DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-2008027674-A (U) in view of US-20140186727-A1 (K).
Regarding claim 1, U teaches:
A fuel cell membrane humidifier (10) comprising: a mid-case (5);
partition walls (37, 39) configured to partition an inner space of the mid-case into a first space (47) and a second space (49), a first off-gas inlet (33) connected to a first off-gas branch flow path and configured such that off-gas discharged from a fuel cell stack flows into the first space through the first off-gas inlet;
a second off-gas inlet (35) connected to a second off-gas branch flow path and configured such that the off-gas discharged from the fuel cell stack flows into the second space through the second off-gas inlet;
and a single off-gas outlet (36) configured to discharge the off-gas from the first space and the second space.
U teaches a hollow fiber membrane module (7) where the off-gas passes through to humidify dry gas [0030]. U teaches an off-gas outlet space (51). U teaches the benefit of having a first and second off-gas inlet is that the configuration allows for adjusting the length of the flow path of the off-gas inside of the humidifier to control the level of humidification [0008-9].
U does not teach the single off-gas outlet is formed between the partition walls.
K teaches a fuel cell humidifier (10) with two off-gas inputs (15a, 15b) at opposite ends of the humidifier. K teaches two off-gas outlets (17a, 17b) at opposite ends of the humidifier. K teaches the benefit of locating the inputs at the opposite sides of the humidifier is that it allows for switching between co-flow and counter-flow of the off-gas with respect to the dry air flow (see Fig. 4). K teaches this is beneficial because it allows for adjustment of the humidification during different process conditions [0078].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to modify the humidifier of U to enable switching between counter-flow and co-flow like that of K in order to achieve the benefit for allowing for adjustment of humidification during different process conditions. This modification would involve moving the inlets to opposite sides of the humidifier which is the configuration taught by K. At the same time, in order to preserve the original function of U, the two inlets must be different distances from the outlet, so the outlet must be farther from one inlet than the other. Additionally, in order to enable the selection of co-flow and counter-flow, the outlet must be located in a place where the gas will flow towards the end portion 15 from one inlet and towards end portion 13 from the other. This is only possible if the outlet is located between the two inlets.
Therefore, in the modification of U to allow for the selection between counter-flow and co-flow, the outlet must be located between the first and second inlet, and the partition walls must separate the first and second spaces (47, 49) from the off-gas outlet space (51) to allow for the gas to flow through the hollow fiber membrane module.
The combination of U and K would therefore teach the outlet is between the partition walls, therefore, claim 1 is unpatentable over the combination of U and K.
Regarding claim 2, U teaches the first off-gas inlet and the second off-gas inlet are formed at a 90 degree angle (see Fig. 2).
As mentioned in the Claim Interpretation section of the previous correspondence, no definitions for “inclined” or “preset angle” were provided. The examiner has interpreted first and second gas inlets that are at right angles with either of the length or width of a humidifier are still inclined at a preset angle.
Regarding claim 6, U teaches a fuel cell system (entirety of Fig. 1) comprising:
a blower (21) configured to supply a dry gas;
a fuel cell stack (3); and
A fuel cell membrane humidifier (10) comprising: a mid-case (5);
partition walls (37, 39) configured to partition an inner space of the mid-case into a first space (47) and a second space (49), a first off-gas inlet (33) connected to a first off-gas branch flow path and configured such that off-gas discharged from a fuel cell stack flows into the first space through the first off-gas inlet;
a second off-gas inlet (35) connected to a second off-gas branch flow path and configured such that the off-gas discharged from the fuel cell stack flows into the second space through the second off-gas inlet;
and a single off-gas outlet (36) configured to discharge the off-gas from the first space and the second space.
U teaches a hollow fiber membrane module (7) where the off-gas passes through to humidify dry gas [0030]. U teaches an off-gas outlet space (51). U teaches the benefit of having a first and second off-gas inlet is that the configuration allows for adjusting the length of the flow path of the off-gas inside of the humidifier to control the level of humidification [0008-9].
U does not teach the single off-gas outlet is formed between the partition walls.
K teaches a fuel cell humidifier (10) with two off-gas inputs (15a, 15b) at opposite ends of the humidifier. K teaches two off-gas outlets (17a, 17b) at opposite ends of the humidifier. K teaches the benefit of locating the inputs at the opposite sides of the humidifier is that it allows for switching between co-flow and counter-flow of the off-gas with respect to the dry air flow (see Fig. 4). K teaches this is beneficial because it allows for adjustment of the humidification during different process conditions [0078].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to modify the humidifier of U to enable switching between counter-flow and co-flow like that of K in order to achieve the benefit for allowing for adjustment of humidification during different process conditions. This modification would involve moving the inlets to opposite sides of the humidifier which is the configuration taught by K. At the same time, in order to preserve the original function of U, the two inlets must be different distances from the outlet, so the outlet must be farther from one inlet than the other. Additionally, in order to enable the selection of co-flow and counter-flow, the outlet must be located in a place where the gas will flow towards the end portion 15 from one inlet and towards end portion 13 from the other. This is only possible if the outlet is located between the two inlets.
Therefore, in the modification of U to allow for the selection between counter-flow and co-flow, the outlet must be located between the first and second inlet, and the partition walls must separate the first and second spaces (47, 49) from the off-gas outlet space (51) to allow for the gas to flow through the hollow fiber membrane module.
The combination of U and K would therefore teach the outlet is between the partition walls, therefore, claim 6 is unpatentable over the combination of U and K.
Regarding claim 7, U teaches the first off-gas inlet and the second off-gas inlet are formed at a 90 degree angle (see Fig. 2).
As mentioned in the Claim Interpretation section of the previous correspondence, no definitions for “inclined” or “preset angle” were provided. The examiner has interpreted first and second gas inlets that are at right angles with either of the length or width of a humidifier are still inclined at a preset angle.
Regarding claim 11, U teaches a humidified gas supply flow path (17) configured to supply a gas humidified in the fuel cell membrane humidifier to the fuel cell stack; an off-gas supply flow path (27) configured to supply the off-gas discharged from the fuel cell stack to the fuel cell membrane humidifier; and a first off-gas branch flow path (A) branched from the off-gas supply flow path and connected to the first off-gas inlet, and a second off-gas branch flow path (B) branched from the off-gas supply flow path and connected to the second off-gas inlet.
Regarding claim 12, U teaches a flow adjustment means (53) for adjusting a flow rate of the off-gas to the first off-gas branch flow path and the second off-gas branch flow path, the flow adjustment means being formed between the first off-gas branch flow path and the second off-gas branch flow path.
Conclusion
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721