DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6-16 are presented for examination. Claims 3 and 5 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-16 are amended. This office action is response to the submission on 12/19/2025.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Claim Objections:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10 of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
With respect to 35 USC § 103 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, section A. 1. of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the abstract have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees that Berg does not disclose a milk tank connected to the teat cups via milk evacuation tubes and the vacuum pump. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Berg (US20030226506A1) in view of Svahn et al. (US20190327933A1), further in view of Jones (US3187719A).
Applicant's arguments see pages 12-13, section A. 2. of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Berg’s milk pump 14 differs from the claimed vacuum regulators. Examiner disagrees, a milk pump may be used to provide a vacuum pressure, acting as a vacuum regulator.
Applicant's arguments see pages 13-14, section A. 3. of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Berg’s disclosure of adjusting milking intensities based on the expected milking duration does not teach a determined vacuum pressure level or the determination and setting of a teat-specific vacuum pressure level at the beginning of the milking session. Examiner disagrees, Berg [0046] states that the functioning of the vacuum unit and milking intensity is adjusted based on the expected milking duration which is based on the average milking duration of that teat. This inherently discloses adjusting the vacuum pressure specific to the teat. It is not clear to examiner how one would vary the milking intensity in the invention of Berg based on a duration aside from adjusting the vacuum pressure. Additionally, applicant argues that the claim requires defining a teat-specific vacuum pressure level for a defined initial time period. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., defining a teat-specific vacuum pressure level for a defined initial time period) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments see pages 14-15, section A. 4. of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Berg’s disclosure of a vacuum curve that varies during milking is not the claimed vacuum profile based on historical teat data for the animal recited in the claim. Examiner disagrees. Berg [0046] states that the device 8 determines an estimated quarter milking duration per udder quarter based on historical data and adjusts the milking intensity per udder based on the expected duration, which examiner interprets as a unique vacuum profile for each teat/udder. Berg [0027] and Berg Fig. 5 teach that the milking vacuum curve M applied to each udder varies over time, which covers the claim limitation of requiring the vacuum profile to vary pressure over time.
Applicant's arguments see pages 15-16, section A. 5. of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of Berg and Svahn would not yield the specific architecture and per-teat historical data driven vacuum control recited in the amended claim 1. Applicant additionally argues that the office action’s rational does not provide an evidence-based reason to modify Berg in the manner claimed. Examiner disagrees, the combination of Berg, Svahn, and Jones do teach the limitations of claim 1 as described in above arguments and below in 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection section. Additionally, including the method and rrangement for dairy animal management of Svahn would allow for advice to be provided based on the data as described in Svahn [0053] and in previous office action dated 9/22/2025.
Applicant's arguments see page 16, section B of applicant response filed 12/19/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the additional references Zhu, Wallace, and Lind do not teach the limitations mentioned above in previous arguments. Examiner agrees, however Berg, Svahn, and Jones do teach the limitations of claim 1 as described in above arguments and below in 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection section.
Claim Objections
The objections of Claims 1 and 10 are withdrawn in light of the amendments submitted on 12/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US20030226506A1), in view of Svahn et al. (US20190327933A1), further in view of Jones (US3187719A).
Claim 1:
Berg teaches “A milking system, comprising: a plurality of teat cups, each teat cup of said teat cups configured to fit on a respective teat of teats of an animal during milk extraction in a milking session;” (Berg [0031] "The device 8 is provided with at least two teat cups (in the embodiment shown four) to be connected to respective teats of the animal. A milking vacuum unit 9 generates the milking vacuum in the teat cups 1."; Berg teaches that the teat cups are used during milking in Berg [0035] “Berg [0035] "Due to the fact that the milking vacuum unit 9 comprises both a common vacuum pump 10 and an individual milk pump 14 per individual buffer vessel 13, it is possible to apply a milking vacuum per teat cup 1 in an accurate and reproducible way."),
“a plurality of milk evacuation tubes, each one of the milk evacuation tubes connected to a respective one of the plurality of teat cups;” (Berg teaches a milk line 5 i.e. evacuation tube connected to the teat cup in Berg [0025] "FIG. 1 shows a teat cup 1 with a teat liner 2 and a pulse chamber 3. To the pulse chamber 3 there is connected, via a pulsation line 4, a (non-shown), preferably computer-controlled, adjustable pulsator. Near the lower side of the teat cup 1 there is further disposed a milk line 5."
),
“a vacuum pump, configured to generate a vacuum pressure;” (Berg [0032] "The milking vacuum unit 9 is provided with a common vacuum pump 10 and with a common buffer vessel 11 to which vacuum can be applied by means of the common vacuum pump. In the embodiment shown the common vacuum pump 10 for applying vacuum to the common buffer vessel 11 is a frequency-controlled vacuum pump."
