DETAILED ACTION
Current Status
This action is responsive to the amended claims of 06/30/2023. Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 8 and 10 are withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-16 have been examined on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the species of Formula (I) compound 12 in the reply filed on 09/09/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
A search for the elected species compound 12 did not retrieve any prior art (see SEARCH 6 of the attached search notes). Thus, the search was extended to the other species of claim 13 – no prior art for the claimed species was retrieved. Thus, the search was extended to the following species:
. This species retrieved prior art.
This species reads on claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-16.
Since claim 13 retrieved no prior art, the claim is examined here.
Claims 8 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/09/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The effective filing date is 12/30/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/28/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary.
Please amend the instant abstract to recite the general nature of the claimed compound, e.g., dinitrile substituted furan-pyrroles, or an exemplary species.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Please amend the title to reflect the nature of the compounds claimed, similar to the abstract.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-16 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-2 recite structures for M, N, T1, T2, T3, and T4 and structures for A1 and A2, respectively. Please add the word “and” before the final structure recited for each of these variables. Dependent claims 3-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly objected to since they do not rectify the issue.
Claim 4 recites “a, b, d, e equals 0” in line 2. Please add either “and” or “or” before the “e” in this phrase. Further, the claim recites “parameters a, b equals 1” and “parameters d, e equals 1” in lines 5-6. Please replace the “,” in each phrase with the word “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
MPEP 2163(I) states “The written description requirement has several policy objectives. "[T]he ‘essential goal’ of the description of the invention requirement is to clearly convey the information that an applicant [inventor] has invented the subject matter which is claimed." In re Barker, 559 F.2d 588, 592 n.4, 194 USPQ 470, 473 n.4 (CCPA 1977). Another objective is to convey to the public what the applicant claims as the invention. See Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d 1559, 1566, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). "The ‘written description’ requirement implements the principle that a patent must describe the technology that is sought to be patented; the requirement serves both to satisfy the inventor’s obligation to disclose the technologic knowledge upon which the patent is based, and to demonstrate that the patentee [inventor] was in possession of the invention that is claimed." Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1084 (Fed. Cir. 2005).”
Factors considered in making the determination as to whether the artisan would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole at the time of filing include: (a) Actual reduction to practice; (b) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas; (c) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics such as: (i) Complete structure, (ii) Partial structure, (iii) Physical and/or chemical properties or (iv) Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure; (d) Method of making the claimed invention; (e) Level of skill and knowledge in the art and (f) Predictability in the art.
The Instant Disclosure:
Claim 1 is drawn to a compound of a very broad genus Formula (I)
wherein Z is present 1-3 times and comprises two components groups M and N each chosen from a set of 4 formulas comprising 2-6 variables; A1 and A2 are chosen from the very broad group of any electron withdrawing group as long as it contains a C=C bond; T1-T4 are chosen from a set of 8 formulas and of T1-T4 at least one has to be present (a, b, d, or e = 1) while the others are either absent or present (a, b, d, or e = 0 or 1). The only uniting structural limitations on the structure of Formula (I) are: 1) at least one of T1-T4 must be formula (10) (comprising 3 further variables) and 2) a nitrogen of group M and an oxygen of group N are linked by 2 carbon atoms. However, the genus of Formula (I) comprises at least thousands of species due to this vast variability in each of A1, A2, T1-T4, and Z. Claims 15-16 are drawn to a device comprising the compound of Formula (I) as broadly defined in claim 1. This lack of structural definition does not allow the artisan to envisage the compounds which are part of the invention (see Factors (b) and (c) above).
Claims 2-7, 9, 11-12, and 14 attempt to narrow the scope of Formula (I); however, each claim depends directly from claim 1 and only limits a small portion of the structure to a smaller pool of variability. For example, claim 14 recites wherein “c = 1, b = 1, and/or e = 1.” This does not define any concrete chemical structural elements in Formula (I) as each of the affected variables Z, T2, and T4 are still chosen from the full scope of formulas disclosed in claim 1. Similarly, while claim 2 defines 3 formulas from which A1 and A2 are chosen, the formulas still comprise many degrees of variability and the rest of the compound is left as broadly defined in claim 1.
Claim 13 and the specification (Pg. 18 Table 1) only disclose 18 species of Formula (I) – these species do not cover the breadth of the claimed genera. The 18 species comprise M is Formula (1) or (3), N is Formula (4), A1 & A2 are Formula (7), and all T1-T4 are Formula (10) or (11). Compound (31) lies outside of Formula (I) and discloses M as Formula (7). Each of these formulas in claim 1 have multiple points of variability; however, the claimed species only support as small portion of that variability. A1 and A2 are always
; Formula (10) is
,
,
, or
; Formula (11) is always CH=CH; M is always a pyrrole or indole; and N is a
and once is a
. Further, the specification only provides synthetic schemes for 3 of the 18 species (Pg. 28-32). This disclosure does not meet Factors (a)-(d) for the full scope of the rejected claims.
