DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 15-27 in the reply filed 1/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicants argue that the WO ‘699 does not disclose treatment of elevated intraocular pressure in patients suffering from open angle glaucoma or ocular hypertension with once daily brimonidine. This is not found persuasive because Group I is directed to the composition and does not require the treatment method. WO ‘699 applies to the composition but also teaches the particle size distribution.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/12/2026.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statements filed 6/29/2023, and 6/11/2024 are acknowledged.
.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102).
Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102) (hereinafter Shah et al.) disclose treatment of elevated intraocular pressure with brimonidine compositions (brimonidine tartrate) for treatment of open-angle glaucoma that are administered once daily to the eye (eye drops) (abstract, paras 0313, 0321, 0328-0332, 0334, 0340, 0510-0511, 0524, 0529, Table 3). With regards to the limitation “wherein after administration the patient achieved greater than 20 % intraocular pressure reduction from baseline which was sustained for at least 12 weeks”, the Examiner respectfully submits that since the same composition is taught the structural property would necessarily follow.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-21 and 23-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102) in view of Khopade et al. (WO 2017/017699).
Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102) (hereinafter Shah et al.) disclose treatment of elevated intraocular pressure with brimonidine compositions (brimonidine tartrate) for treatment of open-angle glaucoma that are administered once daily to the eye (eye drops) (abstract, paras 0313, 0321, 0328-0332, 0334, 0340, 0510-0511, 0524, 0529, Table 3). With regards to the limitation “wherein after administration the patient achieved greater than 20 % intraocular pressure reduction from baseline which was sustained for at least 12 weeks”, the Examiner respectfully submits that since the same composition is taught the structural property would necessarily follow.
Shah et al. does not disclose brimonidine loaded nano-resin particles with a particle size distribution wherein the D90 value is between 80 to 900 nm and the D50 value is between 50-700 nm. Shah et al. discloses the concentration from about 0.5 % wt/v.
Khopade et al. WO 2017/017699- as cited on the IDS filed 6/29/2023 disclose an aqueous ophthalmic composition comprising nanoparticles of brimonidine tartrate and resin and excipients that are HPMC, PVP, Carbopol 974P, benzalkonium chloride, EDTA, N- laurolylsarcosine sodium, mannitol, tromethamine at pH 7.4. The particles have a particle size distribution such that D90 is 606 nm, D50 value is 240 nm. The formulation is for treatment of glaucoma (example 3). Khopade et al. disclose that purified nanoresins that find applicability as drug carriers where drugs can be absorbed onto the surface. Absent any evidence of criticality, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the brimonidine tartrate of Shah et al. have the particle size distribution of Khopade et al. for the purpose of achieve pure nanoresins where drugs can be absorbed on the surface.
DOUBLE PATENTING
Claims 15-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 7, 9, 10-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11951106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to methods of treating glaucoma in a patient the differences being the instant application recites reducing open angle glaucoma. Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102) (hereinafter Shah et al.) disclose treatment of elevated intraocular pressure with brimonidine compositions (brimonidine tartrate) for treatment of open-angle glaucoma ( a type of glaucoma) that are administered once daily to the eye (eye drops) (abstract, paras 0313, 0321, 0328-0332, 0334, 0340, 0510-0511, 0524, 0529, Table 3).
Claims 15-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 9, 11-14, 16-17, 21-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11931359. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to methods of treating glaucoma in a patient the differences being the instant application recites reducing open angle glaucoma. Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102) (hereinafter Shah et al.) disclose treatment of elevated intraocular pressure with brimonidine compositions (brimonidine tartrate) for treatment of open-angle glaucoma ( a type of glaucoma) that are administered once daily to the eye (eye drops) (abstract, paras 0313, 0321, 0328-0332, 0334, 0340, 0510-0511, 0524, 0529, Table 3).
Claims 15-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14 of U.S. Patent No 12409175. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to methods of treating glaucoma in a patient the differences being the instant application recites reducing open angle glaucoma. Shah et al. (US 2022/0105102) (hereinafter Shah et al.) disclose treatment of elevated intraocular pressure with brimonidine compositions (brimonidine tartrate) for treatment of open-angle glaucoma ( a type of glaucoma) that are administered once daily to the eye (eye drops) (abstract, paras 0313, 0321, 0328-0332, 0334, 0340, 0510-0511, 0524, 0529, Table 3).
CORRESPONDENCE
/DANAH AL-AWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615