DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 54-61, in the reply filed on 03/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/06/2026.
Claim Warning
Applicant is advised that should claim 60 be found allowable, claim 61 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The only difference between claims 60 and 61 is that claim 61 specifies location of the target DNA. Such location does not structurally affect a system or kit of claim 54, on which each claim 60 and 61 depends. Therefore, the scopes of claims 60 and 61 are identical.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 54-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims are broadly drawn to a system comprising two or more complexes of Argonaute protein having activity of targeting DNA at physiological temperature, guide RNA and another sequence, a means for forming such complexes, a means for dissociating double-stranded DNA and a means for contacting the complexes with a double-stranded DNA.
Claims encompass Argonaute protein having activity of targeting DNA at physiological temperature, means for complexes forming, means for DNA dissociating and means for contacting complexes with DNA.
Instant specification describes only one Argonaute protein, RsAgo, derived from Rhodobacter sphaeroides (see Examples, paragraph [0166]). Specification is silent concerning RsAgo having activity of targeting DNA at physiological temperature. There are no other Argonaute proteins described in specification. The genus of Argonaute proteins having activity of targeting DNA at physiological temperature encompasses a large number of unknown structures and one of skilled in the art cannot reliably predict which member of the genus would successfully target DNA at physiological temperature, and which will not. There is no description of the necessary and sufficient elements of the species encompassed by the breadth of the claims. The only species described in specification is RsAgo. Applicant fails to describe representative members of Applicant's broadly claimed genus.
Concerning means for complexes forming instant specification provides example of only one: a protein-binding RNA sequence (see paragraph [0130]). There are no other means discussed.
Concerning means for DNA dissociating instant specification teaches that such dissociation can happen during gene expression or “the like” (see paragraph [0150]). Specification is silent concerning what such “like” can be. Specification does not describe any reagent or compound which can accomplish DNA dissociation.
Concerning means for contacting complexes with DNA instant specification teaches that such contacting involves binding of complexes to DNA (see paragraph [0150]). Specification is silent concerning any reagent or compound capable of accomplishing such binding.
Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, it is not clear that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genuses at the time this application was filed.
Claims 54-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 54 limitations “a means or reagent for dissociating at least a part of a double stranded DNA sequence in the target DNA molecule; and a means or reagent for contacting the complexes with the double stranded DNA sequence at least a part of which has been dissociated” (emphasis added) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is no structure or compound described in specification defining a means or reagent for dissociating double stranded DNA. The only reference to such dissociating is in paragraph [0150], which specifies that DNA can be dissociated during gene expression, but there is no specific compound or reagent which can be used to promote gene expression.
There is no structure or compound described in specification defining a means or reagent for contacting the complexes with double-stranded DNA. Paragraph [0150] of specification recites that such contacting comprises binding of the complex to DNA, but there is no specific compound or reagent which can be used to promote such binding.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 55-61 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 54.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van der Oost et al (US 2015/0089681, March 2015).
Concerning claim 54 Van der Oost disclose at least two complexes of Argonaute protein and guide RNAs, which target DNA (see paragraphs [0003, 0005]), such DNA can be single-stranded (see paragraph [0196]). Guide RNA can be 9-25 nucleotides in length (see paragraph [0003]), therefore portion of it can be considered “an added sequence” as in instant claim 54. Guide RNA hybridizes to target DNA (see paragraph [0003]), therefore it has means for contacting the complexes to target DNA.
Concerning claims 55-56 Van der Oost disclose that Argonaute protein targets DNA at physiological temperature (see paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Concerning claims 57-59 Van der Oost disclose that Argonaute protein can be derived from Rhodobacter (see paragraph [0202]).
Concerning claims 60-61 Van der Oost disclose that the complexes can be formed outside of a living body (see paragraph [0748]).
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637