DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated January 28, 2026 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 7, and 26 have been amended. Claims 55-69 have been added. Claims 2, 16-25, 41, and 45 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 26, and 55-69 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 26, 55-58, 62-66, and 68-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230403757, hereinafter, “Kong” in view of Wang et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230038417, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kong teaches:
A first device, comprising (Kong: Base Station. Fig. 5):
at least one processor (Kong: [0121] … the processor is coupled to the communication interface …); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Kong: [0121] … the processor may read and execute a software program stored in the memory …);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to (Kong: [0121] … the processor may read and execute a software program stored in the memory …):
determine an extended discontinuous reception configuration for a second device in an inactive state, the second device located within an area served by one or more devices comprising the first device (Kong: [0238] S52: The access network device determines a second cycle based on the first cycle. [0239] After receiving the first cycle, the access network device may determine, based on the first cycle, an eDRX cycle that is to be configured for the first UE [i.e., second device] to use in RRC inactive state … Fig. 5), wherein the extended discontinuous reception configuration comprises a duration of an extended discontinuous reception cycle for the second device (Kong: For example, the cycle determined by the access network device is referred to as the second cycle. A time length of the second cycle determined by the access network device needs to fall within a range acceptable to the core network device. Therefore, the time length of the second cycle may be less than or equal to the time length of the first cycle. From this perspective, the first cycle may be considered as a maximum eDRX cycle that is configured for the first UE to use in RRC inactive state and acceptable to the core network device. Fig. 5).
Although Kong teaches the access network device determining the eDRX cycle and duration to be configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state, Kong does not explicitly teach:
in response to a determination that the second device is to perform a state transition from a connected state to the inactive state and a determination that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds a duration threshold, determine configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold; and
transmit, to a third device of a core network, the configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold to cause the third device to adjust downlink transmissions for the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
in response to a determination that the second device is to perform a state transition from a connected state to the inactive state (Wang: 0361] Specifically, the access network device may send the configuration information of the eDRX cycle to the UE before the UE switches to the RRC inactive mode. For example, the configuration information of the eDRX cycle may be carried in an RRC release message, and the RRC release message is used to release the UE from an RRC connected mode to the RRC inactive mode …) and a determination that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds a duration threshold, determine configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold (Wang: [0494] Step 2500: An access network device determines that an eDRX cycle is greater than a preset threshold … [0495] The preset threshold is predefined, or is configured by using a message from a core network device … [0496] Step 2501: The access network device sends first information to an AMF … [0497] For example, the first information includes but is not limited to one or more of the following: the eDRX cycle … a first duration, and first indication information, where the first duration indicates a time interval to a next PTW, and the first indication information indicates that a terminal device is in an RRC inactive mode …); and
transmit, to a third device of a core network, the configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold to cause the third device to adjust downlink transmissions for the second device (Wang: [0496] Step 2501: The access network device sends first information to an AMF, where the first information may be used by the AMF to determine a waiting duration. Correspondingly, the AMF receives the first information from the access network device … [0497] For example, the first information includes but is not limited to one or more of the following: the eDRX cycle … a first duration, and first indication information, where the first duration indicates a time interval to a next PTW, and the first indication information indicates that a terminal device is in an RRC inactive mode … [0499] Step 2502: The AMF sends the second information, where the second information is used to be sent to the terminal device … [0501] Step 2503: The AMF waits to receive the response information from the terminal device in the determined waiting duration. [0502] In an implementation, when sending the second information, the AMF starts a timer, and waits, before the timer times out, to receive the response information from the UE. The response information may be response information of the UE for the second information. Specifically, a timing duration of the timer is a duration determined by the AMF based on the first information, that is, the waiting duration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kong to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to reduce load on the network. (Wang, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the configuration information is transmitted to the third device via a radio resource control inactive transition report message (Kong: [0249] Optionally, the access network device may not send the second cycle to the core network device by using the initial context setup response message, but send the RRC inactive transition report including the second cycle to the core network device.).
Regarding claim 6, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the first device is caused to determine the configuration information by:
determining the configuration information based on the extended discontinuous reception configuration and a duration of a retransmission timer of the third device (Kong: [0209] The NAS timing information may include a minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message, or include a maximum number of retransmissions of the NAS message, or include a minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message and a maximum number of retransmissions of the NAS message. If the NAS timing information includes the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message, the adjustment of the NAS timing information by the core network device refers to adjusting the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message. For example, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message may be increased or decreased. To make the eDRX cycle configured for the UE more flexible, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message may be usually increased. However, the core network device has an acceptance limit. Therefore, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message cannot be infinitely increased, but has an upper limit for adjustment …).
