3DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Status of Claims
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response file on 22 July 2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claim 2 has/have been amended. Claims 3-5 has/have been cancelled. No Claim has been added. Claims 1-2 and 6-17 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, with respect to Objection to Claim 2, see p.7, filed on 22 July 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous Objection to Claim 2 is withdrawn after Claim 2 being amended.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.7-12, filed on 22 July 2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection to Claim 1-2 and 6-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant’s main arguments are based on Applicant’s allegation that the rejection is assembled from disparate portions of four separate systems directed to substantially different objectives. The rejection identifies isolated features in separate references, but does not identify a disclosure or suggestion of the claimed arrangement in which ToF-acquired depth data is utilized as part of a unified processing flow supporting both the claimed occlusion processing and the claimed gesture-trigger detection sequence (p.8 last line to p.9 line 4) and Applicant therefore respectfully submits that the Response to Arguments ultimately highlights, rather than resolves, the principal deficiency of the grounds of rejection. The rejection remains dependent upon combining Reisner-Kollmann's reconstruction framework, Held's stereoscopic display techniques, Liu's activity-recognition engine, and Tian's occlusion processing in order to reconstruct Applicant's claimed system. The Action still does not identify a teaching or suggestion of the claimed information-processing pipeline as a whole, including the recited sequence of ToF-based distance detection, ToF-based occlusion processing, generation of depth maps from the ToF data, extraction of joint information from those depth maps, motion detection, gesture determination, and use of the detected gesture as a trigger for AR effect processing (p.10 second paragraph). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined. However all the four references cited in previous office action are related to technique methods used in augmented reality applications. Resiner-Kollmann discloses an AR plane can be constructed based on images taken with depth cameras ([0083]: the images may be taken with depth cameras (e.g., cameras which include a depth sensor) and be processed to generate the planar representation) and While the AR plane may ensure that a virtual object does not collide with the virtual object, the modeling information provided to AR plane implementation application 660 may allow for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on the AR plane behind a modeled physical object. Additionally, virtual information (e.g., graphics) may be overlaid one or more of the modeled objects to augment or change the appearance of the physical objects in the AR environment ([0099]). Resiner-Kollmann teaches a depth sensor provides a range image where each pixel represents the distance to the camera ([0084]) and the depth information may be obtained through a depth camera using a time-of-flight analysis system in addition to using SLAM process ([0088]: As an alternate to SLAM process engine 610, some other form of three dimensional mapping process may be used to create a point cloud. For example, images that include depth information, for example images captured using a time-of-flight analysis or a stereoscopic camera system, may be used to generate a point cloud for the physical environment). Held, in the same field of augmented reality application, confirms as taught by Resiner-Kollmann processing AR object occlusion based on distance information ([0055]-[0057]). Held further discloses triggering AR application through gesture commands ([0089]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Held into that of Resiner-Kollmann. The motivation is to minimize visual artifacts and other distortions due to motion of the user’s head while viewing stereo visual content via a head-mounted display (HMD) as suggested by Held ([0019]: As described in more detail below, the systems and methods of the present disclosure enable HMD devices to modify and display stereoscopic visual content in a manner that minimizes visual artifacts and other distortions created by previous solutions). Liu is also in the field of augmented reality. Liu discloses detailed information regarding hand gesture recognition. Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA who is trying to implement gesture command option in the AR application to combine Liu. Tian which is in the same field of AR application corroborates Resiner-Kellmann’s assertion that occlusion processing comprise front/back superimposition and generating a depth map based on a ToF sensor. The references of Resiner-Kollmann, Held, Liu and Tian all are in the same AR field and the limitations claimed in Claim 1/2/10 are known to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as disclosed either at concept or detailed level. A PHOSITA would be motivated to combine all the known features in order to created an AR application which appeals to users real, comfortable and easy to use.
