DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-10, 13-15, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by STRAUBE (DE 10 2012 018001) .
STRAUBE discloses in reference to claim:
A composite pane 34 with an electrically heatable camera window, comprising: an outer pane 38 at 110 and an inner pane 38 at 140, which are joined to one another flat via at least one thermoplastic intermediate layer 36, wherein the outer pane comprises a surface facing away from the intermediate layer and a second surface facing the intermediate layer, and the inner pane comprises a first surface facing the intermediate layer and a second surface facing away from the intermediate layer, at least one optically transparent camera window 14, inside the camera window, a first electrically conductive transparent coating 20 for heating the camera window, wherein the first electrically conductive transparent coating 20 is arranged at 130 on the first surface of the inner pane inside the camera window and has two busbars 22 provided for connection to a voltage source 28, which are arranged on two opposite sides of the camera window (see figure 1) such that when an electrical voltage is applied to the two busbars 22, a current flows through the first electrically conductive transparent coating 20.
3. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the two busbars 22 are formed from a printed and baked printing paste.
At position 130 are the sensor area headers 22 at the side of the electrically heated sensor area 14 arranged. This is done in particular by means of printing or inserting the sensor area bus bars 22 , "Printing" refers to an application by means of a layer-applying manufacturing process. Typically, printing is printing of a silver-containing paste which is later brought into the glass by a burn-in. "Insertion" is typically understood to mean insertion of an electrically conductive ribbon conductor (usually of copper). The sensor area bus bars 22 will also be in position 130 through the electrical conductors 24 , which can be isolated in particular by means of a kapton tape, contacted. This will typically be together with the electrical conductors 24 after exiting the transparent substrate 34 and thus from the transparent pane 10 on position 140 or 110 folded (for example bent) and in particular fixed. The electrically conductive layers 20 . 32 of the electrically heatable sensor area 14 and the field of vision 12 are also in position 130 arranged and in particular on the surface of the glass layer located there 38 applied (for example, coated). The material of the opaque area 18 is typically in position 120 arranged and in particular on the surface of the glass layer located there 38 applied (for example, coated). When using the transparent glass pane 10 as a windshield for a motor vehicle is the glass pane 38 between position 110 and position 120 typically as outer glass, whereas the glass 38 between position 130 and position 140 as an inner glass of the transparent pane 10 serves.
4. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the two busbars are implemented as two strips.
"Insertion" is typically understood to mean insertion of an electrically conductive ribbon conductor (usually of copper).
6. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the first electrically conductive transparent coating 20 is arranged over an entire surface on the first surface of the inner pane inside the camera window.
7. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the composite pane 34 has a second electrically conductive transparent coating 32 on the first surface of the inner pane.
8. The composite pane according to claim 7, wherein the first electrically conductive transparent coating 20 and the second electrically conductive transparent coating 32 are the same.
The electrically conductive layers 20/ 32 of the electrically heatable sensor area 14 and the field of vision 12 are also in position 130 arranged and in particular on the surface of the glass layer located there 38 applied (for example, coated). The material of the opaque area 18 is typically in position 120 arranged and in particular on the surface of the glass layer located there 38 applied (for example, coated). When using the transparent glass pane 10 as a windshield for a motor vehicle is the glass pane 38 between position 110 and position 120 typically as outer glass, whereas the glass 38 between position 130 and position 140 as an inner glass of the transparent pane 10 serves.
9. The composite pane according to claim 7, wherein the first electrically conductive transparent coating and/or the second electrically conductive transparent coating have infrared-reflecting properties. Note that each of the coatings has at least a generic infrared-reflecting property, even if the infrared reflection between 0% and 100% reflection.
10. The composite pane according to claim 7, wherein a coating-free separation line 42 is provided for electrical insulation of the first electrically conductive transparent coating 20 from the second electrically conductive transparent coating 32, wherein the coating-free separation line at least partially surrounds the camera window 14.
13. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the composite pane is a windshield.
When using the transparent glass pane 10 as a windshield for a motor vehicle is the glass pane 38 between position 110 and position 120 typically as outer glass, whereas the glass 38 between position 130 and position 140 as an inner glass of the transparent pane 10 serves.
14. A method for producing a composite pane according to claim 1, comprising: applying the first electrically conductive transparent coating to at least part of the first surface of the inner pane, applying the two busbars to the first electrically conductive transparent coating on two opposite sides of the camera window, wherein the two busbars are arranged such that when an electrical voltage is applied to the two busbars, a current flows through the first electrically conductive transparent coating, and joining the first surface of the inner pane with the electrically conductive transparent coating to the second surface of the outer pane via the thermoplastic intermediate layer.
15. A method comprising providing a composite pane according to claim 1 in a locomotion vehicle for traffic on land, in the air, or on water.
When using the transparent glass pane 10 as a windshield for a motor vehicle is the glass pane 38 between position 110 and position 120 typically as outer glass, whereas the glass 38 between position 130 and position 140 as an inner glass of the transparent pane 10 serves.
17. The composite pane according to claim 3, wherein the printed and baked printing paste contains metal particles and/or carbon.
At position 130 are the sensor area headers 22 at the side of the electrically heated sensor area 14 arranged. This is done in particular by means of printing or inserting the sensor area bus bars 22 , "Printing" refers to an application by means of a layer-applying manufacturing process. Typically, printing is printing of a silver-containing paste which is later brought into the glass by a burn-in.
18. The composite pane according to claim 4, wherein the two busbars are implemented as two parallel strips. See Figure 3
20. The method according to claim 15, wherein the composite pane is a windshield.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2, 5, 11, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STRAUBE (DE 10 2012 018001).
STRAUBE discloses the claimed invention as delineated above except in reference to claim:
2. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein at least one of two busbars has a width of 0.1 mm to 30 mm.
5. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein a layer thickness of the two busbars is 5 μm to 40 μm.
11. The composite pane according to claim 10, wherein the coating-free separation line has a width of 30 μm to 200 μm.
16. The composite pane according to claim 2, wherein the width is from 4 mm to 20 mm.
19. The composite pane according to claim 5, wherein the layer thickness of the two busbars is 8 μm to 20 μm.
STRAUBE discloses the invention except the specific values for the width or thickness of various elements of the device. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice by one having the knowledge, creativity and common sense that is ordinarily brought to bear when considering modifications or combinations of the prior art to provide the thickness and/or widths as claimed since such a modification would involve only a mere change ins size of an element of the device. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered within the skill of the average artisan. Motivation to provide small thickness and widths can be found in the general pursuit of more compact manufacturing.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STRAUBE (DE 10 2012 018001) in view of KOLF (US 2022/0152987A1).
STRAUBE discloses the claimed invention as delineated above except in reference to claim:
12. The composite pane according to claim 1, wherein the camera window has at least one coating-free communication window for the transmission of electromagnetic radiation through the composite pane, wherein the communication window has an area of 10% to 30% of an area of the camera window.
Straube suggests however does not explicitly discuss the provision of a one coating-free communication window at A for the transmission of electromagnetic radiation through the composite pane, wherein the communication window has an area of 10% to 30% of an area of the camera window.
Kolf discloses a similar device to Straube including a discussion of a coating-free communication window 9 for the transmission of electromagnetic radiation through the composite pane, wherein the communication window 9 has an area of 10% to 30% of an area of the camera window 9.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art given the teachings of Kolf to provide the suggested one coating-free communication window for the transmission of electromagnetic radiation through the composite pane, wherein the communication window has an area of 10% to 30% of an area of the camera window as under rationale (D)-- Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc