DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirner (Silicon Heterojunction Solar Cells With Nanocrystalline Silicon Oxide Emitter: Insights Into Charge Carrier Transport) with further evidence provide by Gatz (Silicon heterojunction solar cell passivation in combination with nanocrystalline silicon oxide emitters) in view of Klein (US 2012/0056290 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4, Kirner discloses a solar cell (see Fig. 1) comprising a silicon substrate (n-cSi) and a layered structure (see Fig. 1b, Si(p) nanocrystals in a-SiOx:H phase) arranged on a surface of the silicon substrate, the layered structure comprising:
a first layer (top portion of layer Si(p) nanocrystals in a-SiOx:H phase closest to contact layer) comprising a percentage of crystalline material arranged within an amorphous matrix, the first layer being arranged on the surface of the silicon substrate;
a second layer (middle portion of layer Si(p) nanocrystals in a-SiOx:H phase) comprising a percentage of crystalline material arranged within an amorphous matrix, the second layer being interposed between the first layer and the surface of the silicon substrate; wherein the percentage of crystalline material in the first layer is greater than the percentage of crystalline material in the second layer and a third layer (bottom portion of layer Si(p) nanocrystals in a-SiOx:H phase closest to (i)a-Si:H )comprising a percentage of crystalline material arranged within an amorphous matrix, the third layer being interposed between the second layer and the surface of the silicon substrate.
Gatz provides evidence that increasing layer thickness of the p-type ncSiOx:H layer leads to increasing crystalline fraction (see results and discussion). Therefore, the first layer (top portion of layer) will have a larger portion of crystalline grains than the bottom portion of the layer.
In addition, Kirner discloses wherein the first and second layers are configured with a conductivity type determined by the inclusion of dopant atoms, the first layer (see first layer, shaded area noted as SCR, see Fig. 1 has higher dopants than rest of layer, see Abstract) having a first concentration of dopant atoms and the second layer having a second concentration of dopant atoms which is less than the first concentration and that the third layer is configured with a conductivity type determined by the inclusion of dopant atoms.
Kirner discloses that the first, second and third layers which are a part of the nc-Si(p) structure is graded with dopant from 2x1019 to 10x1019 atoms/cm3 (see Table 1), with the highest amount of dopants being in the SCR region (see first layer, shaded area noted as SCR, see Fig. 1 has higher dopants than rest of layer, see Abstract).
However, Kirner does not disclose that if the doping is done in a continuous grading like manner or a step-change like manner.
Klein discloses that a p-doping level in a p-i-n type solar cell can have either a continuous or step-like change ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the doping of the p-type doping of the nc-Si(p) structure of Kirner to be graded in a step-wise fashion as disclosed by Klein from a lower dopant level at the third layer to a higher dopant level at the first layer closer to the front contact because Kirner teaches that that grading of this structure is known to do.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses wherein a largest dimension of each of the plurality of crystalline regions is less than 15 nm (Abstract, layer is 3nm thin) and Kirner discloses that the combined thickness of the first and second layer is approximately 3nm (Abstract).
Regard claims 6, 7, and 8, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses that the crystallites within the p-type ncSiOx:H is formed from portion of the p-type ncSiOx:H (see section IV Comparison to the Experiment and Discussion).
It is noted that Kirner discloses that the crystallites within the p-type ncSiOx:H is formed by a PECVD and controlling the gas mixture of SiH4,H2,CO2 , and B(CH3)3.
Applicant specification indicates that the crystallites in the amorphous matrix is formed in substantially similar way, “The vapour deposition process may be a plasma enhanced chemical vapour deposition process (PECVD)” see para [0097], and The method may comprise controlling at least one parameter of the vapour deposition process to determine the structural, chemical and dopant composition of at least one of the layers of the layered structure. The vapour deposition process parameter may comprise a gas composition and/or a gas flow rate. The vapour deposition process parameter may define a temperature of the deposition chamber. The gas composition may comprise at least one of carbon dioxide CO2, silicon containing gas (e.g. silane SiH4 ) and hydrogen ( H2 ) [0098].
Kirner discloses substantially the same composition for the crystallite formed in the amorphous matrix formed in substantially similar method, therefore Kirner discloses “wherein the amorphous matrix is formed of a material having substantially the same chemical composition as the crystalline material”.
Regard claim 9, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses wherein the layered structure is arranged on a front surface of the silicon substrate which is configured to face a radiative source, when the solar cell is in use (see Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses the first layer (3nm, Abstract) and second layer (middle portion-approximately 7nm from bottom of first layer) comprise a combined depth of less than 11 nm (note that the rest of the 30nm can be considered third layer).
Regard claim 11, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses a passivation layer formed of amorphous material ((i)a-Si:H, see pg. 1602, right column, bottom paragraph), the passivation layer being interposed between the third layer and the surface of the silicon substrate.
