DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action details a final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1, 10, and 13-18 are pending in this application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 15, and 18 are amended. Claims 2-9 and 10-12 are cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The claim amendments filed on 28 Sep. 2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claims 15 and 18 under 35 USC 112(a) because the specification not reasonably provide enablement for preventing neo-angiogenesis and/or angiogenesis is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, 13-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(2) as being anticipated by Wurzer et al. (WO 2019/020831 A1; published 31 Jan. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Regarding claims 1-4, and 6-10, Wurzer et al. teach the PSMA ligand 10 that comprises the isomer
(pgs. 39, 77). Wurzer et al. provides for 177Lu- natF-10 and 68Ga-natF-10 (pg. 58, Fig. 31,32 and 34) and their use in small animal imaging experiments in LNCaP (prostate cancer) tumor bearing SCID mice (pgs. 58, 82). These compounds comprise a compound of instant formula (1) wherein M3+ is a Lu3+ (177Lu3+) or a Ga3+ (68Ga3+). Regarding claims 13-14, and 16-17, the small animal experiments read on a methods of imaging, treating, and/or diagnosing (prostate) cancer comprising administering a compound of claim 1 to a patient in need thereof.
Applicants’ Arguments
Applicants assert that the compound of pages 39 and 77 is not chelated to 177Lu3+. Wurzer discloses about a hundred of cations that may be chelated by the chelating group and Wurzer does not suggest that 177Lu3+ is the cation chelated to the compound of pages 39 and 77. Wurzer does not specify the chiral configurations of the long of the 177Lu-natF-10 on pg. 58. There is no teaching that the ligand of the compound claimed in the pending claims with the specific chiral configuration.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 Oct. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Wurzer discloses the 177Lu-natF-10 as a stereoisomeric mixture that comprises the isomer compound of formula (I) complexing 177Lu3+ such that instant M3+ is 177Lu3+. At pgs. 38-39, compound 10 is identified as a racemic compound comprising the claimed isomer. Accordingly, the 177Lu-natF-10 disclosed in Wurzer and pharmaceutical composition thereof anticipates claims as amended because the 177Lu-natF-10 comprises the claimed stereoisomer of formula (1) wherein M3+ is 177Lu3+. At no place does Wurzer teach or suggest that the 177Lu-natF-10 comprising the 10 identified as racemic comprises an unidentified stereoisomer different from the stereoisomeric configuration of formula (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wurzer et al. (WO 2019/020831 A1; published 31 Jan. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Wurzer et al. teach as discussed above. Wurzer et al. teach dual mode radiotracer and therapeutics (see title). The invention provides for a ligand-SIFA conjugate comprising within a single molecule three separate moieties: (i) one or more ligands, (ii) a SIFA moiety, and (iii) one or more chelating groups optionally containing a chelated nonradioactive or radioactive cation (see abstract). The fluorine atom on the SIFA can be 19F or 18F (pg. 6). The hydrophilic chelator can be DOTAGA or DOTA (pgs. 7 and 13). Preferred cations include 68Ga, 225Ac, and 177Lu (pgs. 14, 48, and 89). Wurzer et al. teach 177Lu-natF-ligand 10 and log D of -3.59±0.05 and IC50 of 2.8±0.7 nM and an internalization of 184.1±116 (pgs. 78-82). Wurzer et al. teach biodistribution studies of 177Lu- natF-10 and 68Ga-natF-10 (pg. 58, Fig. 31,32 and 34). Wurzer et al. teach diagnosis, imaging or prevention of neoangiogenesis/angiogenesis (pgs.46, and 96). Wurzer et al. teach methods of imaging diagnosing or treating cancer wherein the cancer is prostate (pg. 96).
Wurzer et al. do not disclose a compound of claim 1 wherein M3+ is 225Ac3+ or the compound
wherein the F is an 18F or exemplify a method of diagnosing, imaging, or prevention neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the claimed compound.
