DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kuwahara (US 2021/02342253A1).
Kuwahara discloses in reference to claim:
1. A pane 10 with at least one electric connection element 40, comprising: a flat substrate 10/30 , an electrically conductive coating 20 on the flat substrate 10/30, on the electrically conductive coating 20, an unitary electric connection element 40 (shaded in Fig. 2 below) comprising a region 43/42/41 crimped about a connection cable 82, wherein the crimped region 43/42/41 is directly electrically conductively connected to the electrically conductive coating 20 via a soldering compound 50 [Note that the electric connection element is a unitary structure including element numbers 43/42/41] , a corrosion-inhibiting coating 60, which is applied, adjacent the soldering compound, on the electrically conductive coating 20 and, at least in sections, on the soldering compound, wherein the corrosion-inhibiting coating 60 is made of an electrically insulating material [preferred to be formed of at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a silicone-based resin, an epoxy-based resin and a urethane-based resin] that protects against moisture, wherein the corrosion-inhibiting coating (i) only partially covers the soldering compound and does not cover the crimped region of the connection element, or (ii) completely covers the soldering compound and only partially covers the crimped region of the connection element. See paragraphs [0031], [0036-0037], [0012-0013]
2. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the corrosion-inhibiting coating 60 contains or consists of a sealant, a flux, a primer, a paint, a hot adhesive, or a foam tape.
Element 60 ispreferred to be formed of at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a silicone-based resin, an epoxy-based resin and a urethane-based resin.
4. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the substrate contains or consists of glass 10.
5. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive coating contains or consists of at least silver.
The electrically conductive layer 20 may be disposed by printing and applying, e.g., conductive silver paste on the surface of the vehicle window glass 10, followed by baking.
6. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the soldering compound is leadfree. The lead-free solder 50 has a high Young's modulus and a high rigidity.
10. A method for producing a pane with an electric connection element according to claim 1, comprising: S1) applying soldering compound to an underside of the connection element and/or to the electrically conductive coating, S2) arranging the connection element on the electrically conductive coating with interposed soldering compound, S3) connecting the connection element to the electrically conductive coating with energy input, and S4) applying a corrosion-inhibiting coating, adjacent the soldering compound, to the electrically conductive coating and, at least in sections, to the soldering compound, wherein the corrosion-inhibiting coating consists of an electrically insulating material that protects against moisture. See claim 1 mutatis mutandis
11. A method comprising providing a pane according to claim 1, in a building or in a vehicle of locomotion for travel on land, in the air, or on water. See Vehicle window glass 10
13. The pane according to claim 4, wherein the substrate contains or consists of flat glass, float glass, quartz glass, borosilicate glass, and/or soda lime glass.
The vehicle window glass 10 may be, for example, formed of soda lime glass, borosilicate glass, alkali-free glass or quartz glass without particular limitations. Among them, soda lime glass is particularly preferred.
14. The pane according to claim 5, wherein the electrically conductive coating contains or consists of silver particles and glass frits in sintered form.
The vehicle window glass 10 has the electrically conductive layer 20 disposed on a surface thereof. The electrically conductive layer 20 may be disposed by printing and applying, e.g., conductive silver paste on the surface of the vehicle window glass 10, followed by baking. The conductive silver paste is preferred to be a material having an electrical resistivity of 0.5×10.sup.−8 to 9.0×10.sup.−8 Ω.Math.m after disposition. When the vehicle window glass 10 is applied to a backlite, the vehicle window glass 10 has bus bars 21 formed of the electrically conductive layer 20 so as to be disposed on both lateral portions, heating members 22 being disposed between the bus bars 21. Each of the bus bars 21 is electrically connected to a corresponding terminal 40. The heating members 22 achieve the function to remove frost, ice or the like adhering on the vehicle window glass 10 by causing an electric current to flow through the heating members 22 to generate heat when electric power is supplied to the terminals 40 from outside. The heating members 22 may be formed a linear shape as shown in FIG. 1 or in a bent portion or be formed in a mesh shape. The heating members 22 may be formed of a transparent conductive film. The transparent conductive film may be, for example, formed of a metallic film such as an Ag film, a metal oxide film such as an ITO (indium oxide/tin) film, or a resin film containing conductive fine particles. The transparent conductive film may include different kinds of films stacked.
16. The pane according to claim 6, wherein the soldering compound contains or consists of tin and bismuth, indium, zinc, copper, silver, or compositions thereof. Although there is no particular limitation to the lead-free solder 50, Sn—Ag based solder, Sn—Zn based solder, Sn—Sb based solder, Sn—Ag—In based solder, Sn—Zn—Bi based solder, Sn—Ag—Al—Zn based solder, Sn—Zn—Ti based solder, Sn—Al—In—Ag—Cu—Zn based solder and Sn—Ag—Cu based solder may be mentioned.
19. The method according to claim 11, wherein the vehicle of locomotion is a rail vehicle or a motor vehicle. The vehicle window glass with a terminal according to the present invention is appropriately applicable to a windshield, a sliding window, a fixed window, a backlite or another window glass.