Regard claim 12, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses wherein the percentage of crystalline material in the third layer is less than the percentage of crystalline material in the second layer.
Gatz provides evidence that increasing layer thickness of the p-type ncSiOx:H layer leads to increasing crystalline fraction (see results and discussion). Therefore, the second layer (middle portion of layer) will have a larger portion of crystalline grains than the third layer (bottom portion) of the layer.
Regard claim 14, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses wherein the crystalline material in at least one of the layers of the layered structure is substantially evenly distributed across the depth of the respective layer (see first layer, shaded area noted as SCR, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Kirner does not disclose a plurality of solar cells wherein the plurality of solar cells are electrically coupled together to form a solar module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the single solar cell of modified Kirner so that there are a plurality of solar cells that are interconnected to form a solar module because it will allow for harnessing more solar energy.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirner (Silicon Heterojunction Solar Cells With Nanocrystalline Silicon Oxide Emitter: Insights Into Charge Carrier Transport) with further evidence provide by Gatz (Silicon heterojunction solar cell passivation in combination with nanocrystalline silicon oxide emitters) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14, and 20 above and in further view of Zhang (Improved hetero-interface passivation by microcrystalline silicon oxide emitter in silicon heterojunction solar cells).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Kirner does not disclose wherein the percentage of crystalline material in the first layer is between 75% and 100%, and percentage of crystalline material in the second crystalline material is between 50% and 75%.
Zhang discloses that deposition time effects the crystallinity in amorphous doped SiOx:H films and also the crystallinity is proportional to the conductivity (See Figs. 2 and 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the crystallinity in the first and second layer of modified Kirner to be within the claimed range because as disclosed by Zhang it can be adjusted with time and furthermore will allow for optimization of conductivity.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirner (Silicon Heterojunction Solar Cells With Nanocrystalline Silicon Oxide Emitter: Insights Into Charge Carrier Transport) with further evidence provide by Gatz (Silicon heterojunction solar cell passivation in combination with nanocrystalline silicon oxide emitters) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14, and 20 above and in further view of Richter (Versatility of doped nanocrystalline silicon oxide for applications in silicon thin-film and heterojunction solar cells).
Regarding claims 17-19, Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses wherein the layered structure defines a front layered structure arranged on a front surface of the silicon substrate, and the first and second layers define a first and second front layers (see Fig. 1).
However, Kirner does not disclose the solar cell further comprises a back layered structure arranged on a back surface of the silicon substrate opposite the front surface; wherein the back layered structure comprises first and second back layers, each comprising a percentage of crystalline material arranged within an amorphous matrix, the second back layer is interposed between the first back layer and the back surface of the silicon substrate; wherein the percentage of crystalline material in the first back layer is greater than the percentage of crystalline material in the second back layer.
Richter discloses that nc-SiOx:H layers can comprise a combination of front emitter layers as disclosed by Kirner and also Richter discloses that nc-SiOx:H layers can comprise a back surface field (BSF) (see Fig. 1) and Table 1, the BSF requires high conductivity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the n-type a-Si:H layer on the back surface at the interface between the (i)a-Si:H and AZO film of Kirner with a n-type nc-SiOx:H as disclosed by Richter to provide a back surface field and to have it be structurally graded and dopant graded as disclosed by Kirner because it does provide the high conductivity necessary as disclosed by Richter for the BSF layer.
Furthermore, the portion of the layer closest to the AZO will have a larger crystalline fraction and a higher amount of dopants that the middle portion of the layer. The layer of the portion closest to AZO is considered the first layer and the middle portion is considered second layer.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirner (Silicon Heterojunction Solar Cells With Nanocrystalline Silicon Oxide Emitter: Insights Into Charge Carrier Transport) with further evidence provide by Gatz (Silicon heterojunction solar cell passivation in combination with nanocrystalline silicon oxide emitters) in view of Klein (US 2012/0056290 A1) as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14, and 20 above and Shinagawa (JP2014-049675 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 13, Kirner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Kirner discloses the first layer (3nm, Abstract) and second layer (middle portion-approximately 25 nm from bottom of first layer) and a third layer (2 nm) (note that the entire layer has a thickness of 30nm, see pg. 1602, right most column, last paragraph).
However, Kirner does not disclose that the (i)a-Si:H passivation layer comprises a depth of less than 3 nm.
Shinagawa discloses that the (i)a-Si:H passivation layer on the doped crystalline substrate has a thickness between 1 nm to 3 nm and the thickness needs to be balanced to reduced hydrogen desorption and reduced excess hydrogen contained in the film ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the thickness of the (i)a-Si:H passivation layer of modified Kirner so that the thickness is within the range claimed because Shinagawa discloses that the thickness needs to be within the claimed range to reduce hydrogen desorption and reduced excess hydrogen contained in the film.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726