DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5, 7 recite the limitation "said monomer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that the term “said at least one monomer” be used consistent with claim 1.
Claims 11 recites the limitation "said comonomer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested that the term “said at least one comonomer” be used consistent with claim 10. Claims 12-13 depend from claim 11 and thus contain the same indefinite issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gibson, Polymer Chemistry, 2020, 11, 1785-1796.
Gibson teaches a process where a block copolymer of PNMEP-PLMA was present in an aqueous dispersion and exposed to 405 nm light (pg. 1793). PNMEP is a polymer of N-(2-methacryloyloxy)ethyl pyrrolidone and thus is a acryloyl moiety with a lactam moiety and water is a reaction medium devoid of chemical reagents. 405 nm light is visible radiation. Gibson teaches the process is to remove dithiobenozate chain ends (pg. 1793). Gibson teaches the PNMEP-PLMA was formed with RAFT polymerization (pg. 1786) and meets claim 4. N-(2-methacryloyloxy)ethyl pyrrolidone meets the structural limitations of claim 5-7. PNMEP-PLMA is a diblock copolymer and meets claim 8. PLMA is a block derived from lauryl methacrylate and meets claims 10-11, 13.
To the extent that claim 12 further limits an optional component, Gibson meets the limitations of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cunningham, Macromolecules, 2016, 49, 4520-4533 in view of Gibson, Polymer Chemistry, 2020, 11, 1785-1796.
Cunningham teaches the RAFT polymerization of N-(2-methacryloyloxy)ethyl pyrrolidone to form homopolymers and copolymers with polyglycerol monomethacrylate (abstract). Glycerol monomethacrylate is a functionalized hydroxyalkyl methacrylate and meets the limitations of claim 12. Additionally, Cunningham teaches copolymers with methacrylic acid (pg. 4521). A homopolymer of N-(2-methacryloyloxy)ethyl pyrrolidone meets the limitations of claim 9.
Cunningham does not expressly recite using radiation for removal of the thio based end group.
However, Gibson teaches a process where the thio based end group is removed when exposed to radiation at 405 nm in an aqueous suspension (pg. 1793). 405 nm light is visible radiation. N-(2-methacryloyloxy)ethyl pyrrolidone contains an acryloyl moiety with a lactam moiety and water is a reaction medium devoid of chemical reagents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the end group removal process of Gibson because the sulfur based group confers both color and malodour on the final polymer (pg. 1792) and using visible light requires lower temperature, shorter reaction times and no additional reagents (pg. 1793).
To the extent that claim 13 further limits an optional component, Cunningham meets the limitations of claim 13.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764