DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 2nd paragraph rejections for claims 1-10, on pages 9-11, Applicant argues that the 112 2nd paragraph rejections should be withdrawn due to the fact that claim 1 recites “..wherein the first key generator is configured to use the first PUF to generate a shared secret key based on first configuration data of the first communication device” and “..wherein the first key generator is configured to use the second PUF to generate a shared secret key based on second configuration data of the second communication device”. The Applicant also pointed to paragraph [0049] of the specification, where the Applicant believes the application teaches how each of the key generators generates the shared secret key.
Regarding 102 rejections, the Applicant argues that Balan fails to disclose the now recited limitations of claim 11.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that:
Regarding 112 2nd rejections:
Configuration/characterization as defined in at least paragraph [0049] of the specification as pointed out by the Applicant is unique per chip and that the configuration/characterization depends on physical random factors introduced during the manufacture of the software-defined radio chip.
According to at least point 1 above, it is unclear how two different devices/software-defined radio chips using its own physical unclonable function (PUF) would be able to derive the same result/key. One of the fundamental characteristics of PUF is that different chips produce distinct responses to the same input challenge, ensuring every device has a separate ID. As such, it is not possible for the first and second generators of the first and second generators to generate the same shared secret key based on its own configuration/ characterization.
Although paragraph [0049] discusses the generators 120 & 220 generate the predetermined secret key, using PUF from software-defined radio chips 10 & 20. Paragraph [0049] does not explain how it is possible for two different software-defined radio chips to generate a shared secret key using its own configuration/characterization data.
As such, based on the responses above, the 112 2nd rejections are maintained.
Regarding 102 rejections:
Balan discloses a shared secret key is generated using ring oscillator physical unclonable functions (RO PUF) secret key (section III). The RO PUF secret key is generated for each device in communications using the PUF and based on the physical uniqueness of a device/chip (i.e.: device A and device B) (section III). In other words, the RO secret key indicates the physical uniqueness of the device/chip, and thus is equated to the recited “configuration data”. Each RO PUF secret key is then stored. When a shared secret key is needed, a corresponding RO PUF secret key will be determined based on characterization of the software-defined radio chip (i.e.: device A or device B), to use and generate the shared secret key (section III). As such, contrasting to the Applicant’s arguments, Balan discloses all the limitations of claim 11.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “..characterization the second software-defined radio chip..” in lines 15-16, which should be recited as “..characterization of the second software-defined radio chip..” Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Broadest Reasonable Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Sixth Paragraph: Use of “Means” (or “Step”) in Claim Drafting and Rebuttable Presumptions Raised.
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Sixth Paragraph, Invoked Despite Absence of “Means”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a first key generator configured to ..,” “a second key generator configured to..,” “the configuration data generator configured to..,” “..functional module that uses…“..FHSS module..” and “..encryption and decryption module,..” “..key generator configured to ..” in claims 1, 8, 11-13, 15, 17. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in at least figures 2 of the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first communication device comprising a first software-defined radio chip comprising a first key generator comprising a first physical unclonable function (PUF), wherein the first key generator is configured to use the first PUF to generate a shared secret key based on first configuration data of the first communication device, wherein the first configuration data is determined by a key-management system based on a characterization of the software-defined radio chip such that the first key generator generates the shared secret key based on the first configuration data;” and
“a second communication device comprising a second software-defined radio chip comprising a second key generator comprising a second PUF, wherein the second key generator is configured to use the second PUF to generate the shared secret key based on second configuration data of the second communication device, wherein the second configuration data is determined by the key-management system based on a characterization the second software-defined radio chip such that the second key generator generates the shared secret key based on the second configuration data.”
First, the limitations “..characterization of the first software-defined radio chip…” and “..characterization of the second software-defined radio chip..” are interpreted as unique physical characteristics of each software-defined radio chip, which means that each of the first and second software-defined radio chip produces a distinct physical characteristics/key. As such, it is unclear how 2 separate communication devices using its own software-defined radio chip comprising its own physical unclonable function (PUF) are able to generate same secret key. The primary security benefit of a PUF is its uniqueness, meaning that no two integrated circuit (ICs) will provide an identical response to the same challenge. As such, it is requested that the Applicant further clarify and points out specific section in the specification that explains how the two separate communication devices are able to generate the same shared secret key using its own characterization and configuration data.
Claims 2-10 and 18-20 depend on claim 1, thus inherit the same 112 2nd paragraph rejection as claim 1 above.
In addition, claim 19 recites the limitation the key-management system configured to: “store first characterization data of the first software-defined radio chip..” and “store first characterization data of the second software-defined radio chip.” Paragraph [0054] of the specification describes that characterization data is defined as being obtained during a characterization process of the chip, typically during manufacture, as such, it is unclear how the key-management system is able to obtain and store the characterization data of the first and second software-defined radio chips.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by SDR Implementation of a D2D Security Cryptographic Mechanism (Hereinafter Balan).
Regarding claim 11, Balan discloses a software-defined radio chip for a communication device (at least figure 2, sections III-V), the software-defined radio chip comprising:
a key generator (at least section III, unique key generator) configured to generate a predetermined shared secret key using a physical unclonable function (PUF) based on configuration data (at least section III, using PUF to generate shared secret key/symmetric key based on i.e.: RO PUF secret key) and
a memory configured to store the configuration data (Static Random-Access Memory (SRAM)-i.e.: secret key is stored), wherein the configuration data is determined by a key-management system based on a characterization of the software-defined radio chip for the key generator to generate the predetermined shared secret key based on the configuration data (at least abstract, sections III & IV, the secret key is determined by a component for a shared key generator to generate a shared secret key).
Regarding claim 12, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses at least one functional module that uses the predetermined shared secret key as a protection parameter to protect a communication (at least section III, symmetric key/shared secret key is used for encryption/decryption).
Regarding claim 14, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses the software-defined radio chip is configured to:
communicate using modulation of a waveform as a carrier signal (at least sections I and III, communication is encrypted and transmitted via i.e.: Bluetooth, Wi-Fi Direct Near Field Communication (NFC)); and
use the predetermined shared secret key as a parameter to set the modulation (at least sections I and III, data is encrypted using the shared secret key/ symmetric key).
Regarding claim 15, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses an encryption module configured to encrypt and decrypt data using the predetermined shared secret key as an encryption key (at least sections III & V, the shared secret key/symmetric key is used, which means the shared secret key is used for both encryption and decryption)
Regarding claim 16, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses the physical unclonable function is implemented using a programmable hardware circuit (at least sections III & IV, PUF in IC).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 11 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balan.
Regarding claim 13, Balan discloses the communication system according to claim 11. Balance also discloses the software-defined radio chip is configured to use the shared secret key to decrypt data received in encrypted form (at least section III, symmetric encryption is used, which means the shared secret key is used for both encryption and decryption), wherein the software-defined radio chip further comprises a frequency-hopping spread spectrum (FHSS) and use FHSS transmissions to communicate with each other, changes of a carrier frequency being controlled by said frequency hopping sequence (at least section II, figures 1-2, different spectrums are used for communication between Device A & Device B).
Balan does not explicitly disclose the frequency hopping sequence is encrypted with the shared secret key.
However, Balan discloses security schemes is used in different scenarios for device-to-device (D2D) communication (at least section II).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to encrypt the frequency hopping sequence to ensure only authorized entity can access connection.
Conclusion
/PHY ANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438