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wurzer et al. by substituting the chelated radioactive cation with 225Ac as taught by Wurzer et al. because the substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of radiotherapy of prostate cancer. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wurzer et al. by substituting the F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wurzer et al. because that compound would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex that advantageously enables PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wurzer et al. by diagnosing, imaging, or preventing neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the compound of claim 1 or 10 to an patient in need thereof as taught by Wurzer et al. because it would have been expected to advantageously enable in vivo diagnosing, imaging, and/or preventing.
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STN RN 22781115-11-6 (entered 19 Feb. 2019), in view of Wester et al. (WO 2019/115547 A1; published 20 Jun. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
STN RN 2271115-11-6 disclose the compound
.
STN RN 2271115-11-6 do not teach the compound
or Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), and Ac (225Ac) complexes thereof. STN RN 2271115-11-6 do not further teach the compound
wherein the F is an 18F or exemplify a method of diagnosing, imaging, treating and/or preventing prostate cancer or neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the claimed compound.
Wester et al. teach PSMA ligands for imaging and endoradiotherapy (see title). Wester et al. teach compounds of formula (I)
wherein the -X2-L1-X1- is preferably
wherein R9A and R11A may be C1 to C10 alkanediyl substituted with -CO2H, and R10A may be a linear C2 to C10 alkanediyl, r may be 1, and Rm-X3- may be
or
(pg. 21). Preferred chelated cations include 177Lu, 68Ga, and 225Ac (see pg. 22). Wester et al. teach 18F (pg. 3) Wester et al. teach the compound
(see pg. 81; psma-46). Wester et al. teach the EDS group wherein R6B is a substituent containing an electron lone pair at the atom attached to the Ph ring (see pgs. 7, 38, 93). An EDS group is an electron dense substituent (see pg. 13) that leads to unexpected advantages including high affinity and improved internalization (see pg. 8). Endotherapeutic approaches with [177Lu]PSMA I&T demonstrated efficacy, tolerability and high safety potential. Wester et al. teach diagnosing and/or treating cancer including prostate cancer and neoangiogenesis/angiogenesis (pg. 54). Wester et al. teach pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (pgs. 33-34).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify STN RN 2271115-11-6 by substituting the DOTAGA chelator with a DOTA chelator and then form metal complex optionally wherein the metal is Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) and optionally form a pharmaceutical composition with one of those compounds as taught by Wester et al. because the DOTA chelator would have expected to provide an equivalent chelator advantageously not comprising a stereocenter and because the Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes would have been expected to advantageously enable imaging and/or therapy. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify STN RN 2271115-11-6 by further substituting 19F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wester et al. because substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify STN RN 2271115-11-6 by further administering one of the obvious PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complexes to a subject for imaging, treating, or diagnosing prostate cancer or for diagnosing or imaging neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis as taught by Wester et al. because the administering would have been expected to advantageously enable in vivo diagnosing, imaging or treating.
Applicants’ Arguments
Applicants assert that there is no teaching in Wurzer that the specific ligand compound of the pending claims is chelated to 177Lu3+. One of ordinary skill would not be motivated to select the specific ligand compound with the particular chiral configurations from eight stereoisomers and 177Lu3+ from about a hundred cations to arrive at the compound of the pending claims. The Office gives no reason why the compound of STN RN 2271115-11-6 should be selected as the lead compound. STN RN 2271115-11-6 does not teach anything else for one or ordinary skill in the art to select the compound disclosed therein as a lead compound. There are no suggestions in Wester for the modifications to arrive at the compound as claimed. The cited EDS group appears to be irrelevant to any potential modification of the lead compound to arrive at the compound claimed in the present application.