Regarding claim 7, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the first device is caused to determine the configuration information by:
in accordance with a determination that a next paging occasion of the extended discontinuous reception cycle arrives after the retransmission timer of the third device expires, determining the configuration information (Kong: [0180] ... During each eDRX cycle, the UE can receive downlink data only in a specified PTW [paging time window]. The UE is in the dormant state during other time than the PTW. There is one PTW in each eDRX cycle, and the UE monitors a paging channel in the PTW according to the DRX cycle …).
Regarding claim 26, Kong teaches:
A method comprising:
determining, at a first device, an extended discontinuous reception configuration for a second device in an inactive state, the second device located within an area served by one or more devices comprising the first device (Kong: [0238] S52: The access network device determines a second cycle based on the first cycle. [0239] After receiving the first cycle, the access network device may determine, based on the first cycle, an eDRX cycle that is to be configured for the first UE [i.e., second device] to use in RRC inactive state … Fig. 5), wherein the extended discontinuous reception configuration comprises a duration of an extended discontinuous reception cycle for the second device (Kong: For example, the cycle determined by the access network device is referred to as the second cycle. A time length of the second cycle determined by the access network device needs to fall within a range acceptable to the core network device. Therefore, the time length of the second cycle may be less than or equal to the time length of the first cycle. From this perspective, the first cycle may be considered as a maximum eDRX cycle that is configured for the first UE to use in RRC inactive state and acceptable to the core network device. Fig. 5).
Although Kong teaches the access network device determining the eDRX cycle and duration to be configured for the UE to use in RRC inactive state, Kong does not explicitly teach:
in response to a determination that the second device is to perform a state transition from a connected state to the inactive state and a determination that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds a duration threshold, determining configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold; and
transmitting, to a third device of a core network, the configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold to cause the third device to adjust downlink transmissions for the second device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
in response to a determination that the second device is to perform a state transition from a connected state to the inactive state (Wang: 0361] Specifically, the access network device may send the configuration information of the eDRX cycle to the UE before the UE switches to the RRC inactive mode. For example, the configuration information of the eDRX cycle may be carried in an RRC release message, and the RRC release message is used to release the UE from an RRC connected mode to the RRC inactive mode …) and a determination that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds a duration threshold, determining configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold (Wang: [0494] Step 2500: An access network device determines that an eDRX cycle is greater than a preset threshold … [0495] The preset threshold is predefined, or is configured by using a message from a core network device … [0496] Step 2501: The access network device sends first information to an AMF … [0497] For example, the first information includes but is not limited to one or more of the following: the eDRX cycle … a first duration, and first indication information, where the first duration indicates a time interval to a next PTW, and the first indication information indicates that a terminal device is in an RRC inactive mode …); and
transmitting, to a third device of a core network, the configuration information indicating that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold to cause the third device to adjust downlink transmissions for the second device (Wang: [0496] Step 2501: The access network device sends first information to an AMF, where the first information may be used by the AMF to determine a waiting duration. Correspondingly, the AMF receives the first information from the access network device … [0497] For example, the first information includes but is not limited to one or more of the following: the eDRX cycle … a first duration, and first indication information, where the first duration indicates a time interval to a next PTW, and the first indication information indicates that a terminal device is in an RRC inactive mode … [0499] Step 2502: The AMF sends the second information, where the second information is used to be sent to the terminal device … [0501] Step 2503: The AMF waits to receive the response information from the terminal device in the determined waiting duration. [0502] In an implementation, when sending the second information, the AMF starts a timer, and waits, before the timer times out, to receive the response information from the UE. The response information may be response information of the UE for the second information. Specifically, a timing duration of the timer is a duration determined by the AMF based on the first information, that is, the waiting duration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kong to include the features as taught by Wang above in order to reduce load on the network. (Wang, ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 55, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of:
a paging transmission window of the second device (Kong: [0180] ... During each eDRX cycle, the UE can receive downlink data only in a specified PTW [paging time window]. The UE is in the dormant state during other time than the PTW. There is one PTW in each eDRX cycle, and the UE monitors a paging channel in the PTW according to the DRX cycle …).
Regarding claim 56 Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
wherein the first device is caused to determine the configuration information by:
determining the configuration information based on the extended discontinuous reception configuration and a buffer status of the first device (Wang: [0480] In the foregoing method, the access network device may determine, based on a buffer status of the access network device and a status of the UE, to perform the foregoing method procedure. In a possible scenario, for example, when determining that a buffer of the access network device is insufficient, for example, remaining buffer space is less than a first preset value, the access network device sends the first information to the AMF. For another example, when determining that the UE is in an eDRX mode or in an RRC inactive mode, the access network device sends the first information to the AMF …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 57, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 56 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
wherein the first device is caused to determine the configuration information by:
in accordance with a determination that the buffer of the first device is to be filled with downlink transmissions from the third device, determining the configuration information (Wang: [0047] In a possible design, the method includes: receiving fourth indication information from the first network device, where the fourth indication information indicates whether downlink data of the terminal device is buffered.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 58, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the first device is further caused to:
in accordance with the determination that the duration of the extended discontinuous reception cycle exceeds the duration threshold, cause the third device to increase a duration of a retransmission timer of the third device (Kong: [0209] The NAS timing information may include a minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message, or include a maximum number of retransmissions of the NAS message, or include a minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message and a maximum number of retransmissions of the NAS message. If the NAS timing information includes the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message, the adjustment of the NAS timing information by the core network device refers to adjusting the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message. For example, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message may be increased or decreased. To make the eDRX cycle configured for the UE more flexible, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message may be usually increased ..).
