DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 48, 49 and 58-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 48 is indefinite because it depends from a canceled claim.
Each of claims 58-62 recites “the phenolate anion” in line 5, which has no antecedent basis. It appears that claims 58-62 should each be amended to depend from claim 57 to overcome this rejection.
Claim 49 is rejected for depending from an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 55, 56 and 64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koech et al. (2017/0203250 A1).
Koech et al. ‘250 teach a process for capturing carbon dioxide and hydrogen sulfide from gas mixtures, comprising contacting the gas under absorption conditions with a water-lean non-aqueous amine-based solvent that forms zwitterionic carbamates, followed by desorption under heating to 70-100°C or reduced pressure (see paragraphs 6, 12, 16, 44). The solvent can contain up to 10 wt% water and the basicity of the amine can be reduced (paragraphs 17, 29).
Claim(s) 55 and 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heldebrant et al. (2009/0220397 A1).
Heldebrant et al. ‘397 teach a process for capturing carbon dioxide and hydrogen sulfide from gas mixtures, comprising contacting the gas under absorption conditions with a zwitterionic liquid, followed by desorption under heating or reduced pressure (see abstract, claims 1-18, figures 5-6, paragraphs 3, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 65-68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of Koech et al. ‘250 or Heldebrant et al. ‘397.
Any one of Koech et al. ‘250 or Heldebrant et al. ‘397 discloses all of the limitations of the claims except that a preferred solvent concentration and absorption/desorption temperature and pressure are used. Absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the process conditions including temperature, pressure, and concentration of aqueous solvent are considered to be parameters that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide conditions for adequate capture and release of acid gases without wasting energy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36-47 and 50-54 are allowed.
Claims 48, 49 and 58-62 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 57 and 63 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art to KR 20120097366 A discloses the formation of hydroxyphenylimidazolium salt but fails to disclose or suggest a motivation for the step of deprotonating a phenolic OH group of 2-(hydroxy-phenyl)-imidazolium salt in an aqueous solution and in the presence of a strongly basic ion exchange resin to form 2-(oxy-phenyl)-imidazolium zwitterionic salt, in combination with the other recited steps in claim 36.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose acid gas absorption solvents and processes.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl