DETAILED ACTION
In the reply filed 7/22/2026, claims 1-3, 6-13, 16-20 are amended, with claims 1-20 currently pending.
Formatting of Amended Claims is not Compliant
The amended claims do not include all required markings for showing changes to the claims. For example, see the portion of claim 1 relating to the turntable (introduced in the third line of claim 1). Because a turntable was not present in the previous version of claim 1, these changes should be underlined.
Applicant is reminded that all changes from the previous claims should be indicated properly using underlines, strikethroughs, and/or [[double brackets]]. Failure to do so may result in a Notice of Non-Compliant amendment; see MPEP 714.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walther (US 2012/0043730) in view of Arai (US 5,511,441).
Regarding claim 1, Walther teaches: a one-hand operated wheel orientation structure, wherein the one-hand operated wheel orientation structure comprises:
an orientation operating portion (including at least element 98) mounted on a frame (12);
a plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (76, 77, 80, 86) locking or unlocking orientation of a corresponding wheel set of a plurality of wheel sets (20A,B); and
a plurality of cables (a cable 88 is provided for each wheel orientation assembly) individually corresponding to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies, and ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being respectively connected to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (see Figs. 3, 4);
wherein an actuation action or a release action of the orientation operating portion is transferred to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies through the cables of the plurality of cables, so as to unlock or lock the orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets.
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 1-3.
Walther fails to teach the orientation operating portion arranged including a turntable rotatably mounted on a frame. Arai teaches: an operating portion (see the mechanism of Fig. 4) arranged including a turntable (5) rotatably mounted on a frame. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to replace the orientation operating portion from Walther with the orientation operating portion from Arai; the motivation being: for convenient and ergonomic actuation of the cables.
Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the operating portion from Arai would be capable of actuating the cables and wheel orientation assemblies from Walther, as these are both structures located analogously on a handle, used to actuate two cables simultaneously.
As such, the combination further teaches: each cable of the plurality of cables having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being connected to the turntable at different locations along a circumference of the turntable. See the first end in Fig. 4 from Arai. See the second end in Fig. 3 from Walther.
Walther shows a “Y” cable configuration, where two cables are joined together at the operating portion. Walther does not describe any criticality of the "Y" cable. Additionally, the portion of the cable system where the “Y” is formed can reasonably be interpreted as a portion of the operating portion. The modification would have the same effect since it includes activation of two cables simultaneously through the turntable. As such, those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the combination includes two cables: one for each operating portion, each having two ends.
Regarding claim 2, the combination further teaches: the cables of the plurality of cables are respectively connected with the turntable (5) by being evenly distributed along the circumference of the turntable, and the actuation action of the orientation operating portion is a rotation action of the turntable in one direction to unlock the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets. See Fig. 4 from Arai. In the combination, rotation of the turntable from Arai actuates the wheel orientation assemblies from Walther via cables.
Regarding claim 4, the combination further teaches: wherein the orientation operating portion further comprises: a button (6) inserted on the frame and movably connected to the turntable, and capable of being switched from a locked position to an unlocked position by means of pressing, thereby rotating the turntable. See Fig. 6 from Arai.
Regarding claim 5, the combination further teaches: wherein the turntable has a turntable engaging portion (53), and the button has a button operating portion (61) that accepts a pressing operation and a button engaging portion (63) connected to the turntable engaging portion, wherein engagement of the button engaging portion and the turntable engaging portion enables a linear movement of the button to be converted into a rotary movement of the turntable. See Fig. 6 from Arai.
Regarding claim 6, the combination further teaches: wherein the turntable engaging portion is a cylindrical convex portion, the button engaging portion is an elongated slot hole, and the cylindrical convex portion is inserted into the elongated slot hole and movable in the elongated slot hole. See Fig. 6 from Arai.
Regarding claim 7, the combination further teaches: wherein the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies are two wheel orientation assemblies, and the plurality of cables are two cables. See Fig. 2 from Walther.
