DETAILED ACTION
The following is final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 11/20/2025 for response of the office action mailed on 08/20/2025. Independent claims 1 and 9 are amended. Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are cancelled currently. Claims 19-35 were cancelled previously. A new set of claims 36-42 are added. Therefore, claims 1, 4, 9-18 and 36-43 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 9-12, 18 and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA et al. (2023/0246764), LASELVA hereinafter, in view of Nam et al. (2021/0218529), Nam529 hereinafter, further in view of KOSKELA et al. (2024/0039669) KOSKELA hereinafter, further.
Re. claims 9 and 36, LASELVA teaches a method (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0066/¶0068/¶0073/¶0075), comprising: at a user equipment (Fig.1/Fig.3/3A, UE 110), and a processor (Fig. 1, 120) of a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1/Fig.3/3A, UE 110) configured to perform operations comprising: applying the TRS configuration for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information (Fig.2-3 & ¶0068 - In step 2, the serving cell 170 transmits TRS/CSI-RS for the UE e.g., periodically and according to the UE's Paging Occasion (PO). Thus, it is noted that the serving cell 170 sends the TRS/CSI-RS also in step 5. Fig.2-3 & ¶0069 - Option 1: the network indicates the exact timing of the RSs before the PO (e.g., the exact slots/OFDM symbols where the RSs will (may) be transmitted are configured/indicated). The exact timing could be provided, in one example, as a delta versus the timing of the first PO (paging occasion) in a PF (paging frame…the exact timing could be provided as delta to the SSBs before the PO. Fig.2-3 & ¶0073 - In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication and uses them at least for synchronization purposes. These additional RSs correspond to the TRS/CSI-RS that the network transmits to aid the UE in its synchronization effort. Fig.2-3 & ¶0075 - the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS for use in the RRC Inactive or Idle state may have a different purpose. This purpose is to help the UE to acquire and/or maintain synchronization with the network for the UE to be ready, e.g., to monitor a paging DCI on PDCCH and a paging message in the PDSCH in a paging occasion. Therefore, these TRS/CSI-RSs may be sent “just before” (e.g., with a known/indicated time period from) the paging occasion of the UE. Fig.2-4 & ¶0097 - The user equipment, in block 440, performs receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration and using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization purposes to synchronize with the one or more cells. Fig.2-4 & ¶0109 - wherein using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization comprises using the additional reference signals for time and/or frequency error offset estimation and/or for tracking for demodulation and/or for reference signal received power measurements for mobility).
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach requesting, in response to cell selection or cell reselection, a system information block (SIB) that is dedicated for configurations of tracking reference signal (TRS) resources for Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle and inactive UEs; receiving the SIB that is dedicated for configurations of TRS resources for RRC idle and inactive UEs, the SIB comprising a TRS configuration to be used during RRC idle and inactive state;
However, in the analogous art, Nam529 explicitly discloses requesting, in response to cell selection or cell reselection, a system information block (SIB) that is dedicated for configurations of tracking reference signal (TRS) resources for Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle and inactive UEs (Fig. 3 & ¶0055 - As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 310, UE 120 may request reference signal resources. For example, UE 120 may request CSI-RS resources, TRS resources, and/or the like to enable channel estimation, cell selection, and/or the like for receiving subsequent paging in an idle mode or inactive mode. Fig. 3 & ¶0057 - when the UE 120 transmits a request for the reference signal resources using a message-3 transmission during a RACH procedure, the request may be formatted as a higher-layer signaling message similar to a system information request message, which is used by the UE 120 to request an on-demand system information from the BS 110.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in identifying reference signal configuration for reception of a reference signal, wherein the reference signal is a channel state information reference signal or a tracking reference signal in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0008, Nam529)
Yet, LASELVA and Nam529 do not expressly teach receiving the SIB that is dedicated for configurations of TRS resources for RRC idle and inactive UEs, the SIB comprising a TRS configuration to be used during RRC idle and inactive state;
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses receiving the SIB that is dedicated for configurations of TRS resources for RRC idle and inactive UEs, the SIB comprising a TRS configuration to be used during RRC idle and inactive state; (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0030 - system information block (SIB) signalling provides the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for idle/inactive UE(s). Fig. 1-10 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0083 - The PI configuration may be provided to UE …… in RRC idle/inactive mode. In one example the PI configuration or the PI (presence indication information) may be provided in a system information block (in same or different SIB));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. Claims 10 and 37, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA teach claims 9 and 36.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the SIB comprises a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses wherein the SIB comprises a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0030 - system information block (SIB) signalling provides the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS occasion(s) for idle/inactive UE(s). Fig. 1-10 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0083 - The PI configuration may be provided to UE …… in RRC idle/inactive mode. In one example the PI configuration or the PI (presence indication information) may be provided in a system information block (in same or different SIB));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. Claims 11 and 38, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA teach claims 10 and 37.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the SIB further indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS configuration from the set of TRS configurations.
