DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 were filed 6/29/2023 and are pending.
Priority
The instant application was filed 6/29/2023 and claims the benefit of priority to:
See filing receipt dated 6/20/2024. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, the indefinite article –an—should be inserted before the word “amine”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the method of claim 1, wherein the distillation column in the low boiling material-removing step is provided with an internal baffle to prevent the overheated inert gas from mixing into the bottom of the distillation column”. This limitation is indefinite because claim 1, from which claim 8 depends explicitly recites that “overheated inert gas is supplied to the bottom of the distillation column through the reboiler”. So, though an internal baffle is definite, it is not clear how it is required to be oriented with respect to the bottom of the column and the inlet for the overheated inert gas at the bottom of the column.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (US 2019/0292304, published on 6/26/2019) in view of Osamu (US 3549504, published on 12/22/1970).
Applicant claims a method for preparing an isocyanate compound comprising
A reaction step of reacting a salt of an amine compound with phosgene in the presence of a solvent to obtain a reaction product containing an isocyanate compound;
A degassing step of removing a gas phase from the reaction product;
A desolvation step of removing a solvent from the reaction product from which the gas phase has been removed;
A low boiling material-removing step of removing low boiling materials from the reaction product from which the solvent has been removed, and
A high boiling material-removing step of removing high boiling materials from the reaction product from which the low boiling materials have been removed;
Wherein the low boiling material-removing step is progressed in a distillation column to which a reboiler is connected to the bottom of the column and overheated inert gas is supplied to the bottom of the distillation column through the reboiler.
Yamasaki teaches a process for producing xylylene diisocyanate comprising reacting an aliphatic xylylenediamine (XDA, o, m, and/or p-see claims 9-11 and 13) hydrochloride salt (HCl, claim 14) with phosgene (carbonyl chloride) in an inert solvent, including aromatic hydrocarbons and esters (claim 15) to produce the corresponding xylylene isocyanates. See [0052-0084-steps a and b] and the following Fig. 1:
.
Thus, step A of Yamasaki corresponds to the formation of the XDA·HCl salt and step B corresponds to the instantly claimed “reaction” step. Yamasaki then teaches a step C comprising a degassing step (41) to remove a gas phase (45) from the product and a desolvation step (51) to remove the solvent (55) from the reaction product from which the gas phase has been removed (42). See [0085-0090]. Yamasaki teaches that the degassed and desolvated reaction mixture (52) is fed to a tar-removal unit (61) and then passed via line (63) to a low-boiling removal tower (71) to remove low boiling impurities (74) to produce reaction stream (76) from the bottom of the column in a step d. See [0091-0101]. Bottoms stream (76) is fed to rectification column (81), wherein high boiling impurities are removed vial line (86) from the bottom of the column and providing purified xylylene diisocyanate (XDI) distillate product from the top of the column via line (84). See [0102-0109]. Figure 1 is fully defined with respect to the process in [0110-0173]. Therefore, Yamasaki teaches all of the steps recited in instant claim 1. Yamasaki further teaches that the temperature of the mixture at any point in the process should not exceed 190°C to prevent by-product formation and optimal conversion, and preferably falls within the range of 110-180°C (claim 5). See [0071, 0096-0097, 0104-0105].
Further regarding the low boiling material-removing step in column (71), Yamasaki teaches that the column is equipped with a reboiler (78) to heat and re-circulate a portion of the bottoms product (76) back to the bottom of the column (71) via line (77). Yamasaki teaches that the reboiler (78) regulates the internal temperature of the low-boiling removal tower (71) and can use the “above-described” heat exchanger. See [0160-0162 and heat exchanger in 0139]. Yamasaki teaches that column (71) preferably has a column bottom temperature between 130 to 200°C, a column top temperature between 90-160°C and a column-top pressure between 0.05 – 3 kPa (0.375 – 22.5 torr). See [0096-0098].
Yamasaki does not explicitly teach that overheated (see p. 17, first paragraph of the specification as filed) inert gas is supplied to the bottom of the distillation column through the reboiler.
Osamu teaches a method for the purification of organic polyisocyanates, including xylylenediisocyanate, by fractional distillation in the presence of an inert gas or superheated vapor of an organic solvent. See abstract. In col. 1, lines 38-53, Osamu teaches: “An organic polyisocyanate, when produced by reacting the corresponding amine with phosgene, inevitably contains various byproducts having relatively low boiling points. This makes it necessary to submit the product mixture to a further purification process. Organic polyisocyanates, as is well known, have relatively high boiling points and are very unstable when heated. Heretofore, for the purpose of purifying the materials having high boiling point and which are susceptible to deterioration upon heating, a vacuum distillation method has usually been employed. However, in this method, the material to be purified is eventually subjected to a comparatively high temperature due to a remarkable rising of temperature necessarily caused around the bottom of distillation column by pressure drop. Therefore, organic polyisocyanates cannot be safely purified by this method.”
Osamu overcomes the issue by subjecting a mixture of an organic polyisocyanate and light (boiling) impurities to fractionation (distillation) by allowing the crude organic polyisocyanate to contact an inert gas in a fractionation column under such conditions that the pressure at the top of the fractionation column is lower than 200 mm Hg (torr) and the feed rate (C) of the inert gas satisfies equation (I). See col. 2, line 3 to col. 3, line 64. Figure 1 teaches an embodiment wherein an inert gas is used as the inert feed and Figure 2 teaches an embodiment wherein a superheated vapor of an organic solvent is used as the inert feed. See col. 2, lines 53-57.
