DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Following response to arguments is based on Applicant’s arguments filed on 04 November 2025.
Regarding Previous Claim Objections
Previous objection to claims 19, 25, 28 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the objected claims.
Regarding Previous Rejection Under 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments [Pages 5-6] with respect to rejection of claims 19, 25, 28 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 19, on pages 5-6, Applicant argues that prior art of record fails to teach “transmitting capability information related to a concurrent measurement gap (MG) to a base station”.
Newly found reference Nagaraja discloses a system where UE transmits capability info related to MG to BS, where the MG is also related to IDs. Hence, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that in Yang’s disclosure, corresponding UE and BS exchange the capability info related to the MG [Paragraphs 8-9, 63-64, 82, 110, 121, 130].
Regarding claims 25 and 28, these claims have been amended to incorporate similar limitations to those set forth in independent claim 19, and are rejected based on similar reasoning.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, the Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Status
Claims 19-20, 22-26, 28-29 have been amended. Claims 21, 27, 30 have been canceled. Claims 1-18 were previously canceled. Thus, claims 19-20, 22-26, 28-29 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20, 22-26, 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0084448) in view of Nagaraja et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0021017).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches a method comprising:
[
receiving measurement configuration information from the base station (UE 100 receives measurement configuration info from serving cell 200a),
wherein the measurement configuration information includes MG information (MG information), and
wherein the MG information includes one or more MG Identifiers (IDs) ([Paragraphs 10, 15, 191]); and
performing measurement based on MGs, which are configured based on the MG information (measurement performed by the UE based on the MG info).
However, Yang does not explicitly mention: transmitting capability information related to a concurrent measurement gap (MG) to a base station.
Nagaraja teaches, in a similar field of endeavor of communication systems, the following:
transmitting capability information related to a concurrent measurement gap (MG) to a base station (Nagaraja discloses a system where UE transmits capability info related to MG to BS, where the MG is also related to IDs. Hence, a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize that in Yang’s disclosure, corresponding UE and BS exchange the capability info related to the MG [Paragraphs 8-9, 63-64, 82, 110, 121, 130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system (as taught by Yang) by transmitting capability info (as taught by Nagaraja) for the purpose of improving measurement gaps that have different durations and different periodicities (Nagaraja – Paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 20, Yang further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the one or more MG IDs are received, based on that a UE supports the concurrent MG ([Paragraphs 189, 203, 225]).
Regarding claim 22, Yang further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the MGs include a primary MG and at least one secondary MG (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 23, Yang further teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the secondary MG corresponds to a different MG ID with the primary MG ([Paragraphs 191-194, 197, 201, 231-233]).
Regarding claim 24, Yang further teaches the method of claim 22,
wherein the MG information further includes information related to gap offset, which is applied to the MGs ([Paragraphs 10, 15 | Table 6]), and
wherein the secondary MG corresponds to a same MG ID with the primary MG and the secondary MG has different gap with the primary MG pattern ([Paragraphs 8, 10-12, 197-198, 201]).
Regarding claims 25-26, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 19-20.
Regarding claims 28-29, these claims are rejected as applied to claims 19-20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
February 7, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633