20. The method according to claim 11, wherein the pane is a windshield, a rear window, a side window, and/or as a roof panel, or a heatable pane or a pane with an antenna function. The vehicle window glass with a terminal according to the present invention is appropriately applicable to a windshield, a sliding window, a fixed window, a backlite or another window glass.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 3, 7 12, 15,17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (US 2021/0234253A1) .
Kuwahara discloses the claimed invention with respect to claims 3, 7-9, 12, 15, 17, 18 except explicitly disclosing the claimed dimensions with respect to material thickness.
Kuwahara discloses although there is no particular limitation to the thickness of the vehicle window glass 10, the thickness is preferred to be 0.5 to 5.0 mm. The light-shielding layer 30 has a thickness of preferably from 3 to 15 μm. Although there is no particular limitation to the width of the light-shielding layer 30, the width is preferred to be 20 to 300 mm.
3. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the corrosion-inhibiting coating 60 on the electrically conductive coating, starting from the soldering compound 50 and in a direction parallel to the substrate surface, always has a dimension of at least 1 mm.
7. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the connection element is implemented in the form of a crimp, in particular as a B-crimp, and has in particular a material thickness of 0.1 mm to 2 mm.
8. The pane according to claim 1, wherein a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion of the substrate and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the connection element is less than 5×10.sup.−6/° C.
One of skill would find it obvious to provide for a match in thermal coefficients of expansion for the connecting element and the substrate to prevent problems known to arise therefrom such as cracking or delaminations.
9. The pane according to claim 1, wherein the connection element contains or consists of a chromium-containing steel having a chromium content greater than or equal to 10.5 wt-%.
Kuwahara teaches the use of chromium connection elements as known in the art. Specifically, The terminal connected to the glass plate disclosed in Patent Document 1 contains 50 mass % to 89.5 mass % of iron and 10.5 mass % to 20 mass % of chromium. And further that , the terminal containing much iron or chromium disclosed in Patent Document 1 has a higher electrical conductivity. One of skill seeking to provide a terminal having a higher electrical conductivity would find it obvious to make the connection element of Kuwahara from a chromium-containing steel having a chromium content greater than or equal to 10.5 wt-%.
[0033] The terminal 40 may have the legs 41, the body 42 and the coupling portion 43 integrally formed of the same material. In other words, the terminal 40 is preferred to be formed of a material, such as copper, brass (tombac), which has an electrical resistivity of 1×10.sup.−8 to 10×10.sup.−8 Ω.Math.m. When the material for the terminal 40 has an electrical resistivity of 1×10.sup.−8 to 10×10.sup.−8 Ω.Math.m, even when a relatively large current flows through the terminal 40, the terminal 40 is difficult to generate heat as a whole. It should be noted that the leg 41, the body 42 and the coupling portion 43 may be formed of different materials so long as these members are electrically connected and have electrical resistivities in the above-mentioned range.
[0009] The terminal connected to the glass plate disclosed in Patent Document 1 contains 50 mass % to 89.5 mass % of iron and 10.5 mass % to 20 mass % of chromium. Iron has an electrical resistivity of 1.00×10.sup.−7 Ω.Math.m, and chromium has an electrical resistivity of 1.29×10.sup.−7 Ω.Math.m. In contrast, copper has an electrical resistivity of 1.68×10.sup.−8 Ω.Math.m, and brass has an electrical resistivity of 6.00×10.sup.−8 Ω.Math.m. In other words, the terminal containing much iron or chromium disclosed in Patent Document 1 has a higher electrical conductivity than the conventional terminal made of copper or brass (tombac).
12. The pane according to claim 3, wherein the dimension is from 1 mm to 4 mm.
15. The pane according to claim 5, wherein the electrically conductive coating has a layer thickness of 5 μm to 40 μm.
The light-shielding layer 30 has a thickness of preferably from 3 to 15 μm which is shown to be roughly the same size as layer 20
17. The pane according to claim 7, wherein the crimp is a B-crimp.
The B-crimp is known in the art (see Schmalbuch et al. US 2015/0264800A1 as evidence) and the use herein would have been obvious to one of skill in the art.
18. The pane according to claim 7, wherein the connection element 42 has a material thickness of 0.1 mm to 2 mm.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to show the newly added limitation that the crimped region is “directly electrically conductively connected …”. Applicant points to the separate element numbers that call to portions or regions of the unitary electrical connector 40 as evidence that they should be considered separate parts. However it is noted that the electrical connector 40 of Kuwahara is clearly depicted as a unitary structure having a crimped region and a direct contact region much as the Applicant’s structure can be said to be a unitary structure (shaded region) having a crimped region (surface in contact with the conductor 5) and a direct contact region in contact with the solder 4 as shown below.
Since Kuwahara discloses a single unitary structure 40 being directly electrically conductively connected in the same way as Applicant’s, it is maintained that Kuwahara teaches a crimped region directly terminal architecture. Kuwahara's three-part terminal (legs/body/coupling) is the structural foundation upon which Kuwahara's entire inventive scheme rests: the legs provide the thermally isolated solder contact at the glass surface, and the coupling portion provides the remote cable connection above the glass. However, since the structures in both Kuwahara and Applicant’s are unitary structures which include both a crimp region and a direct contact region, the claimed invention is taught in the broadest reasonable sense.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc