DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 13, 15-20, and 23-25, 39, 43, and 44 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-7, 15-19, and 23-25 are amended.
Claims 8-12, 14, 21, 22, 26-38, and 40-42 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) Zhou does not disclose determining a default beam corresponding to a CORESET supporting multiple TCl states for transmitting PDCCH, as required by amended claim 1, [Remarks, pages 7-9].
(2) Zhou fails to teach or suggest, at least, the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET, and the TCI states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) as recited in the amended claim 1, [Remarks, pages 9-10].
(3) Zhou fails to teach or suggest the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or reference signals, as further recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first-third arguments
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Zhou discloses determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0050, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0098, 0101, 0109, determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) (the default beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs))], wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET [paragraphs 0005, 0050, 0091, 0094, 0113, wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET (wherein the default receive beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs) that include transmission configuration indication (TCI) states)], and the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [paragraphs 0089, 0091, 0096, 0097, the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions)], and the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or reference signals [paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0089, 0116, the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (default receive/transmit beam for the UE 115-c to receive/transmit PDSCH transmissions)].
Regarding the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET, Zhou discloses in paragraphs 0005, 0050, 0091, 0094, and 0113.
[0005] The described techniques relate to improved methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support simultaneous multiple default beams. Generally, the described techniques provide for configuring communications between a UE and multiple transmission reception points (TRPs). …. In response, the UE or base station may configure multiple default receive beams for simultaneously buffering multiple PDCCH transmissions from the multiple TRPs. In some cases, the UE may receive a first PDSCH transmission from a first TRP using a first set of beamforming parameters and a second PDSCH transmission from a second TRP using a second set of beamforming parameters. ….
[0050] In some cases, configuring additional default beams may include using a multiple TRP control resource set (CORESET) with a transmission control indicator (TCI) state or beam indications that consist of multiple single TRP TCI states. In these examples, the multiple default receive beams may be derived from quasi colocation (QCL) information of the multiple TRP CORESET. In further cases, each TRP may be configured with a default beam configuration. The UE may determine the default receive beam parameter for each of the TRPs based on monitoring the TRP's CORESETs, for example, in the latest slot. ….
[0091] In some cases, the UE 115-a may configure default receive beams to simultaneously buffer multiple PDSCH transmissions from multiple TRPs 205. For example, the first TRP 205-a may transmit data over a first PDCCH transmit beam 210-a and the UE 115-a may receive the data over a first default receive beam 215-a. A second TRP 205-b may transmit data over a second PDCCH transmit beam 210-b and the UE 115-a may receive the data over a second default receive beam 215-b. In some cases, the default receive beams 215 may be derived from quasi co-location (QCL) information associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs). For example, the UE 115-a may be configured with a multiple TRP CORESET that includes transmission configuration indication (TCI) states or beam indications consisting of more than one single TRP state (e.g., each single TRP state corresponding to beamformed pair, such as 210-a and 215-a or 210-b and 215-b).
[0094] …. In the second mode, the TCI state corresponding to the multiple TRP CORESETs may include multiple single TRP TCI states. Accordingly, the default beam may have multiple default receive beams (e.g., 215-a and 215-b) for receiving transmission beams 210 from multiple TRPs (e.g., 205-a and 205-b). Another example may include a third mode where simultaneous single default beams or multiple default receive beams 215 may be configured and the lowest ID may be selected from single TRP CORESETS, multiple TRP CORESETS or a combination thereof. Accordingly, the default beams may have a mix of single and multiple default receive beams (e.g., default receive beams 215) for receiving data via a PDSCH transmission.
[0113] In some cases, the UE 115-a can be explicitly configured to receive multiple default beams for multiple TRPs (e.g., TRPs 405), which may include using RRC signaling, MAC-CE, DCI information, or the like, or a combination thereof. For example, a base station may identify two default beams (e.g., for TRPs 405) using two single TRP TCI states that are received by the UE 115-b simultaneously. The UE 115-b may apply the two default beams on each unscheduled downlink symbol.
In other words, Zhou discloses wherein the default receive beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs) that include transmission configuration indication (TCI) states.
Regarding the TCI states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), Zhou discloses in paragraphs 0089, 0091, 0096, and 0097.
