DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-15, 17, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Star-Lack (US 20120076257 A1; March 29, 2012).
Regarding claim 1, Star-Lack teaches an object detection device, comprising:
a support structure (Figure 1 Element 12) configured to form a passageway for a passage of a detected object (Paragraph 32-42, Seen in Figure 1);
a ray source assembly (Figure 1 Element 24) configured to emit a ray (Paragraph 32-42); and
a detector assembly (Figure 1 Element 26, Paragraph 41) comprising a detector mounting frame connected to the support structure and a plurality of detection units arranged on the detector mounting frame, the detection unit being configured to receive a transmission ray penetrating the detected object and obtain a detection information based on the transmission ray (Paragraph 41);
wherein the support structure (Figure 1 Element 12) comprises a vertical support arm (Figure 1 Element 22) having an adjustable height, and a vertical distance from the ray source assembly to a bottom portion of the support structure varies with a height of the vertical support arm (Paragraph 86 – Seen in Figures 3a-3c).
Regarding claim 2, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 1. Star-Lack further teaches wherein,
the ray source assembly comprises a ray source cabin (Figure 1, 3a-3c Element 24 Casing) connected to the support structure and a ray source located in the ray source cabin; and
the ray source cabin has a plurality of emission positions (Seen in Figures 3a-3c), the ray source is configured to sequentially emit a ray from the plurality of emission positions to the detected object in the passageway (Paragraphs 37, Seen in Figure 3a-3c), and centerlines of rays emitted from any two emission positions of the plurality of emission positions form an included angle to perform a multi-view transmission on the detected object (Figures 3a-3c, Paragraphs 36-38 - This happens naturally as the ray source is rotated about the object).
Regarding claim 3, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 2. Star-Lack further teaches wherein the ray source is configured as one of:
the ray source is a movable ray source, and the movable ray source is configured to be sequentially moved to the plurality of emission positions and emit a ray (Paragraphs 35-37, Seen in Figures 3a-3c);
the ray source is a distributed ray source, the distributed ray source comprises a plurality of emission units corresponding to the plurality of emission positions one to one, and the plurality of emission units are configured to sequentially emit a ray (not needed by the preamble); and
the ray source comprises a plurality of independent ray sources, the plurality of independent ray sources are respectively arranged at the plurality of emission positions, and the plurality of independent ray sources are configured to sequentially emit a ray (not needed by the preamble).
Regarding claim 9, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 4. Star-Lack further teaches wherein,
the plurality of emission positions are distributed in a plane perpendicular to a travelling direction defined by the passageway (Seen in Figure 2); and
the ray source is arranged so that rays emitted at the plurality of emission positions are all coplanar with the plurality of detection units (Seen in Figure 2 – detectors in the same plane as ray source);
wherein the ray source is configured so that rays emitted at partial emission positions of the plurality of emission positions are incident at least from a top portion of the detected object, and rays emitted by the ray source at partial emission positions of the plurality of emission positions are incident at least from a second side edge of the detected object (Seen in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 9. Star-Lack further teaches wherein, a connecting line of the plurality of emission positions is in an arc shape or a zigzag shape (Seen in Figure 2, 7 – Line connecting is an arc),
wherein a vertical distance from an emission position at a first end to a bottom portion of the support structure is greater than a vertical distance from an emission position at a second end to the bottom portion of the support structure (Seen in Figure 2- vertical distance at F is larger than vertical distance at A); and
the ray source assembly is located in a corner area of the support structure and is close to a top portion and a second side portion of the support structure (Seen in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 1. Star-Lack further teaches wherein,
the vertical support arm comprises a first support arm (Figure 1 Element 14) and a second support arm (Figure 1 Element 16), and the ray source assembly (Figure 1 Element 24/22) is connected between the first support arm and the second support arm (Seen in Figure 1);
wherein the support structure further comprises a base seat connected to the first support arm and the second support arm, each of the first support arm and the second support arm is configured to rotate relative to the base seat, and during a rotation of the first support arm and the second support arm relative to the base seat, a height of the ray source assembly varies (not required by the or statement); or
wherein each of the first support arm and the second support arm is a telescopic structure, and during a telescoping process of the first support arm and the second support arm, the height of the ray source assembly varies (Paragraph 40-41, 57-58, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 2. Star-Lack further teaches further comprising:
a controller (Figure 1 Element 40) configured to control the ray source to sequentially emit a ray from the plurality of emission positions to the detected object (Paragraph 39), and control the plurality of detection units to sequentially obtain a detection information corresponding to a ray emitted from each emission position; and
a processor (Figure 1 Element 50) configured to obtain a scanned image at a viewing angle corresponding to each emission position according to the detection information, and perform a three- dimensional reconstruction processing according to the scanned image at a viewing angle corresponding to each emission position (Paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 13, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 1. Star-Lack further teaches wherein, the ray source assembly further comprises a collimator (Figure 1 Element 33; Paragraph 38-39, 63), the collimator being located on a side of a ray emission of the ray source cabin (Seen in Figure 1), and the collimator being configured to adjust a ray emitted from the plurality of emission positions (Paragraph 38-39, 63); wherein in a case that the ray source is a distributed ray source, the collimator is a segmented collimator, and a parameter of each segment of the collimator is adjusted separately (Paragraph 38); and wherein in a case that the ray source comprises a plurality of independent ray sources, the collimator is an integral collimator, and a parameter of the integral collimator is adjusted uniformly (Not required as the movable ray source was chosen).
Regarding claim 14, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 12. Star-Lack further teaches further comprising:
a conveying device arranged at the bottom portion of the support structure, and configured to convey the detected object to pass through the passageway (Figure 1 CS, Paragraph 55);
an anti-collision sensor arranged at the vertical support arm, and configured to detect a distance between the detected object and the vertical support arm (Paragraph 39);
wherein the controller is further configured to control the conveying device, the ray source and the plurality of detection units according to the distance between the detected object and the vertical support arm (Paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 15, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 12. Star-Lack further teaches further comprising:
a collection device configured to collect an identification information of the detected object (Paragraph 54);
wherein the processor is further configured to establish a corresponding relationship between the identification information of the detected object and the scanned image (Paragraph 54).
Regarding claim 17 Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 12. Star-Lack further teaches wherein,
the processor is further configured to determine one or more target emission positions from the plurality of emission positions according to a user instruction (Paragraph 39); and
the controller is further configured to control the ray source to sequentially emit a ray to the detected object at the one or more target emission positions (Paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 20, Star-Lack teaches an object detection device, comprising:
a ray source assembly comprising a ray source cabin and a ray source located in the ray source cabin, the ray source cabin having a plurality of emission positions (Paragraph 32-42);
a detector assembly (Figure 1 Element 26, Paragraph 41) comprising a detector mounting frame and a plurality of detection units arranged on the detector mounting frame,
wherein the detector mounting frame comprises a transverse mounting frame and a first vertical mounting frame and a second vertical mounting frame respectively arranged on two sides of the transverse mounting frame (Paragraph 32-42, Figure 1); and
a controller (Figure 1 Element 40) configured to control the ray source to sequentially emit a ray from the plurality of emission positions (Paragraph 32-42), and control the detection unit to sequentially receive a ray emitted from each emission position of the plurality of emission positions, wherein centerlines of rays emitted from any two emission positions of the plurality of emission positions form an included angle (Figures 3a-3c, Paragraphs 36-38 - This happens naturally as the ray source is rotated about the object).
Regarding claim 21, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 20. Star-Lack further teaches wherein the ray source is configured as one of the following:
the ray source is a movable ray source, and the movable ray source is configured to be sequentially moved to the plurality of emission positions and emit a ray (Paragraphs 35-37, Seen in Figures 3a-3c);
the ray source is a distributed ray source, the distributed ray source comprises a plurality of emission units corresponding to the plurality of emission positions one to one, and the plurality of emission units are configured to sequentially emit a ray (not required by the preamble); and
the ray source comprises a plurality of independent ray sources, the plurality of independent ray sources are respectively arranged at the plurality of emission positions, and the plurality of independent ray sources are configured to sequentially emit a ray (not required by the preamble)
wherein a connecting line of the plurality of emission positions is in an arc shape or a zigzag shape (Seen in Figure 2, 7 – Line connecting is an arc), wherein a vertical distance from an emission position at a first end of the plurality of emission positions to a bottom portion of the object detection device is greater than a vertical distance from an emission position at a second end to the bottom portion of the object detection device (Paragraph 40-41, 57-58, Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Star-Lack (US 20120076257 A1; March 29, 2012) in view of Song (CN109490977A; Published March 19, 2019).
Regarding claim 4, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 2. Star-Lack further discloses wherein, the vertical support arm comprises a first support arm and a second support arm (Figure 1 Elements 14+16); the support structure further comprises a transverse cabin (Figure 1 Elements 18+20) connected between the first support arm and the second support arm (Seen in Figure 1); and the ray source cabin (Figure 1 Element 22) is connected to the transverse cabin, and the ray source cabin is configured to move along an extending direction of the transverse cabin (Paragraph 32-42) .
