DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments filed on 01/23/2026.
Claims 7, 22-23 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 10, 16, 19, 25, and 32 are amended. Claims 1, 5-6, 10, 13, 15-16, 19, 21, 24-25, and 28-33 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
The title of the application has been amended, and the objection has been overcome.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Please note that most claims comprise “or”, and “at least one of” statements which only require one of the conditions to be met. This is applied to all the claims with such limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10, 13, 15-16, 19, 21, 24-25, and 28-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0105104; hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 1 Cao discloses a method for transmitting feedback information for reference resource in sidelink communication, applied to a transmit user equipment, comprising:
indicating a reference resource set, wherein the reference resource set comprises at least one reference resource (paragraphs 0109-0111; UEs are configured with a resource pool which includes potential resources to be used for sidelink communications), and a reference resource of the at least one reference resource comprises at least one of: a first type resource or a second type resource (paragraphs 0080-0081, 0109-0119; reserved resources which will be determined, the each receiving UE, to be available or unavailable for sidelink transmissions); and
receiving feedback information for at least one reference resource in the reference resource set (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0187-0191; wherein receiving UEs perform a sensing operation and indicate to transmitting UE if the sensed resources can be used for sidelink between transmitting UE and receiving UE);
wherein
the first type resource is a reference resource that meets a first transmission condition, wherein the first transmission condition is a condition that satisfies the transmit user equipment transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0187-0191; wherein receiving UEs perform a sensing operation and indicate to transmitting UE if the sensed resources can be used for sidelink between transmitting UE and receiving UE); or
the second type resource is a reference resource that meets a second transmission condition, wherein the second transmission condition is a condition that does not satisfy the transmit user equipment transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0039, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117; wherein receiving UEs can exclude resources from the pool, after sensing, and indicate the exclusion to the transmitting UE);
wherein the reference resource comprises at least one of:
a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource; a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource; a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource; a PSCCH resource and a PSSCH resource associated with the PSCCH resource; or a PSSCH resource and a PSFCH resource associated with the PSSCH resource (paragraph 0115; PSCCH, PSSCH);
wherein indicating the reference resource set comprises: indicating resource configuration information of the at least one reference resource (paragraphs 0050-0053, 0093-0095, 0109-0111; the UEs are configured with resource information for sidelink), wherein the resource configuration information comprises a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0050-0053, 0093-0095, 0109-0111; the UEs are provided with time-frequency resource pattern (TFRP) index);
wherein in a case where the reference resource is the first type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of:
receiving acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available; or receiving negative acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of reserved resources that are available and to be used for sidelink transmission – wherein since the claim does not provide an indication of what this acknowledgement comprises, the teachings of the reference are believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language);
wherein in a case where the reference resource is the second type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of:
receiving acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable; or receiving negative acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of excluded resources that are unavailable for sidelink communications – wherein since the claim does not provide an indication of what this negative acknowledgement comprises, the teachings of the reference are believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language).
Regarding claim 5 Cao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the reference resource set further comprises indicating at least one of following parameters: a period of a reference resource; a priority threshold; a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; a number of reference resources which need to be fed back or a delay threshold of receiving the feedback information (paragraphs 0068-0072, 0081-0082, 0109-0111; periodicity, priority, RSRP).
Regarding claim 6 Cao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein indicating the reference resource set uses at least one of following manners: bearing on a PSSCH resource; indicating through a radio resource control (RRC) message; indicating through medium access control (MAC) information; indicating through sidelink control information (SCI) or indicating through second stage SCI (paragraphs 0042-0043, 0068, 0199; two stage SCI, or RRC).
