DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 12/01/2025.
Claims 1-13, 15, 17-20, and 22-23 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on November 11, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 01 December, 2025. Claims 1, 22, and 23 have been amended. Claims 14, 16, and 21 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-13, 15, 17-20, and 22-23 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 22, and 23 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0053682), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of DORTSCHY et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0104155), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a timing determination method ([see, [0068], and Fig. 3, wireless device determine timing]), comprising:
determining a timing parameter ([see, [0015, 0027], timing parameter includes a timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing and transmission timing]); and
determining transmission timing of a target node according to the timing parameter ([see, [0015, 0027], determining transmission timing, such as receive timing and transmission timing based on the parameter includes a timing advance offset indicates a timing difference]);
wherein the transmission timing ([see, [074], and Fig. 4, transmission timing disclosed]) comprises at least one of:
a time difference between first timing and second timing ([see, [0027], timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing (corresponding to first timing) and transmission timing (corresponding to second timing)]),
downlink transmit timing (DTT) or uplink transmit timing (UTT) ([see, [0069], downlink timing and adjusting the uplink transmission timing disclosed]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the time difference between first timing and second timing refers to a time difference between the DTT of a serving cell and downlink receive timing (DRT) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, the DTT refers to DTT of the IAB node, and the UTT refers to UTT of the IAB node.
However, D2 discloses wherein the time difference between first timing and second timing refers to a time difference between the DTT of a serving cell and downlink receive timing (DRT) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([see, [0049-0053], an IAB node can set its downlink transmit timing based on the difference (TA) between the uplink transmit timing and the downlink receive timing of the IAB node]), the DTT refers to DTT of the IAB node ([see, [0049-0051], an IAB node can set its downlink transmit timing]), and the UTT refers to UTT of the IAB node ([see, [0049-51], The difference (TA) between the uplink transmission timing and downlink reception timing of the IAB node]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide evaluate the time difference results improve improved IAB handling, in particular with respect to downlink timing of an IAB (child) node (D2, 003]).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the timing parameter comprises at least one of: a timing advance, a timing argument or a time difference parameter ([see, [0015, 0027], timing parameter includes a timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing and transmission timing]).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the first timing is downlink transmit timing DTT of a serving cell or a first parent node (access node 105-d), and the second timing is downlink receive timing (DRT) of the target node (Access node 105-a) ([see, [0027, 0062-0066], and Fig. 2, timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing (corresponding to first timing) and transmission timing (corresponding to second timing)]).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the timing parameter comprises a timing advance ([see, [0038], a timing advance (TA)]); and the method further comprises:
determining the timing advance ([see, [0006, 0038], timing advance]) according to at least one of a timing advance offset, a timing advance index or a timing advance granularity ([see, [0038, 0061], timing advance offset disclosed]).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the timing parameter comprises a timing argument (i.e., means timing argument is a value to adjust its uplink transmission timing), ([see, [0075-0076], a TA 455 value the difference between downlink reception timing 435 and uplink transmission timing 440, and timing advance offset may be adjusted]); and
the method further comprises:
determining the timing argument according to at least one of a timing argument offset ([see, [0070-0072, 0075-0076], wherein determine the value of N.sub.TAoffset2 may be adjusted to allow for further timing adjustments, based on the TA 455 value the difference between downlink reception timing 435 and uplink transmission timing 440, and timing advance offset may be adjusted]), a timing argument index or a timing argument granularity.
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the timing parameter ([see, [0038], multiple offsets that may be applied to TA values as timing parameter]) comprises a time difference parameter ([see, [0015], timing difference);
wherein the time difference parameter ([see, [0015], timing advance offset) comprises at least one of:
propagation time between a first parent node and a second parent node;
a time difference between the first timing and the second timing determined by the first parent node ([see, [0015], timing difference between receive timing (first timing) and transmission timing (second timing) at the relay node (first parent node)]);
a number of advanced or lagged orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols of third timing of the target node relative to fourth timing of the target node; time of the advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node; or an advanced or lagged subcarrier spacing of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node.
