DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: line 13 in Figure 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 10, 11, 15 and 20-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “further comprises a second pump” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because neither claims 4 or 1, on which claim 4 depends, recites a “first pump”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the temperature sensor” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not recited in claims 6, 5 or 1, from which claim 8 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the fuel cell cooling structure” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not recited in claims 5 or 1, from which claim 10 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation of controlling “the primary pump, the second pump and/or the flow regulation means” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because the “the primary pump, the second pump and/or the flow regulation means” are not properly defined on claims 4 or 1, on which claim 11 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “primary cooling loop” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not recited in claims 14, 13, 12 or 1, from which claim 15 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “second heat exchanger” in lines 4 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not recited in claims 3 or 1, from which claim 20 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “operating the second pump” in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because neither claims 1 or 4, on which claim 21 depends, recites a “first pump”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 recites the limitations “primary pump” and “the flow regulation means” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim because they are not recited in claims 4 or 1, from which claim 22 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “primary pump” and “first pump” in lines 7 and 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim because they are not recited in claims 13, 12 or 1, from which claim 23 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “first pump” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because, as explained for claim 23 above, it is not recited in claims 13, 12 or 1, from which claim 24 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 25 and 26 recites the limitation “second pump” in line 4, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because it is not recited in claims 23, 13, 12 or 1, from which claims 25 and 26 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 recites the limitations “first fuel component” and the “first pump” in lines 2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim because they are not recited in claims 22, 4 or 1, from which claim 27 depends. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 13, 17, 18, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duelk teaches a vehicle (1) which is to be driven by a drive unit (2). The drive unit (2) can be a fuel cell, supplied with suitable reactants A and B, and generates electrical power for the drive, which would then be carried out via an electric motor [0008, 0032 and Fig. 1]. The drive unit (2) comprises a cooling circuit (6) in which a cooling medium circulates and returns to the drive unit (2) (cooling loop feature met) [0034 and Fig. 1]. The cooling circuit (6) further comprises a heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) which heats the expanded hydrogen (B) with the thermal energy already absorbed from the first components or parts (8) [0034].
Duelk does not teach the feature “a cooling medium flow line comprising a first cooling medium buffer tank, a first heat exchanger for cooling of the cooling medium, and a second cooling medium buffer tank, wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is arranged upstream the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium before it reaches the first heat exchanger, and wherein the second cooling medium buffer tank is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium that has passed through and been cooled in the first heat exchanger”.
Yamazaki teaches a waste heat recovery system of a fuel cell (10) which may be employed on a fuel cell vehicle as an example [0016]. The waste recovery system comprises a FC coolant system which a coolant is recirculated [0025 and Fig. 1]. It further comprises a radiator (42) including a heat dissipation unit (421) that dissipates the heat of the coolant flowing out of the fuel cell (10) coolant flow passage (13) via pipe (c4) (cooling medium flowline) by heat exchange with air, a lower tank (422) connected to the upstream end of the heat dissipation unit (421), and an upper tank (423) connected to the downstream end of the heat dissipation unit (421) [0025, 0027 and Fig. 1]. The coolant that has dissipated heat through the heat exchange returns to the coolant flow passage (13) (fuel cell interior passage) via the upper tank (423) [0049 and Fig. 1]. It is taught that by the above descripted features, the fuel cell (10) can be maintained at an appropriate temperature [0049].
Duelk is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, wherein the cooling system comprises a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium.
Yamazaki is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, wherein the cooling system comprises a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium, a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium, a cooling medium flow line comprising a first cooling medium buffer tank, a first heat exchanger for cooling of the cooling medium, and a second cooling medium buffer tank, wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is arranged upstream the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium before it reaches the first heat exchanger, and wherein the second cooling medium buffer tank is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium that has passed through and been cooled in the first heat exchanger.
If the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) taught by Duelk is replaced with the radiator (42) taught by Yamazaki, the cooling flow line comprising the first components or parts (8) and the replaced heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) would become the “cooling medium flow line” and the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger of Duelk to include the features “a cooling medium flow line comprising a first cooling medium buffer tank, a first heat exchanger for cooling of the cooling medium, and a second cooling medium buffer tank, wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is arranged upstream the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium before it reaches the first heat exchanger, and wherein the second cooling medium buffer tank is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium that has passed through and been cooled in the first heat exchanger”, because Yamazaki teaches that by the above descripted features, the fuel cell can be maintained at an appropriate temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Duelk further teaches that the cooling medium flows from a coolant conveying device (7) (first pump analogous) through first components or parts (8) to be cooled, in order to then flow through the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) in the embodiment chosen here and to heat the expanded hydrogen B with the thermal energy already absorbed by the first components or parts (8) to be cooled. From the above description and claim 1 discussion, the claimed features are met.
Regarding claim 5, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From Duelk’s Fig. 1, it can be identified a “primary cooling loop” analogous formed by the fuel cell (2), a cooling heat exchanger (9) and a bypass (11) [0034, see annotated figure below]. This “primary cooling loop” analogous is connected to the “cooling flow line” of Duelk and Yamazaki discussed for claim 1 by a thermostatic valve (10) (flow regulating means) [0034 and Fig. 1].
Figure 1: Duelk 's annotated Figure 1.
Regarding claim 7, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Duelk further teaches the employment of a thermostatic valve (10) as part of its cooling circuit (6) [0034 and Fig. 1]. From normal operation of such valves the feature “a temperature sensor arranged to measure a representation of a temperature of the cooling medium in the cooling loop” is met because its operation depends on temperature detection.
Regarding claim 9, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 5. From claim 5 discussion the feature “a controllable three-way valve” is met by the taught thermostatic valve (10) (flow regulating means) [0034 and Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 12, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From Duelk teachings as presented for claim 1, the recited features of this claim are met.
Regarding claim 13, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 12. Duelk further teaches that its fuel cell system comprises the fuel (B), which may be hydrogen, stored under high pressure in a pressurized gas storage tank (3) [0033 and Fig. 1]. In addition, the fuel (B) is expanded in a device (4) and brought to a pressure level suitable for use in the primary drive unit (2) fuel cell [0033 and Fig. 1]. From Fig. 1, the feature “a fuel supply line for feeding the fuel component from the pressure tank to the fuel cell assembly via the expander device” is met. Between the device (4) (expander device) for the expansion of the fuel (B) and the drive unit (2) fuel cell there is a heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) in which the expanded gaseous fuel (B) is heated and at the same time a colling medium is cooled [0033]. It is taught that the fuel (B) which is under high pressure in the pressurized gas storage tank (3), will cool down considerably after being expanded on device (4) (expander device) [0033]. From claim 1 discussion, the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) was modified.
Despite the letters assigned to the fuels and because these two reactants are necessary for the operation of the drive unit (2) fuel cell, the fuel (B) could be selected to be the “first fuel component”.
From the descriptions above, the features of this claim are met.
Regarding claim 17, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 12. From Duelk teachings the reactant labelled A represents oxygen and the reactant labelled B represents hydrogen [0033 and Fig. 1]. Despite the letters assigned and because these two reactants are necessary for the operation of the drive unit (2) fuel cell, hydrogen could be selected to be the “first fuel component”.
Regarding claim 18, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 12. From claim 1 discussion, on which claim 12 depends, Duelk teaches a vehicle (1) which is to be driven by a drive unit (2). The drive unit (2) can be a fuel cell [0032 and Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 20, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 3. From claim 3 discussion, the cooling medium flows from a coolant conveying device (7) (first pump analogous) through first components or parts (8) to be cooled, in order to then flow through the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger). Because the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) was modified by Yamazaki to meet the features of the “first and second cooling medium buffer tank” and because a “second heat exchanger” is not defined previously, the claimed features can be considered met.
Regarding claim 23, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 13. From claim 13 discussion, it was discussed that the drive unit (2) fuel cell taught by Duelk has a fuel (B), which may be considered the “first fuel” and may be hydrogen, which is fed to an expansion device (4) and a heat exchanger 5 (first heat exchanger) prior to be fed to the fuel cell (2) [0033, 0038, Fig. 1 and 2]. Duelk teaches that its fuel cell drive unit (2) is supplied with suitable reactants (A and B) (fuels), which are used to generate electrical power for the drive (operating the fuel cell assembly ) [0032]. The cooling circuit (6) of Duelk comprises a coolant delivery device (7) which recirculates the cooling medium [0034 and Fig. 1]. Since the coolant delivery device (7) recirculates the cooling medium that passes through the fuel cell (2) cooling structure (see annotated Figure 1 above) and the modified heat exchanger (5) [0034 and Fig. 1], having a “first and second cooling medium buffer tank” as discussed for claim 1, the coolant delivery device (7) can be considered analogous to both the “primary and first pump”. From the above teachings the features recited on this claim are met.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Laverman et al. (US 4543978 A).
Regarding claim 2, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein the first and second cooling medium buffer tanks are arranged in a common tank, wherein the common tank is provided with a movable separator that separates the first cooling medium buffer tank from the second cooling medium buffer tank”.
Laverman teaches a tank (20) comprising a stationary partition (40), a movable partition (50) and two nozzles (90 and 100), among other components [col. 3; lines 34, 35 and 50-52, col. 4; lines 50-67, Fig. 1 and 2]. The partitions (40 and 50) creates separate spaces for storing a hot and cold liquid within the same tank (20) [col. 5; lines 19-23 and Fig. 2]. It is taught that the described tank allows for physically separably storing variable volumes of a liquid at different or dual temperatures [col. 1; lines 7-9].
Laverman can be considered analogous to the current invention because despite it is not related to a fuel cell cooling system, its teachings can be applied to the claimed first and second cooling medium buffer tanks and/or general liquid storing operations.