Osamu teaches that the crude organic polyisocyanates may be treated by the present method in the form of the phosgenation products without any preparatory treatment, though removal of the high-boiling constituents is preferred. See col. 3, lines 15-21. The purification of XDI is exemplified in example 3 (Fig. 1) and in col. 8-14 (Fig. 2). Osamu teaches that the superheated solvent can comprise aliphatic hydrocarbons having 2 to 11 carbon atoms (claim 3). See col. 10, lines 18-40 and example D, including Table in col. 13-14. Osamu also teaches that the inert gas can be methane (CH4, a C1 hydrocarbon). See col. 3, lines 22-27. Osamu teaches that the superheated solvent/inert gas is heated to a temperature of between 100 to 210°C, depending on the polyisocyanate, with a temperature in the range of 100-170°C for XDI (claims 4-6). See claim 8; example D in col. 13-14; col. 3, lines 50-60; and col. 10, lines 48-53 including xylylenediisocyanate. The pressure of the bottom of the column (PB) is within the range of 5 to 200 mm Hg (torr), preferably 50 to 200 mmHg (torr), wherein both ranges overlap with the range of claim 6. See col. 2, lines 3-4 and col. 3, lines 65-67. Also see MPEP 2144.05. Osamu teaches that the reboiler is a jacked vessel type reboiler equipped with a gas feed (sparger) ring which is fed from a heater (claims 2 and 7). See example 1 (Fig. 1) and example A in col. 11 (Fig. 2). Osamu teaches that the fractionating (distillation) apparatus can include columns with internal trays (baffles) (claim 8). See col. 3, lines 28-35.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Yamasaki and Osamu to arrive at the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the instant invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to feed an overheated inert gas stream to the reboiler in the process of Yamasaki because Osamu teaches that such a modification is known to prevent pressure drop during the distillation of the same polyisocyanate system (XDI) at similar temperatures and pressures. Therefore, including the overheated inert gas of Osamu in the process of Yamasaki will predictably increase the efficiency of the XDI production process by eliminating deleterious pressure drop in the low-boiling point removal distillation step. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (US 20190292304, published on 6/26/2019) in view of Osamu (US 3549504, published on 12/22/1970), as applied to claims 1-11 and 13-15 above and further in view of Wang (“Facile Synthesis of Reductively Degradable Biopolymers Using Cystamine Diisocyanate as a Coupling Agent” Biomacromolecules, 2016, 17, p. 882).
The Applicant claims a method wherein the amine compound is a sulfur-containing aliphatic amine selected from those among claim 12. Neither Yamasaki nor Osamu explicitly teach or suggest the use of the claimed amines.
Wang is directed toward the synthesis of biopolymers using cystamine diisocyanate (CDI) as a coupling agent. See abstract. Wang teaches that CDI is obtained from the corresponding amine hydrochloride (CDH) with triphosgene (BTC):
. See p. 885. CDH corresponds to the HCl salt of “bis(aminoethyl)disulfide”. Wang teaches that CDI provides facile access to reductively degradable biopolymers via condensation polymerization with various diols. See abstract.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Yamasaki, Osamu, and Wang to arrive at the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the instant invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to employ bis(aminoethyl)disulfide as a reactant in the process of Yamasaki and Osamu because Wang teaches that the isocyanate derived therefrom (CDI) has utility in biopolymer formation and can be made by an analogous process. Therefore, replacing one known amine with another known amine that can produce a valuable polymerization intermediate in a known and predictable process is prima facie obvious. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of co-pending U.S. App. No. 18/259792 (‘792) in view of Osamu (US 3549504, published on 12/22/1970).
The claims of ‘792 are directed toward the same process as that claimed, but does not teach that the low boiling material-removing step is progressed in a distillation column to which reboiler is connected to the bottom of the column, and overheated inert gas is supplied to the bottom of the distillation column through the reboiler.
The teachings of Osamu were discussed in detail in the above rejections and is incorporated by reference herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of the claims of ‘792 and Osamu to arrive at the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the instant invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to feed an overheated inert gas stream to the reboiler in the process of ‘792 because Osamu teaches that such a modification is known to prevent pressure drop during the distillation of the same polyisocyanate system (XDI) at similar temperatures and pressures. Therefore, including the overheated inert gas of Osamu in the process of ‘792 will predictably increase the efficiency of the XDI production process by eliminating deleterious pressure drop in the low-boiling point removal distillation step. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claims 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of co-pending U.S. App. No. 18/259792 (‘792) in view of Osamu (US 3549504, published on 12/22/1970), as applied to claims 1-11 and 13-15,and further in view of Wang (“Facile Synthesis of Reductively Degradable Biopolymers Using Cystamine Diisocyanate as a Coupling Agent” Biomacromolecules, 2016, 17, p. 882).
The claims of ‘792 and Osamu are silent regarding the use of a sulfur-containing aliphatic amine selected from those among claim 12. The teachings of Wang were discussed in detail in the above rejections and is incorporated by reference herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of the claims of ‘792, Osamu, and Wang to arrive at the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the instant invention. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to employ bis(aminoethyl)disulfide as a reactant in the process of ‘792 and Osamu because Wang teaches that the isocyanate derived therefrom (CDI) has utility in biopolymer formation and can be made by an analogous process. Therefore, replacing one known amine with another known amine that can produce a valuable polymerization intermediate in a known and predictable process is prima facie obvious. Also see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
/AMY C BONAPARTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692