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the propagation time ([see, [0061], propagation delay between the devices]) and the time difference between the first timing and the second timing determined by the first parent node are configured by a serving cell or configured by the first parent node ([see, [0015], timing difference between receive timing (first timing) and transmission timing (second timing) at the relay node (first parent node)]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the transmission timing comprises a timing advance ([see, [0015, 0027], timing parameter includes a timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing and transmission timing]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the timing advance is determined according to at least one of the following manners:
TA=NTA-Tc;
TA=(NTA + NTA,offset) -Tc ([see, 0070], uplink timing adjustments are made according to the equation (N.sub.TA+N.sub.TAoffset)*T.sub.c seconds, where N.sub.TA is the TA value and N.sub.TAoffset is an offset]);
TA=-NTA-Tc; or
TA=-(NTA + NTA,offset) -Tc;
wherein
TA denotes the timing advance,
NTA denotes a timing advance adjustment number or a timing lag adjustment number,
NTA,offset denotes a timing advance offset or a timing lag offset, and
Tc denotes a time unit.
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein a timing mode ([see, [0068], and Fig. 3, timing mode, such as uplink transmission and downlink transmission]) is associated with a physical (physical uplink or physical downlink) parameter of first type ([see, [0068-0069], parameter of first type, such as transmit an uplink transmission to a second wireless device 305 which may be an example of a base station]);
wherein the physical parameter of first type comprises ([see, [0068-0069], parameter of first type, such as transmit an uplink transmission]) at least one of a timing argument offset ([see, [0067], TA offsets that may be applied in accordance with transmit between an uplink transmission and downlink transmission]), a timing argument index or a timing argument granularity.
As per Claim 13, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein determining the transmission timing of the target node according to the timing parameter ([see, [0068-0070], and Fig. 3, wireless device timing 300 may implement aspects of wireless communication system 100 or IAB network 200]) comprises:
determining downlink receive timing (DRT) of the target node ([see, [0068-0070], and Fig. 3, wherein downlink (DL) RX timing 300 determine downlink transmission may start at second time 325 and receiving the downlink transmission at third time 330]), and
the time difference between the first timing and the second timing according to the timing parameter ([see, [0068-0070], and Fig. 3, the time difference between the first timing and the second timing as propagation delay 335 that the time that it would take for a transmission to go from the first wireless device 315 to the second wireless device 305 and then back to the first wireless device 315]); and
determining the downlink transmit timing (DTT) of the target node according to the DRT of the target node and the time difference ([see, [0068-0070], and Fig. 3, the time difference of propagation delay 335 are determined based on the round-trip time (RTT)]).
As per Claim 15, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein determining the transmission timing of the target node according to the timing parameter ([see, [0068-0070], and Fig. 3, wireless device timing 300 may implement aspects of wireless communication system 100 or IAB network 200]) comprises:
determining DRT of the target node ([see, [0068-0070], and Fig. 3, wherein downlink (DL) RX timing 300 determine downlink transmission may start at second time 325 and receiving the downlink transmission at third time 330]), a timing advance ([see, [0071-0072], timing advance discloses]) and the DTT of the target node according to the timing parameter ([see, [0027, 0062-0066], and Fig. 2, timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing (corresponding to first timing) and transmission timing (corresponding to second timing)]); and
determining the UTT of the target node according to the DRT of the target node, the timing advance and the DTT of the target node ([see, [0069], downlink timing and adjusting the uplink transmission timing disclosed]).
As per Claim 17, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein a timing mode ([see, [0068], and Fig. 3, timing mode, such as uplink transmission and downlink transmission]) is associated with a physical (physical uplink or physical downlink) parameter of second type ([see, [0068-0069], parameter of second type, such as a downlink transmission may be transmitted from the second wireless device 305 to the first wireless device 315]); wherein the physical parameter of second type comprises: at least one of a timing advance ([see, [0068-0069], TA valu disclosed]), a timing argument, a time difference, DRT or UTT.
As per Claim 22, D1 disclose the communication node ([see, [0078], and Fig. 5, a device 505]), comprising:
a memory, a processor ([see, Fig. 8, items 840, and 830]) and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program ([see, [0082], code (e.g., software or firmware) executed by a processor]), implements a timing determination method, wherein the timing determination method comprises:
determining a timing parameter ([see, [0015, 0027], timing parameter includes a timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing and transmission timing]); and
determining transmission timing of a target node according to the timing parameter ([see, [0015, 0027], determining transmission timing, such as receive timing and transmission timing based on the parameter includes a timing advance offset indicates a timing difference]);
wherein the transmission timing ([see, [074], and Fig. 4, transmission timing disclosed]) comprises at least one of:
a time difference between first timing and second timing ([see, [0027], timing advance offset indicates a timing difference between receive timing (corresponding to first timing) and transmission timing (corresponding to second timing)]),
downlink transmit timing (DTT) or uplink transmit timing (UTT) ([see, [0069], downlink timing and adjusting the uplink transmission timing disclosed]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the time difference between first timing and second timing refers to a time difference between the DTT of a serving cell and downlink receive timing (DRT) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, the DTT refers to DTT of the IAB node, and the UTT refers to UTT of the IAB node.
