DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“a nose axis” in line 3 of claim 1;
“rotational axis” in claim 3;
“chord of circle” in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: term “the rotational axis” in claim 3 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS59156901U (hereinafter, JP901).
Regarding claim 1, A clamp device (see Fig. 2) comprising a cap portion 9 slidably mounted on a base portion 6 and secured together by a locking bolt 7, wherein the cap portion comprises a body (body of cap portion 9 in Fig. 1) and a nose (N as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) which extends laterally outwardly from the body along a nose axis (see nose extending outward from the cap body), the body of the cap portion comprising arcuate surface (A1, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) on the underside thereof which is seated on a complementary opposed arcuate (A2, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) mating surface of the base portion.
JP901 in embodiment shown in Fig. 2 fails to show a convex arcuate surface in cap portion and a concave arcuate mating surface of the base portion.
However, JP901 in embodiment shown in Fig. 1 shows a conventional rail fixing hardware commonly used, having a convex like arcuate surface on the underside of the cap body and a concave like arcuate surface on the base portion.
Additionally, changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the shape of contact portion in cap portion and the base portion to be arcuate convex and arcuate concave as an obvious change in shape.
Further, the Examiner interprets the modified surfaces permits rotational movement of the cap portion relative to the base portion about an axis which extends perpendicular to the nose axis due to tightening force while the use.
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 2, JP901 teaches the clamp device as claimed in claim 1, arranged such that tightening of the bolt causes rotational movement of the cap portion of the clamp relative to the base portion in a clamping direction.
The Examiner interprets JP901 meets and/or make obvious of the structural limitations of claim 1, and is capable of meeting limitations as set forth in claim 2 above. As established in rejection of claim 1 above, modified arcuate convex and concave surface is capable of causing rotational movement of the cap portion due to tightening of the nut 8 and bolt 7 while in use.
Regarding claim 3, A clamp device as claimed in claim 2, in which the rotational axis of the cap portion relative to the base portion is disposed on an opposite side of the clamp to the nose, the bolt acting to constrain the cap portion against base portion along an axis which extends along a chord of a circle defined by the arcuate mating surfaces.
Since the limitations in claim 3 are subjected to objections above, As best understood, the Examiner interprets the Prior Art JP901 meets the structural and functional limitations of claim 3 above. The clamp 11 in Fig. 2 is capable of having the rotational axis of the cap portion relative to the base portion disposed on the opposite side of the clamp to the nose. Further, the bolt 7 in Fig. 2 is acting to constrain the cap portion against the base portion 6 along an axis which extends along a chord of a circle (see portion of the circle formed by the arcuate portion in Fig. 2 and see para. [0009]) defined by the arcuate mating surfaces (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, As best understood, JP901 teaches and/or make obvious of the clamp device as claimed in claim 1, in which the bolt 7 is arranged to pivot about an axis (vertical axis parallel to the bolt 7) which extends perpendicular to the nose axis (horizontal axis in nose portion running in and out of the paper in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, As best understood, JP901 teaches and/or make obvious of a clamp device as claimed in claim 4, in which the bolt 7 comprises a head 17 and a shaft (shaft of the bolt 7) upstanding from the head for engaging a nut 8 that seats against a flat on the cap portion 9 of the clamp, the head being rotatably mounted to the base portion of the clamp for pivotable movement about an axis (see Figs. 1-2) which extends parallel to the rotational axis of the clamp and perpendicular to the axis of the shaft of the bolt 7.
Regarding claim 6, As best understood, JP901 teaches and/or make obvious of a clamp device as claimed in claim 5, in which the head 17 of the bolt 7 comprises an arcuate surface (see Fig. 3) from which the shaft extends, the arcuate surface of the bolt bearing against a complementary arcuate surface on the base portion of clamp (see para. [0009]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP901 in view of BYGRAVE et al. US20180222726 (hereinafter, BYGRAVE).
Regarding claim 7, As best understood, JP901 teaches and/or make obvious of a clamp device as claimed in claim 1.
However, JP901 discloses the claimed invention except for a plurality of bolts.
However, BYGRAVE teaches similar fastening device having the clamp device comprising a plurality of bolts (see Fig. 5, bolts 19, 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the clamp in JP901 to have a plurality of bolts as taught by BYGRAVE for secured fastening of the components (see para. [0002 & 0066]).
Further, the Examiner interprets it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clamp to have a plurality of bolts, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675