DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims Status
Amended claims 1-15 filed 30 June 2023, are acknowledges and are supported by the original disclosure.
Claims 1-15 are pending and under current examination in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Amended claim 10 recites, “Composition according to claim 1, comprising from 0.000100 to 10% by weight, relative to the total weight of said composition.”, wherein the fragrance substance(s) in which it refers to have been removed from the claim.
Appropriate correction is required to claim the substance in which the claimed weight refers. In the interest of expedient prosecution, the Examiner has evaluated the claim assuming a claim amendment editing error omission and the claimed weight is in reference to the c) fragrance substance(s) of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueno et al. (JP2002180081A; published 26 June 2002), hereinafter referred to as Ueno.
Regarding instant claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 13-15 Ueno teaches a citral natural aroma/fragrance compound composition comprising hydroxycinnamic acid stabilizers ferulic acid and caffeic acid (matching formula (I) and R1-6 requirements of instant claims 1, 14 and 15) with a coloring agent in Example 3 (¶[0036]) and natural water-soluble polyene-type carotenoid pigment gardenia yellow as a coloring agent in Example 4 (¶[0037]). Non-limiting usage examples explicitly include, “Other than foods, citral-containing perfumes, cosmetics, mouthwashes, dentifrices, detergents, soaps, shampoos, rinses, bath additives, fragrances and other cosmetics can be mentioned.” (¶[0015], see also claims 4 and 6), thus disclosing the limitations of the instant claims and therefore anticipating the claims.
Regarding instant claim 4, Ueno teaches the composition wherein, “There is no particular limitation on the amount of epicatechin, epicatechin gallate, epigallocatechin gallate, enzyme-treated rutin, quercetin, ferulic acid, caffeic acid, rosmarinic acid, syringic acid or gallic acid. Depending on the purity of the components or the type of the product to be added, 1 to 500 ppm [0.0001-0.05%] is appropriate for high purity.” (¶[0016], see also claim 3), which overlaps with the instant claim range and therefore anticipates the claim.
Regarding instant claim 8, Ueno teaches the use of gardenia yellow as a dyestuff in Example 4 at a use level of 0.01% (¶[0036]). The enabling gardenia yellow dyestuff example is encompassed within the instant claim range for dyestuff and therefore anticipates the claim.
Regarding instant claim 10, assuming the relative weight range specified is that of the c) fragrancing substance of instant claim 1, Ueno teaches an embodiment of the composition comprising 10 ppm [0.001%] citral (¶[0025]), which is encompassed within the instant claim range and therefore anticipates the claim.
Regarding instant claim 12, Ueno teaches the composition wherein, “Generally, various components are combined, for example, water, alcohol, glycerin, a (mixed) solvent such as dipropylene glycol, propylene glycol, and triethyl citrate, for example, a mixed solvent such as water / ethanol, water / ethanol / glycerin, and water / glycerin is dissolved at an appropriate concentration to prepare a liquid preparation.” (¶[0014]), thus the instant claim is anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ueno et al. (JP2002180081A; published 26 June 2002), hereinafter referred to as Ueno, in view of Rastrelli and Rastrelli (WO2020201103A1; published 08 October 2020), hereinafter referred to as Rastrelli, and in further view of Roy et al. (US2004091589A1; published 13 May 2004), hereinafter referred to as Roy.
Regarding instant claim 11, Ueno teaches the limitations of instant claims 1 (as described above), from which instant claim 11 depends, however does not teach the specific limitations of instant claim 11. Ueno does not teach the composition comprising metal salts of oxidation state II.
Rastrelli teaches the use of metal salts in cosmetic applications for stability including zinc gluconate (page 11, line 25) as an additive in fragranced deodorants (claim 1).
Roy teaches the use of ferrous gluconate (claim 2) in a food coloring composition that may also contain ferulic acid (claim 8) as an assistive to stabilize color.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the instant effective filing date to add the missing limitation of divalent metal organic to the invention of Ueno, as these divalent metal organic salts are known to be used in fragranced personal-care compositions (as evidence by Rastrelli) and incorporated into dye compositions containing ferulic acid to stabilize color (as evidence by Roy), so incorporating them in the claimed fragranced, colored system is predictable. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success to achieve a more stable naturally-derived colored fragranced composition, as oxidation and color fading are known formulation challenges for such compositions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RL Scotland/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615