DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 06/30/2023 have been accepted.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has elected claims 1-7 and 9-15 without traverse.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant application. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1, 11, 13, and 14 have been amended. Claim 8 has been withdrawn. Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected herein. The rejection of the pending claims is hereby made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cales (US 2021/0304890) in view of Yu et al (US 2013/0030305).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses a method for assessing nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) in a liver biopsy sample (see at least paragraph [0072] to Cales), the method comprising: extracting, from the liver biopsy sample. image data indicative of histopathological features (see at least paragraph [0046] to Cales, wherein a descriptor refers to any computer-generated data associated with or derived from an image of an organ or tissue, such as, for example, an image obtained by microscopy or a radiological image), the histopathological features comprising features selected from the group consisting of fibrosis, inflammation, ballooning and steatosis (see at least paragraph [0006] to Cales); and validating the constructed model using the validation samples (see at least paragraph [0395] to Cales).
Cales does not appear to explicitly disclose applying a trained model for assessing a selected histopathological feature to the extracted image data to determine an index associated with said histopathological feature: and determining a degree of NASH based on the determined index, wherein training the model for assessing the selected histopathological feature comprises: providing a plurality of training samples and a plurality of validation samples, each sample comprising a graded liver biopsy sample: quantifying parameters of the histopathological features from image data of each of the training samples: selecting a subset of quantified parameters, the subset including one or more parameters of the selected histopathological feature; and constructing a model for assessing the selected histopathological feature from the subset of quantified parameters.
However, Yu et al discloses a method and system for determining a stage of fibrosis in the liver, further comprising:
applying a trained model for assessing a selected histopathological feature to the extracted image data to determine an index associated with said histopathological feature (see at least paragraph [0075] to Yu et al): and determining a degree of NASH based on the determined index, wherein training the model for assessing the selected histopathological feature comprises: providing a plurality of training samples and a plurality of validation samples (see at least paragraph [0075] to Yu et al), each sample comprising a graded liver biopsy sample (see at least paragraph [0003] to Yu et al, wherein a traditional method of assessing the degree of fibrosis in a liver biopsy sample may involve giving the liver biopsy sample a grade): quantifying parameters of the histopathological features from image data of each of the training samples: selecting a subset of quantified parameters (see at least paragraph [0042] to Yu et al, wherein a histogram is provided in Figure 5 illustrating quantification results obtained by applying Stage 2 of method 100 on a data set comprising input samples), the subset including one or more parameters of the selected histopathological feature (see at least paragraph [0007] to Yu et al, further comprising identifying a plurality of morphological features of the liver from the input data relating to the liver); and constructing a model for assessing the selected histopathological feature from the subset of quantified parameters (see at least paragraph [0078] to Yu et al, wherein the embodiments of the present invention comprise a quantification system for staging liver fibrosis automatically in an animal model).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the multi targeted fibrosis test system and method, as disclosed by Cales and the method and system for determining a stage of fibrosis in the liver, as taught by Yu et al, in order to use multiple measurements generated based on morphological features of a liver to determine the stage of fibrosis of the liver (see at least paragraph [0006] to Yu et al), could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art discloses the method as claimed in claim 1. wherein the image data of each of the training samples is obtained by second harmonic generation (SHG) microscopy and/or two photon excitation fluorescence (TPEF) microscopy (see at least paragraph [0268] to Cales, wherein the optical technique may be microscopic physical imaging, such as, for example electron microscopy, second harmonic generation (SHG), multiphoton imaging, coherent anti-Stokes Raman scattering—CARS), two-photon excitation fluorescence (TPEF)).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein selecting the subset of quantified parameters comprises a sequential feature selection (see at least paragraph [0048] to Cales, wherein most non-invasive fibrosis tests are binary tests constructed for a single diagnostic target (single-targeted tests), i.e., for determining the presence or absence (yes/no) of a targeted clinical feature).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the method as claimed in claim 3. wherein the sequential feature selection uses a linear regression model, wherein a criterion of the linear regression model comprises a residual sum of squares and a search algorithm of the linear regression model comprises a sequential forward selection (see at least paragraph [0019] to Cales, “combining the significant scores identified in step 1a) in a multiple linear regression to obtain a single multi-targeted score, thereby assessing the presence and severity of a liver lesion in the subject”).