MPEP 2163(II)(A)(2) states “The disclosure of an element may be critical where those of ordinary skill in the art would require it to understand that inventor was in possession of the invention… Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm.Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) ("it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it").” After review of the specification and claims, Applicant has not defined the compound of Formula (I) in a way that distinguishes it from other materials (e.g., see the prior art applied below) and Applicants have not described how to obtain the full scope of Formula (I). Thus, it has not been demonstrated that the Applicant was in possession of the invention that is claimed.
Level of Skill and Knowledge in the Art:
The relative skill of those in the art is high, generally that of a Ph.D. The artisan using Applicant’s invention would generally be a synthetic or physical chemist with several years of professional experience. However, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed to determine which compounds exhibit the desired photovoltaic properties.
AZZOUZI (Azzouzi, M. et al., Digital Discovery, 2025, 4, 2781-2796) discloses the identification of organic molecules with desirable properties from the extensive chemical space can be challenging, particularly when property evaluation methods are time consuming and resource-intensive (Pg. 2781 Abstract). This challenge is illustrated by exploring the chemical space of oligomers (6-mer) for potential use in organic photovoltaics (Pg. 2781 Abstract). While AZZOUZI discloses an algorithm that performs better than random search in large chemical spaces (Pg. 2781 Abstract), they disclose that testing the search algorithm in a benchmark dataset, however close the benchmark is to the task at hand, does not translate to a net improvement when deployed on a larger chemical space (Pg. 2794 Left ¶3). This discrepancy stems from the benchmark dataset’s fundamental unbalanced representation of the broader chemical space (Pg. 2794 Left ¶3).
This “fundamental unbalanced representation of the broader chemical space” is analogous to the instant case wherein the 18 disclosed species of Formula (I) cannot provide an unbiased representation of the full scope of the broader chemical space encompassed by Formula (I). Thus, the predictability of further species within Formula (I) which would have similar or even better photovoltaic properties is low, even when advanced search algorithms are utilized. Note, this is especially true since AZZOUZI is published years after the instant effective filing date (EFD). If something is unpredictable after the EFD, it must be unpredictable before/at the EFD. Thus, Factors (e) and (f) are not met.
Conclusions:
Due to the breadth of Formula (I) as defined by claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-16, the lack of direction given in the claims/specification regarding embodiments of Formula (I) which show the desired activity, and the challenges in the art, the artisan would not be able to immediately envisage the full breadth of Formula (I).
General methods of making compounds are known to the artisan, however the instant disclosure does not inform the artisan of what combination of elements are necessary for the instant compounds to possess the disclosed photovoltaic activity. Accordingly, the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to the artisan that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Thus, claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected as lacking written description for the full scope of compound of Formula (I).
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites structures for variables M, N, T1, T2, T3, and T4. All structures are of very low resolution making the variables and atoms unreadable. For example,
it is impossible to be sure of the nature of the variables: e.g., X?, O or Q. Further, since the structures are unclear, it is impossible to verify the variables recited throughout the claim. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue.
To overcome: please provide higher resolution images of all claim 1 structures.
Claim 1 recites for variables R, R1 to R3, R5, R6, and R9 multiple instances of “cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl”. It is impossible to have a cyclic C1-C2 alkyl. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue.
Claim 1 recites:
for R “H, halogen, branched or linear, cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl, C2-C10 alkenyl”,
for R1 to R3 “H, branched or linear, cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl, substituted or unsubstituted C2-C10 alkenyl”,
for R5 and R6 “C2-C10 alkenyl, alkynyl, branched or linear, cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl”, and
for R9 “H, CN, branched or linear, cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl, C2-C10 alkenyl”.
The use of commas to separate the chemical moieties makes unclear the delineation between each moiety. Does the “branched or linear” stand on its own – if so what is this moiety? Do the phrases “branched or linear” and “cyclic or open-chain” only apply to the C1-C10 alkyl or do they apply to multiple of the recited moieties (e.g., also C2-C10 alkenyl)? Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue.
To overcome: consider using semicolons alongside commas to separate the moieties, e.g., “H; halogen; branched or linear, cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl; C2-C10 alkenyl” wherein semicolons separate distinct moieties/groups of related moieties.
Claim 1 recites in lines 5-6 of variable R “
”. It is unclear what H atoms can be substituted with – any other atom or only moieties chosen from CN or NR10R11. It is also unclear how CN or NR10R11 relate to the rest of the paragraph – are they further R groups or are they substituents on R? Thus, the overall scope of R is unclear and the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue.
Claim 1 recites variable R13 on Pg. 6. R13 is not defined and is not found in any of the structures recited within the claim. It is unclear what R13 is and how it interacts with R5 and R6 as suggested on Pg. 6. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue.