Regarding claim 10 Cao discloses the method according to claim 1, discloses further comprising: marking at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to the received feedback information (figure 2, for example); wherein in the case where the reference resource is the first type resource, marking the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of: in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an available resource (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of reserved resources that are available and to be used for sidelink transmission); in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being negative acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of excluded resources that are unavailable for sidelink communications); in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being RSRP of the reference resource and the RSRP of the reference resource being lower than a set RSRP threshold, marking the reference resource as an available resource (paragraphs 0081, 0116, 0222-0230; RSRP lower than a threshold indicates available resource); in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being RSRP of the reference resource and the RSRP of the reference resource being higher than a set RSRP threshold, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority of the reference resource and the priority of the reference resource being higher than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an available resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority of the reference resource and the priority of the reference resource being lower than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority indicated in SCI received on the reference resource and the priority indicated in the SCI being higher than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; or in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being priority indicated in SCI received on the reference resource and the priority indicated in the SCI being lower than a set priority threshold, marking the reference resource as an available resource; or wherein in the case where the reference resource is the second type resource, marking the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to the received feedback information comprises at least one of: in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being the acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an unavailable resource; or in response to feedback information corresponding to a reference resource being the negative acknowledgement information, marking the reference resource as an available resource (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of excluded resources that are unavailable for sidelink communications).
Regarding claim 13 Cao discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising: selecting at least one resource for sending sidelink information, comprising at least one of: randomly selecting at least one available resource from the marked available resource for sending the sidelink information (paragraphs 0107, 0193; using selected resources (i.e. those indicated as available) for transmission); selecting at least one available resource from the marked available resource with a first preset probability for sending the sidelink information; or placing the marked available resource in a candidate resource set, and randomly selecting at least one resource from the candidate resource set for sending the sidelink information; or
further comprising: for the unavailable resource, performing at least one of: excluding the unavailable resource from a candidate resource set (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of excluded resources that are unavailable for sidelink communications); selecting the unavailable resource with a second preset probability for sending sidelink information; or in a case where a candidate resource set or an available resource set is an empty set, selecting the unavailable resource for sending sidelink information.
Regarding claim 15 Cao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises one of: receiving on a PSSCH resource; acquiring through an RRC message; acquiring through MAC information; acquiring through SCI; acquiring through second stage SCI; receiving on a PSFCH resource; or receiving on a reserved resource block (RB) on a PSFCH symbol (paragraphs 0192, 0285-0311; using PSSCH resources, for example).
Regarding claim 16 Cao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the feedback information for the reference resource is determined as acknowledgement information or negative acknowledgement information in at least one of following manners: indicating a reference resource by a bitmap; a resource index number of a reference resource; or a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0192, 0285-0311; TFRP index); and wherein, in a case where the feedback information for the reference resource is determined as the acknowledgement information or the negative acknowledgement information by the bitmap, feedback information for each reference resource in the reference resource set is separately indicated with 1 bit according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; or in a case where the feedback information for the at least one reference resource is determined as the acknowledgement information or the negative acknowledgement information according to the resource index number of the reference resource, the resource index number of the reference resource refers to one of: a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to a time domain order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing reference resources which are after a slot where the feedback information is located according to a time domain order of the reference resources in the reference resource set; using a slot number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource; or using a frequency domain subchannel serial number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource (paragraphs 0192, 0285-0311; TFRP index).
Regarding claim 19 Cao discloses a method for transmitting feedback information for reference resource in sidelink communication, applied to a receive user equipment, comprising:
receiving indication information of a reference resource set (paragraphs 0109-0111; UEs are configured with a resource pool which includes potential resources to be used for sidelink communications), wherein the reference resource set comprises at least one reference resource, and a reference resource of the at least one reference resource comprises at least one of: a first type resource or a second type resource (paragraphs 0080-0081, 0109-0119; reserved resources which will be determined, the each receiving UE, to be available or unavailable for sidelink transmissions);
determining feedback information for at least one reference resource in the reference resource set paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0187-0191; wherein receiving UEs perform a sensing operation and indicate to transmitting UE if the sensed resources can be used for sidelink between transmitting UE and receiving UE; and
sending the feedback information (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0187-0191; wherein receiving UEs perform a sensing operation and indicate to transmitting UE if the sensed resources can be used for sidelink between transmitting UE and receiving UE);
wherein the indication information of the reference resource set comprises: resource configuration information of the at least one reference resource (paragraphs 0050-0053, 0093-0095, 0109-0111; the UEs are configured with resource information for sidelink); and the resource configuration information comprises a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0050-0053, 0093-0095, 0109-0111; the UEs are provided with time-frequency resource pattern (TFRP) index);
wherein in a case where the reference resource is the first type resource, determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of:
determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as acknowledgement information, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available; or determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as negative acknowledgement information, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of reserved resources that are available and to be used for sidelink transmission – wherein since the claim does not provide an indication of what this acknowledgement comprises, the teachings of the reference are believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language);
wherein in a case where the reference resource is the second type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of:
determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as acknowledgement information, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable; or determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set as negative acknowledgement information, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of excluded resources that are unavailable for sidelink communications – wherein since the claim does not provide an indication of what this negative acknowledgement comprises, the teachings of the reference are believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language).