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein constructing the model for assessing the selected histopathological feature from the subset of quantified parameters comprises a linear regression procedure (see at least paragraph [0033] to Cales, “performing at least 3 binary logistic regressions on at least one variable, wherein the binary logistic regressions are performed on the same variable(s) but are each directed to a different single diagnostic target, thereby obtaining at least 3 scores”).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the method as claimed in claim herein the plurality of training samples have a corresponding plurality of continuous values based on the model for assessing the selected histopathological feature, and wherein the method further comprises determining cut-off values of each NASH grade by Youden’s index (see at least paragraph [0047] to Cales, “’Diagnostic cut-off’ refers to the diagnostic cut-off of a test score. The cut-off is usually provided by binary logistic regression and distinguishes patients with or without the diagnostic target (yes/no). It can be fixed in two ways: a priori to 0.5 according to statistical convention, and a posteriori according to specific choice, usually the highest Youden index).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the method as claimed in claim 6,wherein validating the model using the validation samples comprises: for each validation sample, determining a quantitative value using the constructed model for assessing the selected histopathological feature, thereby determining the corresponding NASH grade; and correlating the determined NASH grade with a grade provided by a pathologist (see at least paragraph [0417] to Cales, wherein index is a multinomial version of the AUROC adapted to ordinal references such as pathological fibrosis staging).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses a system for assessing nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) in a liver biopsy sample(see at least paragraph [0072] to Cales), the system comprising: a processor: and a computer-readable memory coupled to the processor and having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the processor to: receive image data of the liver biopsy sample indicative of histopathological features (see at least paragraph [0046] to Cales, wherein a descriptor refers to any computer-generated data associated with or derived from an image of an organ or tissue, such as, for example, an image obtained by microscopy or a radiological image), the histopathological features comprising features selected from the group consisting of fibrosis. inflammation. ballooning and steatosis (see at least paragraph [0006] to Cales).
Cales does not appear to explicitly disclose apply[ing] a trained model for assessing a selected histopathological feature to the extracted image data to determine an index associated with said histopathological feature: and determine a degree of NASH based on the determined index, wherein the trained model for assessing the selected histopathological feature comprises: a quantification module for quantifying parameters of the histopathological features from image data of each of a plurality of training samples. each training sample comprising a graded liver biopsy sample: a selection module for selecting a subset of quantified parameters, the subset including one or more parameters of the selected histopathological feature; a construction module for constructing a model for assessing the selected histopathological feature from the subset of quantified parameters: and a validation module for validating the constructed model using a plurality of validation samples. each validation sample comprising a graded liver biopsy sample.
However, Yu et al discloses a method and system for determining a stage of fibrosis in the liver, further comprising:
apply[ing] a trained model for assessing a selected histopathological feature to the extracted image data to determine an index associated with said histopathological feature: and determine a degree of NASH based on the determined index, wherein the trained model for assessing the selected histopathological feature (see at least paragraph [0046] to Yu et al) comprises: a quantification module for quantifying parameters of the histopathological features from image data of each of a plurality of training samples (see at least paragraph [0042] to Yu et al), each training sample comprising a graded liver biopsy sample (see at least paragraph [0003] to Yu et al): a selection module for selecting a subset of quantified parameters, the subset including one or more parameters of the selected histopathological feature (see at least paragraph [0031] to Yu et al); a construction module for constructing a model for assessing the selected histopathological feature from the subset of quantified parameters (see at least paragraph [0074] to Yu et al): and a validation module for validating the constructed model using a plurality of validation samples. each validation sample comprising a graded liver biopsy sample (see at least paragraph [0075] to Yu et al).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the multi targeted fibrosis test system and method, as disclosed by Cales and the method and system for determining a stage of fibrosis in the liver, as taught by Yu et al, in order to use multiple measurements generated based on morphological features of a liver to determine the stage of fibrosis of the liver (see at least paragraph [0006] to Yu et al), could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Claims 10-15 each contain recitations substantially similar to those addressed above and, therefore, are likewise rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627