[0089] …. The UE 115 may configure default PDSCH receive beams based on the default configuration without first needing to decode control information (e.g., DCI) transmitted via a PDCCH. Further, in cases where the time offset between PDCCH and PDSCH communication are less than the threshold offset time, a UE 115 may use the one or more default PDSCH beams to buffer the PDSCH transmission from multiple TRPs until the PDDCH transmission (e.g., including DCI) can be received and decoded. Accordingly, TRPs and UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions over beamformed communication links.
[0091] In some cases, the UE 115-a may configure default receive beams to simultaneously buffer multiple PDSCH transmissions from multiple TRPs 205. For example, the first TRP 205-a may transmit data over a first PDCCH transmit beam 210-a and the UE 115-a may receive the data over a first default receive beam 215-a. A second TRP 205-b may transmit data over a second PDCCH transmit beam 210-b and the UE 115-a may receive the data over a second default receive beam 215-b. In some cases, the default receive beams 215 may be derived from quasi co-location (QCL) information associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs). For example, the UE 115-a may be configured with a multiple TRP CORESET that includes transmission configuration indication (TCI) states or beam indications consisting of more than one single TRP state (e.g., each single TRP state corresponding to beamformed pair, such as 210-a and 215-a or 210-b and 215-b).
[0096] In some cases, each TRP 205 may transmit on the same multiple TRP CORESETs using two PDDCH transmissions. In some examples, both PDDCHs may have overlapping frequency resources in the multiple TRP CORESETs. In other cases, the two PDDCHs may have non-overlapping frequency resources in the multiple TRP CORESETs. Examples also include the two PDDCHs having the same or different payloads.
[0097] …. This may be desirable if CORESET 0 is used for broadcast or multicast transmission such as PDCCH transmissions.
In other words, Zhou discloses UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions.
Regarding the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or reference signals, Zhou discloses in paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0089, and 0116.
[0049] According to the techniques described herein, a base station or UE may configure additional default beams for a UE to simultaneously buffer multiple PDSCH transmissions from multiple TRPs. The UE may receive a first beam from a first TRP using a first set of beamforming parameters and a second beam from a second TRP using a second set of beamforming parameters. ….
[0050] In some cases, configuring additional default beams may include using a multiple TRP control resource set (CORESET) with a transmission control indicator (TCI) state or beam indications that consist of multiple single TRP TCI states. In these examples, the multiple default receive beams may be derived from quasi colocation (QCL) information of the multiple TRP CORESET. In further cases, each TRP may be configured with a default beam configuration. The UE may determine the default receive beam parameter for each of the TRPs based on monitoring the TRP's CORESETs, for example, in the latest slot. The UE may simultaneously receive a first downlink transmission from a first TRP and a second downlink transmission from a second TRP using the configured default receive beams. In further cases, simultaneous default receive beams can be explicitly configured. For example, the base station can transmit a default beam configuration for a first TRP and a default beam configuration for a second TRP to the UE. In some cases, a UE may use multiple default receive beams for each slot in a PDSCH transmission. In other cases, a UE may selectively use multiple default receive beams for a subset of slots in a PDSCH transmission.
[0089] …. In some cases, TRPs may transmit and a UE 115 may receive using default PDSCH beams. For example, a UE 115 may simultaneously receive PDSCH transmissions from multiple TRPs. The UE 115 may configure default PDSCH receive beams based on the default configuration without first needing to decode control information (e.g., DCI) transmitted via a PDCCH. Further, in cases where the time offset between PDCCH and PDSCH communication are less than the threshold offset time, a UE 115 may use the one or more default PDSCH beams to buffer the PDSCH transmission from multiple TRPs until the PDDCH transmission (e.g., including DCI) can be received and decoded. Accordingly, TRPs and UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions over beamformed communication links.
[0116] In a first set of examples, where multiple TRP CORESETs are configured (e.g., as discussed in relation to FIGS. 2 and 3, the base station 105-a may configure multiple TRP CORESETs for a subset of slots 505 of a frame. In some cases, the rest of the slots may be configured with a single default receive beam for the UE 115-c to receive PDSCH transmissions. In a second set of examples, where a single default beam for each TRP is configured (e.g., as discussed in relation to FIG. 4) the base station 105-a may configure single TRP CORESETs for each TRP in each of the slots 505 of a frame. In some cases, the rest of the slots may be configured with a single default receive beam for the UE 115-c to receive PDSCH transmissions. In some examples, the slots 505 may be configured as potential retransmission slots. For example, if a transmission from the base station 105-a to the first UE 115-c fails, the first UE 115-a may transmit a negative acknowledgement (NACK) to the base station 105-a during an initial transmission period. In response, the base station 105-a may configure one or more slots (e.g., slots 505) as multiple default beam slots for receiving retransmission of the PDSCH from the base station 105-c to the first UE 115-c via one or more TRPs, which may also reduce the use of secondary TRP transmissions to the a UE (e.g., the first UE 115-c).
