DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, 18 and 19, in reply filed on 09/30/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant further elected ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether of instant claim 3 as the species of crosslinking agent.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/30/2025.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are related as a product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the product. This is not found persuasive because as stated in the restriction/election requirement, Groups I and II lack unity of invention because the shared technical feature of these groups does not make a contribution over the prior art, as discussed in the restriction requirement 07/31/2025 and in this office action. Therefore, even though the groups share the technical feature of a formulation comprising greater than or equal to 20% w/w of a polymer comprising glutamic acid and a crosslinking agent bearing two glycidyl groups, they do not share a special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Indefiniteness
Claims 18 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said composition as defined in claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said composition as defined in claim 1" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 and 112(a)
Claim 18 is not supported by a credible asserted utility or well-established utility because it is a “use” claim. Use claims recite a use but fail to recite steps, and they do not claim a process machine, manufacture or composition. Use claims do not have utility because one of ordinary skill in the art would not appreciate the scope of the claim or the steps required to achieve the use disclosed by the claim. Therefore, the invention of claim 18 are not supported by either a credible asserted utility or a well-established utility and do not comply with 35 USC § 101.
Claim 18 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Specifically, because the claimed invention is not supported by either a credible asserted utility or a well-established utility for the reasons set forth above, one skilled in the art clearly would not know how to use the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claims 1-6, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minty et al. (WO 2018222545 A1, publication date 12/06/2018; cited in IDS 06/30/2023) in view of Harrington et al. (US 2005/0143506 A1, publication date 06/30/2005).
Minty discloses a rheology modifier comprising cross-linked poly(amino acid) [abstract]. In one example of the compositions, sodium D,L-gamma-poly(glutamate) (i.e., instant claim 4) and the cross-linking agent ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (i.e., instant claim 3) are reacted in an aqueous solution [0048]. According to Minty, the cross-linked particles may be added to water-in-oil emulsions [0025]. Additionally, according to Minty the poly(amino acid) may have an average molecular weight between 1000 and 30,000,000 Daltons [0011]. Min
Minty does not discloses the instantly claimed weight percent of the crosslinked poly(glutamic acid) polymer in composition.
Harrington discloses a inverting invers emulsions for water compatible polymer products [abstract]. Harrington discloses that “inverse, or water-in-oil, polymerization is utilized on a commercial scale to prepare high molecular weight water-compatible polymers” [0005]. According to Harrington “[t]he advantages of this process include the ability to prepare high molecular weight, water-compatible polymer in a low viscosity, high solids form. This process produces emulsions that are 20-50% polymer, exhibit low
viscosity, and the polymer can have a molecular weight in the tens of millions” [0006]. Additionally, Harrington discloses that emulsions with high concentrations are less costly to ship that low product solids of other methods [0006]. Furthermore, Harrington discloses that inverting the water-in-oil emulsion comprising high amounts of polymer “results in a continuous aqueous (water) phase where the coalescence of the previously dispersed aqueous phase results in the dispersal of the polymer in solution, resulting in a viscosification of the solution” [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the water-in-oil emulsion comprising cross-linked D,L-gamma-poly(glutamate) of Minty, at the polymer concentrations disclosed by Harrington. One would have recognized that the polymer concentrations of Harrington reduce shipping costs compared to low solid solutions, as disclosed by Harrington. One would have had an expectation of success because Minty discloses the cross-linked D,L-gamma-poly(glutamate) may be formulated in water-in-oil emulsions. Furthermore, Harrington teaches that water-in-oil emulsions comprising 20-50% high molecular weight polymers are suitable for subsequent dilution and viscosity control. Additionally, in combining these elements, by known methods, one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately (i.e., polymer of Minty as a thickening agent and the inverting water-in-oil emulsion of Harrington as inverting thickening emulsion). See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed ranges for amount of polymer present in composition (at least 20% w/w and 20-60%w/w; instant claims 1 and 2) overlaps with the range of the prior art (20-50%) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising a polymer consisting of an at least partially salified gamma glutamic acid and units derived from ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether. Where the polymer is present within the instantly claimed amounts. Since the prior art composition contains substantially the same components, i.e., glutamic acid cross linked with a crosslinker bearing at least two glycidyl groups, in the same relative proportions as instantly claimed, it would be expected to inherently possess the same chemical and physical properties, such as a viscosity as define by instant claim 6.
Regarding instant claim 5, Minty discloses “[t]he linear amino acid polymers are cross-linked to one another through a covalent bond between carboxylic acid side groups, at a ratio ranging from 1 cross-link bond per 10 amino acid monomer units to 1 cross-link bond per about 100,000 amino acid monomer units” (i.e., about 10-0.001mol% crosslinker).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed range of the crosslinker in the polymer (0.5-20mol% of the polymer) overlaps with the range taught by the prior art (0.001-10mol%) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding instant claims 18 and 19, Minty discloses the rheology modifying crosslinked polymer may be used for cosmetic formulations [0044]. In one example, Minty discloses cosmetic compositions comprising 4 grams of D,L- y -poly(glutamate) cross-linked with the ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether and with a total weight of 1154.46 gram, i.e., about 0.35% w/w of D,L- y -poly(glutamate) cross-linked with the ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether (see pages 18-19 of [0056]).
The examiner in interpreting instant claims 18, which only recites a use, as a composition claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a cosmetic composition comprising the cross linked poly(glutamate) particles of the Minty in amounts taught by Minty. See MPEP 2144.07.
On of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that about 0.7% to about 1.75% of the composition taught by Minty and Harrington would be required to achieve the appropriate amount (about 0.35% w/w) of cross linked poly(glutamate) in a cosmetic composition, as desired by Minty. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed range of composition comprising crosslinked glutamic acid in a cosmetic composition (0.1-10%w/w) overlaps with the range of the prior art (0.7-1.75% w/w) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising the inverse emulsion of crosslinked glutamic acid taught by Minty and Harrington, wherein the inverse emulsion is present within the instantly claimed amounts.
2) Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minty et al. (WO 2018222545 A1, publication date 12/06/2018; cited in IDS 06/30/2023) in view of Harrington et al. (US 2005/014.3506 A1, publication date 06/30/2005) as applied to claims 1-6, 18 and 19 above, and further in view of Landoll (US 4304902, date of patent 12/08/1981).
Minty and Harrington, which are taught above, differ from the instant claim 7 insofar as they do not teach a monomer unit further comprising an alkyl epoxide. However, Minty discloses the poly(amino acid) may further comprise additives to enhance the performance or ease of use [0043]. Minty further discloses suitable additives as molecular species which are crosslinked with the poly(amino acid) to alter material properties and surfactants to enhance dispersion [0043].
Landoll discloses copolymer of ethylene oxide and epoxy-n-alkanes of 12-25 carbon atoms [abstract]. Landoll further discloses copolymers of epoxide monomers are well known [col. 1, lines 20-21]. Landoll further teaches copolymers of epoxy-n-alkanes as having an increased viscosity and viscosity stability [col. 1, lines 36].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have combined the 12-25 carbon epoxy-n-alkanes of Landoll and the crosslinked poly(amino acid) of Minty. One would have been motivated to make this combination for the viscosity and viscosity benefits disclosed by Landoll. One would have had an expectation of success because Minty discloses additional components may be crosslinked the poly(amino acid) to alter material properties. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to formulated the composition taught be Minty and Harrington wherein the composition also comprises a monomer unit according to instant claim 7.
Double Patenting
1) Claims 1-7, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9-18 of copending Application No. 18/256,869 in view of Harrington et al. (US 2005/014.3506 A1, publication date 06/30/2005) and Landoll (US 4304902, date of patent 12/08/1981).
The copending claims teaches a thickening agent which is a polymer comprising partially or totally salified polyglutamic acid and a crosslinking agent comprising at least two glycidyl functions [claim 1].
The copending claims do not discloses an emulsion comprising at least 20% of the thickening polymer.
Harrington discloses a inverting invers emulsions for water compatible polymer products [abstract]. Harrington discloses that “inverse, or water-in-oil, polymerization is utilized on a commercial Scale to prepare high molecular weight water-compatible polymers” [0005]. According to Harrington “[t]he advantages of this process include the ability to prepare high molecular weight, water-compatible polymer in a low viscosity, high solids form. This process produces emulsions that are 20-50% polymer, exhibit low
viscosity, and the polymer can have a molecular weight in the tens of millions” [0006]. Additionally, Harrington discloses that emulsions with high concentrations are less costly to ship that low product solids of other methods [0006]. Furthermore, Harrington discloses that inverting the water-in-oil emulsion comprising high amounts of polymer “results in a continuous aqueous (water) phase where the coalescence of the previously dispersed aqueous phase results in the dispersal of the polymer in solution, resulting in a viscosification of the solution” [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the thickening polymer of the copending claims as an inverse emulsion and at the polymer concentrations disclosed by Harrington. One would have had an expectation of success because Harrington teaches that water-in-oil emulsions comprising 20-50% high molecular weight polymers are suitable for subsequent dilution and viscosity control. Additionally, in combining these elements, by known methods, one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed ranges for amount of polymer present in composition (at least 20% w/w and 20-60%w/w; instant claims 1 and 2) overlaps with the range of the prior art (20-50%) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising a polymer consisting of an at least partially salified gamma glutamic acid and units derived from ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether. Wherein the polymer is present within the instantly claimed amounts.
Additionally, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)). In the present case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have optimized the amounts of thickening polymer in composition to adjust the rheology properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2) Claims 1-7, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/256,562 in view of Harrington et al. (US 2005/0143506 A1, publication date 06/30/2005) and Landoll (US 4304902, date of patent 12/08/1981).
