DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and amended claim set filed June 30, 2023. Claims 1-19 and 21 are currently pending.
Claims 1-19 and 21 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Priority
This application is the national stage entry of PCT/US2022/070113, filed January 10, 2022, which claims priority to US 63/200,051, filed February 11, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva et al. (US 2020/0071436).
Regarding claims 1-5, 19, and 21, Silva teaches a gas phase polymerization process in which a catalyst feed, and olefin, and a carrier gas such as nitrogen are fed into the reactor. (Fig. 1; paras. [0142], [0147], [0155], and [0156].) The catalyst component feed comprises a diluent, at least one support, at least one activator, and the catalyst component. (para. [0421].)
The difference between Silva and the present claims is that Silva does not explicitly state the amount of catalyst relative to the carrier liquid/diluent. However, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).) In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the relative amounts of catalyst component and carrier liquid/diluent to reach a desired polymerization rate.
Regarding claims 6, 9, and 10, the amount of polymer sheeting in the reactor in the process of Silva should fall within the claimed range, given the substantially similar process. Further, Silva teaches that a condensing agent such as isopentane may be added to the reactor either directly or via the feed line. (para. [0154].) Given that condensing agents reduce reactor fouling, any reactor sheeting would be lowered even further.
Regarding claim 7, the catalyst feed diluent may comprise mineral oil and a wax. (para. [0142].)
Regarding claim 8, the diluent may contain 5 wt.% or more of wax. (para. [0143].)
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, Silva teaches that the catalyst feed comprises a mineral oil and wax diluent, and may include a condensing agent. Silva also teaches that the diluent may contain 5 wt.% or more of wax, but is silent as to the relative amounts of the diluent components. However, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).) In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the relative amounts of mineral oil, wax, and condensing agent to minimize fouling and reduce solids settling.
Regarding claim 12, Silva teaches that the catalyst feed is formed from a trim catalyst feed and a catalyst feed. (Fig. 1; para. [0142].)
Regarding claim 13, as noted above, Silva teaches a two-source catalyst feed. The first is a slurry catalyst mixture comprising mineral oil and optional wax diluents, two different catalyst compounds, at least one support, and at least one activator. (para. [0421].) A catalyst solution feed comprises a solvent a catalyst compound. (para. [0147]. See also Fig. 1.) Each catalyst – the two in the slurry mixture and the one in the solution mixture – is preferably a metallocene. (See Exs., para. [0298]-[0299].)
Regarding claim 14, Silva teaches that the preferred support is silica and the preferred activator is MAO. (Exs., para. [0298].)
Regarding claim 15, Silva teaches that the preferred mixed catalyst components include the following:
(para. [0299].)
Regarding claims 16-18, Silva teaches the co-polymerization of ethylene and hexene under the following reactor conditions:
(Table 1.) To the extent these conditions are outside the conditions recited in the present claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized reaction conditions to reach, e.g., a desired reaction rate.
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763