Regarding Claim 15-17, Applicant argues At most, Hildreth discloses that depth information obtained from a depth camera may be utilized within a system that performs occlusion-related processing and may also consider hand gestures or other user interactions. However, claim 15 recites considerably more than the mere coexistence of occlusion functionality and gesture functionality within a common system. Claim 15 specifically requires that the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor be used both for the occlusion processing and for generating the depth map of the trigger object used for gesture detection, such that a same per-pixel depth information from the ToF sensor is applied both to determining a front/back relationship and to determining the gesture. The cited portions of Hildreth do not disclose or suggest this relationship (p.11 third paragraph). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As pointed by Office Action and agreed by Applicant, Hildreth discloses that depth information obtained from a depth camera may be utilized within a system that performs occlusion-related processing and may also consider hand gestures or other user interactions. Hildreth discloses the depth information is generated by depth camera ([0027]: The visual images 103 captured by visual camera 102 as well as the depth information 105 generated by depth camera 104 and the data generated by sensor 107 may be provided to the VR engine 122) and the depth camera can be a ToF camera ([0023]: In some aspects, the depth camera 104 is a ranging camera, such as a time-of-flight (ToF) camera ([0023]). Since depth information is obtained through a ranging ToF camera which is to detect a reflected light at arrived at the depth sensor and the depth information can be used for both occlusion processing and gesture recognition, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to use the same per-pixel depth information from the ToF sensor to both determining a front/back relationship and determining the gesture. The reason to use the same per-pixel depth information is to avoiding capturing the same information therefore reducing processing time and computing resource. Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Hildreth into that of Reisner-Kollmann as modified and to include the limitation of wherein the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor is used both for the occlusion processing and for generating the depth map of the trigger object used for gesture detection, such that a same per-pixel depth information from the ToF sensor is applied to both determining a front/back relationship and determining the gesture in order to display both the virtual image and the one or more physical objects that were captured by the visual camera 102 as suggested by Hildreth ([0044]).
Based on above reasoning, the Examiner maintains 35 USC § 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisner-Kollmann et al. (US 2015/0062120 A1) in view of Held et al. (US 2019/0238818 A1), Liu et al. (US 2014/0169623 A1) and Tian et al. (US 2022/0230383 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Reisner-Kollmann teaches or suggests an information processing method to be executed by a computer ([0006]: Systems, methods, and devices are described for constructing a digital representation of a physical scene by obtaining information about the physical scene), the method comprising:
detecting distance ([0084]: Generally, a depth sensor provides a range image where each pixel represents the distance to the camera) information of a real object (Fig.2 and [0066]: FIG. 2 illustrates an example physical scene 200, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated, the scene may include part of a table 210 (e.g., a flat surface). In addition, some physical objects 215 (e.g., books, cups, toys, etc.) are positioned on the top of the table 210) based on depth data acquired by a time of flight (ToF) sensor ([0090]: a camera capable of measuring depth, such as a stereo camera system or time-of-flight camera system may be used in place of (or to augment) SLAM process engine 610).
Reisner-Kollmann discloses Systems, methods, and devices are described for constructing a digital representation of a physical scene by obtaining information about the physical scene. Based on the information, … generating a three-dimensional (3D) reconstructed object using the properties associated with the physical object, and representing the planar surface as an augmented reality (AR) plane in an augmented reality environment, wherein the AR plane in the AR environment is capable of supporting 3D reconstructed objects on top of it (Abstract). In order to generate the 3D reconstructed object, Reisner-Kollmann discloses detecting distance information of a real object based on depth data acquired by a time of flight (ToF) sensor (Fig.2, [0066]: FIG. 2 illustrates an example physical scene 200, in accordance with certain embodiments of the present disclosure. As illustrated, the scene may include part of a table 210 (e.g., a flat surface). In addition, some physical objects 215 (e.g., books, cups, toys, etc.) are positioned on the top of the table 210 and [0099]: While the AR plane may ensure that a virtual object does not collide with the virtual object, the modeling information provided to AR plane implementation application 660 may allow for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on the AR plane behind a modeled physical object) and ensuring that a virtual object does not collide with the virtual object, the modeling information provided to AR plane implementation application 660 may allow for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on the AR plane behind a modeled physical object ([0099]. [0060]: In addition to the use of SLAM, some other form of three-dimensional mapping process may be used, such as by capturing images that include depth information, for example using time-of-flight analysis or a stereoscopic camera system. As described herein, although the SLAM process may be used for illustration purposes, other techniques may be used instead of SLAM without deviating from the scope of the invention). Therefore Reisner-Kollmann teaches using the distance information based on depth data acquired by a ToF sensor to generate a AR scene which allows for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on the AR plane behind a modeled physical object ([0099]). Although Reisner-Kollmann shows using SLAM as an example embodiment to detect the distance, Reisner-Kollmann clearly discloses, in multiple places, in addition to SLAM process, a ToF sensor can be used to generate distance information ([0060]: In addition to the use of SLAM, some other form of three-dimensional mapping process may be used, such as by capturing images that include depth information, for example using time-of-flight analysis or a stereoscopic camera system. As described herein, although the SLAM process may be used for illustration purposes, other techniques may be used instead of SLAM without deviating from the scope of the invention. [0088]: As an alternate to SLAM process engine 610, some other form of three dimensional mapping process may be used to create a point cloud. For example, images that include depth information, for example images captured using a time-of-flight analysis or a stereoscopic camera system, may be used to generate a point cloud for the physical environment. [0090]: While SLAM process engine 610 may be used to determine the point cloud (such as the point cloud of FIG. 7), other arrangements may be employed. For instance, a camera capable of measuring depth, such as a stereo camera system or time-of-flight camera system may be used in place of (or to augment) SLAM process engine 610). Reisner-Kollmann further teaches or suggests displaying a result of the occlusion processing on a display ([0099]: While the AR plane may ensure that a virtual object does not collide with the virtual object, the modeling information provided to AR plane implementation application 660 may allow for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on the AR plane behind a modeled physical object) and determining occlusion based on whether the AR plane is behind a real object.
Even asuuming Reisner-Killmann does not explicitly recite performing occlusion processing on the real object and an augmented reality (AR) object generated by computer graphics (CG) based on the distance information of the real object detected ([00).
Held, in the same field of endeavor, discloses performing occlusion processing on the real object and an augmented reality (AR) object generated by computer graphics (CG) based on the distance information of the real object detected; and displaying a result of the occlusion processing on a display (Fig.6/7 and [0055]-[0057]: FIG. 6 illustrates one example of an occluding object in the form of real-world couch 604 that may interfere with the display of stereo visual content at a location behind the couch … Accordingly, and in one potential advantage of the present disclosure, the system may determine that the couch 604 is located between a location of the HMD device 104 in the virtual coordinate system and a location of the stereo visual content 216 at the modified display distance 616. Such determination may be performed, for example, using image data captured by HMD device 104 and spatial mapping techniques to establish the locations of the HMD device, couch 604 and other real-world and virtual objects within the field of view of the HMD device. With reference also to FIG. 7, based on determining that couch 604 is located between the HMD device 104 and the stereoscopic 3D movie 216 at the modified display distance 616, the modified display distance may be shortened to a shortened modified display distance 704 that is between the occluding object 604 and the location of the HMD device 608. Using the shortened modified display distance 704 and as explained above, the size of the stereoscopic 3D movie 216 also may be scaled to account for the shortened modified display distance 704. Note Held teaches Head-mounted display (HMD) devices may display visual content to a user via a virtual reality experience or an augmented reality experience, see [0016]. Notice the virtual visual content 216 is occluded by the couch in Fig.6 and the couch is occluded by the visual content 216 shown in Fig.7 due to the distance difference).
Held and Reisner-Kollmann are in the same augmented reality application field. Reisner-Kollmann discloses allowing for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on AR plane behind a modeled physical object ([0099]). Held, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, teaches occlusion processing on the real object and an AR object generated based on the distance information of the real object detected and displaying the result of the occlusion processing on a display (see above Fig.6/7 and [0055]-[0057]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Held into that of Reisner-Kollmann and to add the limitation of performing occlusion processing on the real object and an augmented reality (AR) object generated by computer graphics (CG) based on the distance information of the real object detected; and displaying a result of the occlusion processing on a display in order to present the hidden effect based on the distance information as suggested by Reisner-Kollmann.
