DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on July 5, 2025 has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, shown in Fig. 3, directed to claims 1-4 and 10 in the reply filed on February 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more
processors (of the temperature monitoring device, e.g., claim 1) and memory (of the temperature monitoring device, e.g., claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 2, after “store” (line 13), should delete “in association with each other,”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, “acquire a temperature during usage while discharging to the equipment is being carried out and the temperature during the non-usage of the battery” is unclear; “the temperature during the non-usage of the battery” (lines 5-6) lacks antecedent basis.
Examiner interprets the limitation to read -- acquire a temperature during usage while discharging to the equipment is being carried out and acquire a [[the]] temperature during the non-usage of the battery --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (MPEP 2106), the following analysis is made:
Under step 1 of the Guidance, the claims fall within a statutory category.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claim 1 recites an abstract idea of “determine whether or not the temperature during the non-usage lies within a predetermined temperature range” (mental process), “exclude from being a target of the temperature determination process, the temperature of the battery in an initial period from a starting time of the non-usage until a predetermined condition is satisfied” (mental process).
The mere nominal recitation of a generic processor (execution of processor) does not take the claim limitation out of the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (III)).
Under step 2A, prong 2, the claim limitations are not integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)).
Monitor/acquire a temperature of a battery is directed to an insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Under step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(A)). As discussed above, monitor/acquire a temperature of a battery is directed to an insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Further, monitor/acquire a temperature of a battery is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity known in the industry, has been found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” than the claimed judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea.
The remaining dependent claims 2-4 and 10 do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 4, and 10 are directed to conventional insignificant extra solution activities.
Claims 2-4 and 10 are directed to an abstract idea.
Accordingly, claims 1-4 and 10 are patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0251921) in view of Kim (US 2012/0229288).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a temperature monitoring device (1000) that comprising
one or more processors (100) that execute computer-executable instructions stored in a memory, wherein the one or more processors execute the
computer-executable instructions to cause the temperature monitoring device (implied by execution of measurements of 100, paragraph 0044) to:
monitor a temperature (via temperature measurement unit 110) of a battery (10) that is configured to be attached to and detached from equipment (battery 10 operates electronic device installed in a vehicle, paragraph 0061);
acquire a temperature of the battery during non-usage after having carried out discharging to the equipment (measure temperature of battery during unused period of battery, paragraph 0009, lines 1-4);
perform a temperature determination process in order to determine whether or not the temperature during the non-usage lies within a predetermined temperature range (determine whether temperature T1 is above or below T2, Fig. 3B; paragraph 0058, lines 1-3).
Lee does not disclose exclude from being a target of the temperature determination process, the temperature of the battery in an initial period from a starting time of the non-usage until a predetermined condition is satisfied.
Kim discloses detecting temperature of a battery while the battery is in a non-use state (paragraph 0030, lines 7-10; claim 5). Kim further discloses exclude from being a target of the temperature determination process, the temperature of the battery in an initial period from a starting time of the non-usage until a predetermined condition is satisfied (temperature determination is after a recognition signal is received, paragraph 0026, lines 1-3; the battery is unused before the recognition signal is sent/received, paragraph 0025, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Lee with satisfying a predetermined condition as disclosed by Kim for the purpose of determining temperature during an unused state.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the predetermined condition is satisfied (unused state is recognized in Figs. 3B) in a case that a rate of change of the temperature (temperature is > T1 to temperature is > T2, Fig. 3B) during the non-usage (Fig. 3B shows non-used state) is less than or equal (rate of temperature change from temperature > T1 to > T2 is equal to rate of threshold change from T1 to T2) to a rate of change threshold value (T1 to T2, Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses
in a case that the battery is charged during the non-usage of the battery (non-used period, Fig. 3B), acquire charging information concerning charging (the charged amount is set at 97 while the level temperature T1 is set at 60ᵒ, paragraph 0048, lines 7-9); and
increase the rate of change threshold value (level temperature T2 is set at/increased to 65ᵒ, paragraph 0049, line 7) based on recognition of the charging information (charge amount is set at/changed to 90, paragraph 0049, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 10, while Lee does not expressly disclose
acquire an outdoor environmental temperature; and
set the predetermined temperature range on a basis of an acquired environmental temperature,
Lee discloses preventing gas generation in the battery by discharging the battery to reduce a charged amount of the battery when a temperature, a charged amount, and a non-used period are in a preset level range (Abstract, lines 7-10). Lee further discloses preventing generation of gas in the battery cell 10 according to the non-used period and environment even though a vehicle is left non-used for a long time (paragraph 0051, lines 4-7). One of ordinary skill in the art would know that, in view Lee’s disclosure, the battery temperature and battery temperature range would be affected by the environmental temperature. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to set the predetermined temperature range (battery temperature preset level) on a basis of an acquired environmental temperature for discharging the battery to prevent gas generation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Lee with acquiring an outdoor environmental temperature for the purpose of setting the predetermined temperature range on a basis of an acquired environmental temperature.
Prior Art Note
Claim 2 does not have a prior art rejection.
The combination as claimed wherein
manage, as identity information in association with an acquired temperature of the battery, at least one piece of information of battery identification information in order to identify the battery, user identification information in order to identify a user who has used the battery, or equipment identification information in order to identify the equipment in which the battery is installed; and
store in association with each other, using the identity information, a temperature during a first usage in which discharging prior to the non-usage was carried out, a temperature during the non-usage, and a temperature during a second usage in which discharging after the non-usage was carried out (claim 2) is not disclosed, suggested, or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Contact Information
/MICHAEL P NGHIEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 March 5, 2026