[AltContent: rect]
),
“a plurality of vacuum regulators each one of said vacuum regulators associated with one teat cup of said teat cups and configured to control a vacuum pressure level prevailing in the associated teat cup under the respective teat of the animal during the milk extraction of the milking session (400);” (Berg teaches multiple individual milk pumps 14 i.e. vacuum regulators which are part of the individual buffer vessels 13 to control the vacuum i.e. pressure applied to each teat cup 1 in Berg [0034-0035] "An individual buffer vessel 13 is included in each vacuum line 12 and is positioned between the common buffer vessel 11 and the respective teat cup 1. Each individual buffer vessel 13 can be connected to the common buffer vessel 11 via a first vacuum line portion 12 a and to the respective teat cup 1 via a second vacuum line portion 12 b. For each individual buffer vessel 13 the device 8 comprises a respective individual milk pump 14 (with milk meter, if desired) for applying vacuum to the individual buffer vessel 13. Due to the fact that the milking vacuum unit 9 comprises both a common vacuum pump 10 and an individual milk pump 14 per individual buffer vessel 13, it is possible to apply a milking vacuum per teat cup 1 in an accurate and reproducible way."),
“a plurality of vacuum pressure sensors, each one of said vacuum pressure sensors associated with one teat cup of said teat cups and configured to measure the vacuum pressure level prevailing in the associated teat cup under the respective teat of the animal during the milk extraction of the milking session (400);” (Berg teaches pressure sensors 23 to measure the vacuum in each buffer vessel 13 in Berg [0037] "Analogous to the common buffer vessel, each individual buffer vessel 13 is provided with a vacuum sensor 23 for measuring the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13. Here the individual milk pump 14 and/or the air inlet control valve 22, and thus the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13, can be controlled with the aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23."),
“(Berg teaches that the device 8 determines the previous milking durations of the udder i.e. an earlier milking session of the teat associated with that animal, which would require storing the data in Berg [0046] "The milking parameter meter is in particular a quarter milking duration meter known per se for determining the quarter milking duration per udder quarter. The device 8 is then provided with a calculating device for determining an expected quarter milking duration from historical quarter milking durations. The calculating device is in particular suitable for determining the average of the quarter milking duration of a previously adjustable number of milking runs (for example eight or ten, but any other number may be applied as well) of said udder quarter."),
“and a processing device (170) communicatively connected to the vacuum regulators, the vacuum pressure sensors, (Berg teaches using a computer and/or calculating unit i.e. processing device to control the pulsator i.e. vacuum regulators and receive information from the vacuum gauge 6 i.e. pressure sensors in Berg [0025] "FIG. 1 shows a teat cup 1 with a teat liner 2 and a pulse chamber 3. To the pulse chamber 3 there is connected, via a pulsation line 4, a (non-shown), preferably computer-controlled, adjustable pulsator. Near the lower side of the teat cup 1 there is further disposed a milk line 5. In the lower part of the teat cup 1 there is disposed a milking vacuum gauge 6. The milking vacuum gauge 6 is connected, via a line 7, to a computer or a calculating unit. With the aid of the computer and/or the calculating unit, the computer-controlled adjustable pulsator can be controlled on the basis of the signal emitted by the milking vacuum gauge 6, which signal indicates the value of the milking vacuum."),
“extract data of each one of the teats of the identified animal (200) from the database (180) based on the determined identity reference,” (Berg teaches that the device 8 determines the previous milking durations of the udder i.e. it extracts data related to an earlier milking session of the teat associated with that animal in Berg [0046] "The milking parameter meter is in particular a quarter milking duration meter known per se for determining the quarter milking duration per udder quarter. The device 8 is then provided with a calculating device for determining an expected quarter milking duration from historical quarter milking durations. The calculating device is in particular suitable for determining the average of the quarter milking duration of a previously adjustable number of milking runs (for example eight or ten, but any other number may be applied as well) of said udder quarter."),
“determine, based on the extracted data, a teat specific vacuum pressure level for each one of the teats to be applied at the teat for a time-period from a beginning of the milking session (400) when the teat cup is attached to the teat,” (Berg teaches adjusting the milking intensities i.e. pressure level per udder based on the expected milking duration in Berg [0046] "The milking parameter meter is in particular a quarter milking duration meter known per se for determining the quarter milking duration per udder quarter. The device 8 is then provided with a calculating device for determining an expected quarter milking duration from historical quarter milking durations. The calculating device is in particular suitable for determining the average of the quarter milking duration of a previously adjustable number of milking runs (for example eight or ten, but any other number may be applied as well) of said udder quarter. It is thus possible to adjust, prior to the milking, the milking intensities per udder quarter on the basis of the expected quarter milking durations. It is in particular possible to control the functioning of the milking vacuum unit or the pulsator unit."), and
“and generate respective commands to each vacuum regulator of the vacuum regulators to set the determined teat specific vacuum pressure level at each teat cup of the teat cups.” (Berg teaches controlling the individual milk pumps 14 i.e. vacuum regulators with the aid of data from the vacuum sensors 23 e.g. to a determined vacuum pressure level in Berg [0037] "Analogous to the common buffer vessel, each individual buffer vessel 13 is provided with a vacuum sensor 23 for measuring the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13. Here the individual milk pump 14 and/or the air inlet control valve 22, and thus the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13, can be controlled with the aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23."; Berg teaches controlling milking intensity by controlling milking vacuum in Berg [0043] "The milking intensity can be controlled by varying in particular at least one milking process parameter chosen from the group consisting of: milking vacuum, rising rate of the pulsation vacuum, rate of descent of the pulsation vacuum and release-squeeze ratio."),
“determine, for each one of the teats of the animal, a vacuum profile to be applied to the teat during the milking session, based on the extracted data,” (Berg teaches adjusting the milking intensities i.e. a vacuum profile per udder based on the expected milking duration, which is based on the data in Berg [0046] "The milking parameter meter is in particular a quarter milking duration meter known per se for determining the quarter milking duration per udder quarter. The device 8 is then provided with a calculating device for determining an expected quarter milking duration from historical quarter milking durations. The calculating device is in particular suitable for determining the average of the quarter milking duration of a previously adjustable number of milking runs (for example eight or ten, but any other number may be applied as well) of said udder quarter. It is thus possible to adjust, prior to the milking, the milking intensities per udder quarter on the basis of the expected quarter milking durations. It is in particular possible to control the functioning of the milking vacuum unit or the pulsator unit."), and
“and generate respective commands to each one of the vacuum regulators to control the respective vacuum pressure level prevailing under the teat at each associated teat cup in accordance with the vacuum profile determined for the teat milked by the associated teat cup during the milking session,” (Berg teaches controlling the individual milk pumps 14 i.e. vacuum regulators with the aid of data from the vacuum sensors 23 e.g. to a determined vacuum pressure level in Berg [0037] "Analogous to the common buffer vessel, each individual buffer vessel 13 is provided with a vacuum sensor 23 for measuring the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13. Here the individual milk pump 14 and/or the air inlet control valve 22, and thus the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13, can be controlled with the aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23."; Berg teaches controlling milking intensity by controlling milking vacuum in Berg [0043] "The milking intensity can be controlled by varying in particular at least one milking process parameter chosen from the group consisting of: milking vacuum, rising rate of the pulsation vacuum, rate of descent of the pulsation vacuum and release-squeeze ratio."; Berg teaches adjusting the milking intensities i.e. a vacuum profile per udder based on the expected milking duration in Berg [0046] "It is thus possible to adjust, prior to the milking, the milking intensities per udder quarter on the basis of the expected quarter milking durations. It is in particular possible to control the functioning of the milking vacuum unit or the pulsator unit."), and
“wherein the vacuum profile comprises vacuum pressure levels to be applied under the teat by the associated teat cup which vary over time during the milking session.” (Berg teaches a pulsation vacuum curve P for one teat where the pressure varies over time in Berg [0026-0027] "The control of the pulsator will now be explained in further detail with reference to the diagrams in FIG. 5. Here the X-axis is the time axis, whereas the Y-axis indicates the underpressure of the milking vacuum and the pulsation vacuum. FIG. 5 shows the pulsation curve P indicating the pulsation vacuum generated by the pulsator for one teat. Here the part of the pulsation curve P that is represented by a broken line indicates the pulsation vacuum that is used in a previously known device for automatically milking. FIG. 5 furthermore shows the milking vacuum curve M as measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6. As shown, the milking vacuum varies during milking. The pulsation vacuum also varies and may assume a maximum underpressure value." as seen in Berg Fig. 5.
[AltContent: rect]
).
Berg does not appear to explicitly disclose “an animal identification sensor configured to capture animal-unique information of the animal;”, “a database configured to store data, associated with an identity reference of the animal, related to at least one earlier milking session of each one of the teats of the animal;”, and “determine the identity reference of the animal, based on the animal-unique information obtained from the animal identification sensor,”
However, Svahn does teach “an animal identification sensor configured to capture animal-unique information of the animal;” (Svahn teaches a portable milking unit (PMU) comprising an animal identification unit i.e. animal identification sensor in Svahn [0034] "The PMU preferably comprises a milk meter measuring e.g. a milk yield and possibly a milk flow during a milking session; an animal identification unit, for obtaining an animal identity; and a local dock."),
“a database configured to store data, associated with an identity reference of the animal, related to at least one earlier milking session of each one of the teats of the animal;” (Svahn teaches storing the time of the milking session and an identifier of the animal in data D1 in Svahn [0036-0037] "The method further comprises that the WUE receives 302 the data, D1, (provided by the PMU) related to a milking session of a specific dairy animal directly from the PMU over the short-range wireless link. The provided and received data, D1, may be organized as, or comprised in, a milking report, and comprises at least information indicative of a milk yield of the specific dairy animal during the milking session. Preferably, the data further comprises an identifier of the specific dairy animal obtained by the PMU, and also time information related to the milking session, such as time of day when starting and/or completing the milking session, and even a momentary milk flow per time unit, However, for embodiments for the most basic types of PMUs, an identity of the specific dairy animal may be indicated by a user directly into the WUE, and time information may be associated with or assigned to the data D1 by the WUE, based on an internal time reference of the WUE, e.g. upon receiving of the data."; Svahn teaches that the data D1, which is related to the milking session of a specific animal may be stored in a remote server e.g. a database in Svahn [0038] "The memory in which the data D1 is stored, and the memory from which the data, D2, is retrieved may be a local memory in the WUE. Use of a local memory is beneficial for cases where the WUE is not reliably connected to any communication network. The data D1 and/or data D2 could alternatively or in addition be stored in a remote server. In such cases, the action “storing the received data in a memory”, performed by the WUE comprises to provide the received data, D1, to a remote server for storage. Correspondingly, the action “retrieving data D2 from a memory” then comprises receiving the data D2 from a remote server, e.g. upon request or in response to storing the data D1. The providing of data to a remote memory/server may be accomplished e.g. by transmission of the data over a long-range wireless communication system."), and
“determine the identity reference of the animal, based on the animal-unique information obtained from the animal identification sensor,” (Svahn teaches a wireless user equipment (WUE) that receives data D1 provided by the portable milking device (PMD), which includes an identifier of the animal obtained by the PMU in Svahn [0036-0037] "The method further comprises that the WUE receives 302 the data, D1, (provided by the PMU) related to a milking session of a specific dairy animal directly from the PMU over the short-range wireless link. The provided and received data, D1, may be organized as, or comprised in, a milking report, and comprises at least information indicative of a milk yield of the specific dairy animal during the milking session. Preferably, the data further comprises an identifier of the specific dairy animal obtained by the PMU, and also time information related to the milking session, such as time of day when starting and/or completing the milking session, and even a momentary milk flow per time unit"; Svahn teaches a portable milking unit (PMU) comprising an animal identification unit i.e. animal identification sensor which may be used to obtain the animal-unique information in Svahn [0034] "The PMU preferably comprises a milk meter measuring e.g. a milk yield and possibly a milk flow during a milking session; an animal identification unit, for obtaining an animal identity; and a local dock.").