In other words, Zhou discloses default receive/transmit beam for the UE 115-c to receive/transmit PDSCH transmissions.
Therefore, given that Zhou discloses wherein the default receive beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs) that include transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, then Zhou clearly discloses determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET), wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET.
Regarding the rejection of claims 17, 23, 39, 43, and 44, claims 17, 23, 39, 43, and 44 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 17, 23, 39, 43, and 44, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-4, 6, 7, 13, 15, 16, 18-20, 24, and 25, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 13, 15-20, and 23-25, 39, 43, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al., (hereinafter Zhou), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0350957.
As per claim 1, Zhou discloses a method for determining a default beam, performed by a user equipment [paragraphs 0095, 0194, 0205, a method for determining a default beam, performed by a user equipment (the UE may determine the first set of beamforming parameters, wherein operations may be performed according to a method)], comprising:
determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0050, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0098, 0101, 0109, determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) (the default beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs))], wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET [paragraphs 0005, 0050, 0091, 0094, 0113, wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET (wherein the default receive beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs) that include transmission configuration indication (TCI) states)], and the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [paragraphs 0089, 0091, 0096, 0097, the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions)], and the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or reference signals [paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0089, 0116, the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (default receive/transmit beam for the UE 115-c to receive/transmit PDSCH transmissions)].
As per claim 2, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the default beam corresponding to the CORESET comprises:
receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate a first beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0101, 0103, 0105, 0113, 0121, receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate a first beam corresponding to the CORESET (the UE 115-a can be explicitly configured to receive multiple default beams for multiple TRPs, which may include using MAC-CE; the base station may identify two default beams (e.g., for TRPs 405) using two single TRP TCI states that are received by the UE 115-b simultaneously)]; and
determining the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0094, 0121, determining the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET (the first beam and the second beam may be associated with a CORESET of the subset of the one or more CORESETs; simultaneous single default beams or multiple default receive beams 215 may be configured and the lowest ID may be selected from single TRP CORESETS, multiple TRP CORESETS or a combination thereof)].
As per claim 3, Zhou discloses the method of claim 2, wherein a number of first beams is two, and determining the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the first CORESET comprises:
the two first beams being determined as default beams corresponding to the first CORESET; or one of the two first beams corresponding to a specified transmission and reception point (TRP) being determined as the default beam corresponding to the first CORESET [paragraphs 0091, 0094, 0095, 0109, 0110, 0112, the two first beams being determined as default beams corresponding to the first CORESET (each TRP 405 may have its own default beam, which may include each TRPs 405 CORESET being a single TRP CORESET; UE 115-a may determine that multiple default receive beams may be used (e.g., default receive beams 215-a and 215-b))].
As per claim 4, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the default beam corresponding to the CORESET comprises:
receiving first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is configured to indicate a second beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0088, 0113, 0120, 0121, 0124, receiving first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is configured to indicate a second beam corresponding to the CORESET (the first beam and the second beam may be associated with a CORESET; the UE 115 to decode the DCI and configure receive beams)]; and
determining the second beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0092, 0094, 0112, determining the second beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET (the default beam may have multiple default receive beams (e.g., 215-a and 215-b); the second beam may be associated with a CORESET)].
As per claim 5, Zhou discloses the method of claim 4, wherein determining the second beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET comprises one of:
determining at least one of the second beams as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET; determining a second beam corresponding to a code point with a minimum value configured to indicate one second beam in the first DCI as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET; determining two second beams corresponding to a code point with a minimum value configured to indicate the two second beams in the first DCI as a default beams corresponding to the CORESET; or determining one second beam corresponding to a specified TRP in two second beams as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET, the two second beams corresponding to a code point with a minimum value configured to indicate the two second beams in the first DCI [paragraphs 0092, 0094, 0112, determining at least one of the second beams as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET (the default beam may have multiple default receive beams (e.g., 215-a and 215-b); the second beam may be associated with a CORESET)].