Regarding claim 8, the combination further teaches: wherein the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of the wheel orientation assemblies comprises:
a fixing seat (84) arranged on the frame;
a rotation seat (76) arranged on a wheel frame of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets, connected to the fixing seat, and capable of rotating about an axis perpendicular to the ground relative to the fixing seat;
an orientation member (86) connected a corresponding cable of the plurality of cables, and movably arranged in an orientation member holding hole (inside element 84) of the fixing seat, wherein the orientation member has an extended position and a retracted position, wherein, in the retracted position, the orientation member is only accommodated in the orientation member holding hole of the fixing seat, so that the rotation seat is capable of rotating relative to the fixing seat, thereby unlocking an orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets; and wherein, in the extended position, the orientation member is accommodated in the orientation member holding hole of the fixing seat and accommodated in an orientation member receiving hole (77) of the rotation seat to prevent the rotation seat from rotating relative to the fixing seat, thereby locking the orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets; and
an elastic member (the compression spring described in [0028]) seated in the fixing seat, the elastic member having a first end abutting against the fixing seat, and a second end abutting against the orientation member to apply a force to the orientation member to move towards the orientation member receiving hole.
See Figs. 2-4 from Walther.
Regarding claim 9, the combination further teaches: the corresponding cable is connected to an end of the orientation member inserted into the orientation member holding hole, wherein the actuation action of the orientation operating portion enables the cables of the plurality of the rotation seat included in the corresponding wheel orientation assembly, thereby unlocking the orientation of the corresponding wheel set. See Figs. 2-4 and [0029] from Walther.
Regarding claim 10, the combination further teaches: wherein the release action of the orientation operating portion enables the cables of the plurality of
Regarding claim 11, Walther teaches: A child carrier comprising:
a frame (12);
a plurality of wheel sets (20A,B) arranged on the frame; and
a one-hand operated wheel orientation
wherein
the one-hand operated wheel orientation structure comprises:
an orientation operating portion (including at least element 98) mounted on the frame;
a plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (76, 77, 80, 86) locking or unlocking orientation of a corresponding wheel set of a plurality of wheel sets (20A,B); and
a plurality of cables (a cable 88 is provided for each wheel orientation assembly) individually corresponding to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies, and ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being respectively connected to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (see Figs. 3, 4);
wherein an actuation action or a release action of the orientation operating portion is transferred to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies through the cables of the plurality of cables, so as to unlock or lock the orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets; and
the orientation operating portion of the one-hand operated wheel orientation structure is arranged on a frame grip portion (16, 60) of the child carrier.
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 1-3.
Walther fails to teach the orientation operating portion arranged including a turntable rotatably mounted on a frame. Arai teaches: an operating portion (see the mechanism of Fig. 4) arranged including a turntable rotatably mounted on a frame. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to replace the orientation operating portion from Walther with the orientation operating portion from Arai; the motivation being: for convenient and ergonomic actuation of the cables.
Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the operating portion from Arai would be capable of actuating the cables and wheel orientation assemblies from Walther, as these are both structures located analogously on a handle, used to actuate two cables simultaneously.
As such, the combination further teaches: each cable of the plurality of cables having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being connected to the turntable at different locations along a circumference of the turntable. See the first end in Fig. 4 from Arai. See the second end in Fig. 3 from Walther.
Walther shows a “Y” cable configuration, where two cables are joined together at the operating portion. Walther does not describe any criticality of the "Y" cable. Additionally, the portion of the cable system where the “Y” is formed can reasonably be interpreted as a portion of the operating portion. The modification would have the same effect since it includes activation of two cables simultaneously through the turntable. As such, those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the combination includes two cables: one for each operating portion, each having two ends.
Regarding claim 12, the combination further teaches: the cables of the plurality of cables are respectively connected with the turntable (5) by being evenly distributed along the circumference of the turntable, and the actuation action of the orientation operating portion is a rotation action of the turntable in one direction to unlock the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets. See Fig. 4 from Arai. In the combination, rotation of the turntable from Arai actuates the wheel orientation assemblies from Walther via cables.
Regarding claim 14, the combination further teaches: wherein the orientation operating portion further comprises: a button (6) inserted on the frame and movably connected to the turntable, and capable of being switched from a locked position to an unlocked position by means of pressing, thereby rotating the turntable. See Fig. 6 from Arai.
Regarding claim 15, the combination further teaches: wherein the turntable has a turntable engaging portion (53), and the button has a button operating portion (61) that accepts a pressing operation and a button engaging portion (63) connected to the turntable engaging portion, wherein engagement of the button engaging portion and the turntable engaging portion enables a linear movement of the button to be converted into a rotary movement of the turntable. See Fig. 6 from Arai.