If the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) of Duelk and Yamazaki is further modified so that the lower and upper tanks (422 and 423) (first and second cooling medium buffer tanks) are arranged in a common tank as taught by Laverman, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the feature “wherein the first and second cooling medium buffer tanks are arranged in a common tank, wherein the common tank is provided with a movable separator that separates the first cooling medium buffer tank from the second cooling medium buffer tank”, because Laverman teaches that the described tank allows for physically separably storing variable volumes of a liquid at different or dual temperatures.
Claims 4, 11, 21, 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Vuk et al. (US 20040018405 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein the cooling medium flow line further comprises a second pump configured to feed cooling medium from the second cooling medium buffer tank, and/or from a downstream part of the cooling medium flow line, further downstream and out from the cooling medium flow line”.
Vuk teaches an improved fuel cell cooling system [0003]. According to Figure 1, a fuel cell stack (10) has a cooling loop comprising a coolant inlet and outlet (16 and 18) and lines (26 and 32) [0013 and 0014]. The coolant outlet (18) is connected through line (26) to an upper tank (24) (first tank), which is located on the upper side of a radiator (22) [claim 3]. The radiator (22) has on its lower part a lower tank (30), which communicates with the coolant inlet (16) through line (32) [0014 and claim 3]. A coolant pump (34) is preferably located in line (32) to pump coolant from the lower tank (30) to coolant inlet (16) (second tank) [0014 and Fig. 1]. It is taught that the coolant pump serves to circulate the coolant through the heat exchange unit and the fuel cell stack [0005 and claim 18].
Vuk is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, wherein the cooling system comprises: a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium, a cooling medium flow line comprising a first cooling medium buffer tank a first heat exchanger for cooling of the cooling medium, and a second cooling medium buffer tank, wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is arranged upstream the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium before it reaches the first heat exchanger, and wherein the second cooling medium buffer tank is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium that has passed through and been cooled in the first heat exchanger.
If the “cooling flow line” of Duelk modified by Yamazaki, is modified to comprise a cooling pump after the second buffer tank as taught by Vuk, the claimed feature is met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “cooling flow line” of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the feature wherein it “comprises a second pump configured to feed cooling medium from the second cooling medium buffer tank, and/or from a downstream part of the cooling medium flow line, further downstream and out from the cooling medium flow line”, because Vuk teaches that it serves to circulate the coolant through the heat exchange unit and the fuel cell stack.
Regarding claim 11, Duelk, Yamazaki and Vuk teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 4. Duelk further teaches the employment of a thermostatic valve (10) connected to bypass line (11) which connects the fuel cell cooling structure (see annotated Figure 1 above) and the line comprising the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) (cooling medium flow line) [0034]. From common knowledge of thermostatic valves and its configuration shown in Fig. 1, the “control of a cooling medium flow rate” feature through these lines can be met.
Regarding claim 21, Duelk, Yamazaki and Vuk teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 4. From claim 4 discussion, the claimed features are met.
Regarding claim 22, Duelk, Yamazaki and Vuk teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 4. Duelk further teaches the employment of a thermostatic valve (10) connected to bypass line (11) which connects the fuel cell cooling structure (see annotated Figure 1 above) and the line comprising the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) (cooling medium flow line) [0034]. From common knowledge of thermostatic valves and its configuration shown in Fig. 1, the “control of a cooling medium flow rate” feature through these lines can be met.
Regarding claim 27, Duelk, Yamazaki and Vuk teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 22. Duelk further teaches that it is a crucial advantage if the reactants A, B do not arrive at the fuel cell (2) with too large a temperature difference, as this could lead to thermal stresses, freezing of product water, hardening or drying out of the membranes, or similar problems [0035]. In addition it is taught that the fuel B (hydrogen) is heated in the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) as discussed on claim 1, by the cooing medium in the cooling circuit (6) [0033 and 0034]. Given that the conveying device (7) allows the circulation of the referred cooling medium, the operation of such conveying device is implicitly a response to the flow of the fuel B (hydrogen) which is desired to be fed into the fuel cell (2). Because it is not previously stipulated, the fuel B can be considered to be the “first fuel component” and the conveying device (7) can be considered to serve as the “first pump”, thereby the claimed limitations would be met.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Buehler et al. (US 20180053950 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 5. From Duelk teachings the features wherein the primary cooling loop comprises “a fuel cell cooling structure arranged in association with the fuel cell assembly which transfers heat from the fuel cell assembly to cooling medium flowing through the fuel cell cooling structure” and “a primary heat exchanger for cooling of cooling medium that has been heated by the fuel cell assembly” are met [0034 and Fig. 1].
Duelk and Yamazaki does not teach where its primary cooling loop comprises “a primary pump configured to recirculate cooling medium”.
Buehler teaches a cooling arrangement for cooling a fuel cell system comprising a first and a second cooling loop [Abstract]. The first cooling circuit (16) includes a fuel cell (3) comprising a cell heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure), a heating unit (19) (primary heat exchanger) and a first coolant pump (18) [0025 and Fig. 1]. The first coolant pump is taught that can achieve a very efficient circulation of the liquid coolant medium [0007]. Despite commonly the first cooling circuit (16) is employed on cold start cases [0026], the advantages of a first coolant pump in a similar circuit could be employed on fuel cell cooling operations.
Buehler is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, comprising a first and a second cooling loop.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “primary cooling loop” of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the feature “a primary pump configured to recirculate cooling medium”, because Buehler teaches that it can achieve a very efficient circulation of the liquid coolant medium.
Regarding claim 10, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 5, except “wherein a downstream part of the cooling medium flow line is arranged to connect to the primary cooling loop between the primary pump and the fuel cell cooling structure”.
Buehler teaches a cooling arrangement (15) for cooling a fuel cell system comprising a first and a second cooling loop [Abstract and 0025]. The first cooling circuit (16) (primary cooling loop analogous) includes a fuel cell (3) comprising a cell heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure), a heating unit (19) (primary heat exchanger) and a first coolant pump (18) [0025 and Fig. 1]. The second cooling circuit (17) comprises two heat exchangers (23 and 24) employed for cooling the cooling medium flowing through and for heating the hydrogen fuel to be provided to the fuel cell (3). The second cooling circuit (17) is connected to the first cooling circuit (16) (primary cooling loop analogous), first by a three way valve (cooling medium flow line analogous) and after passing the heat exchanger (24) both cooling circuits are joined before entering the fuel cell (3) heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure) [0027, 0029 and Fig. 1]. The union of both circuits before entering the fuel cell (3) heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure) results in particularly efficient cooling of the fuel cell (3) and enables a particularly high level of cooling power of the cooling arrangement (15) (entire cooling system), making possible even in the event of a high ambient temperature to operate a fuel cell vehicle (1) at high power, which represents a substantial advantage for the user of the vehicle [0029 and Fig. 1].
Buehler is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, comprising a first and a second cooling loop joined before entering the fuel cell cooling structure.
Since Duelk teaches the employment of coolant conveying device (7) (primary pump analogous), if the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk modified by Yamazaki, is further modified so as the bypass (11) enters the fuel cell (2) heat exchanger (cooling structure) instead the flow line comprising the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) (cooling medium flow line), and this last one is joined to the bypass (11) before the fuel cell (2) heat exchanger (cooling structure), based on Buehler teachings, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling circuit of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the feature “wherein a downstream part of the cooling medium flow line is arranged to connect to the primary cooling loop between the primary pump and the fuel cell cooling structure”, because Buehler teaches that it results in particularly efficient cooling of the fuel cell and enables a particularly high level of cooling power of the cooling arrangement (entire cooling system), making possible even in the event of a high ambient temperature to operate a fuel cell vehicle at high power, which represents a substantial advantage for the user of the vehicle.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) and Buehler et al. (US 20180053950 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, further in view of Alva (US 20040001985 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Duelk, Yamazaki and Buehler teaches all the elements in the current invention in claim 6 except “wherein the temperature sensor is arranged to measure a representation of the temperature of the cooling medium at an inlet to the fuel cell cooling structure”.
Alva teaches a fuel cell cooling system comprising a fuel cell (10) and a coolant circulation loop (100) among other components [Abstract, 0018 and Fig. 1]. It is taught that various sensors can be provided for measuring parameters of the coolant, such as temperature, pressure, flow rate, etc. For example, sensors or transmitters can be provided adjacent the coolant inlet and outlet of the fuel cell (10) to monitor the temperature of the coolant and hence the amount of heat removed from the fuel cell (10) [0034]. The measured parameters can be sent to a processor (not shown) which in turn controls the operation of the heating means, pumps and heat exchangers [0034].
Alva is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, wherein the cooling system comprises: a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk, Yamazaki and Buehler to include the feature “wherein the temperature sensor is arranged to measure a representation of the temperature of the cooling medium at an inlet to the fuel cell cooling structure”, because Alva teaches that it serves to monitor the temperature of the coolant and that the measured parameters can be sent to a processor (not shown) which in turn controls the operation of the heating means, pumps and heat exchangers.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Cho et al. (KR 20130070161 A, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 14, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 13, except “wherein the fuel cell system comprises an additional heat exchanger arranged for exchanging heat between the cooling medium and the first fuel component in a way corresponding to that of the first heat exchanger, wherein the additional heat exchanger is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger in relation to the fuel supply line”.
Cho teaches a hydrogen recirculation system for a fuel cell stack (S) which comprises a cooling water line (60) (cooling loop) [0023 and Fig. 1]. The system comprises a hydrogen tank (10) which is fed into a first heat exchanger (42) and a second heat exchanger (44) before entering the fuel cell stack (S) [0030 and Fig. 2]. Since hydrogen is a primary fuel for the operation of the fuel cell, it can be considered “the first fuel component”. It is taught that the second heat exchanger (44) allows to preheat the hydrogen supplied from the regulator (20) to the ejector (30) using cooling water discharged from the stack (S), thereby preventing water vapor from condensing in the stack [0006 and 0036].