Applicants’ arguments filed 28 Sep. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As discussed above, Wurzer discloses the 177Lu-natF-10 that comprises the compound of instant formula (1) wherein M3+ is 177Lu3+. Anticipation is the epitome of obviousness. See In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978). The 177Lu-natF-10 is taught and suggested as suitable for treatment of prostate cancer. At pg. 38-39, Wurzer identifies the unchelated stereoisomer of formula (I) as a suitable replacement for compound 10. Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirement is no more ingenuous than selecting the last piece to put into last opening in a jig-saw puzzle. It is not invention. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). The claimed compound of instant formula (1) complexing 177Lu would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date because it would have been expected to enable imaging and therapy of PSMA associated cancer.
STN RN 2271115-11-6 discloses an unchelated PSMA inhibitor compound having the same stereoisomeric configuration as instant formula (I) but differs from instant formula (I) as amended because it is unchelated and comprises the DOTAGA chelator rather than the DOTA chelator. The selection of known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. MPEP 2144.07. Wester teaches the DOTA and DOTAGA chelators as equivalent for PSMA inhibitor compounds since both chelators enable complexing the preferred cation 177Lu3+ suitable for imaging and therapy of prostate cancer. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the PSMA inhibitor compound disclosed by STN RN 2271115-11-6 by substituting the unchelated DOTAGA with 177Lu-DOTA to arrive at a compound of instant formula (I) and a pharmaceutical composition thereof because it would have been expected to enable imaging and therapy of prostate cancer with high efficacy, tolerability and high safety potential.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, and 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,360 B2, in view of Wester et al. (WO 2019/115547 A1; published 20 Jun. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,360 B2 claim the compound
or an individual isomer thereof optionally containing a chelated nonradioactive or radioactive metal cation and wherein the fluorine atom is 18F and wherein the chelated cation is selected from 68Ga, 177Lu, and 225Ac.
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,360 B2 do claim a compound having the spatial arrangement of formula (1) or a Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or a Ac (225Ac) complex thereof or the compound
wherein the F is an 18F or claim a method of diagnosing, imaging, treating and/or preventing prostate cancer or neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the claimed compound.
Wester et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,360 B2 so that stereocenters on the linker portion of the compound have the (R) configuration and optionally form a (177Lu), a Ga (68Ga), or a Ac (225Ac) complex thereof as part of a pharmaceutical composition as taught by Wester et al. because the (R) configuration would have been expected to advantageously provide an chiral pure derivative and because the complexes would have been expected to enable imaging and/or therapy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,360 B2 by further substituting 19F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wester et al. because substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,413,360 B2 by further administering one of the obvious PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complexes to a subject for imaging, treating, or diagnosing prostate cancer or for diagnosing or imaging neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis as taught by Wester et al. because the administering would have been expected to advantageously enable in vivo diagnosing, imaging or treating.
Claims 1, 10, and 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,540 B2, in view of Wester et al. (WO 2019/115547 A1; published 20 Jun. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,540 B2 claim the compound
and a pharmaceutical or diagnostic composition and optionally wherein the chelator contains a chelated cation selected from 68Ga, 177Lu, and 225Ac and optionally wherein the SIFA fluorine atom is 18F.
Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,540 B2 do claim a compound having the spatial arrangement of formula (1) or a Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or a Ac (225Ac) complex thereof or the compound
wherein the F is an 18F or claim a method of diagnosing, imaging, treating and/or preventing prostate cancer or neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the claimed compound.
Wester et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,540 B2 so that stereocenters on the linker portion of the compound have the (R) configuration and optionally form a (177Lu), a Ga (68Ga), or a Ac (225Ac) complex thereof as part of a pharmaceutical composition as taught by Wester et al. because the (R) configuration would have been expected to advantageously provide an chiral pure derivative and because the complexes would have been expected to enable imaging and/or therapy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,540 B2 by further substituting 19F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wester et al. because substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,390,540 B2 by further administering one of the obvious PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complexes to a subject for imaging, treating, or diagnosing prostate cancer or for diagnosing or imaging neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis as taught by Wester et al. because the administering would have been expected to advantageously enable in vivo diagnosing, imaging or treating.
