DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2014/0136456 (hereafter KR’456) in view of KR 2019/0142642 (hereafter KR’642).
KR’456 discloses a method for producing an isocyanate comprising reacting an amine with phosgene at 20–180 °C, separating the reaction product into gas and liquid phases, and post-treating the liquid phase at 120–230 °C to remove solvents and low- and high-boiling components to obtain isocyanate (claim 1; paras. [0041], [0063], [0075]).
Claim 1 differs from KR’456 in that (i) the steps are performed at temperatures of 165 °C or less, including low-boiling component removal at 150–165 °C, and (ii) an amine salt is used.
With respect to (i), KR’456 discloses overlapping temperature ranges encompassing the claimed limitations. Selection of specific temperatures within or overlapping disclosed ranges constitutes routine optimization of result-effective variables and is prima facie obvious absent a showing of criticality. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
With respect to (ii), KR’642 teaches forming an amine salt prior to phosgenation to moderate the reaction and produce isocyanate (claims 1 and 8; para. [0025]). Because both references address isocyanate production, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the amine-salt approach of KR’642 to the process of KR’456 to improve reaction control and purity, with a reasonable expectation of success. The combination represents the predictable use of known elements according to their established functions. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claims 2–4 further limit the order of known reaction and purification steps. KR’456 teaches post-treatment of the liquid product to remove solvents and low- and high-boiling components. Reordering known steps for process convenience constitutes an obvious design choice involving predictable results. KSR.
Claim 5 further limits temperature and pressure conditions. KR’456 teaches maintaining the liquid product at 120–230 °C. Selection of particular temperatures and pressures within or adjacent to disclosed ranges constitutes routine optimization under In re Aller and In re Peterson.
Claims 6 and 7 specify post-treatment at defined temperatures and pressures. KR’456 explicitly teaches post-treatment at 120–230 °C and 1–1400 mbar (paras. [0063], [0075]). Selection within these ranges is prima facie obvious under In re Peterson.
Claims 8 and 9 recite specific aliphatic amines. KR’642 teaches m-, p-, and o-xylylene diamines and their hydrochloride salts for isocyanate production (claims 7–8; para. [0064]). Selection of these known amines constitutes a predictable choice under KSR.
Claim 10 recites an additional optional feature that would have been selected as a matter of routine process design and does not produce any unexpected result. KSR.
/DEBORAH D CARR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691