Star-Lack does not teach each of the first support arm and the second support arm is a telescopic structure.
Song teaches each of the first support arm and the second support arm is a telescopic structure (Paragraph 40-41, 57-58, Figure 1).
Therefore from the teaching of Song, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the invention by the abovementioned limitation in order to allow for increased detection flexibility and increased detection accuracy by allowing adjustable height levels.
Regarding claim 6, Star-Lack teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein, the detector mounting frame comprises a transverse mounting frame and a vertical mounting frame (Paragraph 32-42; Seen in Figure 1), and the vertical mounting frame comprises a first vertical mounting frame and a second vertical mounting frame respectively arranged on two sides of the transverse mounting frame (Paragraph 32-42; Seen in Figure 1).
Star-Lack does not teach wherein a height of at least one of the first vertical mounting frame and the second vertical mounting frame is adjustable; or
a height of at least one of the first vertical mounting frame and the second vertical mounting frame is variable with a height of the vertical support arm.
Song teaches wherein a height of at least one of the first vertical mounting frame and the second vertical mounting frame is adjustable; or a height of at least one of the first vertical mounting frame and the second vertical mounting frame is variable with a height of the vertical support arm. (Paragraph 40-41, 57-58, Figure 1) .
Therefore from the teaching of Song, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the invention by the abovementioned limitation in order to allow for increased detection flexibility and increased detection accuracy by allowing adjustable height levels.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Star-Lack (US 20120076257 A1; March 29, 2012) in view of Song (CN109490977A; Published March 19, 2019) in view of Chen (US 20080089469 A1; April 17, 2008).
Regarding claim 5, Star-Lack in view of Song teaches the device according to claim 4, but fail to teach wherein, the transverse cabin is configured to house a cooling device and a controller; and the cooling device is configured to cool the ray source, and the controller is at least configured to control the ray source.
Chen discloses wherein, a cabin is configured to house a cooling device and a controller; and the cooling device is configured to cool the ray source (Paragraph 23, 46), and the controller is at least configured to control the ray source (Paragraph 46).
Therefore, from the teaching of Chen, it would have been obvious at the time of filing to specify the abovementioned limitation since the need for source cooling and control is known in the art and would allow for efficient function of the device.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Star-Lack (US 20120076257 A1; March 29, 2012).
Regarding claim 16, Star-Lack teaches he device according to claim 12, wherein,
the processor is further configured to determine a target detection mode from a plurality of preset detection modes according to a current detection portion of the detected object (Paragraph 39), and
perform a detection on the detected object based on the target detection mode;
wherein, in different detection modes, different numbers of emission positions are used to emit a ray (Paragraph 39, 32-42);
Star-Lack does not disclose in a first scanning mode of a plurality of scanning modes, a single emission position of the plurality of emission positions is used to emit a ray; and
in a second scanning mode of the plurality of scanning modes, the plurality of emission positions are used to emit a ray.
However, it would have been obvious at the time of filing for a PHOSITA to modify the invention of Star-Lack to specify the various scanning modes desired in order to ensure accurate and efficient cargo inspection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Star-Lack in view of Song teaches the device according to claim 6, wherein,
the vertical support arm comprises a first support arm connected to the first vertical mounting frame and a second support arm connected to the second vertical mounting frame;
wherein a bottom portion of the first vertical mounting frame is rotatably connected to a bottom portion of the first support arm, and the first vertical mounting frame is configured to rotate around the bottom portion of the first support arm, so as to adjust a height of the first vertical mounting frame;
and/or a bottom portion of the second vertical mounting frame is rotatably connected to a bottom portion of the second support arm, and the second vertical mounting frame is configured to rotate around the bottom portion of the second support arm, so as to adjust a height of the second vertical mounting frame.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art of record specifies or makes obvious the device according to claim 8, wherein,
the first support segment and the second support segment are provided with a guide structure for defining a moving direction of the second support segment; and/or the first support segment and/or the second support segment is provided with a locking device for restricting a movement of the second support segment after the second support segment moves to a set position of the first support segment
wherein the device further comprises:
two protective baffles, respectively connected to two sides of the support structure, the protective baffle having an unfolded state and a folded state;
wherein when the protective baffle is in the unfolded state, the two protective baffles both extend along the traveling direction defined by the passageway; and
when the protective baffle is in the folded state, the two protective baffles are folded to two sides of the passageway.
The balance of claims would be allowable for at least the abovementioned reasons.
Conclusion
/GISSELLE GUTIERREZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884