Claims 1, 10, and 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,787 B2, in view of Wester et al. (WO 2019/115547 A1; published 20 Jun. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Claims `1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,787 B2 claim the compound
optionally containing a chelated radioactive cation optionally wherein cation is 68Ga, 177Lu, or 225Ac.
Claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,787 B2 do claim a compound having the spatial arrangement of formula (1) or a Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or a Ac (225Ac) complex thereof or the compound
wherein the F is an 18F or claim a method of diagnosing, imaging, treating and/or preventing prostate cancer or neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the claimed compound.
Wester et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,787 B2 so that stereocenters on the linker portion of the compound have the (R) configuration and optionally form a (177Lu), a Ga (68Ga), or a Ac (225Ac) complex thereof as part of a pharmaceutical composition as taught by Wester et al. because the (R) configuration would have been expected to advantageously provide an chiral pure derivative and because the complexes would have been expected to enable imaging and/or therapy.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,787 B2 by further substituting 19F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wester et al. because substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,787 B2 by further administering one of the obvious PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complexes to a subject for imaging, treating, or diagnosing prostate cancer or for diagnosing or imaging neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis as taught by Wester et al. because the administering would have been expected to advantageously enable in vivo diagnosing, imaging or treating.
Claims 1, 10, and 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,711 B2, in view of Wester et al. (WO 2019/115547 A1; published 20 Jun. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,711 B2 claim the compound
and a pharmaceutical or diagnostic composition and optionally wherein the chelated cation is selected from Ga and Ac and optionally wherein F is 18F and claims methods of imaging and/or diagnosing or treating cancer including prostate cancer and a method of diagnosing, imaging, or preventing neoangiogenesis/angiogenesis.
Claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,711 B2 do not claim a compound of instant formula (1) wherein DOTA replaces DOTAGA and Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes thereof or the compound
wherein F is 18F.
Wester et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,711 B2 by substituting DOTAGA with DOTA and then form Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes thereof as taught by Wester et al. because the DOTA chelator would have expected to provide an equivalent chelator advantageously not comprising a stereocenter and because the Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes would have been expected to advantageously enable imaging and/or therapy. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,357,711 B2 by further substituting 19F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wester et al. because substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F.
Claims 1, 10, and 13-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,176 B2, in view of Wester et al. (WO 2019/115547 A1; published 20 Jun. 2019 for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,176 B2 claim a compound having the chemical structure
and a pharmaceutical and diagnostic composition and methods of imaging and/or treating and/or diagnosing cancer including prostate cancer and a method of reducing angiogenesis.
Claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,176 B2 do not claim a compound of instant formula (1) wherein DOTA replaces DOTAGA and Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes thereof or the compound
wherein F is 18F or claim a method of diagnosing, imaging, treating and/or preventing prostate cancer or neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis comprising administering the claimed compound.
Wester et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,176 B2 by substituting DOTAGA with DOTA and then form Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes thereof as taught by Wester et al. because the DOTA chelator would have expected to provide an equivalent chelator advantageously not comprising a stereocenter and because the Lu (177Lu), Ga (68Ga), or Ac (225Ac) complexes would have been expected to advantageously enable imaging and/or therapy. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,176 B2 by further substituting 19F with 18F to arrive at
as taught by Wester et al. because substituting would have been expected to provide an equivalent PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complex advantageously capable of PET imaging using cyclotron produced 18F. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,176 B2 by further administering one of the obvious PSMA ligand-SIFA-DOTA complexes to a subject for imaging, treating, or diagnosing prostate cancer or for diagnosing or imaging neoangiogenesis and/or angiogenesis as taught by Wester et al. because the administering would have been expected to advantageously enable in vivo diagnosing, imaging or treating.
Applicants’ Arguments
The response filed on 28 Sep. 2026 does not address the above NSDP rejections; accordingly the rejections are being maintained for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 26 Mar. 2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618