Claim 2 recites “formula 7” and “formula 8”. These formulas are already recited in parent claim 1 for structures under groups M and N. The structures in claim 1 differ from those shown in claim 2. Thus, it is unclear if the structures in claim 2 are inadvertently different from the same labeled structures in claim 1 or if they should be different. The shared names “formula 7” and “formula 8” create uncertainty in the claimed structures. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
To overcome: please rename the formulas 7 and 8 in claim 2 to numbers which are not already utilized. Please make sure this change is carried through to any other claims reciting such formulas.
Claim 2 recites variables R4, R12, R13, R7, and R8 in formulas 7 and 8. These variables are not defined in the claim. Variables R4, R12, R13, R7, and R8 are defined in the claim; however, since these variables have the number as a subscript it cannot be assumed that these are the same variables as R4, R12, R13, R7, and R8. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 2 recites for variable R13, R7, and R8 “alkynyl, branched or linear, cyclic or open-chain C1-C10alkyl”. First, it is impossible to have a cyclic C1-C2 alkyl (see ¶21). Second, the use of commas to separate the moieties and descriptors for such moieties makes the delineation between the moieties unclear (same logic as ¶22). Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 2 recites
. The phrase “in which” implies that the variables V, Y, and U apply to the R13 and R5/R6 ring closure discussed just prior. However, no formula for such ring closure is provided, so it is unclear how V, Y, and U relate to the ring closure. Variables V, Y, and U are seen in formulas 8-9, recited earlier in claim 2; however, the phrasing “in which” appears to apply these variables only to R13 and R5/R6 ring closure. Thus, it is unclear how and where to apply variables V, Y, and U. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 3 recites
. First, variables R4 and R12 are not defined, only variables R4 and R12 are defined in the text (logic of ¶26). Second, no R13 is defined in the text of claim 3 or parent claim 1. Thus, the structure recited above is unclear. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Note, the structure still properly further limits parent claim 1 since the only limitation on A1/A2 in claim 1 is a C=C bond that is clearly found in the above structure.
Claim 6 recites
as Formula (II), a subgenus of Formula (I) claim 1. However, claim 1 Formula (I) utilizes subscripted a, b, d, and e on the T variables:
. Due to this discrepancy, it is unclear if the a, b, d, and e of claim 2 are the same as those recited in claim 1. An alternate reading could be that a, b, d, and e of claim 2 are some newly introduced moieties which have not been properly defined. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 recites for R “H, halogen, branched or linear, and cyclic or open-chain C1-C10 alkyl”. Similar to ¶21, a cyclic C1-C2 alkyl is impossible. Similar to ¶22, the use of commas to delineate moieties is unclear. Further, the use of “and” before “cyclic or open-chain further separates “branched or linear” from the C1-C10 alkyl. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 recites “R5 and R6”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. No structure in either of claim 7 or parent claim 1 comprises an R5 or R6. Claim 1 recites R5 and R6, but due to the difference in subscripted number these cannot be assumed to be the same variables. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 12 lacks a period (struck by last amendment). It is unclear if the claim is complete. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 13 recites compound 31:
. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Parent claim 1 requires “wherein M and N are each linked such that at least one N atom of the group M and an O atom of the group N are each bonded to one another via 2 C atoms”. The M group of compound 31 is the indole comprising the NH (dashed arrow). The N group may be either of the attached furan groups; however, to comply with claim 1 the O of the furan can only be 2 C away from the NH of M. In either case, the O is 3 C (dashed arrow) or 5 C (solid arrow) away. Thus, compound 31 is outside of the scope of Formula (I) as defined by parent claim 1. The metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 recites “wherein M and N are each linked” on Pg. 5. It is unclear if the “N” recited here is group N of Z (i.e., M-N, N-M) or if it is a nitrogen (N). At each other instance of group N of Z the phrase “group(s) N” is used making it clear what N refers to. However, in the above instance, the identity of N is unclear. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined rendering the claim indefinite. Dependent claims 2-7, 9, and 11-16 are similarly rejected since they do not rectify the issue.
To overcome: please consistently utilize “group(s) N” throughout the claim(s) when referring to the group N of Z. Withdrawn claim 10 also suffers from this issue.
Claims 6-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 6 recites
which does not fall within the scope of Formula (I) as defined by claim 1, see explanation ¶30. Thus, claim 6 does not properly further limit the parent claim 1.
Claim 7 recites “R5 and R6” of the compound of claim 1. These variables are not found in the compound of claim 1 (see ¶32). Thus, claim 7 does not properly further limit the parent claim 1.