As per claim 6, Zhou discloses the method of claim 2,further comprising:
the MAC CE being a MAC CE indicating a dedicated beam of the CORESET [paragraphs 0091, 0092, 0113, the MAC CE being a MAC CE indicating a dedicated beam of the CORESET (the UE 115-a can be explicitly configured to receive multiple default beams for multiple TRPs, which may include using MAC-CE; a CORESET that has dedicated time and frequency resources and is monitored by the UE 115-a)].
As per claim 7, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the default beam corresponding to the CORESET comprises:
determining a third beam corresponding to a CORESET with a minimum index value in a latest time unit during which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is to be detected [paragraphs 0094, 0106, 0107, 0112, 0156, 0219, determining a third beam corresponding to a CORESET with a minimum index value in a latest time unit during which a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is to be detected (the CORESET associated with the lowest CORESET ID may be configured with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling; simultaneous multiple beams)]; and
determining the third beam as the default beam [fig. 3A-3C, paragraphs 0092, 0094, 0112, determining the third beam as the default beam (the default beam may have multiple default receive beam)].
As per claim 13, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a configuration signaling sent by a network device, wherein the configuration signaling is configured to configure at least one CORESET, and one or more beams corresponding to each CORESET in the at least one CORESET [paragraphs 0095, 0098, 0099, 0103, 0110-0112, receiving a configuration signaling sent by a network device, wherein the configuration signaling is configured to configure at least one CORESET, and one or more beams corresponding to each CORESET in the at least one CORESET (multiple TRP CORESETS then the UE 115-a may determine that multiple default receive beams may be used; each receive beam for each CORESET of each TRP; identify a configuration of one or more CORESETs for the UE 115-e to monitor in a slot and determine the first set of beamforming parameters)],
wherein the configuration signaling comprises at least one of a MAC CE or DCI [paragraphs 0103, 0105, 0113, 0121, wherein the configuration signaling comprises at least one of a MAC CE or DCI (the UE 115-a can be explicitly configured using RRC signaling, MAC-CE, DCI information)].
As per claim 15, Zhou discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting at least one of data or reference signals corresponding to the CORESET based on the default beam corresponding to the first CORESET [paragraphs 0091, 0094, 0106, transmitting at least one of data or reference signals corresponding to the CORESET based on the default beam corresponding to the first CORESET (default receive beam for receiving data over the PDSCH; determining the CORESET for the default receive beam)].
As per claim 16, Zhou discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the data corresponding to the CORESET comprises at least one of:
data carried PDSCH; or data carried on a PUSCH [paragraphs 0005, 0091, 0093, 0106, 0109, data carried PDSCH (PDSCH may also be scheduled with one or more CORESETs; dynamically configured, via a DCI, MAC-CE; the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH within the active bandwidth part)].
As per claim 17, Zhou discloses a method for determining a default beam, performed by a network device [paragraphs 0095, 0194, 0205, a method for determining a default beam, performed by a network device (the UE may determine the first set of beamforming parameters based on information transmitted by a base station 105, wherein operations may be performed according to a method)], comprising:
determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0050, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0098, 0101, 0109, determining a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) (the default beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs))], wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET [paragraphs 0005, 0050, 0091, 0094, 0113, wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET (wherein the default receive beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs) that include transmission configuration indication (TCI) states)], and the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [paragraphs 0089, 0091, 0096, 0097, the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions)], and the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or reference signals [paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0089, 0116, the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (default receive/transmit beam for the UE 115-c to receive/transmit PDSCH transmissions)].
As per claim 18, Zhou discloses the method of claim 17, wherein determining the default beam corresponding to the CORESET comprises:
sending a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate a first beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0101, 0103, 0105, 0113, 0121, sending a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate a first beam corresponding to the CORESET (the UE 115-a can be explicitly configured to receive multiple default beams for multiple TRPs, which may include using MAC-CE; the base station may identify two default beams (e.g., for TRPs 405) using two single TRP TCI states that are received by the UE 115-b simultaneously)]; and
determining the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0094, 0121, determining the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET (the first beam and the second beam may be associated with a CORESET of the subset of the one or more CORESETs; simultaneous single default beams or multiple default receive beams 215 may be configured and the lowest ID may be selected from single TRP CORESETS, multiple TRP CORESETS or a combination thereof)].