However, D2 discloses wherein the time difference between first timing and second timing refers to a time difference between the DTT of a serving cell and downlink receive timing (DRT) of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([see, [0041-0044], an IAB node can set its downlink transmit timing based on - the difference (TA) between the uplink transmit timing and the downlink receive timing of the IAB node]), the DTT refers to DTT of the IAB node ([see, [0041], an IAB node can set its downlink transmit timing]), and the UTT refers to UTT of the IAB node ([see, [0041], an IAB node can set its the uplink transmit timing]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide evaluate the time difference results improve improved IAB handling, in particular with respect to downlink timing of an IAB (child) node (D2, 003]).
As per Claim 23, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 22 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 22. Claim 23 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 22.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of KIM et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0091267), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the time of the OFDM symbols is determined according to a cyclic prefix duration and a symbol pure duration; wherein the cyclic prefix duration comprises at least one of: a zero-duration cyclic prefix, a normal cyclic prefix or an extended cyclic prefix; and the symbol pure duration is equal to a reciprocal of the subcarrier spacing.
However, D3 discloses wherein the time of the OFDM symbols ([see, [0099], time alignment may be performed with respect to the OFDM symbols]) is determined according to a cyclic prefix duration ([see, [0089], OFDM symbols is determined in accordance with the length of a cyclic prefix (CP)]) and a symbol pure duration ([see, [0097], the pure OFDM symbol duration]);
wherein the cyclic prefix duration ([see, [0089], determined the length of a cyclic prefix (CP)]) comprises at least one of:
a zero-duration cyclic prefix,
a normal cyclic prefix ([see, [0089], a normal CP as illustrated in FIG. 2A ]), or
an extended cyclic prefix ([see, [0089], an extended CP]); and
the symbol pure duration is equal to a reciprocal of the subcarrier spacing ([see, [0100], symbol durations 325 and 330 that are in proportion to a reciprocal of the subcarrier spacing on the basis of the reference symbol duration 320]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient scalable frame structure results improve aligning transmission symbols having the same cyclic prefix (CP) overhead in different subcarrier spacings with symbol levels (D3, 0009]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130142106), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the transmission timing comprises the time difference between the first timing and the second timing ([see, [0015], timing difference between receive timing (first timing) and transmission timing (second timing) at the relay node (first parent node)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the time difference is determined according to at least one of the following manners:
TD =TA/2;
TD (time difference) =TA (timing advance);
TD =TA - Tg;
TD =TA/2 + T_delta;
TD =-ITA/2 + Tg/2;
TD =-ITA/2 + Tdelta;
TD =-TA/2 + Tg/2;
TD =-TA/2 + T_delta;
TD=TA/2SNST;
TD=TA+SNST;
TD=TA/2-Tg/2SN ST;
TD=TA/2+ T_delta +SN ST;
TD =-ITA|/2 + Tg/2± SN -ST;
TD =-ITA|/2 + T_delta + SN - ST;
TD =-TA/2 - Tg/2± SN -ST;
TD =-TA/2 + T_delta + SN -ST;
TD =TA/2 + TPup/2 (1/2 * (TA + TPup));
TD =TA/2 + TDup/2;
TD =-ITA|/2 + TPup/2;
TD =-ITA|/2 + TDup/2;
TD =-TA/2 + TPup/2;
TD =-TA/2 + TDup/2;
TD =TA/2 - (SN - ST - TPup)/2;
TD =TA/2 - (SN - ST - TDup)/2; or
TD =TA/2 - TPup/2;
TD =TA/2 - TDup/2;
wherein
TD denotes the time difference between the first timing and the second timing, the first timing is DTT of a serving cell or a first parent node, and the second timing is DRT of the target node;
TA/2 denotes a timing advance,
Tg/2 denotes a time difference between uplink receive timing (URT) of the first parent node and the DTT of the first parent node, SN denotes the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of third timing of the target node relative to fourth timing of the target node,
ST denotes time of the advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node,
TPup denotes propagation time between the first parent node and a second parent node,
TDup denotes a time difference between the first timing and the second timing determined by the first parent node, and
Tdelta denotes a timing argument.
