DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments filed on 12/15/2025.
Response to Amendment
The objections, U.S.C 101 & 112 rejections made in the previous Non-Final Rejection dated 08/20/2025 are hereby withdrawn due to the Amendments filed on 12/15/2025.
Response to Arguments
Regarding independent claim 1, on pages 10-12, Applicant seems to argue that the newly amended claim 1 is not taught by Balan and that the claim is in condition for allowance.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that claim 1 is not in condition for allowance as detailed in the rejection below.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Broadest Reasonable Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Sixth Paragraph: Use of “Means” (or “Step”) in Claim Drafting and Rebuttable Presumptions Raised.
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, Sixth Paragraph, Invoked Despite Absence of “Means”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a dedicated key generator configured to ..,” “a configuration data generator configured to..,” “..functional module..,” “..FHSS module..” and “..encryption and decryption module..” in claims 1, 8, 12-13 and 15. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in at least figures 2 of the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a first communication device comprising a first software-defined radio chip comprising a first key generator comprising a first physical unclonable function (PUF), wherein the first key generator is configured to use the first PUF to generate a shared secret key based on first configuration data of the first communication device, wherein the first configuration data is determined by a key-management system based on the first PUF such that the first key generator generates the shared secret key based on the first configuration data;” and
“a second communication device comprising a second software-defined radio chip comprising a second key generator comprising a second PUF, wherein the second key generator is configured to use the second PUF to generate the shared secret key based on second configuration data of the second communication device, wherein the second configuration data is determined by the key-management system based on the second PUF such that the second key generator generates the shared secret key based on the second configuration data.”
It is unclear how 2 separate communication devices using its own PUF and its own configuration data is able to generate same shared secret key. The primary security benefit of a PUF is its uniqueness, meaning that no two integrated circuit (ICs) will provide an identical response to the same challenge. As such, it is requested that the Applicant further clarify and points out specific section in the specification that explains how the two separate communication devices are able to generate the same shared secret key using its own PUF and configuration data.
Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1, thus inherit the same 112 2nd paragraph rejection as claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by SDR Implementation of a D2D Security Cryptographic Mechanism (Hereinafter Balan).
Regarding claim 11, Balan discloses a software-defined radio chip for a communication device (at least figure 2, sections III-V), the software-defined radio chip comprising:
a key generator (at least section III, unique key generator) configured to generate a shared secret key using a physical unclonable function (PUF) based on configuration data (at least section III, using PUF to generate shared secret key/symmetric key based on i.e.: RO PUF secret key) and
a memory storing the configuration data (Static Random-Access Memory (SRAM)-i.e.: secret key is stored) wherein the configuration data is generated based on physical factors introduced during manufacture of the software-defined radio chip (at least section III, wherein the secret key is generated based on unique variations of the software-defined radio chip), wherein the configuration data is determined by a key-management system for the key generator to generate the shared secret key based on the configuration data (at least abstract, sections III & IV, the secret key is determined by a component for a shared key generator to generate a shared secret key).
Regarding claim 12, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses at least one functional module that uses the shared secret key as a protection parameter to protect a communication (at least section III, symmetric key/shared secret key is used for encryption/decryption).
Regarding claim 14, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses the software-defined radio chip is configured to:
communicate using modulation of a waveform as a carrier signal; and use the shared secret key as a parameter to set the modulation (at least sections I and III, data is encrypted and transmitted via i.e.: Bluetooth, Wi-Fi Direct Near Field Communication (NFC)).
Regarding claim 15, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses an encryption module configured to encrypt and decrypt data using the shared secret key as an encryption key (at least sections III & V, the shared secret key/symmetric key is used, which means the shared secret key is used for both encryption and decryption)
Regarding claim 16, Balan discloses the software-defined radio chip of claim 11. Balan also discloses the physical unclonable function is implemented using a programmable hardware circuit (at least sections III & IV, PUF in IC).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 11 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balan.
Regarding claim 13, Balan discloses the communication system according to claim 11. Balance also discloses the software-defined radio chip is configured to use the shared secret key to decrypt data received in encrypted form (at least section III, symmetric encryption is used, which means the shared secret key is used for both encryption and decryption), wherein the software-defined radio chip further comprises a frequency-hopping spread spectrum (FHSS) and use FHSS transmissions to communicate with each other, changes of a carrier frequency being controlled by said frequency hopping sequence (at least section II, figures 1-2, different spectrums are used for communication between Device A & Device B).
Balan does not explicitly disclose the frequency hopping sequence is encrypted with the shared secret key.
However, Balan discloses security schemes is used in different scenarios for device-to-device (D2D) communication (at least section II).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to encrypt the frequency hopping sequence to ensure only authorized entity can access connection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHY ANH T VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438