Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges applicant’s remarks filed 02/25/2026. Claims 1-4 are pending. Claims 1, 3 and 4 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,274,430 to Albrecht et al. (corresponds to US2016/0245755, cited by applicant) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0076841 to Meyes, III et al.
Albrecht et al. teaches an analyzer that includes a modulation device (“drive circuit”) that modulates at least one light source so that at least one parameter of light periodically changes, such as selected from the group consisting of amplitude, frequency, and phase of the at least one parameter. Albrecht er al. further teaches that the modulation frequency of the modulation is frequency of periodicity of the at least one parameter is changed. (column 16, lines 7-16)
In Albrecht et al. the light from the at least one light source 127 is directed to a body fluid sample and then to detector 132. (Fig 1) (column 13, line 61 through column 14, line 8). The detector 132 of Albrecht et al. reads on applicant’s claimed light receiver that receives light and generates a detection signal.
Albrecht et al. teaches a demodulation device 134, an error detection device 144 and an evaluation unit 148 (the combination of which reads on applicant’s signal processing circuit) which can demodulate the photodetection signal depending on the frequency of the driving current and output a measured signal based on the demodulation result. (column 14, lines 32-53)
At column 28, lines 12-37 Albrecht et al. teaches varying modulation frequencies continuously.
Albrecht et al. does not teach the first drive current is a pulsating current including a direct current component and an alternating current component.
Applicant teaches the drive circuit is a light source drive circuit. [0027]
Myers, III et al. teaches a power source 840 that can include, for example, one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light emitting elements. [0170]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Albrecht et al. to include one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light source as taught by Myers, III et al. for supplying power to the light source.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 1, as noted above Albrecht et al. in view or Myers, III et al. renders all the elements of claim 1 obvious.
Therefore, Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. renders Claim 1 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. renders claim 1 obvious from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites a second light source different from the first light source and configured to emit light toward the sample, wherein the drive circuit supplies a second drive current having the same frequency as the first drive current to the second light source. Absent “configured to” language (e.g., the drive circuit configured to), the claimed operation of the drive circuit merely recites an intended use of the claimed drive circuit and thus the prior art device need only be capable of performing the claimed operation.
Albrecht et al. teaches first and second light sources 127 and 130. (col. 13, lines 61-67 through co. 14, lines 1-8; Fig. 1).
Albrecht et al. further teaches that sources 127,130 can include at least one modulation device (“drive circuit”) adapted for modulating at least one light source by using at least two individual modulation frequencies. (col. 13, lines 43-47). Although Albrecht teaches using different frequencies in a “fault detection step”, Albrecht further teaches that each modulation frequency can be manually adjusted to any frequency during measurement (col. 27, lines 28-46). As such, the “drive circuit” of Albrecht et al. is structurally capable of supplying a second drive current having the same frequency as the first drive current to the second light source, and thus Albrecht meets all the limitations of the automatic analyzer of claim 2.
Therefore, Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. renders claim 2 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, claim 4 recites an automatic analysis method, comprising: a process of emitting light to a sample from a first light source by supplying a first drive current whose frequency changes intermittently or continuously to the first light source; a process of outputting a light detection signal based on light transmitted through the sample; and a process of demodulating the light detection signal in accordance with a frequency of the first drive current and outputting a measurement signal based on a demodulation result.
As noted above, Albrecht et al. teaches an analyzer that includes a modulation device (“drive circuit”) that modulates at least one light source so that at least one parameter of light periodically changes, such as selected from the group consisting of amplitude, frequency, and phase of the at least one parameter. Albrecht er al. further teaches that the modulation frequency of the modulation is frequency of periodicity of the at least one parameter is changed. (column 16, lines 7-16)
In Albrecht et al. the light from the at least one light source 127 is directed to a body fluid sample and then to detector 132. (Fig 1) (column 13, line 61 through column 14, line 8)
Albrecht et al. teaches a demodulation device 134, an error detection device 144 and an evaluation unit 148 (the combination of which reads on applicant’s signal processing circuit) which can demodulate the photodetection signal depending on the frequency of the driving current and output a measured signal based on the demodulation result. (column 14, lines 32-53)
At column 28, lines 12-37 Albrecht et al. teaches varying modulation frequencies continuously.
Albrecht et al. does not teach the first drive current is a pulsating current including a direct current component and an alternating current component.
Albrecht et al. does not teach the first drive current is a pulsating current including a direct current component and an alternating current component.
Applicant teaches the drive circuit is a light source drive circuit. [0027]
Myers, III et al. teaches a power source 840 that can include, for example, one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light emitting elements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify Albrecht et al. to include one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light source as taught by Myers, III et al. for supplying power to the light source. [0170]
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above Albrecht et al. in view or Myers, III et al. renders all the elements of claim 4 obvious.
Therefore, Albrecht et al. in view of Myers, III et al. renders Claim 4 obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest that: the first drive current is a pulsating current that includes a direct current component and an alternating current component – in combination with the elements of claim 3 including: the drive circuit that includes a direct current component control unit configured to control the direct current component and an alternating current component control unit configured to control the alternating current component; the signal processing circuit that includes a high-band pass filter configured to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal, equal to or lower than a cutoff frequency that is lower than the lowest frequency of the alternating current component; and the direct current component control unit has a function of reducing the direct current component with an elapse of an energization time for the first light source.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon Myers. III et al. as teaching a power source 840 that can include, for example, one or more batteries, direct current (DC) power supply, alternating current (AC) power supply, linear regulated power supply, and/or switched-mode power supply that supplies power to light emitting elements.
As noted above, claim 3 is directed to allowable subject matter that includes a first drive current is a pulsating current that includes a direct current component and an alternating current component – in combination with the elements of claim 3 including: the drive circuit that includes a direct current component control unit configured to control the direct current component and an alternating current component control unit configured to control the alternating current component; the signal processing circuit that includes a high-band pass filter configured to attenuate a component, among frequency components of the light detection signal, equal to or lower than a cutoff frequency that is lower than the lowest frequency of the alternating current component; and the direct current component control unit has a function of reducing the direct current component with an elapse of an energization time for the first light source.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798