Berg and Svahn are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling milking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Berg and Svahn before him/her, to modify the teachings of a method of and a device for automatically milking an animal of Berg to include the animal identification unit and remote server of Svahn because adding the method and arrangement for dairy animal management of Svahn would allow for advice to be provided based on the data as described in Svahn [0053] “The storing of data in a memory in a remote server has many advantages. For example, small herd milk producers, e.g. in India, could give access to parts of the stored data to governmental milk agencies, which could provide adequate advice to the milk producers based on their data. This could be expressed as enabling central dairy animal management (e.g. advice from professionals) for farmers not having a local herd management system, or having limited knowledge of how to manage dairy animals based on the acquired information. Applications and interfaces for such purposes could be supplied on the remote server. Further, milk producers themselves and persons which they decide to give access could access the stored data from a number of different platforms, such as browsers or other interfaces on PCs, tablets or WUEs other than the one receiving the data from the PMU, e.g. as illustrated in FIG. 7 b.”
Neither Berg or Svahn appear to explicitly disclose “a milk tank, connected to the teat cups via the milk evacuation tubes, and also connected to the vacuum pump;” However, Jones does teach this claim limitation (Jones teaches a vacuum pump 48 which is connected to a milk supply line 18 which is connected to teat cup lines 60 i.e. milk evacuation tubes which are connected to the teat cups 54 in Jones [Column 2 lines 45-59] "The teat cups of the automatic milking machines may derive their sources of vacuum from the pumps 44 and 43. In the illustrated embodiment and with reference to FIG. 2 in conjunction with FIG. 1, a vacuum line 52 is connected to the shell of a teat cup 54 at a side fitting 56 which is connected to a conventional pulsator on the manifold or breaker cup 14 for providing the pulsations needed in proper milking. The vacuum line 52 is connected through the breaker cup 14- and pulsator to a vacuum line 5% which, in turn, is connected to the pump 44. The breaker cup 14 is open to each of the main suction or teat cup lines 60. Each line 60 leads to an axial connection on the rubber liner of teat cup 54 and vacuum is drawn on the lines of through the lines 16 and 18, to the receiver 2%} and the line 50."; Jones teaches a bulk tank 30 connected to receiver 20 via milk lift line 32 in Jones [Column 2 lines 21-38] "The milk outlet 24 of receiver 20 is joined in fluid circuit to a refrigerated bulk tank 30 or other storage vessel by means of a milk lift line 32 which enters the top of tank 36. The bulk tank 30 rests on supports 34 which space the bulk tank above a floor surface 36. The floor surface 36 is located in a milk room and is sometimes disposed at a higher level than either the milking platform 1i) or the floor surface 12. In any event, the top of tank 39 is invariably located at a higher level than the milk outlet of receiver 20. The bulk tank 30 is provided with a discharge pipe 33 having a valve 40 therein for controlling the flow of milk from the bulk tank, In addition, the bulk tank 3t) is provided with a top connection 42 for coupling the bulk tank to a vacuum pump 44 by means of a vacuum line 46. The vacuum pump 44 is arranged to draw a relatively high vacuum on the bulk tank, vacuums on the order of 16-20 inches of mercury being employed in this regard."; Jones Fig. 1 teaches a vacuum pump 48 connected to teat cups 54 via a milk supply line 18 and a bulk tank 30.[AltContent: rect]
).
Berg, Svahn, and Jones are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling milking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Berg, Svahn, and Jones before him/her, to modify the teachings of a method of and a device for automatically milking an animal of Berg modified to include the method and arrangement for dairy animal management of Svahn to include the vacuum pump connected to a tank and the teat cups via teat cup lines of Jones because adding the Vacuum type milk transfer system of Jones would avoid agitating the milk, preventing damage and prevents back surges in the vacuum line as described in Jones [Column 3 lines 7-30] "When the cows udder has been cleaned and the milking machine attached, milking will proceed in the ordinary manner with the relatively low level vacuum from pump 43 provided the main sucking action and the relatively 'higher level vacuum from pump 44 providing the required pulsations. As the milk is delivered to the supply line 18, it passes into the receiver 26; and when a sufficient quantity of milk has been accumulated in the receiver 29 to insure a milk seal over the outlet 24, the float ball 64 is raised manually using the handle 66. There- .after, as additional milk is delivered to the receiver 20, the higher vacuum on bulk tank 30 will permit the higher pressure or lower vacuum in the receiver to lift the milk through line 32 into the bulk tank. This gentle lifting action avoids agitating the milk to any appreciable degree and thereby effectively prevents physical damage to the milk. Furthermore, the milk is raised from the receiver 28 to the bulk tank 30 in a substantially continuous flow; and this rather continuous flow tends to prevent back surges in the vacuum line Accordingly, variation in the vacuum to the teat cups is avoided. The milk transfer system of the invention thus avoids or eliminates a principal factor in inducing mastitis."
