DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “wherein the parallel robot is a single-axis robot configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along a predetermined axis with respect to the parallel robot.” However, claim 1 recites the limitation, “wherein the parallel robot is a Cartesian robot configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along three axes normal to each other with respect to the parallel robot.” It is unclear how a three-axis Cartesian robot (as claimed in independent claim 1) can then subsequently be a single-axis robot (as claimed in dependent claim 2). Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Similarly, claim 6 claims the parallel robot comprising three axes. Claim 11, which depends on claim 6, claims that the parallel robot is a single-axis robot. It is unclear how a three-axis robot can then subsequently be a single-axis robot. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai et al. (US 20190143511) in view of Bradley et al. (US 20160214220, hereinafter ‘Bradley’).
Regarding claim 1, Kai discloses an assembly 102 (Figure 4) for machining a mechanical part 10 comprising a parallel robot 120 adapted to be mounted onto an end flange 111 of a joint robot 110. A servo spindle 123 is mounted on the parallel robot and is configured to drive a machining tool 124 to rotate. The parallel robot is configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along one or more axes with respect to the parallel robot (Paragraph [0021]). The embodiment described in Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0031-0035] keeps the joint robot stationary for a specific machining position of the mechanical part, and only the parallel robot drives the servo spindle to translate, as any reactionary forces are applied by the parallel robot, not the joint robot. Kai illustrates the parallel robot being a single-axis robot configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along a predetermined axis with respect to the parallel robot. However, Kai also discusses the parallel robot having other configurations having multiple axes of movement (Paragraph [0021]).
Bradley discloses a machining head/parallel robot attachable to a moving platform 110, wherein the parallel robot is a Cartesian robot, specifically configured to drive the servo spindle 124 to translate along three axes normal to each other X/Y/Z with respect to the parallel robot (Paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to configure the parallel robot as a Cartesian robot configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along three axes normal to each other with respect to the parallel robot as suggested by Kai and explicitly taught by Bradley, in order to allow the apparatus to move the tool in more ways to machine more intricate parts.
Regarding claim 2, Kai discloses the parallel robot being a configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along a predetermined axis with respect to the parallel robot (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Kai discloses the assembly further comprising the machining tool 124 held by the servo spindle and configured to rotate under driving of the servo spindle.
Regarding claim 5, Kai discloses the machining tool comprising a drilling tool or a milling tool (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Kai discloses an apparatus 102 (Figure 4) for machining a mechanical part 10 comprising a joint robot 110 comprising an end flange 111 with an assembly including a parallel robot 120 adapted to be mounted onto the end flange of the joint robot. A servo spindle 123 is mounted on the parallel robot and is configured to drive a machining tool 124 to rotate. The parallel robot is arranged on the end flange and is configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along one or more axes with respect to the parallel robot (Paragraph [0021]). The embodiment described in Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0031-0035] keeps the joint robot stationary while the assembly is machining the mechanical part for a specific machining position of the mechanical part, and only the parallel robot drives the servo spindle to translate, as any reactionary forces are applied by the parallel robot, not the joint robot. Kai illustrates the parallel robot being a single-axis robot configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along a predetermined axis with respect to the parallel robot. However, Kai also discusses the parallel robot having other configurations having multiple axes of movement (Paragraph [0021]).
Bradley discloses a machining head/parallel robot attachable to a moving platform 110, wherein the parallel robot is specifically configured to drive the servo spindle 124 to translate along three axes normal to each other X/Y/Z with respect to the parallel robot (Paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to configure the parallel robot as a Cartesian robot configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along three axes normal to each other with respect to the parallel robot as suggested by Kai and explicitly taught by Bradley, in order to allow the apparatus to move the tool in more ways to machine more intricate parts.
Regarding claim 11, Kai discloses the parallel robot being configured to drive the servo spindle to translate along a predetermined axis with respect to the parallel robot (Paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 19, Kai discloses the assembly further comprising the machining tool 124 held by the servo spindle and configured to rotate under driving of the servo spindle.
Regarding claim 20, Kai discloses the machining tool comprising a drilling tool or a milling tool (Paragraph [0021]).
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai et al. (US 20190143511) in view of Bradley et al. (US 20160214220) as applied to claims 6 and 11 respectively above, and further in view of Kranz et al. (US 20130166071, hereinafter ‘Kranz’).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Kai illustrates the joint robot having multiple axes, but neither Kai nor Bradley explicitly disclose the amount of axes that the robot arm is articulated in.
Kranz discloses a similar apparatus, wherein the processing tool is arranged on the end of a joint robot 10 having six axes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the undisclosed joint robot of claim 6/11 by providing the joint robot with six axes of movement as taught by Kranz, in order to allow the tool to be manipulated to machine features in various different locations/inclinations.
Claims 9-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai et al. (US 20190143511) in view of Bradley et al. (US 20160214220) as applied to claims 6 and 11 respectively above, and further in view of Cardon et al. (US 20160067792, hereinafter ‘Cardon’).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 14-15, neither Kai nor Bradley disclose the claimed tool changer and/or lubricating device.
Cardon discloses a similar apparatus, wherein the apparatus further comprises a tool changer 114 configured to change the machining tool held by the servo spindle Paragraphs [0098-0100]) as well as a lubricating device 186 configured to supply a lubricant to the machining tool (Paragraph [0090]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of claim 6/11 by incorporating the tool changer and lubricating device(s) taught by Cardon in order to quickly swap tooling for different operations and to cool the tool/workpiece during machining.
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai et al. (US 20190143511) in view of Bradley et al. (US 20160214220) as applied to claims 6 and 11 respectively above, and further in view of Sakai (US 20190299350).
Regarding claims 8 and 13, Kai and Bradley are silent as to how the workpiece is secured and therefore does not disclose the apparatus further comprising a positioner arranged near the joint robot to hold and adjust the position of the mechanical part to be machined.
Sakai discloses a similar apparatus, wherein a positioner 5 is arranged near the joint robot 4 and is configured to hold the mechanical part to be machined W and adjust an orientation of the mechanical part.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a positioner such as the one taught by Sakai in order to hold and adjust the position of the workpiece in the apparatus of claim 6/11 in order to provide more degrees of freedom to the tool/workpiece system and to allow for more surfaces to be machined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues first that Kai does not disclose the joint robot remaining stationary while the servo spindle is translated along the three axes and second that Kai fails to teach a ‘Cartesian robot’ moving along three perpendicular axes. The second argument has been obviated by the teaching of Bradley as discussed above, but the first argument is reiterated from previous responses, namely that the first embodiment of the tool of Kai describes a mechanical holding force being applied by the robot arm/joint robot 110. This argument is respectfully traversed.
As discussed above, and in previous responses, an alternate embodiment of Kai is and has been relied upon for the rejection(s). This embodiment discloses the feeder unit 121, which is part of the parallel robot, providing the anti-vibration force to the parallel robot, not the joint robot which remains stationary (Paragraphs [0031-0035]).
Accordingly, the teaching of Kai regarding the joint robot remaining stationary while the parallel robot drives the spindle in the rejections is maintained.
Conclusion
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722