DETAILED ACTION
This application has been examined.
Claims 1-33 were originally filed. In a preliminary amendment claims 2-4, 9, 11-12, 14, 17-18, 20, and 26-27 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 5-7, 10, 13, 15-16, 19, 21-25, and 28-33 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The title should better reflect the concept of sidelink resource allocation and selection that is described in the application.
Claim Interpretation
Please note that most claims comprise “or”, and “at least one of” statements which only require one of the conditions to be met. This is applied to all the claims with such limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 19, 21, and 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0023145).
Regarding claim 1 Wang discloses a data transmission method, applied to a first communication node, comprising:
indicating a reference resource set (paragraph 0126; a set of resources indicated in a SL resource indicator), wherein the reference resource set comprises at least one reference resource, and a reference resource of the at least one reference resource comprises at least one of: a first type resource or a second type resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on preferred resources, not preferred resources, and resources experiencing a collision); and
receiving feedback information for at least one reference resource in the reference resource set (paragraph 0218; resource selection from the receiving UE is received);
wherein the first type resource is a reference resource that meets a first transmission condition, wherein the first transmission condition is a condition that satisfies the first communication node transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on preferred resources); or
the second type resource is a reference resource that meets a second transmission condition, wherein the second transmission condition is a condition that does not satisfy the first communication node transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on not preferred resources);
wherein the reference resource comprises at least one of:
a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource; a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource; a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource; a PSCCH resource and a PSSCH resource associated with the PSCCH resource; or a PSSCH resource and a PSFCH resource associated with the PSSCH resource (paragraphs 0081-0087; PSCCH/PSSCH, feedback channel for HARQ-ACK PSFCH); and
wherein indicating the reference resource set comprises: indicating resource configuration information of the at least one reference resource, wherein the resource configuration information comprises at least one of:
a time domain resource of a reference resource; a frequency domain resource of a reference resource; a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource of a reference resource; or a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; time and frequency resources).
Regarding claim 5 Wang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the reference resource set further comprises indicating at least one of following parameters: a period of a reference resource; a priority threshold; a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; a number of reference resources which need to be fed back or a delay threshold of receiving the feedback information (paragraphs 0086-0089; RSRP threshold, periodicity, priority).
Regarding claim 6 Wang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the reference resource set uses at least one of following manners: bearing on a PSSCH resource; indicating through a radio resource control (RRC) message; indicating through medium access control (MAC) information; indicating through sidelink control information (SCI) or indicating through second stage SCI (paragraph 0126; MAC CE).
Regarding claim 19 Wang discloses a data transmission method, applied to a second communication node, comprising:
receiving indication information of a reference resource set (paragraph 0126; a set of resources indicated in a SL resource indicator), wherein the reference resource set comprises at least one reference resource, and a reference resource of the at least one reference resource comprises at least one of: a first type resource or a second type resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on preferred resources, not preferred resources, and resources experiencing a collision);
determining feedback information for at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; and sending the feedback information (paragraph 0218; resource selection from the receiving UE is received);
wherein the indication information of the reference resource set comprises: resource configuration information of the at least one reference resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information fields); and
resource configuration information comprises at least one of:
a time domain resource of a reference resource; a frequency domain resource of a reference resource; a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource of a reference resource; or a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; time and frequency resources).
Regarding claim 21 Wang discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the indication information of the reference resource set comprises at least one of following parameters: a period of a reference resource; a priority threshold; a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; a number of reference resources which need to be fed back or a delay threshold of the feedback information (paragraphs 0086-0089; RSRP threshold, periodicity, priority).
Regarding claim 32 Wang discloses a data transmission device (fig. 13), comprising a communication module (transceivers 1306), a memory and one or more processors (memory 1304, processor 1302), wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication interaction between a first communication node and a second communication node (paragraph 0236; communication between UE and base station); and the memory is configured to store one or more programs (paragraph 0227; software stored in memory); wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform step, wherein the steps comprises:
indicating a reference resource set (paragraph 0126; a set of resources indicated in a SL resource indicator), wherein the reference resource set comprises at least one reference resource, and a reference resource of the at least one reference resource comprises at least one of: a first type resource or a second type resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on preferred resources, not preferred resources, and resources experiencing a collision); and
receiving feedback information for at least one reference resource in the reference resource set (paragraph 0218; resource selection from the receiving UE is received), wherein
the first type resource is a reference resource that meets a first transmission condition, wherein the first transmission condition is a condition that satisfies the first communication node transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on preferred resources); or the second type resource is a reference resource that meets a second transmission condition, wherein the second transmission condition is a condition that does not satisfy the first communication node transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0127-0132; wherein the indication provides information on not preferred resources);
wherein the reference resource comprises at least one of:
a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource; a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource; a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource; a PSCCH resource and a PSSCH resource associated with the PSCCH resource; or a PSSCH resource and a PSFCH resource associated with the PSSCH resource (paragraphs 0081-0087; PSCCH/PSSCH, feedback channel for HARQ-ACK PSFCH); and
wherein indicating the reference resource set comprises: indicating resource configuration information of the at least one reference resource, wherein the resource configuration information comprises at least one of:
a time domain resource of a reference resource; a frequency domain resource of a reference resource; a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource of a reference resource; or a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0127-0132; time and frequency resources).
Regarding claim 33 Wang discloses a non-transitory storage medium for storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the method according to claim 1 (paragraph 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12-13, 15-16, 22-25, and 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Ganesan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0057121; hereinafter Ganesan).
Regarding claim 7 Wang discloses the method according to claim 1. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein in a case where the reference resource is the first type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of: receiving acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available; or receiving negative acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable; or wherein in a case where the reference resource is the second type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of: receiving acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable; or receiving negative acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094; wherein feedback is provided in a multi-bit format, with each bit indicating an ACK or NACK for each resource indicated to the receiving UE by a transmitting UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 10 Wang discloses the method according to claim 7. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses further comprising: marking at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to the received feedback information (paragraph 0094; multi-bit feedback); wherein in the case where the reference resource is the first type resource, marking the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of: in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an available resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being negative acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being RSRP of the reference resource and the RSRP of the reference resource being lower than a set RSRP threshold, marking the reference resource as an available resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being RSRP of the reference resource and the RSRP of the reference resource being higher than a set RSRP threshold, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority of the reference resource and the priority of the reference resource being higher than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an available resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority of the reference resource and the priority of the reference resource being lower than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority indicated in SCI received on the reference resource and the priority indicated in the SCI being higher than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; or in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority indicated in SCI received on the reference resource and the priority indicated in the SCI being lower than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an available resource; or wherein in the case where the reference resource is the second type resource, marking the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to the received feedback information comprises at least one of: in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being the acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; or in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being the negative acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an available resource (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; wherein feedback is provided in a multi-bit format, with each bit indicating an ACK or NACK for each resource indicated to the receiving UE by a transmitting UE, with a value 0 used to indicate unavailable resource, and 1 for available resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 13 Wang discloses the method according to claim 10. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses further comprising: selecting at least one resource for sending sidelink information, comprising at least one of: randomly selecting at least one available resource from the marked available resource for sending the sidelink information; selecting at least one available resource from the marked available resource with a first preset probability for sending the sidelink information; or placing the marked available resource in a candidate resource set, and randomly selecting at least one resource from the candidate resource set for sending the sidelink information; or further comprising: for the unavailable resource, performing at least one of: excluding the unavailable resource from a candidate resource set; selecting the unavailable resource with a second preset probability for sending sidelink information; or in a case where a candidate resource set or an available resource set is an empty set, selecting the unavailable resource for sending sidelink information (paragraphs 0087-0088, 0094-0098; transmitting UE performs resource (re)selection based on the feedback and available resources are used for transmission). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 15 Wang discloses the method according to claim 1. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises one of: receiving on a PSSCH resource; acquiring through an RRC message; acquiring through MAC information; acquiring through SCI; acquiring through second stage SCI; receiving on a PSFCH resource; or receiving on a reserved resource block (RB) on a PSFCH symbol (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; PSFCH resource used for feedback indication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 16 Wang discloses the method according to claim 7. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein the feedback information for the reference resource is determined as acknowledgement information or negative acknowledgement information in at least one of following manners: indicating a reference resource by a bitmap; a resource index number of a reference resource; or a resource pattern index of a reference resource; and wherein, in a case where the feedback information for the reference resource is determined as the acknowledgement information or the negative acknowledgement information by the bitmap, feedback information for each reference resource in the reference resource set is separately indicated with 1 bit according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; or in a case where the feedback information for the at least one reference resource is determined as the acknowledgement information or the negative acknowledgement information according to the resource index number of the reference resource, the resource index number of the reference resource refers to one of: a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to a time domain order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing reference resources which are after a slot where the feedback information is located according to a time domain order of the reference resources in the reference resource set; using a slot number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource; or using a frequency domain subchannel serial number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; wherein feedback is provided in a multi-bit format, with each bit indicating an ACK or NACK for each resource indicated to the receiving UE by a transmitting UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 22 Wang discloses the method according to claim 19. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein in a case where the reference resource is the first type resource, determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of: determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as acknowledgement information, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that a corresponding reference resource is available; or determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as negative acknowledgement information, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that a corresponding reference resource is unavailable (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; wherein feedback is provided in a multi-bit format, with each bit indicating an ACK or NACK for each resource indicated to the receiving UE by a transmitting UE, with a value 0 used to indicate unavailable resource, and 1 for available resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 23 Wang discloses the method according to claim 19. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein in a case where the reference resource is the second type resource, determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of: determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as acknowledgement information, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that a corresponding reference resource is unavailable; or determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as negative acknowledgement information, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that a corresponding reference resource is available (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; wherein feedback is provided in a multi-bit format, with each bit indicating an ACK or NACK for each resource indicated to the receiving UE by a transmitting UE, with a value 0 used to indicate unavailable resource, and 1 for available resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 24 Wang discloses the method according to claim 19. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises: the feedback information being a measurement result of the at least one reference resource, wherein a measurement result comprises at least one of: RSRP of a reference resource; priority of a reference resource; or priority indicated in sidelink control information (SCI) received on a reference resource (paragraphs 0081-0087, 0114-0116; RSRP measurements on candidate resources performed by receiving UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 25 Wang discloses the method according to claim 22. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein the feedback information for the reference resource is indicated as acknowledgement information or negative acknowledgement information in at least one of following manners: indicating a reference resource by a bitmap; indicating a resource index number of a reference resource; or indicating a resource pattern index of a reference resource; wherein in a case where the reference resource is indicated by the bitmap, feedback information for each reference resource in the reference resource set is separately indicated with 1 bit according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; or in a case where the resource index number of the reference resource is indicated, the resource index number of the reference resource refers to one of: a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to a time domain order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing reference resources which are after a slot where the feedback information is located according to a time domain order of the reference resources in the reference resource set; using a slot number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource; or using a frequency domain subchannel serial number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; wherein feedback is provided in a multi-bit format or bitmap, with each bit indicating an ACK or NACK for each resource indicated to the receiving UE by a transmitting UE, with a value 0 used to indicate unavailable resource, and 1 for available resource). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 28 Wang discloses the method according to claim 19. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set is determined according to at least one of: in a case where RSRP of a reference resource is lower than a set RSRP threshold, determining the feedback information as acknowledgement information; in a case where RSRP of a reference resource is higher than a set RSRP threshold, determining the feedback information as negative acknowledgement information; in a case where priority indicated in SCI received on a reference resource is higher than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as negative acknowledgement information; in a case where priority indicated in SCI received on a reference resource is lower than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as acknowledgement information; in a case where priority of a reference resource is higher than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as acknowledgement information; or in a case where priority of a reference resource is lower than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as negative acknowledgement information (paragraphs 0081-0087, 0114-0116; RSRP measurements on candidate resources performed by receiving UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 29 Wang discloses the method according to claim 21. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set is determined according to at least one of: determining feedback information for the reference resource according to a period of the reference resource; or determining feedback information for at least one of following numbers of reference resources according to a number N of reference resources which need to be fed back: feedback information for N reference resources; feedback information for at least N reference resources; or feedback information for at most N reference resources (paragraphs 0108, 0115-0116; UE-B, after receiving the assistance information from UE-A, may consider the assistance information for next scheduling period/slot). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 30 Wang discloses the method according to claim 21. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses before a delay threshold of the feedback information, sending the feedback information (paragraphs 0073-0077, 0098-0101; time period m-T3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 31 Wang discloses the method according to claim 19. Wang fails to disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to inter-UE coordination, discloses wherein sending the feedback information comprises sending the feedback information in one of following manners: sending on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource; sending through a radio resource control (RRC) message; sending through SCI; sending through second stage SCI; sending on a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource; or sending on a reserved resource block (RB) on a PSFCH symbol (paragraphs 0081, 0087, 0089, 0094, 0101, 0103; PSFCH resource used for feedback indication). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to increase sidelink efficiency (Ganesan: paragraph 0035).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 12,167,456 to Ye et al. – that discloses assisting the transmitting UE to efficiently perform subsequent sidelink transmission based on the enhanced mechanism. The enhanced mechanism may reduce the size of a payload of the feedback channel. Additionally, the embodiments of the mechanism as described in the present disclosure can enhance the reliability of the sidelink resource selection and the sidelink transmission by reducing collision probability and by avoiding half-duplex issues. Subsequently, the sidelink resource utilization efficiency can be improved.
USPN 11,770,820 to Hwang et al. – which discloses SL unicast and groupcast, HARQ feedback and HARQ combining in the physical layer may be supported. For example, when a receiving UE operates in a resource allocation mode 1 or 2, the receiving UE may receive the PSSCH from a transmitting UE, and the receiving UE may transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH to the transmitting UE by using a sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) format through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH).
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466