Claim 2:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 1, wherein the milking session begins either (Berg teaches that time of connection is taken into account i.e. when the first teat cup is attached to the first teat in Berg [0012] "Although it is possible to connect the teat cups simultaneously to the teats, for reasons of connection accuracy the teat cups are preferably connected successively to the teats. The points of time of connection are taken into account, preferably together with the expected quarter milking durations, when controlling the milking intensity in such a way that the udder quarters will be milked-out according to a previously adjusted chronological order.").
Claim 4:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 3, wherein the vacuum profile comprises a constant vacuum pressure level to be maintained under the teat milked by the associated teat cup during the milking session.” (Berg teaches a pulsation vacuum curve P for one teat which includes sections where the vacuum pressure is to be constant in Berg [0026-0027] "The control of the pulsator will now be explained in further detail with reference to the diagrams in FIG. 5. Here the X-axis is the time axis, whereas the Y-axis indicates the underpressure of the milking vacuum and the pulsation vacuum. FIG. 5 shows the pulsation curve P indicating the pulsation vacuum generated by the pulsator for one teat. Here the part of the pulsation curve P that is represented by a broken line indicates the pulsation vacuum that is used in a previously known device for automatically milking. FIG. 5 furthermore shows the milking vacuum curve M as measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6. As shown, the milking vacuum varies during milking. The pulsation vacuum also varies and may assume a maximum underpressure value." as seen in Berg Fig. 5 [As seen above in claim 1]).
Claim 6:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 3, further comprising: a communication device for communication with a central processing device of a service provider,” (Svahn teaches that the data D1 may be stored in a remote server i.e. it communicates with the central processing device of a service provider in Svahn [0038] "The memory in which the data D1 is stored, and the memory from which the data, D2, is retrieved may be a local memory in the WUE. Use of a local memory is beneficial for cases where the WUE is not reliably connected to any communication network. The data D1 and/or data D2 could alternatively or in addition be stored in a remote server. In such cases, the action “storing the received data in a memory”, performed by the WUE comprises to provide the received data, D1, to a remote server for storage. Correspondingly, the action “retrieving data D2 from a memory” then comprises receiving the data D2 from a remote server, e.g. upon request or in response to storing the data D1. The providing of data to a remote memory/server may be accomplished e.g. by transmission of the data over a long-range wireless communication system."),
“wherein the processing device is configured to: provide at least one of i) data of the animal and ii) the identity reference of the animal to the central processing device of the service provider via the communication device,” (Berg teaches determining average milking duration of previous milking runs i.e. data of the particular animal in Berg [0046] "The milking parameter meter is in particular a quarter milking duration meter known per se for determining the quarter milking duration per udder quarter. The device 8 is then provided with a calculating device for determining an expected quarter milking duration from historical quarter milking durations. The calculating device is in particular suitable for determining the average of the quarter milking duration of a previously adjustable number of milking runs (for example eight or ten, but any other number may be applied as well) of said udder quarter. It is thus possible to adjust, prior to the milking, the milking intensities per udder quarter on the basis of the expected quarter milking durations. It is in particular possible to control the functioning of the milking vacuum unit or the pulsator unit."), and
“and obtain the vacuum profile to be applied for each respective teat of the animal during the milking session, from the central processing device.” (Berg teaches adjusting the milking intensities per udder i.e. vacuum profiles to be applied to each teat in Berg [0046] "The milking parameter meter is in particular a quarter milking duration meter known per se for determining the quarter milking duration per udder quarter. The device 8 is then provided with a calculating device for determining an expected quarter milking duration from historical quarter milking durations. The calculating device is in particular suitable for determining the average of the quarter milking duration of a previously adjustable number of milking runs (for example eight or ten, but any other number may be applied as well) of said udder quarter. It is thus possible to adjust, prior to the milking, the milking intensities per udder quarter on the basis of the expected quarter milking durations. It is in particular possible to control the functioning of the milking vacuum unit or the pulsator unit.").
Claim 7:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 3, wherein the processing device is further configured to: obtain, continuously from the vacuum pressure sensors during the milking session, a respective vacuum pressure level under each one of the teats,” (Berg teaches controlling the vacuum with aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23 i.e. the vacuum is continuously monitored in Berg [0037] "Analogous to the common buffer vessel, each individual buffer vessel 13 is provided with a vacuum sensor 23 for measuring the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13. Here the individual milk pump 14 and/or the air inlet control valve 22, and thus the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13, can be controlled with the aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23."),
“compare each one of the obtained respective vacuum pressure levels with a correspondent vacuum profile of the vacuum profiles for the respective teat, and for each one of the obtained vacuum pressure levels, if the obtained vacuum pressure level under a teat differs from a vacuum pressure level of the correspondent vacuum profile for the teat, generate a command to the vacuum regulator of the teat cup milking the teat to adjust the vacuum pressure level at the teat cup, according to the correspondent vacuum profile.” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to or a fixed value lower than the measured vacuum i.e. the measured pressure is compared with the vacuum profile to adjust the vacuum regulator in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum.").