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses wherein the SIB further indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS configuration from the set of TRS configurations. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0075 - the presence indicator may be provided (UE 120 may receive it) to UE 120 or UEs in RRC CONNECTED mode. … the presence indicator may be provided in an RRC message such as RRC Release message or any message that is provided to UE 120 prior to entering IDLE/INACTIVE mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. Claims 12 and 39, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA teach claims 10 and 37.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein a further SIB indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations.
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses wherein a further SIB indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0075 - the presence indicator may be provided (UE 120 may receive it) to UE 120 or UEs in RRC CONNECTED mode. … the presence indicator may be provided in an RRC message such as RRC Release message or any message that is provided to UE 120 prior to entering IDLE/INACTIVE mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it provides an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. Claim 18, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA teach claim 9.
LASELVA further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: indicating to the network a UE capability for support of enhanced UE power saving or a UE capability for support of using TRS or CSI-RS configuration information in the RRC inactive or idle state. (Fig.2-4 & ¶0172 - allow acquiring, e.g., by the UE and exchange in the network, knowledge related to the actual need/benefit of a UE in RRC Idle or Inactive state of receiving additional RSs as well as, … knowledge related to the time/frequency density of the RSs. This allows providing, e.g., TRS/CSI-RS used for RRC Idle or Inactive state UEs efficiently, such as only whenever a UE in RRC Inactive or Idle state requires them (e.g., has a low SINR or indicates the need based, e.g., on the internal knowledge of its synchronization capability/algorithms and the acquired radio channel conditions) and in an amount which is adequate to speed up the UE synchronization based on the given UE capability/conditions, and in turn saving power.)
Claims 13-15 and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of Nam529, in view of KOSKELA, further in view of NAM et al. (2021/0218454), NAM454 hereinafter.
Re. Claims 13 and 40, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA teach claims 10 and 37.
Yet, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA do not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration.
However, in the analogous art, NAM454 explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - BS may determine the reference signal configuration for a UE, which is in an idle mode or an inactive mode, and may provide information identifying the reference signal configuration via a system information message, a short message… the UE may receive the information identifying the reference signal configuration from the BS, determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on the information, and use the reference signal configuration in a subsequent communication with the BS (e.g., for transmission of a reference signal using CSI-RS resources or TRS resources). In this way, the BS and the UE enable the UE, when operating in an idle mode or an inactive mode, to use CSI-RS resources or TRS resources that are allocated for connected mode UEs, thereby improving paging for idle mode or inactive mode UEs. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0052 - As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 330, BS 110 may transmit information identifying a reference signal configuration. For example, BS 110 may transmit system information via a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB) to identify the reference signal configuration. In this case, BS 110 may include the information identifying the reference signal configuration in a reserved field of the system information or in a dedicated field that is assigned for conveying the reference signal configuration. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0053 - BS 110 may transmit the information identifying the reference signal configuration via a short message. For example, BS 110 may transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled using a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) of UE 120. In some aspects, BS 110 may use a short message (e.g., the PDCCH) to convey less than a threshold payload. For example, when there is less than a threshold quantity of bits in the information that identifies the reference signal configuration, BS 110 may include the information that identifies the reference signal configuration in the PDCCH….when there is greater than or equal to the threshold quantity of bits in the information that identifies the reference signal configuration, BS 110 may use the short message (e.g., the PDCCH) to convey a bit indicator of a change to the reference signal configuration. In this case, UE 120 may communicate with BS 110 to reacquire the reference signal configuration using separate signaling as a response to receiving the bit indicator. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0059 - As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 340, UE 120 may determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on receiving the information identifying the reference signal configuration. For example, UE 120 may select the reference signal configuration from a set of possible reference signal configurations. … UE 120 may infer one or more parameters of the reference signal configuration from one or more signaled parameters…. UE 120 may perform one or more follow up procedures, such as a reference signal re-acquisition procedure (e.g., to re-acquire a CSI-RS or TRS configuration) based at least in part on receiving an indication that the reference signal configuration has changed. In this way, BS 110 and UE 120 enable utilization of reference signal resources assigned for a connected mode UE when UE 120 is operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode, thereby improving power utilization of UE 120. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0065 - the message is a system information block or a master information block. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0069 - In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the short message includes an explicit indicator of the reference signal configuration or an indicator of a change to the reference signal configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network to include NAM454’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource indication in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power utilization of a user equipment operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode while communicating with a base station in the wireless communication system. (¶0059, NAM454)
Re. Claims 14 and 41, LASELVA, Nam529, KOSKELA and NAM454 teach claims 13 and 40.
Yet, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA do not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further SIB comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change.
However, in the analogous art, NAM454 explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further SIB comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - BS may determine the reference signal configuration for a UE, which is in an idle mode or an inactive mode, and may provide information identifying the reference signal configuration via a system information message, a short message… the UE may receive the information identifying the reference signal configuration from the BS, determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on the information, and use the reference signal configuration in a subsequent communication with the BS (e.g., for transmission of a reference signal using CSI-RS resources or TRS resources). In this way, the BS and the UE enable the UE, when operating in an idle mode or an inactive mode, to use CSI-RS resources or TRS resources that are allocated for connected mode UEs, thereby improving paging for idle mode or inactive mode UEs. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0052 - As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 330, BS 110 may transmit information identifying a reference signal configuration. For example, BS 110 may transmit system information via a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB) to identify the reference signal configuration. In this case, BS 110 may include the information identifying the reference signal configuration in a reserved field of the system information or in a dedicated field that is assigned for conveying the reference signal configuration. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0059 - As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 340, UE 120 may determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on receiving the information identifying the reference signal configuration. For example, UE 120 may select the reference signal configuration from a set of possible reference signal configurations. … UE 120 may infer one or more parameters of the reference signal configuration from one or more signaled parameters…. UE 120 may perform one or more follow up procedures, such as a reference signal re-acquisition procedure (e.g., to re-acquire a CSI-RS or TRS configuration) based at least in part on receiving an indication that the reference signal configuration has changed. In this way, BS 110 and UE 120 enable utilization of reference signal resources assigned for a connected mode UE when UE 120 is operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode, thereby improving power utilization of UE 120. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0065 - the message is a system information block or a master information block. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0069 - In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the short message includes an explicit indicator of the reference signal configuration or an indicator of a change to the reference signal configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network to include NAM454’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource indication in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power utilization of a user equipment operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode while communicating with a base station in the wireless communication system. (¶0059, NAM454)
Re. Claims 15 and 42, LASELVA, Nam529, KOSKELA and NAM454 teach claims 14 and 41.
Yet, LASELVA, Nam529 and KOSKELA do not expressly teach wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change includes a new set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
However, in the analogous art, NAM explicitly discloses wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change includes a new set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - BS may determine the reference signal configuration for a UE, which is in an idle mode or an inactive mode, and may provide information identifying the reference signal configuration via a system information message, a short message… the UE may receive the information identifying the reference signal configuration from the BS, determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on the information, and use the reference signal configuration in a subsequent communication with the BS (e.g., for transmission of a reference signal using CSI-RS resources or TRS resources). In this way, the BS and the UE enable the UE, when operating in an idle mode or an inactive mode, to use CSI-RS resources or TRS resources that are allocated for connected mode UEs, thereby improving paging for idle mode or inactive mode UEs. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0051 - BS 110 may allocate new CSI-RS resources or TRS resources. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0052 - As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 330, BS 110 may transmit information identifying a reference signal configuration. For example, BS 110 may transmit system information via a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB) to identify the reference signal configuration. In this case, BS 110 may include the information identifying the reference signal configuration in a reserved field of the system information or in a dedicated field that is assigned for conveying the reference signal configuration.Fig. 1-5 & ¶0059 - As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 340, UE 120 may determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on receiving the information identifying the reference signal configuration. For example, UE 120 may select the reference signal configuration from a set of possible reference signal configurations. … UE 120 may infer one or more parameters of the reference signal configuration from one or more signaled parameters…. UE 120 may perform one or more follow up procedures, such as a reference signal re-acquisition procedure (e.g., to re-acquire a CSI-RS or TRS configuration) based at least in part on receiving an indication that the reference signal configuration has changed. In this way, BS 110 and UE 120 enable utilization of reference signal resources assigned for a connected mode UE when UE 120 is operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode, thereby improving power utilization of UE 120. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0065 - the message is a system information block or a master information block. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0069 - In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the short message includes an explicit indicator of the reference signal configuration or an indicator of a change to the reference signal configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network to include NAM454’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource indication in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power utilization of a user equipment operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode while communicating with a base station in the wireless communication system. (¶0059, NAM454)
Claims 16-17 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of Nam529, in view of KOSKELA, in view of NAM454, further in view of Hwang et al. (2023/0032154), Hwang hereinafter.
Re. Claims 16 and 43, LASELVA, Nam529, KOSKELA and NAM454 teach claims 14 and 41.
Yet, LASELVA, Nam529, KOSKELA and NAM454 do not expressly teach wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change indicates a TRS or CSI-RS configuration deactivation.