Regarding claim 62 Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
receive, from the third device, the downlink transmissions comprising at least one of a paging request, data transmissions or data retransmissions; and transmit, to the second device, the downlink transmissions (Wang: … when terminal device-specific data transmission is performed between a network device and a terminal device, for example, the network device is an access network device, the access network device receives downlink data [i.e., first device] of the terminal device (for example, downlink data of a PDU session of the terminal device) from a core network device [i.e., third device]. When the access network device needs to send the downlink data to the terminal device [i.e., second device], the terminal device needs to be in the RRC connected mode …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 63 Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
wherein the first device comprises an anchor node for the area, the second device comprises a terminal device, and the third device comprises a network device configured with an access and mobility management function (Wang: Figure 25 shows an AMF (third device), a RAN (first device), and the UE (second device)).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 64, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 26 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the configuration information is transmitted to the third device via a radio resource control inactive transition report message (Kong: [0037] … The core network device receives an RRC inactive transition report from the access network device, where the RRC inactive transition report is used to indicate that the first terminal device enters RRC inactive state. The core network device sends the NAS message to the first terminal device according to the second cycle).
Regarding claim 65, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 26 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of:
a paging transmission window of the second device (Kong: [0180] ... During each eDRX cycle, the UE can receive downlink data only in a specified PTW [paging time window]. The UE is in the dormant state during other time than the PTW. There is one PTW in each eDRX cycle, and the UE monitors a paging channel in the PTW according to the DRX cycle …).
Regarding claim 66, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 26 as outlined above.
Kong further teaches:
determining the configuration information based on the extended discontinuous reception configuration and a duration of a retransmission timer of the third device (Kong: [0209] The NAS timing information may include a minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message, or include a maximum number of retransmissions of the NAS message, or include a minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message and a maximum number of retransmissions of the NAS message. If the NAS timing information includes the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message, the adjustment of the NAS timing information by the core network device refers to adjusting the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message. For example, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message may be increased or decreased. To make the eDRX cycle configured for the UE more flexible, the minimum retransmission time interval of the NAS message may be usually increased ..).
Regarding claim 68, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 26 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
determining the configuration information based on the extended discontinuous reception configuration and a buffer status of the first device (Wang: [0480] In the foregoing method, the access network device may determine, based on a buffer status of the access network device and a status of the UE, to perform the foregoing method procedure. In a possible scenario, for example, when determining that a buffer of the access network device is insufficient, for example, remaining buffer space is less than a first preset value, the access network device sends the first information to the AMF. For another example, when determining that the UE is in an eDRX mode or in an RRC inactive mode, the access network device sends the first information to the AMF …).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 26.
Regarding claim 69, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 68 as outlined above.
Wang further teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the buffer of the first device is to be filled with downlink transmissions from the third device, determining the configuration information (Wang: [0047] In a possible design, the method includes: receiving fourth indication information from the first network device, where the fourth indication information indicates whether downlink data of the terminal device is buffered.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Wang is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 26.
Claims 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong-Wang in view of Kedalagudde et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220151014, hereinafter, “Kedalagudde”).