Regarding claim 21 Cao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the indication information of the reference resource set comprises at least one of following parameters: a period of a reference resource; a priority threshold; a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold; a number of reference resources which need to be fed back or a delay threshold of the feedback information (paragraphs 0068-0072, 0081-0082, 0109-0111; periodicity, priority, RSRP).
Regarding claim 24 Cao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein determining the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises: the feedback information being a measurement result of the at least one reference resource, wherein a measurement result comprises at least one of: RSRP of a reference resource (paragraphs 0080-0081, 0091, 0116; RSRP threshold); priority of a reference resource (paragraphs 0080-0081, 0091, 0116; priority of the resources); or priority indicated in sidelink control information (SCI) received on a reference resource (paragraphs 0080-0081, 0091, 0116).
Regarding claim 25 Cao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the feedback information for the reference resource is indicated as acknowledgement information or negative acknowledgement information in at least one of following manners: indicating a reference resource by a bitmap; indicating a resource index number of a reference resource; or indicating a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0192, 0285-0311; TFRP index); wherein in a case where the reference resource is indicated by the bitmap, feedback information for each reference resource in the reference resource set is separately indicated with 1 bit according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; or in a case where the resource index number of the reference resource is indicated, the resource index number of the reference resource refers to one of: a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to an order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set according to a time domain order of the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set; a resource index number determined by sequencing reference resources which are after a slot where the feedback information is located according to a time domain order of the reference resources in the reference resource set; using a slot number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource; or using a frequency domain subchannel serial number of the reference resource as the resource index number of the reference resource (paragraphs 0192, 0285-0311; TFRP index).
Regarding claim 28 Cao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set is determined according to at least one of: in a case where RSRP of a reference resource is lower than a set RSRP threshold, determining the feedback information as acknowledgement information (paragraphs 0081, 0116, 0222-0230; RSRP lower than a threshold indicates available resource); in a case where RSRP of a reference resource is higher than a set RSRP threshold, determining the feedback information as negative acknowledgement information; in a case where priority indicated in SCI received on a reference resource is higher than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as negative acknowledgement information; in a case where priority indicated in SCI received on a reference resource is lower than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as acknowledgement information; in a case where priority of a reference resource is higher than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as acknowledgement information; or in a case where priority of a reference resource is lower than a set priority threshold, determining the feedback information as negative acknowledgement information (paragraphs 0081, 0116, 0222-0230; priority lower than a threshold indicates available resource).
Regarding claim 29 Cao discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set is determined according to at least one of: determining feedback information for the reference resource according to a period of the reference resource (paragraphs 0071-0072, 0083, 0110-0111, 0138, 0264-0265; reservation period); or determining feedback information for at least one of following numbers of reference resources according to a number N of reference resources which need to be fed back: feedback information for N reference resources; feedback information for at least N reference resources; or feedback information for at most N reference resources.
Regarding claim 30 Cao discloses the method according to claim 21, before a delay threshold of the feedback information, sending the feedback information (paragraphs 0276; length of the selection window may also be determined and bounded by the delay constraint of the data packets/traffic that UE plans to transmit).
Regarding claim 31 Cao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein sending the feedback information comprises sending the feedback information in one of following manners: sending on a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource; sending through a radio resource control (RRC) message; sending through SCI; sending through second stage SCI; sending on a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource; or sending on a reserved resource block (RB) on a PSFCH symbol (paragraphs 0192, 0285-0311; using PSSCH resources, for example).