Cho is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly comprising a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium.
If the modified cooling circuit (6) of Duelk and Yamazaki is further modified to include a second heat exchanger as the one taught by Cho after the heat exchanger (5) (modified first heat exchanger), the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the features “wherein the fuel cell system comprises an additional heat exchanger arranged for exchanging heat between the cooling medium and the first fuel component in a way corresponding to that of the first heat exchanger, wherein the additional heat exchanger is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger in relation to the fuel supply line”, because Cho teaches that it allows to preheat the hydrogen supplied from the regulator (20) to the ejector (30) using cooling water discharged from the stack (S), thereby preventing water vapor from condensing in the stack.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) and Cho et al. (KR 20130070161 A, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 14 above, further in view of Buehler et al. (US 20180053950 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Duelk, Yamazaki and Cho teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 14. From claim 14 discussion, the feature “wherein the fuel cell system comprises a cooling system “ is met. In addition, because a second heat exchanger was added “downstream of the first heat exchanger in relation to the fuel supply line” the cooling medium channel leading to the additional heat exchanger would be connected to the output line coming from the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) and because the line comprising such heat exchanger is connected to the loop formed by the line exiting the fuel cell (2) cooling structure and the bypass (11) (primary cooling loop, see annotated Fig. 1) taught by Duelk, “the cooling medium channel leading to the additional heat exchanger is connected to the primary cooling loop”.
Duelk, Yamazaki and Cho does not teach where “the second cooling medium channel from the additional heat exchanger is connected to the primary cooling loop”.
Buehler teaches a cooling arrangement (15) for cooling a fuel cell system comprising a first and a second cooling loop [Abstract and 0025]. The first cooling circuit (16) (primary cooling loop analogous) includes a fuel cell (3) comprising a cell heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure), a heating unit (19) (primary heat exchanger) and a first coolant pump (18) [0025 and Fig. 1]. The second cooling circuit (17) comprises two heat exchangers (23 and 24) employed for cooling the cooling medium flowing through and for heating the hydrogen fuel to be provided to the fuel cell (3). The second cooling circuit (17) is connected to the first cooling circuit (16) (primary cooling loop analogous), first by a three way valve (cooling medium flow line analogous) and after passing the heat exchanger (24) both cooling circuits are joined before entering the fuel cell (3) heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure) [0027, 0029 and Fig. 1]. The union of both circuits before entering the fuel cell (3) heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure) results in particularly efficient cooling of the fuel cell (3) and enables a particularly high level of cooling power of the cooling arrangement (15) (entire cooling system), making possible even in the event of a high ambient temperature to operate a fuel cell vehicle (1) at high power, which represents a substantial advantage for the user of the vehicle [0029 and Fig. 1].
Buehler is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, comprising a first and a second cooling loop, comprising two heat exchangers, joined before entering the fuel cell cooling structure.
If the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk, Yamazaki and Cho, is further modified so as the bypass (11) enters the fuel cell (2) heat exchanger (cooling structure) instead the flow line comprising the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) (cooling medium flow line), and this last one is joined to the bypass (11) before the fuel cell (2) heat exchanger (cooling structure), based on Buehler teachings, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling circuit of Duelk, Yamazaki and Cho to include the feature where “the second cooling medium channel from the additional heat exchanger is connected to the primary cooling loop”, because Buehler teaches that it results in particularly efficient cooling of the fuel cell and enables a particularly high level of cooling power of the cooling arrangement (entire cooling system), making possible even in the event of a high ambient temperature to operate a fuel cell vehicle at high power, which represents a substantial advantage for the user of the vehicle.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Gottwick et al. (DE 102009045719 A1, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 16, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 13, except “wherein the fuel cell system is provided with a heat pump system comprising a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve and an evaporator configured to compress, condense, expand and evaporate, respectively, a medium recirculating in the heat pump system, wherein the evaporator forms a further heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from the cooling medium to the medium recirculating in the heat pump system and wherein the evaporator is arranged between the first pump and the first heat exchanger so as to pre-cool the cooling medium in the cooling medium flow line before it reaches the first heat exchanger”.
Gottwick teaches a cooling system (20) for a fuel cell stack (11) comprising a cooling loop for recirculating a cooling medium and a radiator (22) [0023 and Fig. 1]. As part of its cooling system (20), a heat pump (40) is included, which comprises a first evaporator (41), a compressor (42), heated a first condenser (43) and a first expansion valve (44) [0024 and Fig. 1]. From common knowledge, the feature where the components above are “configured to compress, condense, expand and evaporate, respectively, a medium recirculating in the heat pump system” is met. From Fig. 1 can be seen that the evaporator (41) shares the second coolant path (32) of the cooling system (20) [0024]. It is taught that the heat pump (40) allows for additional or alternative cooling of the cooling medium and the maintenance of a desired temperature range [0024].