However, in the analogous art, Hwang explicitly discloses wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change indicates a TRS or CSI-RS configuration deactivation. (Fig. 1-17 & ¶0190 - In Proposal 2-1, it is proposed that a MAC control element (CE) be used to activate/deactivate a semi-persistent CSI-RS/TRS for a UE in the idle/inactive mode configured through RRC (or SIB). Fig. 1-17 & ¶0197 - Proposal 2-2 proposes a method of using a paging message (PDSCH) of an RRC layer to activate/deactivate a (semi-persistent) CSI-RS/TRS for a UE in the idle/inactive mode configured through the RRC (or SIB). Fig. 1-17 & ¶0202 - Proposal 2-3 proposes a method of using DCI to activate/deactivate a CSI-RS/TRS for a UE in the idle/inactive mode configured through the RRC (or SIB).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network and NAM454’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource indication in a wireless communication system to include Hwang’s invention of a of a system and a method for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for more power-efficient RRC idle/inactive mode operation from UE perspective along with efficient radio resource management from a network perspective operating in the in the wireless communication system. (¶0021, Hwang)
Re. Claim 17, LASELVA, Nam529, KOSKELA and NAM454 and Hwang teach claim 16.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration; receiving a further SIB comprising an indication for a TRS or CSI-RS configuration reactivation.
However, in the analogous art, NAM explicitly discloses wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration; receiving a further SIB comprising an indication for a TRS or CSI-RS configuration reactivation. (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - BS may determine the reference signal configuration for a UE, which is in an idle mode or an inactive mode, and may provide information identifying the reference signal configuration via a system information message, a short message… the UE may receive the information identifying the reference signal configuration from the BS, determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on the information, and use the reference signal configuration in a subsequent communication with the BS (e.g., for transmission of a reference signal using CSI-RS resources or TRS resources). In this way, the BS and the UE enable the UE, when operating in an idle mode or an inactive mode, to use CSI-RS resources or TRS resources that are allocated for connected mode UEs, thereby improving paging for idle mode or inactive mode UEs. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0051 - BS 110 may allocate new CSI-RS resources or TRS resources. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0052 - As shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 330, BS 110 may transmit information identifying a reference signal configuration. For example, BS 110 may transmit system information via a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB) to identify the reference signal configuration. In this case, BS 110 may include the information identifying the reference signal configuration in a reserved field of the system information or in a dedicated field that is assigned for conveying the reference signal configuration.Fig. 1-5 & ¶0059 - As further shown in FIG. 3, and by reference number 340, UE 120 may determine the reference signal configuration based at least in part on receiving the information identifying the reference signal configuration. For example, UE 120 may select the reference signal configuration from a set of possible reference signal configurations. … UE 120 may infer one or more parameters of the reference signal configuration from one or more signaled parameters…. UE 120 may perform one or more follow up procedures, such as a reference signal re-acquisition procedure (e.g., to re-acquire a CSI-RS or TRS configuration) based at least in part on receiving an indication that the reference signal configuration has changed. In this way, BS 110 and UE 120 enable utilization of reference signal resources assigned for a connected mode UE when UE 120 is operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode, thereby improving power utilization of UE 120. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0065 - the message is a system information block or a master information block. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0069 - In a fifth aspect, alone or in combination with one or more of the first through fourth aspects, the short message includes an explicit indicator of the reference signal configuration or an indicator of a change to the reference signal configuration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and Nam529’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource configuration in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network and Hwang’s invention of a of a system and a method for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal in a wireless communication system to include NAM454’s invention of a system and a method for reference signal resource indication in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power utilization of a user equipment operating in an inactive mode or an idle mode while communicating with a base station in the wireless communication system. (¶0059, NAM454)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 4 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant acknowledges the provisionally rejected claims (various combinations as rejected in the office action mailed on 08/20/2025 of the instant application 18/260,356) on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of various combinations (as rejected in the office action mailed on 08/20/2025) of copending Application No. 18/467,192. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is held in abeyance based on the acknowledgement from the applicant; a terminal disclaimer (TD) is required to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicant's arguments for §102/§103 rejection filed on 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 8-9 for amended independent claim 9, applicant argues that LASELVA fails to teach, “requesting, in response to cell selection or cell reselection, a system information block (SIB) that is dedicated for configurations of tracking reference signal (TRS) resources for Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle and inactive UEs”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Nam529 (2021/0218529 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
For these reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 9 is unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of Nam529 (2021/0218529 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference), further in view of KOSKELA.
For similar reasons, it is maintained that independent claim 36 are unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of Nam529 (2021/0218529 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference), further in view of KOSKELA.
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claim 9 and 36, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467