol. 3,pp. 197-211. (hereinafter Negin).
Romero is directed towards an encapsulated surfactant system having host-guest interactions on solid surfaces for enhanced oil recovery. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the solid surface used a sufficient concentration of a supramolecular chemical to provide a host-guest interactions to reduce absorption of surfactants into the surface. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the composition included the use of a surfactant and a solvent that were free of yeast. Romero discloses at page 15543 that the supramolecular host uses electrostatic charge repulsion properties. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the polar solvent used is water, which is above 10% and the supramolecular chemical is above 1%. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the surfactant is a cyclodextrin an alkyl polyglucoside that interreacts with the solvent water and can interact with guest molecules that are hydrophobic. Romero discloses a surface active composition, but is silent regarding some species of surfactants.
Negin is directed toward enhanced oil recovery with the use of surfactants. Romero and Negin are both directed toward enhanced oil recovery with the use of surfactants and therefore are analogous art. Negin teaches in the Abstract that enhanced oil recovery with anionic surfactants as being preferred for EOR operations. Negin teaches at page 199 that an alcohol cosolvent with a surfactant of a branched polyoxyethylene sulfonate surfactant is beneficial. Negin further teaches at page 199 that ethylene/propylene oxide compounds are desirable. Negin teaches at page 200 that sodium benzosulfonate compounds are desirable.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Romero to select a surface active composition with each and every element of the claims that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-20, 22, 24-29, 31 and 33.
10. Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-27, 29, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ROMERO-ZERON et al. 'Formulation of an Encapsulation Surfactant System, EES, via beta-CD Host-Guest Interactions to Inhibit Surfactant Adsorption onto Solid Surfaces', Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2020, Vol. 59, pp. 15542-15555. [Published: July 28, 2020] (hereinafter Romero) in view of the teachings of (US 2015/0366190 A1) to Lipinsky et al. (hereinafter Lipinsky).
Romero is directed towards an encapsulated surfactant system having host-guest interactions on solid surfaces for enhanced oil recovery. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the solid surface used a sufficient concentration of a supramolecular chemical to provide a host-guest interactions to reduce absorption of surfactants into the surface. Romero discloses at page 15542 that in the Abstract the composition included the use of a surfactant and a solvent that were free of yeast. Romero discloses at page 15543 that the supramolecular host uses electrostatic charge repulsion properties. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the polar solvent used is water, which is above 10% and the supramolecular chemical is above 1%. Romero discloses at page 15544 that the surfactant is a cyclodextrin an alkyl polyglucoside that interreacts with the solvent water and can interact with guest molecules that are hydrophobic.
Lipinsky is directed toward treatment of plant surfaces with a surfactant.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Romero in view of Lipinsky to select a surface active composition with each and every element of the claims that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-2, 4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, 20, 22, 24-27, 29, 31 and 33.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766