DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 6 and 19, please write out the meaning of 6PPD, 7PPD and TMQ.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jacob (US 2023/0312874), based on a filing date of October 2, 2020.
Jacob discloses an aging stabilizer and/or antiozonant, shown below, for use in vehicle tires and/or technical rubber articles, where the rubber is listed to include natural rubber, polyisoprene, styrene-butadiene, polybutadiene rubber, etc. (p. 2, [0034] to p. 3, [0049]):
This compound meets the claimed antidegradant when m=1, n=0, p=0, q=0, R1=H and R2 is an alkyl moiety.
Jacob discloses that the rubber mixture comprises at least one filler, which includes carbon black and silica (p. 3, [0050] to p. 4, [0069]).
Jacob also discloses that the rubber mixture is used in vulcanized form, where vulcanization is conducted in the presence of sulfur and/or sulfur donors with the aid of vulcanization accelerators (p. 5, [0095]-[0104]).
Jacob anticipates instant claims 1-5 and 12.
As to claim 6, Jacob discloses that the rubber mixture can further contain customary additives, which include 6PPD, 7PPD, antiozonant waxes and TMQ (p. 4, [0070] to p. 5, [0083]).
As to claim 7, Jacob discloses that the rubber mixture can include plasticizers such as oil plasticizers (p. 4, [0078]).
As to claims 8-9, Jacob discloses the aging stabilizer in an amount of preferably 1-5 phr (p. 2, [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (Antideterioration of 1-Chlorobutadiene-Butadiene Rubber by Using Rubber-Bound Antioxidants, Kobunshi Ronbunshu, 33(6), 1796, pp 317-322).
Yamashita exemplifies the following:
,
where RA-3 is the following antioxidant:
.
RA-3 meets applicants’ antidegradant when m=1, p=0, q=0, n=0 and R1 and R2 are methyl groups, which is the same as 4-((4-(dimethylamino)phenyl)amino)phenol. CB-BR is chlorobutadiene-butadiene rubber and is a type of polybutadiene. HAF black is a carbon black reinforcing filler, and sulfur meets applicants’ vulcanization system.
Yamashita anticipates instant claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-18.
Claims 6, 12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (Antideterioration of 1-Chlorobutadiene-Butadiene Rubber by Using Rubber-Bound Antioxidants, Kobunshi Ronbunshu, 33(6), 1796, pp 317-322), as applied above to claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-18, and further in view of JP 5543143.
Yamashita anticipates instant claims 1-5, 7-11 and 13-18, as described above and applied herein as such, as Yamashita discloses a filled chlorobutadiene-butadiene copolymer rubber which is vulcanized in the presence of 4-((4-(dimethylamino)phenyl)amino)phenol.
Yamashita does not specifically teach the combination of the claimed antidegradant and the additional antioxidant, as claimed in instant claims 6 and 19.
Yamashita teaches that hindered phenols A-1 and RA-1 also provide the copolymer with resistance against deterioration. Using a combination of A-1 or RA-1 and RA-3 is prima facie obvious, as these compounds are functionally equivalent in the Yamashita reference, where A-1 and RA-1 are hindered phenols, as shown below:
Yamashita does not teach or suggest the composition as being suitable for use in tires, as claimed by instant claims 12 and 20.
JP ‘143 teaches a vulcanized glass fiber filled 1-chlorobutadiene-butadiene copolymer composition, teaching that it can be used in automobile tires.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the composition of Yamashita in a tire, as JP ‘143 teaches that filled, vulcanized, chlorobutadiene-butadiene copolymer rubber compositions are suitable for use in tires.
Yamashita in view of JP ‘143 is prima facie obvious over instant claims 12 and 20.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766