Claim 8:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 7, wherein each teat cup of the teat cups comprises a liner, which is caused to open and close repeatedly under the teat during the milking session,” (Berg teaches a teat liner 2, which is connected to a pulsator, which causes the liner to open and close repeatedly in Berg [0025] "FIG. 1 shows a teat cup 1 with a teat liner 2 and a pulse chamber 3. To the pulse chamber 3 there is connected, via a pulsation line 4, a (non-shown), preferably computer-controlled, adjustable pulsator. Near the lower side of the teat cup 1 there is further disposed a milk line 5. In the lower part of the teat cup 1 there is disposed a milking vacuum gauge 6. The milking vacuum gauge 6 is connected, via a line 7, to a computer or a calculating unit. With the aid of the computer and/or the calculating unit, the computer-controlled adjustable pulsator can be controlled on the basis of the signal emitted by the milking vacuum gauge 6, which signal indicates the value of the milking vacuum."),
“and wherein, for each teat cup, the associated vacuum pressure sensor is configured to measure the vacuum pressure level at least two times during a time period when the liner is open.” (Berg teaches the curve M as measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 receives information at least two times while the liner is open in Berg [0027] "FIG. 5 shows the pulsation curve P indicating the pulsation vacuum generated by the pulsator for one teat. Here the part of the pulsation curve P that is represented by a broken line indicates the pulsation vacuum that is used in a previously known device for automatically milking. FIG. 5 furthermore shows the milking vacuum curve M as measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6. As shown, the milking vacuum varies during milking. The pulsation vacuum also varies and may assume a maximum underpressure value." and in Berg Fig. 5 [As shown above in claim 4]).
Claim 11:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is configured to repeatedly: generate a command to the vacuum regulator of each teat cup,” (Berg teaches applying a pulsation curve P which varies over time i.e. it repeatedly generates commands to the vacuum regulator in Berg [0027] "FIG. 5 shows the pulsation curve P indicating the pulsation vacuum generated by the pulsator for one teat. Here the part of the pulsation curve P that is represented by a broken line indicates the pulsation vacuum that is used in a previously known device for automatically milking. FIG. 5 furthermore shows the milking vacuum curve M as measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6. As shown, the milking vacuum varies during milking. The pulsation vacuum also varies and may assume a maximum underpressure value." and in Berg Fig. 5 [As shown above in claim 4]),
“to either increase the vacuum pressure level under the respective teat by a step when a latest obtained vacuum pressure level under the respective teat, obtained from the vacuum pressure sensor associated with the teat cup, is lower than a previously obtained vacuum pressure level under the respective teat,” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to the maximum vacuum i.e. if the underpressure value is less than the maximum, it will increase the pressure by the difference in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum."), and
“or decrease the vacuum pressure level under the respective teat by the step when the latest obtained vacuum pressure level under the respective teat, obtained from the vacuum pressure sensor associated with the teat cup, exceeds the previously obtained vacuum pressure level under the respective teat.” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to the maximum vacuum i.e. if the underpressure value is greater than the maximum, it will decrease the pressure by the difference in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum.").
Claim 12:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 11, wherein a size of the step is proportional to a difference between the latest obtained vacuum pressure level and the previously obtained vacuum pressure level.” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to the maximum vacuum i.e. if the underpressure value is greater than or less than the maximum, it will decrease or increase the pressure by the difference in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum.").
Claim 13:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to: detect that the vacuum pressure level under one of the teats exceeds a maximum allowed vacuum pressure level, based on a measurement of the vacuum pressure level obtained from the vacuum pressure sensor associated with the teat cup attached to the teat,” (Berg teaches controlling the vacuum such that it is equal to a maximum underpressure i.e. it detects when the pressure has passed the maximum using the measured vacuum from vacuum gauge 6 in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum."), and
“and generate a command to the vacuum regulator associated with the teat cup attached to the teat, to decrease the vacuum pressure level under the teat.” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to the maximum vacuum i.e. if the underpressure value is greater than the maximum, it will decrease the pressure by the difference in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum.").
Claim 14:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to: provide data related to the latest milking session of each respective teat of the identified animal to the database for storage therein, each data being associated with the respective teat, the identity reference of the animal, and a time reference.” (Svahn teaches storing the time of the milking session and an identifier of the animal in data D1 in Svahn [0036-0037] "The method further comprises that the WUE receives 302 the data, D1, (provided by the PMU) related to a milking session of a specific dairy animal directly from the PMU over the short-range wireless link. The provided and received data, D1, may be organized as, or comprised in, a milking report, and comprises at least information indicative of a milk yield of the specific dairy animal during the milking session. Preferably, the data further comprises an identifier of the specific dairy animal obtained by the PMU, and also time information related to the milking session, such as time of day when starting and/or completing the milking session, and even a momentary milk flow per time unit, However, for embodiments for the most basic types of PMUs, an identity of the specific dairy animal may be indicated by a user directly into the WUE, and time information may be associated with or assigned to the data D1 by the WUE, based on an internal time reference of the WUE, e.g. upon receiving of the data."; Svahn teaches that the data D1 may be stored in a remote server e.g. a database in Svahn [0038] "The memory in which the data D1 is stored, and the memory from which the data, D2, is retrieved may be a local memory in the WUE. Use of a local memory is beneficial for cases where the WUE is not reliably connected to any communication network. The data D1 and/or data D2 could alternatively or in addition be stored in a remote server. In such cases, the action “storing the received data in a memory”, performed by the WUE comprises to provide the received data, D1, to a remote server for storage. Correspondingly, the action “retrieving data D2 from a memory” then comprises receiving the data D2 from a remote server, e.g. upon request or in response to storing the data D1. The providing of data to a remote memory/server may be accomplished e.g. by transmission of the data over a long-range wireless communication system.").
Claim 15:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 1, wherein the processing device is further configured to: detect a difference between previously stored data related to at least one milking session of one teat of the animal and corresponding data related to the latest milking session of the one teat exceeding a threshold limit, and generate an alert that is output when the difference is detected.” (Svahn teaches generating an alarm if the milk yield or milking time is shorter than expected milking time, which is based on data from previous milking sessions in Svahn [0046] "In addition to alarms for presence of blood or anomalies in milk conductivity, an alarm for anomalies in milk yield could be implemented, such as triggering an alarm when the milk yield is a certain amount lower than an expected milk yield, and/or when a milking time is shorter than an expected milking time. The expected milk yield or milking time of a dairy animal may be determined based on data from previous milking sessions or be retrieved as a predefined reference value e.g. from a memory. One or more thresholds, Ti, for each of the different alarm types may be predetermined and be retrievable from a memory.").
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US20030226506A1), in view of Svahn et al. (US20190327933A1), further in view of Jones (US3187719A), further in view of Zhu (CN105494109A) (citations to examiner-provided translation).
Claim 9:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 7,” as described above. Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the vacuum pressure sensors are configured to measure the vacuum pressure levels at substantially 10-1000 measurements per second.” However, Zhu does teach this limitation (Zhu teaches each vacuum pressure sensor collecting data 20 times per second in Zhu [0021] "Single-chip microcomputer control circuit: Each single-chip microcomputer control circuit is connected to each vacuum pressure sensor, and the vacuum pressure is collected at a frequency of 20 times per second. The single-chip microcomputer control circuit is responsible for transmitting the collected pressure data to the host computer.").
Berg, Svahn, Jones, and Zhu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling milking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Berg, Svahn, Jones, and Zhu before him/her, to modify the teachings of a method of and a device for automatically milking an animal of Berg modified to include the method and arrangement for dairy animal management of Svahn, further modified to include the vacuum pump connected to a tank and the teat cups via teat cup lines of Jones, to include the pressure sensor collecting vacuum pressure at a frequency of 20 times per second of Zhu because adding the On-line monitoring system of milking pulsator for cows of Zhu would improve milking parlor management efficiency as described in Zhu [0013] "Due to the adoption of the above-mentioned technical solution, the present invention has the following advantages and positive effects compared to the existing technology: The present invention monitors pulsation frequency, pulsation ratio, and vacuum fluctuation online, transmits this data to a computer in real time, and integrates specific pulsator operating information into a single platform, displaying the operating status of each milking position and milking pulsator in real time. It can also promptly issue alarms for abnormal pulsators or milking line leaks, greatly improving milking parlor management efficiency and reducing the incidence of mastitis in dairy cows."
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US20030226506A1), in view of Svahn et al. (US20190327933A1, further in view of Jones (US3187719A), further in view of Wallace (US20190141942A1).
Claim 10:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 3, wherein the processing device is further configured to: obtain, continuously from the vacuum pressure sensors during the milking session, a respective vacuum pressure level under each one of the teats,” (Berg teaches controlling the vacuum with aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23 i.e. the vacuum is continuously monitored in Berg [0037] "Analogous to the common buffer vessel, each individual buffer vessel 13 is provided with a vacuum sensor 23 for measuring the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13. Here the individual milk pump 14 and/or the air inlet control valve 22, and thus the vacuum in the individual buffer vessel 13, can be controlled with the aid of data from the vacuum sensor 23."),
“and compare, for each teat the calculated rolling average of vacuum pressure levels with a correspondent vacuum profile of the vacuum profiles for the teat,” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to or lower than the measured vacuum i.e. the measured pressure is compared with the vacuum profile in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum."), and
“and for each one of the obtained vacuum pressure levels, if the obtained vacuum pressure level under a teat differs from a vacuum pressure level of the correspondent vacuum profile of the teat, generate a command to the vacuum regulator of the teat cup milking the teat to adjust the vacuum pressure level at the teat cup, according to the correspondent vacuum profile.” (Berg teaches adjusting the vacuum to be equal to or a fixed value lower than the measured vacuum in Berg [0029] "Such a loading of the teat is prevented in that the computer and/or the calculating unit (in general a control device) uses the value of the milking vacuum measured by the milking vacuum gauge 6 for the control of the pulsator for adjusting the pulsation vacuum. Here the relevant components are controlled in such a way that the maximum underpressure value of the pulsation vacuum is equal to or is a fixed value lower than the measured milking vacuum.").
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones does not appear to explicitly teach “calculate a rolling average of vacuum pressure levels prevailing at each teat cup, based on a predetermined number of latest vacuum pressure levels obtained from the sensors,” However, Wallace does teach this limitation (Wallace teaches sensor outputs for pressure can be a rolling average of previous readings in Wallace [0203] "As noted above the operating pressure in the lower part of the liner bore 108 will drop due to milk flow. However the pressure drop may not be uniform over time, for example hydraulic effects can cause variations in vacuum level on time scales ranging from fractions of a second to many seconds, thus the fluid parameter measured by the sensing system may also fluctuate. To compensate for this the (or each) measured parameter, a corresponding determined pressure value or compensation pressure value can be averaged, low-pass filtered or otherwise smoothed to take out such variations. For example, the sensor outputs or determined pressure can be a rolling average over a window of between 1 and 10 seconds.").