Regarding claim 32 Cao discloses a device for transmitting feedback information for reference resource in sidelink communication (fig. 6), comprising a communication module (communication subsystem 670b), a memory and one or more processors (memory 678b, processor 676b), wherein the communication module is configured to perform communication interaction between a transmit user equipment and a receive user equipment (communication module 680b); and the memory is configured to store one or more programs (communication module 680b); wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform step, wherein the steps comprises:
indicating a reference resource set, wherein the reference resource set comprises at least one reference resource (paragraphs 0109-0111; UEs are configured with a resource pool which includes potential resources to be used for sidelink communications), and a reference resource of the at least one reference resource comprises at least one of: a first type resource or a second type resource (paragraphs 0080-0081, 0109-0119; reserved resources which will be determined, the each receiving UE, to be available or unavailable for sidelink transmissions); and
receiving feedback information for at least one reference resource in the reference resource set (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0187-0191; wherein receiving UEs perform a sensing operation and indicate to transmitting UE if the sensed resources can be used for sidelink between transmitting UE and receiving UE);
wherein
the first type resource is a reference resource that meets a first transmission condition, wherein the first transmission condition is a condition that satisfies the transmit user equipment transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0187-0191; wherein receiving UEs perform a sensing operation and indicate to transmitting UE if the sensed resources can be used for sidelink between transmitting UE and receiving UE); or
the second type resource is a reference resource that meets a second transmission condition, wherein the second transmission condition is a condition that does not satisfy the transmit user equipment transmitting sidelink information (paragraphs 0039, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117; wherein receiving UEs can exclude resources from the pool, after sensing, and indicate the exclusion to the transmitting UE);
wherein the reference resource comprises at least one of:
a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource; a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) resource; a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource; a PSCCH resource and a PSSCH resource associated with the PSCCH resource; or a PSSCH resource and a PSFCH resource associated with the PSSCH resource (paragraph 0115; PSCCH, PSSCH);
wherein indicating the reference resource set comprises: indicating resource configuration information of the at least one reference resource (paragraphs 0050-0053, 0093-0095, 0109-0111; the UEs are configured with resource information for sidelink), wherein the resource configuration information comprises a resource pattern index of a reference resource (paragraphs 0050-0053, 0093-0095, 0109-0111; the UEs are provided with time-frequency resource pattern (TFRP) index);
wherein in a case where the reference resource is the first type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of:
receiving acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available; or receiving negative acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of reserved resources that are available and to be used for sidelink transmission – wherein since the claim does not provide an indication of what this acknowledgement comprises, the teachings of the reference are believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language);
wherein in a case where the reference resource is the second type resource, receiving the feedback information for the at least one reference resource in the reference resource set comprises at least one of:
receiving acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is unavailable; or receiving negative acknowledgement information for a reference resource, wherein the negative acknowledgement information represents that the corresponding reference resource is available (paragraphs 0010, 0041, 0080-0081, 0091, 0117, 0187-0191; wherein the receiving UE will provide the transmitting UE indication of excluded resources that are unavailable for sidelink communications – wherein since the claim does not provide an indication of what this negative acknowledgement comprises, the teachings of the reference are believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language).
Regarding claim 33 Cao discloses a non-transitory storage medium for storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, implements the method according to claim 1 (paragraphs 0341, 0389).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 12,167,456 to Ye et al. – that discloses assisting the transmitting UE to efficiently perform subsequent sidelink transmission based on the enhanced mechanism. The enhanced mechanism may reduce the size of a payload of the feedback channel. Additionally, the embodiments of the mechanism as described in the present disclosure can enhance the reliability of the sidelink resource selection and the sidelink transmission by reducing collision probability and by avoiding half-duplex issues. Subsequently, the sidelink resource utilization efficiency can be improved.
USPN 11,770,820 to HCao et al. – which discloses SL unicast and groupcast, HARQ feedback and HARQ combining in the physical layer may be supported. For example, when a receiving UE operates in a resource allocation mode 1 or 2, the receiving UE may receive the PSSCH from a transmitting UE, and the receiving UE may transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH to the transmitting UE by using a sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) format through a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466