The copending claims teach a thickening polymer comprising monomers of partially or totally salified glutamic acid and monomers of at least on crosslinking gent bearing at least two glycidyl functions [claim 1].
The copending claims do not discloses an emulsion comprising at least 20% of the thickening polymer.
Harrington discloses a inverting invers emulsions for water compatible polymer products [abstract]. Harrington discloses that “inverse, or water-in-oil, polymerization is utilized on a commercial Scale to prepare high molecular weight water-compatible polymers” [0005]. According to Harrington “[t]he advantages of this process include the ability to prepare high molecular weight, water-compatible polymer in a low viscosity, high solids form. This process produces emulsions that are 20-50% polymer, exhibit low
viscosity, and the polymer can have a molecular weight in the tens of millions” [0006]. Additionally, Harrington discloses that emulsions with high concentrations are less costly to ship that low product solids of other methods [0006]. Furthermore, Harrington discloses that inverting the water-in-oil emulsion comprising high amounts of polymer “results in a continuous aqueous (water) phase where the coalescence of the previously dispersed aqueous phase results in the dispersal of the polymer in solution, resulting in a viscosification of the solution” [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the thickening polymer of the copending claims as an inverse emulsion and at the polymer concentrations disclosed by Harrington. One would have had an expectation of success because Harrington teaches that water-in-oil emulsions comprising 20-50% high molecular weight polymers are suitable for subsequent dilution and viscosity control. Additionally, in combining these elements, by known methods, one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In the present case, the instantly claimed ranges for amount of polymer present in composition (at least 20% w/w and 20-60%w/w; instant claims 1 and 2) overlaps with the range of the prior art (20-50%) and so a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated a composition comprising a polymer consisting of an at least partially salified gamma glutamic acid and units derived from ethylene glycol diglycidyl ether. Wherein the polymer is present within the instantly claimed amounts.
Additionally, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)). In the present case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have optimized the amounts of thickening polymer in composition to adjust the rheology properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3) Claims 1-7, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/256,553 in view of Harrington et al. (US 2005/014.3506 A1, publication date 06/30/2005) and Landoll (US 4304902, date of patent 12/08/1981).
The copending claims disclose a polymer comprising monomer units derived from partially or totally salified glutamic acid (GA), and monomer units of at least one crosslinking agent (XLA) bearing at least two glycidyl functions [claim 1].
The copending claims do not discloses an emulsion comprising at least 20% of the thickening polymer.
Harrington discloses a inverting invers emulsions for water compatible polymer products [abstract]. Harrington discloses that “inverse, or water-in-oil, polymerization is utilized on a commercial Scale to prepare high molecular weight water-compatible polymers” [0005]. According to Harrington “[t]he advantages of this process include the ability to prepare high molecular weight, water-compatible polymer in a low viscosity, high solids form. This process produces emulsions that are 20-50% polymer, exhibit low
viscosity, and the polymer can have a molecular weight in the tens of millions” [0006]. Additionally, Harrington discloses that emulsions with high concentrations are less costly to ship that low product solids of other methods [0006]. Furthermore, Harrington discloses that inverting the water-in-oil emulsion comprising high amounts of polymer “results in a continuous aqueous (water) phase where the coalescence of the previously dispersed aqueous phase results in the dispersal of the polymer in solution, resulting in a viscosification of the solution” [0008].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have formulated the thickening polymer of the copending claims as an inverse emulsion and at the polymer concentrations disclosed by Harrington. One would have had an expectation of success because Harrington teaches that water-in-oil emulsions comprising 20-50% high molecular weight polymers are suitable for subsequent dilution and viscosity control. Additionally, in combining these elements, by known methods, one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Additionally, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)). In the present case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have optimized the amounts of thickening polymer in composition to adjust the rheology properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
4) Claim 1-7, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5-12, and 14-18 of copending Application No. 18/260,300 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach a self-invertible water-in-oil type emulsion comprising, per 100% of its mass, a content by mass of greater than or equal to 20% and less than or equal to 60% of a polymer consisting of monomer units derived from partially or totally salified glutamic acid and of units derived from at least one crosslinking agent bearing at least two glycidyl functions [claim 1]. The copending claims also disclose a composition comprising 0.1-10% w/w of the water-in-oil emulsion [claim 7].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
5) Claim 1-7, 18 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/260,175 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach a self-invertible water-in-oil type emulsion comprising, per 100% of its mass, a content by mass of greater than or equal to 20% of a polymer consisting of monomer units derived from partially or totally salified glutamic acid and of units derived from at least one crosslinking agent bearing at least two glycidyl functions [claim 1]. The copending claims also disclose the composition may be used to thicken, emulsify or stabilize a composition for topical use [claim 19].
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation" (see MPEP 2144.05 IIA quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (105 USPQ 233)). In the present case it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have optimized the amounts of thickening polymer in composition to adjust the rheology properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/C.T.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/WALTER E WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612