Gottwick is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly comprising a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium.
From Duelk invention it is taught that in the cooling circuit (6), the cooling medium flows from a coolant conveying device (7) through first components or parts (8) to be cooled, in order to then flow through the heat exchanger (5) (modified first heat exchanger). Since the first components or parts (8) taught by Duelk serves the same purpose of the heat pump (40) taught by Gottwick, the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk can be modified to comprise the heat pump (40) in place of the first components or parts (8). If this modification is made, based on the teachings above, the features “wherein the evaporator forms a further heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from the cooling medium to the medium recirculating in the heat pump system and wherein the evaporator is arranged between the first pump and the first heat exchanger so as to pre-cool the cooling medium in the cooling medium flow line before it reaches the first heat exchanger” would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the features “wherein the fuel cell system is provided with a heat pump system comprising a compressor, a condenser, an expansion valve and an evaporator configured to compress, condense, expand and evaporate, respectively, a medium recirculating in the heat pump system, wherein the evaporator forms a further heat exchanger configured to transfer heat from the cooling medium to the medium recirculating in the heat pump system and wherein the evaporator is arranged between the first pump and the first heat exchanger so as to pre-cool the cooling medium in the cooling medium flow line before it reaches the first heat exchanger”, because Gottwick teaches that it allows for additional or alternative cooling of the cooling medium and the maintenance of a desired temperature range.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, evidenced by Ebrahimzadeh et al. (Theoretical and experimental analysis of dynamic heat exchanger: Retrofit configuration, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 19, Duelk and Yamazaki teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Duelk and Yamazaki does not explicitly teach a method for “collecting or discharging at a certain volume flow rate cooling medium in or from the first cooling medium buffer tank while, in a compensating manner, discharging or collecting at the same volume flow rate cooling medium that has been cooled in the first heat exchanger from or in the second cooling medium buffer tank so that the total volume of cooling medium contained in the first and second cooling medium buffer tanks remains the same”.
Ebrahimzadeh work is related to transient flowrates of hot and cold streams passing through the interior of a heat exchanger [Abstract]. As part of its background is stated that heat exchangers react in a non-linear way with changes in inlet properties, making them difficult to control effectively [p. 545; par. 2]. Also it is stated that flow rate changes may cause the flow regime to shift from laminar to turbulent, significantly decreasing the heat transfer coefficient [p. 546; par. 3].
Ebrahimzadeh is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely heat exchanger principles, which can be applicable to the current invention.
From Duelk work is stated that its invention enables the heating of the hydrogen (B), which is greatly cooled during expansion, and improves the cooling performance in the cooling circuit (6), since in the area of the heat exchanger (5) the cooling medium in the cooling circuit (6) is further cooled [0035]. From the previous statement, claim 1 discussion and Ebrahimzadeh teachings, it could be considered reasonable to maintain a constant flowrate of the cooling medium entering and exiting the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger), which met the claimed limitations, in order to maintain a heat transfer coefficient and met Duelk statement.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 23 above, further in view of Buehler et al. (US 20180053950 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Duelk and Yamazaki teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 23. From Duelk teachings, a thermostatic valve (10) (flow regulation means) is employed to serve as the connection between the “primary loop” and the cooling line comprising the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) (see annotated Fig. 1 above) [0034]. From this description and general operation of a thermostatic valve, the feature “wherein the flow regulation means is/are set in a mode that allows flow of cooling medium between the primary cooling loop and the cooling medium flow line” can be met depending on the temperature detected by the valve.
Duelk and Yamazaki does not teach the feature “operating the second pump so as to feed cooling medium from the second cooling medium buffer tank and/or from the first heat exchanger into the primary cooling loop via the outlet flow line part”.
Buehler teaches a cooling arrangement (15) for cooling a fuel cell system comprising a first and a second cooling loop [Abstract and 0025]. The first cooling circuit (16) (primary cooling loop analogous) includes a fuel cell (3) comprising a cell heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure), a heating unit (19) (primary heat exchanger) and a first coolant pump (18) [0025 and Fig. 1]. The second cooling circuit (17) comprises two heat exchangers (23 and 24) employed for cooling the cooling medium flowing through and for heating the hydrogen fuel to be provided to the fuel cell (3) and a second coolant pump (22). The second cooling circuit (17) is connected to the first cooling circuit (16) (primary cooling loop analogous), first by a three way valve (cooling medium flow line analogous) and after passing the heat exchanger (24) both cooling circuits are joined before entering the fuel cell (3) heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure) [0027, 0029 and Fig. 1]. The union of both circuits before entering the fuel cell (3) heat exchanger (6) (fuel cell cooling structure) results in particularly efficient cooling of the fuel cell (3) and enables a particularly high level of cooling power of the cooling arrangement (15), while the employment of the second coolant pump (22) helps the first coolant pump (18) in the event of a corresponding demand for a high-volume flow of coolant medium [0029, 0032 and Fig. 1].
Buehler is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, comprising a first and a second cooling loop, comprising two heat exchangers, joined before entering the fuel cell cooling structure and a first and second cooling pumps.
Since Duelk teaches the employment of coolant conveying device (7) (primary pump analogous), if the cooling circuit (6) of Duelk modified by Yamazaki, is further modified so as the bypass (11) enters the fuel cell (2) heat exchanger (cooling structure) instead the flow line comprising the heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) (cooling medium flow line), this last one being joined to the bypass (11) before the fuel cell (2) heat exchanger (cooling structure) and a second pump is added after the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger), based on Buehler teachings, the claimed features would be met.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling circuit of Duelk and Yamazaki to include the feature “operating the second pump so as to feed cooling medium from the second cooling medium buffer tank and/or from the first heat exchanger into the primary cooling loop via the outlet flow line part”, because Buehler teaches that it results in particularly efficient cooling of the fuel cell and enables a particularly high level of cooling power of the cooling arrangement, while the employment of the second coolant pump helps the first coolant pump in the event of a corresponding demand for a high-volume flow of coolant medium.
Regarding claim 26, Duelk, Yamazaki and Buehler teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 25. From Duelk teachings regarding the employment of the thermostatic valve (10) (flow regulation means) the feature “temperature sensor is arranged to measure a representation of a temperature of the cooling medium in the cooling loop” is met.
From claim 25 discussion, the operation of a secondary pump is related to an event of a corresponding demand for a high-volume flow of coolant medium, which can be reasonably linked to cooling request of the fuel cell and to the situation where a cooling medium flowing through the fuel cell cooling structure is above a specific threshold (no longer able to cool the fuel cell). From the thermostatic valve (10) (flow regulation means) normal capabilities the flow of such medium through the line comprising the modified heat exchanger (5) (first heat exchanger) can be allowed and a control system can activate the second pump in order to increase the flowrate of the coolant medium through the cooling loop resulting in the cooling of both the cooling medium and the fuel cell.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) as applied to claim 23 above, evidenced by Daud et al. (PEM fuel cell system control: A review, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 28, Duelk and Yamazaki teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 23, however the feature of a “control circuitry for controlling operation of a fuel cell system, the control circuitry being configured to carry out a method according to claim 23” is not explicitly recited.
Daud’s work reviews and evidence PEMFC control sub-systems particularly focused on control strategies to avoid fuel starvation [Abstract and Fig. 3]. Among the reviewed control sub-systems, a reaction subsystem is mentioned. This subsystem manages the feeding of the reactants to the fuel cell stack in a stoichiometric ratio that is more than sufficient to generate the rated power of the PEMFC system [p. 625; 4.1.1. Reaction subsystem; par. 1 and 2]. Another of the reviewed subsystems is the thermal subsystem which focuses on maintain the fuel cell temperature in the optimum operating range and the moisture level in the stack and membrane [p. 625; 4.1.2. Thermal subsystem; par. 2]. It is taught that high power stacks have to be controlled by a closed water cooling system with a radiator that can handle the higher heat load [p. 627; par. 1].
Daud is analogous art to the current invention because it is concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely control subsystems applicable to fuel cell technology.
From Daud teachings it is evidenced that the fuel cell and cooling system operations performed by the modified cooling circuit (6) of Duelk and Yamazaki are based on known and applied control systems/subsystems in the fuel cell field, from which the claimed control features are inherent to the modified cooling circuit (6) of Duelk and Yamazaki, therefore being met.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in this Office Action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention is related to, inter alia, a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly, wherein the cooling system comprises: a cooling loop for recirculation of a cooling medium, a cooling medium flow line comprising a first cooling medium buffer tank, a first heat exchanger for cooling of the cooling medium, and a second cooling medium buffer tank, wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is arranged upstream the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium before it reaches the first heat exchanger, and wherein the second cooling medium buffer tank is arranged downstream of the first heat exchanger so as to allow collection, storing and discharge of cooling medium that has passed through and been cooled in the first heat exchanger. Furthermore the cooling system has a method wherein the flow regulation means is/are set in a mode that prevents flow of cooling medium between the primary cooling loop and the cooling medium flow line, and wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is not empty and the second cooling medium buffer tank is not full, the method comprising:- operating the first pump so as to feed cooling medium from the first cooling medium buffer tank through the first heat exchanger and further into the second cooling medium buffer tank so as to collect and increase an amount of stored cooled cooling medium in the second cooling medium buffer tank while reducing the amount of cooling medium stored in the first cooling medium buffer tank.
Duelk et al. (DE 102010011556 A1, see machine translation for citation) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20140356748 A1) are considered the closest prior art to independent claim 1. As stated above, Duelk teaches a vehicle (1) which is to be driven by a drive unit (2), which can be a fuel cell, supplied with suitable reactants A and B, and generates electrical power for the drive, which would then be carried out via an electric motor [0032 and Fig. 1]. The drive unit (2) comprises a cooling circuit (6) in which a cooling medium circulates and returns to the drive unit (2) (cooling loop feature met) [0034 and Fig. 1]. The cooling circuit (6) further comprises a heat exchanger (5) which heats the expanded hydrogen B with the thermal energy already absorbed from the first components or parts (8) [0034].
Yamazaki teaches a waste heat recovery system of a fuel cell (10) which may be employed on a fuel cell vehicle as an example [0016]. The waste recovery system comprises a FC coolant system which a coolant is recirculated [0025 and Fig. 1]. It further comprises a radiator (42) including a heat dissipation unit (421) that dissipates the heat of the coolant flowing out of the fuel cell (10) coolant flow passage (13) via pipe (c4) (cooling medium flowline) by heat exchange with air, a lower tank (422) connected to the upstream end of the heat dissipation unit (421), and an upper tank (423) connected to the downstream end of the heat dissipation unit (421) [0025, 0027 and Fig. 1]. The coolant that has dissipated heat through the heat exchange returns to the coolant flow passage (13) (fuel cell interior passage) via the upper tank (423) [0049 and Fig. 1].
From combining Duelk and Yamazaki teachings, the heat exchanger (5) of Duelk is modified to meet the limitations “a first and second cooling medium buffer tanks arranged upstream and downstream of the first heat exchanger” (see claim 1 discussion). However, Duelk in view of Yamazaki do not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited “method wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is not empty and the second cooling medium buffer tank is not full, the method comprising: operating the first pump so as to feed cooling medium from the first cooling medium buffer tank through the first heat exchanger and further into the second cooling medium buffer tank so as to collect and increase an amount of stored cooled cooling medium in the second cooling medium buffer tank while reducing the amount of cooling medium stored in the first cooling medium buffer tank”. Yamazaki teaches regarding its radiator (42) that the lower and upper tanks (422 and 423) temporarily reserves the coolant entering and exiting the radiator (42) [0027 and 0028]. It is further taught that the high-temperature coolant flowing out of the coolant flow passage (13) flows into the lower tank (422) of the radiator (42) via the pipe (c4). Thereafter, when flowing through a plurality of tubes (not illustrated), the coolant exchanges heat with air via the tubes and a radiator fin. The coolant that has dissipated heat through the heat exchange returns to the coolant flow passage (13) via the upper tank (423) and the pipes (c1 to c3). In this manner, the fuel cell (10) can be maintained at an appropriate temperature [0049].
Accordingly, there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the method taught by Yamazaki and be directed towards another separate and distinct method for “feed cooling medium from the first cooling medium buffer tank through the first heat exchanger and further into the second cooling medium buffer tank so as to collect and increase an amount of stored cooled cooling medium in the second cooling medium buffer tank while reducing the amount of cooling medium stored in the first cooling medium buffer tank”, because with Yamazaki method the fuel cell can be maintained at an appropriate temperature already.
Vuk et al. (US 20040018405 A1) can be considered pertinent prior art to independent claim 1. As stated above, Vuk teaches an improved fuel cell cooling system [0003]. According to Figure 1, a fuel cell stack (10) has a cooling loop comprising a coolant inlet and outlet (16 and 18) and lines (26 and 32) [0013 and 0014]. The coolant outlet (18) is connected through line (26) to an upper tank (24) (first tank), which is located on the upper side of a radiator (22) [claim 3]. The radiator (22) has on its lower part a lower tank (30), which communicates with the coolant inlet (16) through line (32) [0014 and claim 3]. A coolant pump (34) is preferably located in line (32) to pump coolant from the lower tank (30) (second tank) to coolant inlet (16) [0014 and Fig. 1].
However Vuk does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited “method wherein the first cooling medium buffer tank is not empty and the second cooling medium buffer tank is not full, the method comprising: operating the first pump so as to feed cooling medium from the first cooling medium buffer tank through the first heat exchanger and further into the second cooling medium buffer tank so as to collect and increase an amount of stored cooled cooling medium in the second cooling medium buffer tank while reducing the amount of cooling medium stored in the first cooling medium buffer tank”. Instead Vuk teaches a cooperative system where exhaust water from the fuel cell stack (10) is used to increases the cooling performance of the radiator (22) [0005 and 0016].
Accordingly, there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the system taught by Vuk and be directed towards another separate and distinct method for “feed cooling medium from the first cooling medium buffer tank through the first heat exchanger and further into the second cooling medium buffer tank so as to collect and increase an amount of stored cooled cooling medium in the second cooling medium buffer tank while reducing the amount of cooling medium stored in the first cooling medium buffer tank”, because with Vuk method the cooling performance of the radiator is increased.
Conclusion
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725