As per claim 19, Zhou discloses the method of claim 17, wherein determining the default beam corresponding to the CORESET comprises:
sending first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is configured to indicate a second beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0088, 0113, 0120, 0121, 0124, sending first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is configured to indicate a second beam corresponding to the first CORESET (the first beam and the second beam may be associated with a CORESET; the UE 115 to decode the DCI and configure receive beams)]; and
determining the second beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0092, 0094, 0112, determining the second beam as the default beam corresponding to the first CORESET (the default beam may have multiple default receive beams (e.g., 215-a and 215-b); the second beam may be associated with a CORESET)].
As per claim 20, Zhou discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
sending a configuration signaling to a user equipment, wherein the configuration signaling is configured to configure at least one CORESET and one or more beams corresponding to each CORESET in the at least one CORESET [paragraphs 0095, 0098, 0099, 0103, 0110-0112, sending a configuration signaling to a user equipment, wherein the configuration signaling is configured to configure at least one CORESET and one or more beams corresponding to each CORESET in the at least one CORESET (multiple TRP CORESETS then the UE 115-a may determine that multiple default receive beams may be used; each receive beam for each CORESET of each TRP; identify a configuration of one or more CORESETs for the UE 115-e to monitor in a slot and determine the first set of beamforming parameters)].
As per claim 23, Zhou discloses a user equipment, comprising:
a transceiver; a memory; and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured [fig. 11, paragraphs 0007, 0157, 0160, 0162, 0163, a user equipment, comprising a transceiver; a memory; and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured (a UE 115 including a transceiver 1120, an antenna 1125, memory 1130, and a processor 1140)] to:
determine a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) [paragraphs 0050, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0098, 0101, 0109, determine a default beam corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) (the default beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs))], wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET [paragraphs 0005, 0050, 0091, 0094, 0113, wherein the default beam comprises one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states supported by the CORESET (wherein the default receive beams 215 may be associated with one or more control resources sets (CORESETs) that include transmission configuration indication (TCI) states)], and the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) [paragraphs 0089, 0091, 0096, 0097, the TCl states supported by the CORESET are configured for a transmission of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (UEs 115 may configure one or more default PDDCH beams for simultaneously buffering PDDCH transmissions)], and the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or reference signals [paragraphs 0049, 0050, 0089, 0116, the default beam is configured for a transmission of at least one of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (default receive/transmit beam for the UE 115-c to receive/transmit PDSCH transmissions)].
As per claim 24, Zhou discloses the user equipment of claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate a first beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0101, 0103, 0105, 0113, 0121, receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE), wherein the MAC CE is configured to activate a first beam corresponding to the CORESET (the UE 115-a can be explicitly configured to receive multiple default beams for multiple TRPs, which may include using MAC-CE; the base station may identify two default beams (e.g., for TRPs 405) using two single TRP TCI states that are received by the UE 115-b simultaneously)]; and
determine the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0094, 0121, determine the first beam as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET (the first beam and the second beam may be associated with a CORESET of the subset of the one or more CORESETs; simultaneous single default beams or multiple default receive beams 215 may be configured and the lowest ID may be selected from single TRP CORESETS, multiple TRP CORESETS or a combination thereof)].
As per claim 25, Zhou discloses the user equipment of claim 24, wherein a number of first beams is two,
the two first beams are determined as default beams corresponding to the CORESET; or one of the two first beams corresponding to a specified transmission and reception point (TRP) is determined as the default beam corresponding to the CORESET [paragraphs 0091, 0094, 0095, 0109, 0110, 0112, the two first beams are determined as default beams corresponding to the CORESET (each TRP 405 may have its own default beam, which may include each TRPs 405 CORESET being a single TRP CORESET; UE 115-a may determine that multiple default receive beams may be used (e.g., default receive beams 215-a and 215-b))].
As per claim 39, Zhou discloses a network device, comprising:
a transceiver; a memory; and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured to perform the method of claim 17 [fig. 15, paragraphs 0185, 0188, 0190, 0191, a transceiver; a memory; and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured to perform the method of claim 17 (a base station 105 including a transceiver 1520, an antenna 1525, memory 1530, a processor 1540)].
As per claim 43, Zhou discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored therein computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 [paragraphs 0009, 0019, 0224, a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored therein computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method (a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a UE; a non-transitory storage medium may be any available medium that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer)].
As per claim 44, Zhou discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored therein computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 17 [paragraphs 0019, 0024, 0224, a non-transitory computer storage medium having stored therein computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method (a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a base station; a non-transitory storage medium may be any available medium that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bai et al., U.S. Publication No. 2020/0053767 discloses switch to a UE beam based on the TCI indicated in the control signaling.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469