Reisner-Kollmann modified by Held further discloses:
detecting a trigger for starting processing of an effect using the AR object based on the depth data; detecting a gesture of a trigger object as the trigger (Held [0089]: When included, input subsystem 1120 may comprise or interface with one or more user-input devices such as a keyboard, mouse, touch screen, or game controller. In some embodiments, the input subsystem may comprise or interface with selected natural user input (NUI) componentry. Such componentry may be integrated or peripheral, and the transduction and/or processing of input actions may be handled on- or off-board. Example NUI componentry may include a microphone for speech and/or voice recognition; an infrared, color, stereoscopic, and/or depth camera for machine vision and/or gesture recognition; a head tracker, eye tracker, accelerometer, and/or gyroscope for motion detection and/or intent recognition; as well as electric-field sensing componentry for assessing brain activity; and/or any other suitable sensor).
Reisner-Kollmann modified by Held fails to disclose generating a depth map of the trigger object at a plurality of time points using the depth data; detecting joint information of the trigger object at a plurality of time points based on the depth map at the plurality of time points; detecting a motion of the trigger object based on joint information at the plurality of time points; determining whether the motion of the trigger object corresponds to the gesture to be the trigger.
However Liu discloses
generating a depth map of the trigger object at a plurality of time points using the depth data ([0017]: Depth maps may be obtained via many different types of sensors. For example, a KINECT depth sensing device may be used, as well as various types of scanners, laser devices, and stereo camera systems. [0055]: the depth map acquisition component 105 may be configured to obtain the plurality of depth maps 106 from a depth sensing device 132. [0145]: Examples of NUI techniques may include those relying on …, gesture recognition both on a screen and adjacent to the screen, …. Example NUI technologies may include, but are not limited to, …, motion gesture detection using depth cameras (e.g., stereoscopic camera systems, infrared camera systems, RGB (red, green, blue) camera systems and combinations of these), …);
detecting joint information of the trigger object (Fig.1a: 120 Observed Entity. [0054]: For example, determining the activity recognition 126 may include determining a recognition of an activity 128 that is engaged in by a moving entity 120, in association with an object 130, temporally over the respective plurality of time frames 107) at a plurality of time points based on the depth map at the plurality of time points ([0038]: A skeleton acquisition component 117 may be configured to obtain a plurality of skeleton representations 118 respectively corresponding to the respective time frames 107. Each skeleton representation 118 may include at least one joint 119 associated with an observed entity 120. [0090]: the skeleton representations 118 may represent temporal skeletal outlines, including joint positions, that are associated with the observed entity 120, during each respective time frame 107);
detecting a motion of the trigger object based on joint information at the plurality of time points ([0046]-[0047]: A local feature descriptor determination component 121 may be configured to determine local feature descriptors 122 corresponding to the respective time frames 107, based on the depth maps 106 and the joints 119 associated with the skeleton representations 118. In accordance with example techniques discussed herein, the interaction between the observed entity 120 and other environmental objects may be represented as the local feature descriptors 122 at each joint 119. [0002]: The activity recognition engine may include a depth map acquisition component configured to obtain depth maps corresponding to respective depth measurements determined over respective time frames);
determining whether the motion of the trigger object corresponds to the gesture to be the trigger ([0145]: Examples of NUI techniques may include those relying on speech recognition, touch and stylus recognition, gesture recognition both on a screen and adjacent to the screen, air gestures, head and eye tracking, voice and speech, vision, touch, gestures, and machine intelligence. Example NUI technologies may include, but are not limited to, touch sensitive displays, voice and speech recognition, intention and goal understanding, motion gesture detection using depth cameras (e.g., stereoscopic camera systems, infrared camera systems, RGB (red, green, blue) camera systems and combinations of these), motion gesture detection using accelerometers/gyroscopes, facial recognition, 3D displays, head, eye, and gaze tracking, immersive augmented reality and virtual reality systems, all of which may provide a more natural interface, and technologies for sensing brain activity using electric field sensing electrodes (e.g., electroencephalography (EEG) and related techniques)).
Reisner-Kollmann, Held and Liu all are regarding augmented reality. Held discloses a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention had already known to using natural user input (NUI) and the NUI componentry includes depth camera for gesture recognition ([0089]: In some embodiments, the input subsystem may comprise or interface with selected natural user input (NUI) componentry. Such componentry may be integrated or peripheral, and the transduction and/or processing of input actions may be handled on- or off-board. Example NUI componentry may include a microphone for speech and/or voice recognition; an infrared, color, stereoscopic, and/or depth camera for machine vision and/or gesture recognition; a head tracker, eye tracker, accelerometer, and/or gyroscope for motion detection and/or intent recognition; …). Liu, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the detail of gesture recognition using depth data via depth sensing devices (Fig.1a. [0145]: Examples of NUI techniques may include those relying on …, gesture recognition both on a screen and adjacent to the screen, air gestures, head and eye tracking, …, touch, gestures, …. Example NUI technologies may include, but are not limited to, …, motion gesture detection using depth cameras (e.g., stereoscopic camera systems, infrared camera systems, RGB (red, green, blue) camera systems and combinations of these) … . A skilled person would have known an infrared camera system is a ToF camera system). Liu’s reference can be used in gesture recognition in augmented reality (see [0145] above) using depth data via depth sensing device (Fig.1a: 132 Depth Sensing Device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Liu into that of Reisner-Kollmann modified by Held and to include the limitation of generating a depth map of the trigger object at a plurality of time points using the depth data; detecting joint information of the trigger object at a plurality of time points based on the depth map at the plurality of time points; detecting a motion of the trigger object based on joint information at the plurality of time points; determining whether the motion of the trigger object corresponds to the gesture to be the trigger in order to characterize both entity motion and entity-object interactions and support natural user interface (NIU) view gesture as taught by Liu ([0023]: Further example features that may be suitable for depth data are discussed herein, which are robust to noise, invariant to translational and temporal misalignments, and capable of characterizing both entity motion and entity-object interactions (e.g., human motion and human-object interactions)).
The combination of Reisner-Kollmann, Held and Liu discloses all limitation except explicitly disclose wherein the occlusion processing comprises front/back superimposition of the AR object and the real object according to per-object distances measured by the ToF sensor and generating, from the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor, a depth map.
However Tian discloses The ToF depth maps are processed to remove outliers and overcome sensor bias and errors. Then a densification algorithm is applied to up-sample the low-resolution depth map to a resolution of an RGB image. … Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure describe a system that exploits a depth sensor (e.g., a ToF camera) on a computer system for multiple AR applications with computational efficiency and very good visual performance. The computer system is configured for depth map processing that removes outlier, densifies the depth map, and enables blending at the occlusion boundaries between real objects and virtual objects ([0037]). Tian discloses The AR module 116 can generate an a red, green, blue, and depth (RGBD) image from the RGB image and the depth map to detect an occlusion of the virtual object 124 by at least a portion of the real-world object representation 122 or vice versa ([0038]) and the depth values in the RGBD image 710 are compared to depth values of a virtual object 720 and, if occlusion is detected based on the depth comparison, an alpha map 730 can be used for edge smoothing ([0080]).