Regarding claim 16, the combination further teaches: wherein the turntable engaging portion is a cylindrical convex portion, the button engaging portion is an elongated slot hole, and the cylindrical convex portion is inserted into the elongated slot hole and movable in the elongated slot hole. See Fig. 6 from Arai.
Regarding claim 17, the combination further teaches: wherein the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies are two wheel orientation assemblies, and the plurality of cables are two cables. See Fig. 2 from Walther.
Regarding claim 18, the combination further teaches: wherein the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of the wheel orientation assemblies comprises:
a fixing seat (84) arranged on the frame;
a rotation seat (76) arranged on a wheel frame of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets, connected to the fixing seat, and capable of rotating about an axis perpendicular to the ground relative to the fixing seat;
an orientation member (86) connected a corresponding cable of the plurality of cables, and movably arranged in an orientation member holding hole (inside element 84) of the fixing seat, wherein the orientation member has an extended position and a retracted position, wherein, in the retracted position, the orientation member is only accommodated in the orientation member holding hole of the fixing seat, so that the rotation seat is capable of rotating relative to the fixing seat, thereby unlocking an orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets; and wherein, in the extended position, the orientation member is accommodated in the orientation member holding hole of the fixing seat and accommodated in an orientation member receiving hole (77) of the rotation seat to prevent the rotation seat from rotating relative to the fixing seat, thereby locking the orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets; and
an elastic member (the compression spring described in [0028]) seated in the fixing seat, the elastic member having a first end abutting against the fixing seat, and a second end abutting against the orientation member to apply a force to the orientation member to move towards the orientation member receiving hole.
See Figs. 2-4 from Walther.
Regarding claim 19, the combination further teaches: the corresponding cable is connected to an end of the orientation member inserted into the orientation member holding hole,
wherein the actuation action of the orientation operating portion enables the cables of the plurality of
See Figs. 2-4 and [0029] from Walther.
Regarding claim 20, the combination further teaches: wherein the release action of the orientation operating portion enables the cables of the plurality of .
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walther (US 2012/0043730) in view of Jane Cabagnero (US 5,535,483).
Regarding claim 1, Walther teaches: a one-hand operated wheel orientation structure, wherein the one-hand operated wheel orientation structure comprises:
an orientation operating portion (including at least element 98) mounted on a frame (12);
a plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (76, 77, 80, 86) locking or unlocking orientation of a corresponding wheel set of a plurality of wheel sets (20A,B); and
a plurality of cables (a cable 88 is provided for each wheel orientation assembly) individually corresponding to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies, and ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being respectively connected to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (see Figs. 3, 4);
wherein an actuation action or a release action of the orientation operating portion is transferred to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies through the cables of the plurality of cables, so as to unlock or lock the orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets.
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 1-3.
Walther fails to teach the orientation operating portion arranged including a turntable rotatably mounted on a frame. Jane Cabagnero teaches: an operating portion (including at least elements 1, 30) arranged including a turntable (1) rotatably mounted on a frame. See Fig. 1. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to replace the orientation operating portion from Walther with the orientation operating portion from Jane Cabagnero; the motivation being: for convenient and ergonomic actuation of the cables.
Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the operating portion from Jane Cabagnero would be capable of actuating the cables and wheel orientation assemblies from Walther, as these are both structures located analogously on a handle, used to actuate two cables simultaneously.
As such, the combination further teaches: each cable of the plurality of cables having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being connected to the turntable at different locations along a circumference of the turntable. See the first end in Fig. 1 from Jane Cabagnero. See the second end in Fig. 3 from Walther.
Walther shows a “Y” cable configuration, where two cables are joined together at the operating portion. Walther does not describe any criticality of the "Y" cable. Additionally, the portion of the cable system where the “Y” is formed can reasonably be interpreted as a portion of the operating portion. The modification would have the same effect since it includes activation of two cables simultaneously through the turntable. As such, those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the combination includes two cables: one for each operating portion, each having two ends.
Regarding claim 2, the combination further teaches: the cables of the plurality of cables are respectively connected with the turntable (1) by being evenly distributed along the circumference of the turntable, and the actuation action of the orientation operating portion is a rotation action of the turntable in one direction to unlock the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets. See Fig. 1 from Jane Cabagnero. In the combination, rotation of the turntable from Jane Cabagnero actuates the wheel orientation assemblies from Walther via cables.