Berg, Svahn, Jones, and Wallace are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling milking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Berg, Svahn, Jones, and Wallace before him/her, to modify the teachings of a method of and a device for automatically milking an animal of Berg modified to include the method and arrangement for dairy animal management of Svahn, further modified to include the vacuum pump connected to a tank and the teat cups via teat cup lines of Jones, to include the averaging of previous pressure outputs of Wallace because adding the milking system and method of Wallace would more closely mirror the forces applied by a suckling infant as described in Wallace [0229] “The present inventor has determined that the modification in the milking process set out above, can more closely mirror the forces (e.g. compressive load and sucking vacuum) applied by a suckling infant. It is believed that operating at or about the natural force range may be more sustainable from a teat-damage perspective. FIG. 12 illustrates this concept diagrammatically. The diagram shows, for three milking system configurations, the operating pressure experienced by the cow's teat end during milking and the compressive load applied to the teat.”
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berg (US20030226506A1), in view of Svahn et al. (US20190327933A1), further in view of Jones (US3187719A), further in view of Lind et al. (US6651583B1).
Claim 16:
Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones teaches “The milking system according to claim 1,” as shown above. Berg in view of Svahn, further in view of Jones does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine a time period between a last milking session of the animal and a current moment in time when the animal is about to commence a subsequent milking session, and determine a teat specific vacuum pressure level to be applied at each respective teat based on the determined time period.” However, Lind does teach this limitation (Lind teaches adjusting the pressure based on the interval since the last milking session in Lind [Column 2 lines 32-43] "According to a further embodiment of the invention, the adjustment of the milking vacuum level is such that the milking vacuum level during the second milking operation is relatively low when the time period is relatively short and relatively high when the time period is relatively long. Consequently, the milking intensity may be reduced by reducing the milking vacuum level (i.e. a relatively high pressure) during the second milking operation when the milking interval from the preceding milking operation is relatively short and by increasing the milking vacuum level (i.e. a relatively low pressure) when the milking interval is relatively long.").
Berg, Svahn, Jones, and Lind are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling milking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Berg, Svahn, Jones, and Lind before him/her, to modify the teachings of a method of and a device for automatically milking an animal of Berg modified to include the method and arrangement for dairy animal management of Svahn, further modified to include the vacuum pump connected to a tank and the teat cups via teat cup lines of Jones, to include the adjustment of milking intensity based on the interval since the preceding milking operation of Lind because adding the method and a device for milking an animal of Lind would result in a more gentle treatment of the teats as described in Lind [Column 2 lines 7-15] “According to a preferred embodiment of the invention, the adjustment of at least one of said parameters is such that the second milking operation is performed in a less intensive manner when the time period is relatively short and in a more intensive manner when the time period is relatively long. The advantage of such a performance of the second milking operation is a more gentle treatment of the teats, especially when the preceding milking interval is short, which reduces the risks for injuries on the teats and which may result in a higher milk yield.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maier et al. (WO2012022356A1) teaches using predictive individual datasets in order to apply a milking vacuum control curve in Maier [0063] “Fig. 1f schematically shows a control process as it can take place on the basis of the control signals 141 a (see Fig. 1e) in order to adjust the milking vacuum according to the predictive data 133.
In this example, the expected behavior of the milk flow, represented by data set 133, is meant to be represented by the animal “Emma”. Based on the data 133, for example, suitable times and associated values for the operating vacuum can be determined by the control unit. The example shown depicts intervals T1, T2, T3 and T4, in which appropriately adjusted vacuum values are used. For example, in interval T1, it is known from the predictive data 133 that the overall milk quantity decreases, so that even in this phase the The corresponding milking vacuum can be reduced because the amount of milk to be extracted is smaller. This can reduce the physical strain on the animal, resulting in an overall higher level of well-being and an improvement in its health. Similarly, in interval 12 there is an increase in the expected milk flow, so that in this phase the milking vacuum can also be increased if necessary, using a lower overall maximum value if necessary.
Similarly, suitable vacuum values can also be used in the intervals T3 and T4. The level of the corresponding vacuum values can generally be adjusted to the size of the milk flow values, whereby this can be done by the control unit according to the detected milking time. A corresponding control sequence can be defined in advance and is then retrieved by the control unit when the identity of the animal to be milked is recognized and converted into the control signals, while in other embodiments the parameter values are determined in "real time", for example on the basis of an implemented algorithm that specifies a relationship between milk flow and vacuum and total milking time, etc. and thus results in an animal-specific adaptation based on the animal-individual data 133.”; Maier teaches that data 133 is based on data records D1 obtained for milking process M1 in Maier [0051] “The sensor device 123 is functionally connected to a data processing unit 130, to which the relevant data are supplied in a suitable manner, for example in real time by means of suitable data transmission channels, for example in the form of radio links, optical links, cable links, and the like. The data processing unit 130 thus receives corresponding data records, which in the example shown are designated as D1 and are assigned to a corresponding milking process, which is designated as M1. For example, for an animal 101, which is called "Emma", a corresponding data record D1 is obtained for the milking process M1, which, due to the aforementioned properties, usually has a characteristic course for the animal "Emma", unless corresponding irregularities have occurred during the milking process M1. Similarly, a data set D1 is determined, which is characteristic, for example, of an animal “Else” for the associated milking process M1... This data set is provided to a control unit 140, which is functionally connected to the data processing unit 130, in order to generate control signals 141 which are used to control the milking process or certain phases thereof and/or to appropriately control operational processes relating to the occupancy of the milking stalls 150, as is explained in more detail below. Fig. 1b schematically shows the data processing unit 130 according to an embodiment in which a process is implemented to generate desired animal-specific data sets 133 from the measured data D1 , D2, D3, ... for the respective milking processes M1 , M2, ... .”
/Z.A.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 2116 /KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116