Tian, in the field of occlusion and collision detection in an AR sessions (Abstract), teaches or suggests wherein the occlusion processing comprises front/back superimposition of the AR object and the real object according to per-object distances measured by the ToF sensor ([0037]: Embodiments of the present disclosure involve a processing pipeline that uses the RGB and ToF cameras on a computer system (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, an AR headset, or the like) to compute visual occlusion and collision detection. The ToF depth maps are processed to remove outliers and overcome sensor bias and errors. Then a densification algorithm is applied to up-sample the low-resolution depth map to a resolution of an RGB image. An alpha map is also generated for blending between virtual objects and real objects along the occluding boundaries. A light-weighted voxelization representation of the real-world scene is also generated from the depth maps to enable fast collision detection. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure describe a system that exploits a depth sensor (e.g., a ToF camera) on a computer system for multiple AR applications with computational efficiency and very good visual performance. The computer system is configured for depth map processing that removes outlier, densifies the depth map, and enables blending at the occlusion boundaries between real objects and virtual object. [0043]: the embodiments similarly apply to occlusion between virtual objects and/or to collisions between virtual objects. [0082]: When a pixel to be rendered in an AR image corresponds to a first pixel of the RGBD image 710 and to a second pixel of the virtual object 720 (the first and second pixels are the same in the rendering buffer, the depth of the two pixels are compared to determine whether the second pixel should be occluded in the rendering or not. The depth of the first pixel is determined from the RGBD image 710. The depth of the second pixel can be retrieved from a buffer and can be defined by an AR application. The blending operation 750 then compares this depth to the depth of the second pixel. If equal to or smaller than the depth of the second pixel, the first pixel occludes the second pixel) and generating, from the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor, a depth map ([0038]: The depth sensor 112 generates depth data about the real-world environment, where this data includes, for instance, a depth map that shows depth(s) of the real-world object 130 (e.g., distance(s) between the depth sensor 112 and the real-world object 130). [0040]: The depth sensor 112 can be a ToF camera).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Tian into that of Reisner-Kollmann as modified and to include the limitation of processing comprises front/back superimposition of the AR object and the real object according to per-object distances measured by the ToF sensor and generating, from the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor, a depth map of the trigger object at a plurality of time points in order to use depth sensor to place a virtual object into an AR scene in real time as suggested by Tian ([0003]: When placing a virtual object into an AR scene, it is important that the placement is accurate and performed in real time).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 is similar to Claim 1 except in the format of device. Therefore the rejection(s) to Claim 1 is/are also applied to Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 6, Reisner-Kollmann further teaches or suggests wherein the operations further comprise:
detecting an orientation of a camera ([0090]-[0091]: … a camera capable of measuring depth, such as a stereo camera system or time-of-flight camera system may be used in place of (or to augment) SLAM process engine 610. SLAM process engine 610 may allow for determining depth information without additional hardware being needed besides conventional hardware of the computing device 102, including a conventional two-dimensional camera and movement-sensing hardware, such as a gyroscope and/or accelerometer. In one instance, the gyroscope and/or the accelerometer may further aid in determining the change in distance/orientation of the camera with respect to the physical scene (or object in the scene)…. As such, AR objects placed on the ground plane are intended to appear as if sitting on top of the physical surface that is serving as the ground plane …); and
adjusting a position at which an effect using the AR object is applied to a video image obtained by the camera, based on the orientation of the camera ([0110]: At block 1470, the AR plane may be optionally provided to an application and used by the application for manipulating virtual objects in the AR environment. The AR plane may be output in the form of coordinates that define the cells of the AR plane. Therefore, the AR plane output may be based on the real-world, physical environment on which one or more virtual objects are to be positioned or moved in an AR environment without giving the appearance of collision with physical objects in the physical environment).
Regarding Claim 7, Reisner-Kollmann discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
generating point cloud data of a subject based on the depth data ([0094]: Returning to system 600 of FIG. 6, the point cloud output by SLAM process engine 610 may be analyzed by point cloud clustering engine 630. Point cloud clustering engine 630 may cluster reference points according to what object the reference points are determined to be part of Reference points determined to be part of the ground plane may be excluded from analysis by point cloud clustering engine 630. Reference points determined to belong to a same object, such as based on location, depth, identified boundaries and/or color properties may be clustered together), and performs the occlusion processing based on the point cloud data ([0095]: Object modeling engine 640 may serve to model physical objects that were identified based on clustered reference points by point cloud clustering engine 630. Object modeling engine 640 may use simplified geometric shapes to model the objects identified based on clustered reference points by point cloud clustering engine 630. [0099]: In addition to receiving coordinates of the cell of the AR plane, AR plane implementation application 660 may receive modeling information for the objects. This modeling information may be the geometric models for objects determined by object modeling engine 640. This modeling information may include height information for the objects. While the AR plane may ensure that a virtual object does not collide with the virtual object, the modeling information provided to AR plane implementation application 660 may allow for virtual objects to be hidden from view when on the AR plane behind a modeled physical object).