Regarding claim 59, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong-Wang does not explicitly teach:
determine whether the downlink transmissions are allowed based on the extended discontinuous reception cycle of the second device;
in accordance with a determination that the downlink transmissions are allowed, transmit, to the third device, a first indication of the downlink transmissions being allowed; and
in accordance with a determination that the downlink transmissions are not allowed, transmit, to the third device, a second indication of no downlink transmission being allowed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kedalagudde teaches:
determine whether the downlink transmissions are allowed based on the extended discontinuous reception cycle of the second device (Kedalagudde: [0189] At step 1106, the RAN waits for the UE to become reachable. Note that the RAN is aware of UE's eDRX cycle such that it can determining the next paging occasion. At step 1107, the RAN initiates RAN paging based on when the UE is supposed to be reachable in accordance with its eDRX cycle ... Fig. 11);
in accordance with a determination that the downlink transmissions are allowed, transmit, to the third device, a first indication of the downlink transmissions being allowed (Kedalagudde: [0190] At step 1109, the RAN sends a N2 notification response message to the AMF indicating that the UE is now reachable. At step 1110, based on receiving the N2 notification response, the AMF sends a Namf_MT_EnableUEReachability_Response to the SMF to indicate that the UE is now reachable ...); and
in accordance with a determination that the downlink transmissions are not allowed, transmit, to the third device, a second indication of no downlink transmission being allowed (Kedalagudde: [0187] At step 1101, the AF sends downlink data to the UPF. At step 1102, the UPF buffers the downlink data based on information collected via step 1100c, e.g., buffer support information and learning that the UE is in eDRX. At step 1103, the UPF sends a N4 data notification message to the SMF. At step 1104, the SMF requests a UE reachability report via the Namf_MT_EnableUEReachability_Request based on the N4 data notification sent from the UPF. In some implementations, the SMF can wait for the next MO data from UE to trigger the sending of downlink data without invoking the UE reachability reporting. [0188] At step 1105, the AMF sends a N2 notification request, which includes a UE reachability information request, to the RAN. The trigger for AMF to send the N2 notification request message to obtain information on UE reachability from the RAN is based on the UE being in the RRC_INACTIVE state (as notified from RAN in step 1100) and UE supporting eDRX (as negotiated by the network) and the arrival of DL data in step 1101. Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kong-Wang to include the features as taught by Kedalagudde above in order to support user equipment (UE) in an extended discontinuous reception mode. (Kedalagudde, ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 60, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong-Wang does not explicitly teach:
in response to receiving uplink transmissions from the second device, determine that the downlink transmissions are allowed; and transmit, to the third device, a first indication of the downlink transmissions being allowed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kedalagudde teaches:
in response to receiving uplink transmissions from the second device, determine that the downlink transmissions are allowed; and transmit, to the third device, a first indication of the downlink transmissions being allowed (Kedalagudde[0202] ... In some implementations, a trigger for the AMF to send the N2 notification request message to obtain information on UE reachability from the RAN is based on the UE being in an RRC_INACTIVE state as notified in the N2 notification, the UE supporting eDRX, and arrival of DL data. The RAN can send an N2 notification response to the AMF. The N2 notification response can include expected UE reachability information derived from a next paging occasion. In some implementations, the N2 notification response can include updated buffering support information ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kong-Wang to include the features as taught by Kedalagudde above in order to support user equipment (UE) in an extended discontinuous reception mode. (Kedalagudde, ¶ [0005]).
Claim 61 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong-Wang in view of Palenius (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2020146064A1, hereinafter, “Palenius”).
Regarding claim 61, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Kong-Wang does not explicitly teach:
drop the downlink transmissions from the third device based on a buffer status of the first device; and transmit, to the third device, an indication of the downlink transmissions being dropped.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Palenius teaches:
drop the downlink transmissions from the third device based on a buffer status of the first device; and transmit, to the third device, an indication of the downlink transmissions being dropped (Palenius: … The logical flow may start in block 700 where the RAN node 130 receives [i.e., first device], from the core network 104 [i.e., third device], downlink data intended for the UE 100 [i.e., second device]. At block 702, the RAN node 130 determines that the UE 100 is unavailable while in an inactive state … At block 704, the RAN node 130 transmits a notification message to the core network 104. The notification message can include at least one of an identification of the UE 100, an identification of a PDU session associated with the radio link, or an indication of whether the downlink data has been dropped (not buffered or transmitted to the UE 100) … Fig. 7 and [Page 13, lines 7-27]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kong-Wang to include the features as taught by Palenius above in order to provide assistance data. (Palenius, ¶ [Page 1, lines 10-14]).
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong-Wang in view of Kim et.al. (WIPO (PCT) Patent Application Publication, WO2020067849A1, hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claim 67, Kong-Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 66 as outlined above.
Kong-Wang does not explicitly teach:
in accordance with a determination that a next paging occasion of the extended discontinuous reception cycle arrives after the retransmission timer of the third device expires, determining the configuration information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches:
in accordance with a determination that a next paging occasion of the extended discontinuous reception cycle arrives after the retransmission timer of the third device expires, determining the configuration information (Kim: [0192] ... Alternatively, if the remaining time until the terminal's next Paging occasion is less than the received timer value, the base station may transmit MT signaling to the terminal at the time the terminal wakes up according to the eDRX cycle … [0193] If the base station determines that the terminal's eDRX sleep cycle is greater than the received timer value, and transmits MT signaling to the terminal at the time the terminal wakes up according to the eDRX cycle, it can determine that the Retransmission timer has already expired …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kong-Wang to include the features as taught by Kim above in order to communicate with the terminal using eDRX in RRC-Inactive. (Kim, ¶ [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416