DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response dated July 24, 2026, is acknowledged. Currently claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that the term “millisecond based intervals” is clear and would cover a range of 1 to 1,000 milliseconds, but would exclude intervals less than 1 millisecond and greater than 1,000 milliseconds. Examiner disagrees. Examiner asserts that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term includes all time intervals, including time intervals less than 1 millisecond (e.g. 0.5 millisecond is still considered a “millisecond based interval”) as well as time intervals more than 1,000 milliseconds (e.g. there is no reason, besides general convention, that 10 minutes cannot be expressed as 600,000 milliseconds). Examiner asserts that the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “millisecond based intervals” does not require either the interval to be a whole millisecond or that larger values of milliseconds are not included. If Applicant wants to claim certain limits to the time changing interval the time interval must be specifically claimed if supported by the specification.
Applicant's arguments filed July 24, 2026 regarding the rejections under Vrba have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vrba does not disclose a "generator furthermore comprising a processing unit, comprising processing circuitry, configured to control to cause all three EM waves to be emitted at the same time and control interaction among them for the internal ablation of parenchymal organs, hollow anatomical conduits and/or blood vessels.” Examiner disagrees. As stated previously, Vrba discloses in [0179] wherein “Energy modalities include, but are not limited to . . . microwave energy, radiofrequency (RF) energy, . . . laser energy . . . or any combination thereof . . . . In various embodiments different energy modalities may be used in combination (either simultaneously or sequentially).” Vrba also discloses ablation of the pancreas as disclosed in [0186]).
As shown above, Vrba discloses applying energy modalities sequentially, which fulfills the limitation of delivering RF and MW as alternating pulses by switching between them at millisecond based intervals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vrba (US 2017/0348049, as previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Vrba discloses a tissue ablation system for the internal treatment of parenchymal organs hollow anatomical conduits or blood vessels (e.g. ablation system; [0002], said system comprising:
an Electromagnetic (EM) wave generator (e.g. generator as mention in [0186]) wherein said generator includes at least two EM wave outputs and is configured to provide three types of EM waves through said outputs comprising Radiofrequency (RF), Microwave (MW) and Laser (LS) (e.g. generator as mentioned in [0179] wherein “Energy modalities include, but are not limited to . . microwave energy, radiofrequency (RF) energy, . . . laser energy . . . . In various embodiments different energy modalities may be used in combination (either simultaneously or sequentially).”
wherein said generator furthermore comprising a processing unit comprising circuitry configured to control to cause all three EM waves to be emitted at the same time and control interaction among them including the ability to emit RF and and MW in alternate switch modalities (e.g. controller 23904 as shown in Figure 23 and described in [0308]) for the internal ablation of parenchymal organs, hollow anatomical conduits and/or blood vessels (e.g. stimulation of parenchymal organ, including pancreas, stomach, or small intestine as disclosed in [0186]) and control ablated tissue temperature and impedance (e.g. as disclosed in [0037]); and
a catheter with an active distal end (e.g. balloon catheter 400).
Regarding claim 2, Vrba further discloses wherein one of the outputs is a joint output that configured to provide two types of EM waves (e.g. multiple electrodes 403 that can be considered “joint outputs”).
Regarding claim 3, Vrba further discloses four outputs (e.g. multiple electrodes 403 that can be considered “joint outputs”).
Regarding claim 4, Vrba additionally disclose that said catheter comprises an internal shaft (e.g. shaft 1905 as shown in Figure 19A and 19B) and an external hollow shaft (e.g. shaft 1910 as shown in Figures 19A and 19B), both shafts being coaxial and movable relatively to each other (e.g. movable shafts; [0294]).
Regarding claim 8, Vrba discloses wherein said catheter comprises an anodic portion and a cathodic portion (e.g. bipolar electrode pairs will necessarily have anodic and cathodic portions; [0186]).
Regarding claim 13, Vrba additionally discloses a handle for a navigation catheter and a handle for the active catheter or a needle (e.g. handle as described in [0407]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrba in view of Reever (US 2019/0374276, as previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Vrba discloses the claimed invention but does not expressly disclose wherein the laser-based catheter includes an internal shaft that is an optic fiber with a free portion and wherein the amplitude of the laser ablation field dimension is telescopically regulated by the relative movement of the external shaft. Reever discloses that it is well known in the art of device that are capable of applying more than one type of stimulation (e.g. laser and RF stimulation) to include a optical fiber (e.g. laser fiber 90) and wherein the amplitude of the laser ablation field dimension is telescopically regulated by the relative movement of the external shaft (e.g. stop cocks 30 and 34 that regulate the movement of the shafts; [0030] – [0032]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to include the telescopic limits of Reever in the device of Vrba since such a modification would provide the system with the predictable results of a reliable means of controlling the laser field.
Regarding claim 6, Vrba further discloses wherein said laser-based catheter furthermore comprises coolant outlets configured to provide a coolant around the therapy delivery device (e.g. temperature coolant; [0193]).
Regarding claim 7, Vrba further discloses an expandable balloon fixed to the distal end of the external shaft, said balloon acting as an expansion chamber for the coolant.
Regarding claim 10, Vrba additionally discloses a metallic mesh being located around the catheter distal end in such a way as to conductively connect the two external shafts (e.g. stents, balloons, cages or baskets as disclosed in [0189]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrba in view of Pasquino (US 2018/0280070, as previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Vrba discloses the claimed invention except wherein said anodic portion is located on the internal shaft and wherein said cathodic portion is located on two external shafts. Pasquino discloses that it was well known in the art of ablation device to include opposite electrode arrangements on the inner and outer shafts; (e.g. Figure 2 and 3, wherein the inner shaft is a cathode and the outer shafter is an anode. The opposite arrangement would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to include the electrode arrangement of Pasquino in the device of Vrba since such a modification would provide the system with the predictable results of a reliable means of applying bipolar stimulation.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrba in view of Wallace (US 2017/0215936, as previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, Vrba discloses the claimed invention except the inclusion of biopsy jaws that are linked to the internal shaft distal end. Wallace discloses that it was well known in the art of devices for apply multiple sources of energy to include forceps at the end of a distal shaft (e.g. forceps as described in [0110]). It would have been obvious to include forceps of Wallace in the device of Vrba since such a modification would provide the system with the predictable results of a reliable means performing stimulation.
Regarding claim 12, Vrba discloses the claimed invention including a catheter adapted to provide MW alone, RF alone or a combination of both [0176], but does not expressly disclose an antenna located within the internal shaft. Wallace discloses that the use of such antenna are well known in the art (e.g. antenna as disclosed in [0089]). It would have been obvious to include antenna of Wallace in the device of Vrba since such a modification would provide the system with the predictable results of a reliable means performing stimulation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Amanda K Hulbert/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792