Regarding claim 3, the combination further teaches: wherein the orientation operating portion further comprises: a handle (30) fixedly connected to the turntable and capable of being switched between a locked position and an unlocked position to rotate together with the turntable about a same center. See Fig. 1 from Jane Cabagnero.
Regarding claim 11, Walther teaches: A child carrier comprising:
a frame (12);
a plurality of wheel sets (20A,B) arranged on the frame; and
a one-hand operated wheel orientation
wherein
the one-hand operated wheel orientation structure comprises:
an orientation operating portion (including at least element 98) mounted on the frame;
a plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (76, 77, 80, 86) locking or unlocking orientation of a corresponding wheel set of a plurality of wheel sets (20A,B); and
a plurality of cables (a cable 88 is provided for each wheel orientation assembly) individually corresponding to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies, and ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being respectively connected to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies (see Figs. 3, 4);
wherein an actuation action or a release action of the orientation operating portion is transferred to the wheel orientation assemblies of the plurality of wheel orientation assemblies through the cables of the plurality of cables, so as to unlock or lock the orientation of the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets; and
the orientation operating portion of the one-hand operated wheel orientation structure is arranged on a frame grip portion (16, 60) of the child carrier.
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 1-3.
Walther fails to teach the orientation operating portion arranged including a turntable rotatably mounted on a frame. Jane Cabagnero teaches: an operating portion (including at least elements 1, 30) arranged including a turntable (1) rotatably mounted on a frame. See Fig. 1. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art to replace the orientation operating portion from Walther with the orientation operating portion from Jane Cabagnero; the motivation being: for convenient and ergonomic actuation of the cables.
Those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the operating portion from Jane Cabagnero would be capable of actuating the cables and wheel orientation assemblies from Walther, as these are both structures located analogously on a handle, used to actuate two cables simultaneously.
As such, the combination further teaches: each cable of the plurality of cables having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, the first ends of the cables of the plurality of cables being connected to the turntable at different locations along a circumference of the turntable. See the first end in Fig. 1 from Jane Cabagnero. See the second end in Fig. 3 from Walther.
Walther shows a “Y” cable configuration, where two cables are joined together at the operating portion. Walther does not describe any criticality of the "Y" cable. Additionally, the portion of the cable system where the “Y” is formed can reasonably be interpreted as a portion of the operating portion. The modification would have the same effect since it includes activation of two cables simultaneously through the turntable. As such, those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the combination includes two cables: one for each operating portion, each having two ends.
Regarding claim 12, the combination further teaches: the cables of the plurality of cables are respectively connected with the turntable (1) by being evenly distributed along the circumference of the turntable, and the actuation action of the orientation operating portion is a rotation action of the turntable in one direction to unlock the corresponding wheel set of the plurality of wheel sets. See Fig. 1 from Jane Cabagnero. In the combination, rotation of the turntable from Jane Cabagnero actuates the wheel orientation assemblies from Walther via cables.
Regarding claim 13, the combination further teaches: wherein the orientation operating portion further comprises: a handle (30) fixedly connected to the turntable and capable of being switched between a locked position and an unlocked position to rotate together with the turntable about a same center. See Fig. 1 from Jane Cabagnero.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks/arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered.
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for amending the specification and claims to change “traction device” to a recommended term. These amendments remedy the previously-applied objections to the specification and rejections for indefiniteness.
Remarks regarding the previously applied prior art have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Additional remarks are made with regard to the previously applied rejections under 35 USC § 102 or 103. Applicant's arguments were made with respect to the claims, as amended, and have been rejected/addressed as provided above. Please see the discussion above, which provides detailed explanation of how the prior art reads on the claims.
Even though the operating portions from Jane Cabagnero and Arai serve a different purpose from the orientation operation portion from Walthers, those having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that they can reasonably by implemented to replace the orientation operation portion from Walthers. Each of the operating portions from Walthers, Jane Cabagnero and Arai are analogous because they include a means located on a handle/frame for simultaneous action of two cables.
Walther shows a “Y” cable configuration, where two cables are joined together at the operating portion. Walther does not describe any criticality of the "Y" cable. Additionally, the portion of the cable system where the “Y” is formed can reasonably be interpreted as a portion of the operating portion. The modification would have the same effect since it includes activation of two cables simultaneously through the turntable. As such, those having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the combination includes two cables: one for each operating portion, each having two ends.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA K FRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613