DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s response dated 11 February 2026. Claims 1-32 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 33-81 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-8, 11-22 and 24-32 are as previously presented. Claims 2, 10 and 23 are currently amended. Claim 9 is as originally presented.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 February 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In view of the Applicant’s amendments dated 11 February 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous claim objections; withdraws previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); and maintains the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Montague et al. (US 10946939 B1) fails to disclose claim 1’s “...sealing means for providing a seal around a subset of the electrically conductive connections when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other.” Montague et al. discloses “...sealing means for providing a seal (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; seal 128, seal 122, seal 154, resilient plug boot 260, seal 224 and upper and lower seals 290, 292) around a subset (Examiner interprets “subset” to be at least any one of the pins 201A, 210B or pin connector 142 to be a subset to the set of pins 201A, 210B and/or pin connector 142 as shown in Figs. 1-8C) of the electrically conductive connections (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; pins 210A, 210B, and pin connectors 142) when the first connector (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, plug 200) and the second connector (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, socket 100) are connected to each other (Where seal 154, 224 and resilient plug boot 260 when viewed with their respective pins 210A, 210B, and/or pin connectors 142 provide a seal when plug 200 and socket 100 are connected or separated).”.
The Applicant on page 3 of 5 of the remarks state that seals 290, 292 provide a seal around all the electrically conductive connections between the socket 100 and plug 200. Therefore, seals 290, 292 do not seal around “a subset of the electrically conductive connections”. Examiner agrees with the Applicant. Seals 290, 292 are provided as disclosing “sealing means”.
The Applicant on page 3 of 5 of the remarks state that seals 122, 154 and 224 do not provide a seal “when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other.” Examiner asserts the seals 122, 154 and 224 of Montague et al. seal when the plug 200 and socket 100 are separated and connected. The claim language does not recite that the action of making the connection would make or break the seal, therefore under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) the Examiner maintains that seals 122, 154, and 224 disclose the claimed limitations.
The Applicant on page 3 of 5 of the remarks state that the resilient plug boot 260 is contrary to the claimed function “for providing a seal around a subset of the electrically conductive connections when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other.” The Applicant uses Montague et al. col. 13, lines 48+ to cite the function of the resilient plug boot 260 is for isolating each of the pins from one another. Examiner asserts the plug boot 260 has additional functionality of sealing from fluid and debris when the plug 200 and socket 100 are separated and connected (See at least: Col. 13 lines 55-65 “The plug boot 260 may be resilient and formed of a hard or soft rubber material to aid in sealing the pins 210A and 210B. For example, the plug boot 260 may inhibit fluid and debris from entering the holes 262 of the plug 200 and from reaching the seal 224 of the pins 210A and 210B. When the plug 200 is inserted into the socket 100, the annular wall 266 of the plug boot 260 extends into the socket boot 168 of the socket 100. This further aids in inhibiting fluid and debris from entering the holes 120 of the socket 100 and the holes 262 of the plug 200. The plug boot 260 is also an electrical insulator.”). Montague et al. specifically states that when the plug 200 is inserted into the socket 100, the plug boot 260 further aids in inhibiting fluid and debris from entering the holes of pins 210A, 210B, and pin connectors 142. Examiner asserts the resilient plug boot 260 best shows the limitation of “...sealing means (resilient plug boot 260) for providing a seal around a subset of the electrically conductive connections when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other.” The resilient plug boot 260 seals when the plug 200 and socket 100 are separated and connected. Additionally, the resilient plug boot 260 creates a seal when the plug 200 and socket 100 are made up and breaks a seal when the plug 200 and socket 100 are separated. Therefore, under BRI the Examiner maintains that resilient plug boot 260 disclose the claimed limitations.
Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding limitations.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 recites “the electric power module (106).” and should be “the electric power module.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “sealing means” in claims 1-2, 17-18 and 24-25 and “propulsion means” in claim 13. Regarding “sealing means” the spec. page 21 of 52 recites “…Whilst FIG.s 4 and 5 show sealing means in the form of O-rings, it will be appreciated that other types of sealing means may be provided, for example radial seals, sealing gaskets, and moulded rubber seals. In examples where a releasable connection is not required, a permanent seal could be provided, for example using a silicone-based sealant” and therefore the underlined seals are interpreted by the Examiner as “sealing means”. Regarding “propulsion means” the spec. page 1 of 52 recites “…it is desired to provide power systems for modular electrically motor-driven watercraft…” and page 13 of 52 recites “…The driveline module 104 comprises at least one motor unit 110 in driving connection with at least one propelling member 112 via at least one drive shaft 114. The propelling member 112 may, for example, comprise one or more propellers. In one example, the propelling member 112 is an impeller of a water jet arrangement, as known in the art…”. Therefore, the Examiner interprets “propulsion means” as at least one electric motor with an attached drive shaft where on the other end of the drive shaft is at least one propeller or impeller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 17-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Montague et al. (US 10946939 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Montague et al. discloses an electrical connector system (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, socket 100 and plug 200) for a modular watercraft (See at least: Fig. 9A watercraft 300), the electrical connector system comprising: a first connector (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, plug 200) including a plurality of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B); and a second connector (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, socket 100) including a plurality of electrically conductive female terminals (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pin connectors 142); wherein each electrically conductive pin and a corresponding one of electrically conductive female terminals are configured to mate when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other to provide a respective electrically conductive connection (See at least: Figs. 1-8C); and wherein the electrical connector system includes sealing means (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, seal 128, seal 122, seal 154, resilient plug boot 260, seal 224 and upper and lower seals 290, 292) for providing a seal around a subset of the electrically conductive connections (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B and pin connectors 142, where an single one of; or set of mating connecting pins/connector are considered as a “subset”) when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; where resilient plug boot 260 best shows this.).
Regarding claim 2, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the sealing means comprises: at least one O-ring (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; seal 128, seal 122, seal 154, seal 224 and upper and lower seals 290, 292) disposed in one of the first connector and the second connector; and at least one channel (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; groove 124, groove 132, groove 152, inner and outer sealing surfaces 138, 140: best shown in figs. 5 and 6B) disposed in the second connector; wherein the O-ring and the channel (410, 412, 414, 416) are configured to interact and provide the seal when the first and the second connectors are connected to each other (See at least: Fig. 7C showing the plug 200 and socket 100 interacting together and where upper and lower seals 290, 292 contact making a seal with inner and outer sealing surfaces 138, 140 when the plug 200 and socket 100 are connected to each other).
Regarding claim 3, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein a respective O-ring (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; seal 224; where fig. 6 shows this best) is disposed around each of the plurality of electrically conductive pins and a respective channel (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; groove 152; where fig. 5 shows this the best) is disposed around each of the plurality of electrically conductive female terminals.
Regarding claim 4, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the electrically conductive connections are configured to transfer power and/or data between the first connector and the second connector (See at least: col. 1 lines 63-67 and col. 2 line 1; “The electrically conductive pathway may carry electrical power to the propulsion unit. The electrically conductive pathway may also or alternatively carry communication signals between a transceiver in the waterproof electronics container and a transceiver mounted in the propulsion unit”.).
Regarding claim 5, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the electrical connector system is configured to transfer power and data between the first connector and the second connector (See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “pins 210A are used to conduct power whereas pins 210B are used to conduct communication signals. The power pins 210A may conduct high current or provide high voltage used to power electrical equipment including as examples, an electric motor, an electronic speed controller, an infotainment system, a navigation system, a communication system, etc. The communication pins 210B may conduct electronic signals including information for an electronic device. The communication pins may conduct electronics signals sent using one or more defined communication protocols. By way of example, the communication signals may follow the controller area network (CAN) protocol (ISO 11898). By way of further example, communication signals may transfer data at a bit rate of 250 kbps or 500 kbps, however, communication signals of other bit rates may be used…”).
Regarding claim 6, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the plurality of electrically conductive pins comprises a first set of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A) and a second set of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210B);
wherein the plurality of electrically conductive female terminals comprises a first set of electrically conductive female terminals (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pin connectors 142 for pins 210A) and a second set of electrically conductive female terminals (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pin connectors 142 for pins 210B);
wherein each of the first set of electrically conductive pins and a corresponding one of the first set of electrically conductive female terminals are configured to provide a respective first electrically conductive connection when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, showing connection of plug 200 to socket 100 and the associated pins 210A to pin connectors 142);
wherein each of the second set of electrically conductive pins and a corresponding one of the second set of electrically conductive female terminals are configured to provide a respective second electrically conductive connection when the first connector and the second connector are connected to each other (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, showing connection of plug 200 to socket 100 and the associated pins 210B to pin connectors 142);
wherein the first electrically conductive connections are configured to transfer power between the first connector and the second connector (See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “pins 210A are used to conduct power…”);
and wherein the second electrically conductive connections are configured to transfer data between the first connector and the second connector (See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “…pins 210B are used to conduct communication signals…”).
Regarding claim 7, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to provide a blind mate connection with each other (See at least: col. 11 lines 28-30 “The tapered tip 206 may aid to guide and/or align the plug 200 as the plug 200 is inserted into the socket 100.” Where “aid to guide and/or align” is interpreted as blind mate sliding action that assists a person skilled in the art to connect the plug 200 to socket 100 by hand).
Regarding claim 8, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to provide a mechanical connection (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, where fig. 2 shows plug 200 and socket 100 released from each other and fig. 7c shows plug 200 and socket 100 in mechanically connected).
Regarding claim 9, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 8 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the mechanical connection is a releasable mechanical connection (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, where fig. 2 shows plug 200 and socket 100 released from each other and fig. 7c shows plug 200 and socket 100 in mechanically connected).
Regarding claim 10, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein one of the first connector and the second connector is coupled to a driveline module (See at least: Fig. 9B, where plug 200 is coupled to strut 308, upper portion 309, propulsion unit 310 and hydrofoils 311) of the modular watercraft;
and herein the other of first connector and the second connector is coupled to an electric power module (See at least: fig. 10B, container 302; col. 8 lines 32-35 “…the socket 100 may be mounted to a surface of an object, such as the wall of a container housing electronics and/or a power source. For example, as shown in FIGS. 10A-B, the socket 100 may be mounted to a portion of a container 302…”) of the modular watercraft (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, where socket 100 is coupled to container 302 and fig. 9B shows the watercraft 300).
Regarding claim 11, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the first connector or the second connector (See at least: Fig. 9B, plug 200) is disposed in an interface module (See at least: Fig. 9B, strut 308) of the driveline module.
Regarding claim 12, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the first connector (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, socket 100) or the second connector is disposed in a battery module (rechargeable battery; see at least: col. 18 lines 65-66 “…The container 302 is a watertight container that may house a rechargeable battery and associated safety features…”) of the electric power module.
Regarding claim 13, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses A driveline system (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, plug 200, strut 308, upper portion 309, propulsion unit 310, hydrofoils 311, container 302 and socket 100) for a modular watercraft (See at least: Fig. 9A watercraft 300), the driveline system comprising:
a driveline module (See at least: Fig. 9B, plug 200, strut 308, upper portion 309, propulsion unit 310 and hydrofoils 311) including propulsion means (See at least: Fig. 9B, propulsion unit 310) for the watercraft, the driveline module including a first connector (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, plug 200: see at least claim 1 rejection above) according to claim 1;
an electric power module (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, container 302, rechargeable battery (not shown) and socket 100) including a power source (rechargeable battery; see at least: col. 18 lines 65-66 “…The container 302 is a watertight container that may house a rechargeable battery and associated safety features…”) for the driveline module (See at least: fig. 9B), the electric power module including a first connector or a second connector (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, socket 100: see at least claim 1 rejection above) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 13 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses a hull module (See at least: fig. 9B, deck 307, open cavity 312 and board or flotation portion 306) including a hull of a hydrofoiling watercraft (See at least: fig. 9B, deck 307, open cavity 312 and board or flotation portion 306), hydroplane (boat), surfboard (surfboard), jet ski (jet ski), water scooter (device), inflatable craft (boat), overwater drone (device), underwater drone (device), submarine (device), or boat (boat); and the driveline system of claim 13 (See at least: claim 13 rejection above; Col. 18 lines 46-50 “The watercraft may also be a boat, an electric surfboard, a jet ski, or any device for use on the water that includes a battery and/or other electrical equipment, with similar benefits.”).
Regarding claim 15, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 14 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the hull module comprises a through hole (See at least: fig. 9B and 12A, open cavity 312) adapted to receive the first connector and/or the second connector (See at least: fig. 12A, which best shows that both the plug 200 and socket 100 is in the through hole portion of the open cavity 312 of fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 17, Montague et al. discloses An interface module (See at least: Fig. 9B, strut 308, plug 200) for a driveline module (See at least: Fig. 9B, plug 200, strut 308, upper portion 309, propulsion unit 310 and hydrofoils 311) of a modular watercraft (See at least: Fig. 9A watercraft 300), the interface module comprising:
a connector (See at least: Fig. 9B, plug 200) configured to provide a plurality of electrically conductive connections (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B) to a second module (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, container 302, rechargeable battery (not shown) and socket 100) of the modular watercraft (See at least: col. 4 lines 12-21 “A watertight electronics container is provided, which is configured to mate with an electrically propelled watercraft. The container comprises a housing enclosing a power source. A first connector portion is substantially rigidly affixed to the housing and configured to interconnect with a second connector portion attached to the watercraft. The first connector portion may be integrally formed within the housing, or it may be a separate element. The first connector portion may correspond to either the connector plug or the connector socket described above…” where the arrangement of fig. 9B can have the plug 200 and socket 100 swapped);
wherein the plurality of electrically conductive connections is configured to transfer power and/or data between the interface module and the second module (See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “pins 210A are used to conduct power whereas pins 210B are used to conduct communication signals…”);
and wherein the connector includes sealing means (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, resilient plug boot 260, seal 224 and upper and lower seals 290, 292) for providing a seal (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, resilient plug boot 260, seal 224 and upper and lower seals 290, 292; where col. 17 lines 6-10 recite “…The plug 200 may be further inserted into the socket 100 until the plug boot 260 of the plug 200 is received within the socket boot 168 of the socket 100 to electrically and fluidically isolate each of the pins 210A,B from one another…” and is interpreted as a seal) around a subset (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; where upper and lower seals 290, 292 seal the set of pins 210A and 210B; additionally, plug boot 260 and seal 224 seal individually the pins 210A and 210B; where an individual pin is interpreted as a subset of the group of pins) of the electrically conductive connections when the connector is connected to the second module (See at least: Figs. 1-8C).
Regarding claim 18, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the sealing means comprises: at least one O-ring (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, upper and lower seals 290, 292) disposed in the connector and configured to interact with at least one corresponding channel (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; outer sealing surfaces 138, 140: best shown in figs. 5 and 6B) of the second module and provide the seal when the connector is connected to the second module (See at least: Fig. 7C showing the plug 200 and socket 100 interacting together and where upper and lower seals 290, 292 contact making a seal with inner and outer sealing surfaces 138, 140 when the plug 200 and socket 100 are connected to each other).
Regarding claim 19, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 18 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the connector comprises a plurality of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B) configured to mate with a corresponding plurality of electrically conductive female terminals (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pin connectors 142) of the second module to provide the plurality of electrically conductive connections between the interface module and the second module when the connector is connected to the second module (See at least: Figs. 1-8C).
Regarding claim 20, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 19 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the plurality of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B) comprises:
a first set of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A) configured to transfer power between the interface module and the second module (See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “pins 210A are used to conduct power …”);
and a second set of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B) configured to transfer data between the interface module and the second module (See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “…pins 210B are used to conduct communication signals…”).
Regarding claim 21, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 19 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein a respective O-ring (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, seal 224) is disposed around each of the plurality of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Fig. 4 which best shows seals 224 and pins 210A, 210B) and configured to interact with at least one corresponding channel (See at least: Fig. 7C which best shows the pins 210A interacting with corresponding pin connectors 142, thereby each seal 224 is for a respective pin connector 142) of the second module and provide the seal when the connector is connected to the second module (See at least: Fig. 7C showing the seal created when the plug 200 and socket 100 are connected).
Regarding claim 22, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 17 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the second module is an electric power module (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, container 302, rechargeable battery (not shown) and socket 100) or a motor unit of the modular watercraft.
Regarding claim 23, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 22 {interpreted by the Examiner as claim 17 due to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above} as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the connector (See at least: Fig. 9B, plug 200) comprises:
a first connector (See at least: fig. 5, shaft 216) configured to provide at least one electrically conductive connection to an electric power module (See at least: Fig. 9B and 10B, container 302, rechargeable battery (not shown) and socket 100) of the modular watercraft;
and a second connector (See at least: fig. 5, inner shaft 226, pin socket 230) configured to provide at least one electrically conductive connection to a motor unit (electric motor; See at least: Fig. 5 and col. 12 lines 48-49, “…The wire connected to the pin socket 230 may be electrically coupled to provide power to an electric motor…”, col. 17 lines 17-18 “…a propulsion unit 310 including an electric motor and propeller…”) of the modular watercraft.
Regarding claim 24, Montague et al. discloses a battery module (container 302. rechargeable battery, socket 100; See at least: col. 18 lines 65-66 “The container 302 is a watertight container that may house a rechargeable battery and associated safety features.”) for a modular watercraft (See at least: Fig. 9A watercraft 300), the battery module comprising:
a housing (See at least: Fig. 9A, container 302) including an electrical power source (rechargeable battery (not shown in the figs));
and a connector (See at least: Fig. 9A, socket 100) disposed on the housing and configured to provide a plurality of electrically conductive connections (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pin connectors 142, contacts 110) to a driveline module (See at least: Fig. 9B, plug 200, strut 308, upper portion 309, propulsion unit 310 and hydrofoils 311) of the modular watercraft;
wherein the plurality of electrically conductive connections is configured to transfer power between the electrical power source and the driveline module (See at least fig. 5 and 9B where power pins 210A connected to pin connectors 142 transfers power between the rechargeable battery and to the plug 200);
and wherein the connector includes at sealing means (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, seal 128, seal 122 and seal 154) for providing a seal (seal) around a subset of the electrically conductive connections (See at least fig. 3 and 5; where seals 122 seals the subset of contacts 110 and seals 154 seals the subset of pin connectors 142 ) the all the when the connector is connected to the driveline module (See at least fig. 7c: showing the plug 200 and socket 100 connected).
Regarding claim 25, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 24 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the sealing means comprises: at least one channel (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; inner and outer sealing surfaces 138, 140: best shown in figs. 5 and 6B-6C) disposed in the connector and configured to interact with at least one corresponding O-ring (See at least: Figs. 1-8C; upper and lower seals 290, 292) of the driveline module and provide the seal when the connector is connected to the driveline module (See at least: Fig. 7C showing the plug 200 and socket 100 interacting together and where upper and lower seals 290, 292 contact making a seal with inner and outer sealing surfaces 138, 140 when the plug 200 and socket 100 are connected to each other, and figs. 9A-9B and 10B for the watercraft 300).
Regarding claim 26, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 24 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the connector comprises a plurality of electrically conductive female terminals (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pin connectors 142) configured to mate with a corresponding plurality of electrically conductive pins (See at least: Figs. 1-8C, pins 210A, 210B) of the driveline module to provide the plurality of electrically conductive connections between the battery module and the driveline module when the connector is connected to the driveline module (See at least: figs. 9A-9B and 10B for the watercraft 300).
Regarding claim 27, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 26 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the plurality of electrically conductive female terminals comprises: a first set of electrically conductive female terminals (pin connectors 142 that connect to pins 210A; See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “pins 210A are used to conduct power whereas pins 210B are used to conduct communication signals...”) configured to transfer power between the battery module and the driveline module (See at least: figs. 9A-9B and 10B for the watercraft 300);
and a second set of electrically conductive female terminals (pin connectors 142 that connect to pins 210B; See at least: Col. 11 lines 41-56 “pins 210A are used to conduct power whereas pins 210B are used to conduct communication signals...”) configured to transfer data between the battery module and the driveline module (See at least: figs. 9A-9B and 10B for the watercraft 300).
Regarding claim 29, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 24 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the electrical power source comprises one or more electrochemical cells configured to store energy (See at least: NPL "electric battery" where a it is known that a battery (Montague et al.’s rechargeable battery) may have a single cell or multiple cells and is known to have a capacity of amount of electric charge at a rated voltage).
Regarding claim 30, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 29 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein the electrochemical cells are rechargeable (See at least: col. 18 line 66 “rechargeable battery” and NPL "electric battery" page 4 of 21 “secondary batteries” are known as “rechargeable batteries”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montague et al. (US 10946939 B1) in view of Lee et al. (KR 102103228 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 15 as noted above.
However, Montague et al. does not disclose wherein the through hole is configured to allow water to pass through during operation of the watercraft in order to cool at least part of the driveline module and/or the electric power module.
Lee et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the through hole (insertion portion 118: see at least fig. 6) is configured to allow water to pass through during operation of the watercraft in order to cool at least part of the driveline module and/or the electric power module (See at least: fig. 13 and translation copy page 7 of 10, 11th para. through 13th para. on the page; “…The module case 123 is a space where the control module 150 is installed, and the fluid case 124 contacts the module case 123, and fluid flows in or out. The fluid is a liquid such as seawater, and a plurality of circulation holes 124a are formed on the side of the fluid case 124 for the inflow or outflow of the fluid. That is, when the surfboard 110 is located on the water surface, fluid is introduced through the circulation hole 124a and fluid is disposed inside the fluid case 124 to generate heat generated in the control module 150. Heat exchange with this fluid is performed to achieve water-cooled cooling of the control module 150…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified watercraft 300 of Montague et al. with a water cooling passage capable of cooling a module of Lee et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing water to remove the heat generated by a module through water cooled heat exchange (See at least: Lee et al. translation copy page 7 of 10, 13th para. on the page).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montague et al. (US 10946939 B1).
Regarding claim 28, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 26 as noted above. Additionally, Montague et al. discloses wherein a respective channel (resilient socket boot 168; See at least: fig. 5 and 6B-7C) is disposed around each of the plurality of electrically conductive female terminals and configured to interact with at least one corresponding O-ring (resilient plug boot 260; See at least: fig. 5 and 6B-7C) of the driveline module and provide the seal when the connector is connected to the driveline module (See at least: col. 10 lines 66-67 and col. lines 1-3 “… socket boot 168 may be resilient and formed of a soft or hard rubber material which may provide additional sealing capabilities to further inhibit fluid from passing through or into holes 120…” and col. 11 lines 6-10 “…plug may contact a resilient plug boot 260 of the plug 200 to further seal against fluid and debris from entering the holes 120 and/or the outer socket 146 of the pin connectors 142...”)
However, Montague et al. does not disclose O-ring and uses resilient plug boot 260 to further seal the connection.
Montague et al., teaches that O-rings are known in the art as they are used for seals 224 upper and lower seals 290, 292 and could be used for seal 128 along with appropriate means to capture the O-rings to prevent it from rolling off (See at least: an annular recess or groove 222 that is used to capture seal 224).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sealing connection of socket boot 168 to resilient plug boot 260 of Montague et al. with another O-ring seal on shaft 216 using ribs 220, groove 222 and seal 224 (in the form of an O-ring) so that the seal 224 the contact with the socket boot 168 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of further seal against fluid and debris from passing the O-ring boundary.
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montague et al. (US 10946939 B1) in view of Thamm et al. (WO 2019141799 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 29 as noted above.
However, Montague et al. does not disclose further comprising a heat-conducting material disposed between the electrochemical cells and the housing.
Thamm et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a heat-conducting material (a good heat-conducting resin; See at least fig. 2 battery pack 7, translation copy page 6 of 12, 4th para. on the page “…The prefabricated battery pack 7 is potted with a good heat-conducting resin to protect it from water…”) disposed between the electrochemical cells and the housing (See at least: fig. 2; sealed housing 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the rechargeable battery of Montague et al. with the method of potting (interpreted as encapsulating the individual cells with protective material) with good heat-conducting resin of Thamm et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of protecting the battery and its cells from water and to improve heat transfer away from the battery (See at least: translation copy page 10 of 12, 8th para on the page. Thamm et al. “…The interior of the removable batteries can be potted to improve the heat transfer and/or to protect the components in the removable battery against ingress of water…”).
Regarding claim 32, Montague et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 24 as noted above.
However, Montague et al. does not disclose further comprising a second connector configured to provide an electrical connection between the battery module and another battery module.
Thamm et al. in a similar field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a second connector (See at least: fig. 3 contact 56 connecting one battery pack 7 in series to another battery pack 7, where there are two contacts 55, 56) configured to provide an electrical connection between the battery module (See at least figs. 1-3, removable battery 1 or 2) and another battery module (See at least figs. 1-3, removable battery 2 or 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the rechargeable battery of Montague et al. with another rechargeable battery 7 connected in series of Thamm et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit allowing higher power output {Examiner notes: connection in series: increase the voltage while keeping capacity the same, increasing power output of the system. Where connecting in parallel: would keep the voltage the same and double the capacity, increasing runtime of the system}.
Additional Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure and may be found in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
KÜBEL et al. (DE 102014215123 A1) teaches a charging plug with a collar which can serve, for example, by sealing means for sealing a connector against fluids and other environmental influences (See at least: figs. 2-3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC ANTHONY STARCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/MARC Q JIMENEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615