Regarding Claim 8, Reisner-Kollmann modified by Held further teaches or suggests wherein the operations further comprise: in a case where the real object is closer to the TOF sensor than the AR object is, superimposing the real object in front of the AR object so that the AR object is hidden by the real object, as the occlusion processing (Held Fig.6 and [0055]: In some examples, a suitable display distance for visual content also may be impacted by real-world objects 172 and/or virtual content 168 within a real-world or virtual environment. FIG. 6 illustrates one example of an occluding object in the form of real-world couch 604 that may interfere with the display of stereo visual content at a location behind the couch. In this example, the couch 604 is located between the HMD device 104 and the location of stereo visual content 216 at a modified display distance 616). The same reason to combine as that of Claim 2 is applied.
Regarding Claim 9, Reisner-Kollmann modified by Held further teaches or suggests wherein the operations further comprise: in a case where the AR object is closer to the ToF sensor than the real object is, superimposing the AR object in front of the real object so that the real object is hidden by the AR object, as the occlusion processing (Held Fig.7 and [0057]: With reference also to FIG. 7, based on determining that couch 604 is located between the HMD device 104 and the stereoscopic 3D movie 216 at the modified display distance 616, the modified display distance may be shortened to a shortened modified display distance 704 that is between the occluding object 604 and the location of the HMD device 608. Using the shortened modified display distance 704 and as explained above, the size of the stereoscopic 3D movie 216 also may be scaled to account for the shortened modified display distance 704). The same reason to combine as that of Claim 2 is applied.
Regarding Claims 10-14, Claims 10-14 are similar to Claims 2 and 6-9 except in the format of storage medium. Therefore the rejections to Claims 2 and 6-9 are also applied to Claims 10-14.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisner-Kollmann et al. (US 2015/0062120 A1) in view of Held et al. (US 2019/0238818 A1), Liu et al. (US 2014/0169623 A1) and Tian et al. (US 2022/0230383 A1) as applied to Claim 1/2/10 above, and further in view of Hildreth et al. (US 2017/0278304 A1).
Regarding Claim 15-17, Reisner-Kollmann as modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor is used both for the occlusion processing and for generating the depth map of the trigger object used for gesture detection, such that a same per-pixel depth information from the ToF sensor is applied to both determining a front/back relationship and determining the gesture.
However Hildreth discloses including a time-of-flight camera to provide depth information to a control unit (Fig.1 and [0023]: HMD 100 also includes an optional depth camera 104. Depth camera 104 is configured to provide depth information 105 to the control unit 106. In some aspects, the depth camera 104 is a ranging camera, such as a time-of-flight (ToF) camera). Hildreth discloses Depending on the VR simulation, the depth information provided by depth image 302 may be utilized such that the physical object (e.g., hand 210) may be occluded by close virtual objects in the virtual image 310. For example, VR engine 122 may be configured to compare a z-buffer of the rendered VR scene with the depth information provided by depth image 302 to determine whether one or more virtual objects should be presented in front of (i.e., occlude) the hand 210 in combined image 312 ([0040]). Hildreth further discloses the depth information can be used to determine a gesture (Fig.4 and [0043]: Next, in process block 406, VR engine 122 determines a spatial relationship between a user of the HMD (e.g., user 202 of HMD 204) and one or more physical objects (e.g., desk/table 212, keyboard 214, and monitor 216) included in the physical environment 200 based on the depth information 105. As will be discussed in more detail below, determining the spatial relationship may be based, in part, on whether user 202 is touching a physical object, a distance between the user 202 and the physical object, a hand gesture of the user 202, and/or one or more past models of the physical environment 200). Since depth information is obtained through a ranging ToF camera which is to detect a reflected light at arrived at the depth sensor and the depth information can be used for both occlusion processing and gesture recognition, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to use the same per-pixel depth information from the ToF sensor to both determining a front/back relationship and determining the gesture. The reason to use the same per-pixel depth information is to avoiding capturing the same information therefore reducing processing time and computing resource. Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Hildreth into that of Reisner-Kollmann as modified and to include the limitation of the depth data acquired by the ToF sensor is used both for the occlusion processing and for generating the depth map of the trigger object used for gesture detection, such that a same per-pixel depth information from the ToF sensor is applied to both determining a front/back relationship and determining the gesture in order to display both the virtual image and the one or more physical objects that were captured by the visual camera 102 as suggested by Hildreth ([0044]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613