Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges applicant’s remarks filed 08/11/2026. Claims 1-4 are pending in this application. Claim 1 has been amended.
The previous indication that the subject matter of claim 3 was allowable is withdrawn in view of the new prior art relied upon below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,274,430 to Albrecht et al. (corresponds to US2016/0245755, cited by applicant) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0076841 to Myers, III et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0146835 to Modzelewski et al.
Albrecht et al. teaches an analyzer that includes a modulation device (“drive circuit”) that modulates at least one light source so that at least one parameter of light periodically changes, such as selected from the group consisting of amplitude, frequency, and phase of the at least one parameter. Albrecht er al. further teaches that the modulation frequency of the modulation is frequency of periodicity of the at least one parameter is changed. (column 16, lines 7-16)
In Albrecht et al. the light from the at least one light source 127 is directed to a body fluid sample and then to detector 132. (Fig 1) (column 13, line 61 through column 14, line 8). The detector 132 of Albrecht et al. reads on applicant’s claimed light receiver that receives light and generates a detection signal.
Albrecht et al. teaches a demodulation device 134, an error detection device 144 and an evaluation unit 148 (the combination of which reads on applicant’s signal processing circuit) which can demodulate the photodetection signal depending on the frequency of the driving current and output a measured signal based on the demodulation result. (column 14, lines 32-53)
At column 28, lines 12-37 Albrecht et al. teaches varying modulation frequencies continuously.
Albrecht et al. does not teach the first drive current is a pulsating current including a direct current component and an alternating current component.
Applicant teaches that the drive circuit is a light source drive circuit. [0027]
Myers, III et al. teaches a power source 840 that can include, for example, one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light emitting elements. [0170]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Albrecht et al. to include one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light source as taught by Myers, III et al. for supplying power to the light source.
Albrecht et al. in view or Myers, III et al. does not teach the signal processing circuit includes a high-band pass filter configured to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal, equal to or lower than a cutoff frequency that is lower than the lowest frequency of the alternating current component.
Modzelewski et al. teaches determination of an analyte by photodetection and the use of a high pass filter to condition photocurrent output so that voltage derived from the photocurrent is conditioned by high pass filter 164, which removes noise components of the signal below the chopping frequency. [0043]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. to use a high-band pass filter configured to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal as taught by Modzelewski et al.
It would have been further been obvious to conduct routine engineering optimization experimentation to determine how to configure the high-band pass filter to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal to remove undesirable components for detection purposes, including providing an attenuation degree equal to or lower than a cutoff frequency that is lower than the lowest frequency of the alternating current component.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. renders all the elements of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. renders Claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites a second light source different from the first light source and configured to emit light toward the sample, wherein the drive circuit supplies a second drive current having the same frequency as the first drive current to the second light source. Absent “configured to” language (e.g., the drive circuit configured to), the claimed operation of the drive circuit merely recites an intended use of the claimed drive circuit and thus the prior art device need only be capable of performing the claimed operation.
Albrecht et al. teaches first and second light sources 127 and 130. (col. 13, lines 61-67 through co. 14, lines 1-8; Fig. 1).
Albrecht et al. further teaches that sources 127,130 can include at least one modulation device (“drive circuit”) adapted for modulating at least one light source by using at least two individual modulation frequencies. (col. 13, lines 43-47). Although Albrecht teaches using different frequencies in a “fault detection step”, Albrecht further teaches that each modulation frequency can be manually adjusted to any frequency during measurement (col. 27, lines 28-46). As such, the “drive circuit” of Albrecht et al. is structurally capable of supplying a second drive current having the same frequency as the first drive current to the second light source, and thus Albrecht meets all the limitations of the automatic analyzer of claim 2.
Therefore, Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 3, as noted above Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. renders 1 obvious from which claim depends.
Claim 3 recites that the drive circuit includes a direct current component control unit configured to control the direct current component, and an alternating current component control unit configured to control the alternating current component.
As noted above, it would have need obvious to provide Albrecht in view of Myers, III et al. with drive currents that include a direct component and an alternating current component.
Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. does not teach a direct current component control unit configured to control the direct current component, and an alternating current component control unit configured to control the alternating current component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. have separate control units configured to control the direct current component and the alternating current component for purposes of providing for separate control thereof.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, claim 4 recites an automatic analysis method, comprising: a process of emitting light to a sample from a first light source by supplying a first drive current whose frequency changes intermittently or continuously to the first light source; a process of outputting a light detection signal based on light transmitted through the sample; and a process of demodulating the light detection signal in accordance with a frequency of the first drive current and outputting a measurement signal based on a demodulation result.
As noted above, Albrecht et al. teaches an analyzer that includes a modulation device (“drive circuit”) that modulates at least one light source so that at least one parameter of light periodically changes, such as selected from the group consisting of amplitude, frequency, and phase of the at least one parameter. Albrecht er al. further teaches that the modulation frequency of the modulation is frequency of periodicity of the at least one parameter is changed. (column 16, lines 7-16)
In Albrecht et al. the light from the at least one light source 127 is directed to a body fluid sample and then to detector 132. (Fig 1) (column 13, line 61 through column 14, line 8)
While Albrecht et al. does not teach detection by transmitting light through the sample, it would have been obvious to modify Albrecht et al. to provide the sample in a holder and transmit light through the sample for detection purposes as a matter of design choice.
Albrecht et al. teaches a demodulation device 134, an error detection device 144 and an evaluation unit 148 (the combination of which reads on applicant’s signal processing circuit) which can demodulate the photodetection signal depending on the frequency of the driving current and output a measured signal based on the demodulation result. (column 14, lines 32-53)
At column 28, lines 12-37 Albrecht et al. teaches varying modulation frequencies continuously.
Albrecht et al. does not teach the first drive current is a pulsating current including a direct current component and an alternating current component.
Albrecht et al. does not teach the first drive current is a pulsating current including a direct current component and an alternating current component.
Applicant teaches that the drive circuit is a light source drive circuit. [0027]
Myers, III et al. teaches a power source 840 that can include, for example, one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light emitting elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Albrecht et al. to include one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light source as taught by Myers, III et al. for supplying power to the light source. [0170]
Albrecht et al. in view or Myers, III et al. does not teach the signal processing circuit includes a high-band pass filter configured to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal, equal to or lower than a cutoff frequency that is lower than the lowest frequency of the alternating current component.
Modzelewski et al. teaches determination of an analyte by photodetection and the use of a high pass filter to condition photocurrent output so that voltage derived from the photocurrent is conditioned by high pass filter 164, which removes noise components of the signal below the chopping frequency. [0043]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. to use a high-band pass filter configured to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal as taught by Modzelewski et al.
It would have been further been obvious to conduct routine engineering optimization experimentation to determine how to configure the high-band pass filter to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal to remove undesirable components for detection purposes, including providing an attenuation degree equal to or lower than a cutoff frequency that is lower than the lowest frequency of the alternating current component.
Therefore, Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. and Modzelewski et al. renders Claim 4 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that incorporating limitations from claim 3 into independent claims 1 and 4 place the application into condition for allowance based on the examiner’s statement in the previous Office Action that the limitations in claim 3 were directed to allowable subject matter.
However, a further search of the prior art uncovered Modzelewski et al. which has been applied above to the limitations from claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 5,632,272 to Diab et al. teaches detection by transmission of light though a sample, current-driven emitters, photodetection, and conventional filtering techniques such as low pass, band pass, and high pass filtering are available to remove or derive either the primary or the secondary signal portion from the total signal.
/MICHAEL STANLEY GZYBOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1798