Claim 13 recites compound 31 (see ¶34) which falls outside of the scope of Formula (I) of parent claim 1 by virtue of the M-N linkage. Thus, claim 13 does not properly further limit the parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MATTERSTEIG (WO 2018/220148). A machine translation of MATTERSTEIG is cited below for text portions. The original document is cited for images/structures. Both documents are provided attached.
Regarding claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14, MATTERSTEIG teaches a compound of instant Formula (I):
(original doc. Pg. 40 Fig. 10 DCV-Fu-Py-Fu-V-Me). This compound can be interpreted under instant Formula (I) in 3 ways. In each case: c is 1; M is Formula (1) wherein R1 is C1 alkyl, X1 and X2 are C-R wherein R is H; N is Formula (4) wherein X9 and X10 are C-R wherein R is H; and A1 and A2 are each electron-withdrawing groups comprising a C=C of Formula (7) wherein R4 and R12 are CN and R13 is H. The nitrogen of the M group is linked to the oxygen of the N group via 2 carbon atoms. Further, at least one of T1-T4 is Formula (10) in each interpretation.
In case 1)
, the furan-CH=CH moiety is either T2-T1 wherein a and b are each 1 (d and e are 0) or T3-T4 wherein d and e are each 1 (a and b are 0). The furan corresponds to formula (10) wherein A is O and X17-X18 are C-R wherein R is H. The CH=CH moiety corresponds to formula (11) wherein R5 and R6 are H. Z is linked as T1-T2-M-N or as N-M-T3-T4. There are two possible compounds: A1-T1-T2-M-N-A2 or A1-N-M-T3-T4-A2.
In case 2)
, the left-most furan is T1 or T2 of formula (10) and the CH=CH moiety is T3 or T4 of formula (11). Formulas (10) and (11) are interpreted as explained in case 1). There are four possible combinations: a=1, b=0, d=1, & e=0; a=1, b=0, d=0, & e=1; a=0, b=1, d=1, & e=0; or a=0, b=1, d=0, & e=1. Z is linked as (T1/T2)-M-N-(T3/T4).
In case 3)
, the left-most furan is T3 or T4 of formula (10) and the CH=CH moiety is T1 or T2 of formula (11). Formulas (10) and (11) are interpreted as explained in case 1). There are four possible combinations: a=1, b=0, d=1, & e=0; a=1, b=0, d=0, & e=1; a=0, b=1, d=1, & e=0; or a=0, b=1, d=0, & e=1. Z is linked as (T1/T2)-N-M-(T3/T4).
Regarding claims 15-16, MATTERSTEIG teaches an organic optoelectronic device comprising two electrodes and at least one photoactive layer between them (Pg. 1 claim 1 – translation); i.e., an electrode and a counter-electrode. MATTERSTEIG teaches an exemplary device having the compound above as the photoactive layer (Pg. 70 ¶260 – translation).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 11-12, and 14-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of anticipatory nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/724,198 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Reference claim 8 is drawn to compounds A25, A26, A38, A40, A41, and A42, each of which fall under instant Formula (I). These species anticipate the instant claims. For each species: c is 1 and A1 and A2 are
.
For A25
: M is Formula (1), N is Formula (5), and T1/T2/T3/T4 is furan Formula (10); the furan may be any one of T1, T2, T3, or T4 wherein the corresponding a, b, d, or e is 1 and the others are 0.
For A26
: M is Formula (1), N is Formula (5), and T1/T2/T3/T4 is thiophene Formula (10); the thiophene may be any one of T1, T2, T3, or T4 wherein the corresponding a, b, d, or e is 1 and the others are 0.
For A38
: M is Formula (1), N is Formula (5), T2/T3 is furan Formula (10), T1/T4 is thiazole Formula (10); the Ts may be present as T2-T1 (a, b = 1; d, e = 0) or T3-T4 (a, b = 0; d, e = 1).
For A40
: M is Formula (1), N is Formula (5), and T1/T2/T3/T4 is furan Formula (10); the furan may be any one of T1, T2, T3, or T4 wherein the corresponding a, b, d, or e is 1 and the others are 0.
For A41
: M is Formula (1), N is Formula (5), and T1/T2/T3/T4 is furan Formula (10); the furan may be any one of T1, T2, T3, or T4 wherein the corresponding a, b, d, or e is 1 and the others are 0.
For A42
: M is Formula (3), N is Formula (5), and T1/T2/T3/T4 is furan Formula (10); the furan may be any one of T1, T2, T3, or T4 wherein the corresponding a, b, d, or e is 1 and the others are 0.
Reference claim 1, from which ref. claim 8 depends, is drawn to the genus Formula encompassing these species. Reference claim 10 is drawn to an organic electronic device comprising an electrode, counter electrode, and at least one organic photoactive layer between the electrodes comprising at least one compound of ref. claim 1. Together with the species of ref. claim 8, the ref. claims 1 and 10 also anticipate the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-16 are rejected.
/S.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625