However, D4 discloses wherein the time difference ([see, [0047-0048], determines a time difference ΔDL between the time when the signal transmitted and received at the relay node disclosed]) is determined according to TD (time difference) =TA/2 (a half of the timing advance) ([0048, 0077], and Fig. 7, the time difference .DELTA..sub.DL or a half of the time difference .DELTA..sub.DL by a quantification step to obtain timing advance quantification data; for example, the half of the time difference .DELTA..sub.DL can be quantified in Formula 1]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide timing adjustment results improve the throughput of the system and expand the coverage of a network (D4, 0002-0003]).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100177807 A1), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 18, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node comprises:
at least one of:
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the uplink transmit timing (UTT) of the target node relative to a timing advance of the target node;
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the UTT of the target node relative to the DTT of the target node;
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of URT of the target node relative to DRT of the target node;
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the UTT of the target node relative to the URT of the target node; or
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the DTT of the target node relative to the DRT of the target node.
However, D5 discloses wherein the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node ([see, [0037, 0045-0046], wherein the timing offset occurs at the OFDM symbol level within a subframe, OFDM symbols transmitted from the relay station may be offset either to lead or to lag the subframes and/or OFDM symbols received from the base station]), comprises:
at least one of:
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the uplink transmit timing (UTT) of the target node relative to a timing advance of the target node ([see, [0037, 0045-0046, 0050], and Fig. 1B, 4-5, wherein the number of OFDM symbols, lag the OFDM symbols received from the base station 103, and RS 140 transmits either frame 450 or frame 470 to MS 117]);
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the UTT of the target node relative to the DTT of the target node;
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of URT of the target node relative to DRT of the target node;
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the UTT of the target node relative to the URT of the target node; or
a number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the DTT of the target node relative to the DRT of the target node.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide number of OFDM symbols within the relay wireless traffic between a base station of a wireless network results improved relay stations for use in a wireless network (D5, 0010]).
As per Claim 19, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising:
determining the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node according to a predefined manner; and the determining the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node according to the predefined manner comprises: determining a default value of the number of OFDM symbols according to a node physical distance between the first parent node and the target node.
However, D5 discloses determining the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node according to a predefined manner ([see, [0037, 0045-0046], wherein the timing offset occurs at the OFDM symbol level within a subframe, OFDM symbols transmitted from the relay station may be offset either to lead or to lag the subframes and/or OFDM symbols received from the base station]); and
the determining the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols (i.e., lag the OFDM symbols ) of the third timing of the target node ([see, [0044], the time offset between frames and subframes received from BS 103]) relative to the fourth timing of the target node according to the predefined manner ([see, [0044], the time offset between frames and subframes transmitted to MS 117]) comprises:
determining a default value of the number of OFDM symbols according to a node physical distance between the first parent node and the target node ([see, [0046, 0050], determine timing offset (measured in number of OFDM symbols) can be measured in number of subframes, and the OFDM symbol timing offset either to lead or to lag the OFDM symbols received from the base station 103 depend on determine timing offset (measured in number of OFDM symbols)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide number of OFDM symbols within the relay wireless traffic between a base station of a wireless network results improved relay stations for use in a wireless network (D5, 0010]).
As per Claim 20, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 6, and D1 further discloses wherein the configuration signaling comprises physical-layer signaling, medium access control (MAC) layer signaling, radio resource control (RRC) signaling and/or Operation Administration and Maintenance (OAM) signaling ([see, [0012], the type of signaling used includes medium access control (MAC) signaling, RRC signaling disclosed]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising: determining the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols of the third timing of the target node relative to the fourth timing of the target node according to configuration signaling.
However, D5 discloses determining the number of advanced or lagged OFDM symbols (i.e., lag the OFDM symbols ) of the third timing of the target node ([see, [0044], the time offset between frames and subframes received from BS 103]) relative to the fourth timing of the target node according to the predefined manner ([see, [0044], the time offset between frames and subframes transmitted to MS 117]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide number of OFDM symbols within the relay wireless traffic between a base station of a wireless network results improved relay stations for use in a wireless network (D5, 0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418