DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 02/26/2026. Claims 1-7 are previously cancelled. Claim 9 is currently cancelled. Claims 8, 10-12 are currently amended. Claims 8, 10-12 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/26/2026 with respect to claims 8, 10-12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2026/0075607 A1) in view of Liu (US 2023/0397197 A1) further in view of Guan (US 2023/0045308 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Xu teaches a terminal (UE) comprising:
a receiver ([0070]; obvious UE has a receiver) that receives higher layer (RRC) signaling for configuring a resource which transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0161], The base station configures UE with one or more SRS resource sets. For an SRS resource set, the base station configures the UE with one or more SRS resources. An SRS resource set is configured by a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter/signaling. Wherein the parameter indicates a resource in a resource set. The UE transmits one or more SRS resources {SRS is transmitted by a UE to a base station} in SRS resource sets.) (Hence receiver of the UE receives RRC signaling for configuring a SRS resource that transmits SRS.) and
a transmitter (UE has a transmitter—[0052]) that transmits the SRS based on the higher layer (RRC) signaling ([0161], The UE transmits SRS resources {SRS is transmitted by a UE to a base station} based on one or more trigger types {i.e. higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC)}.)(Hence transmitter of the UE transmits SRS based on the received RRC signaling.);
wherein an antenna port used for the PUSCH transmission is a same antenna port as an antenna port used for the transmission of the SRS ([0225], precoder {for UL transmission via PUSCH—[0225]} from an uplink codebook. The uplink codebook comprises a number of antenna ports being equal to the number of antenna ports of the at least one of the one or more SRS resources. Wherein the wireless device transmits one or more TBs via the PUSCH using the same antenna port(s) as the SRS port(s) in the SRS resource {that transmits SRS—[0161]}.) (Hence the UE transmits PUSCH and SRS using the same antenna port).
Xu does not teach a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives information regarding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission configuration; and a processor that controls, based on the information, to perform PUSCH transmission in cooperation among multiple panels.
However, in an analogous art, Liu teaches a terminal (1800-Fig. 18; [0247]) comprising:
a receiver (1816 of 1800 that receives-Fig. 18; [0256]) that receives information ([0059]; [0060]; terminal receives indication information from base station) regarding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission configuration ([0065], the indication information includes an uplink {PUSCH—[0060]} transmission configuration.) (Hence receiver of the terminal receives information regarding PUSCH transmission configuration.); and
a processor (1802 of 1800-Fig. 18) that controls(1802 controls—[0249]), based on the information([0059]; [0060]; the terminal receives indication information), to perform the PUSCH transmission in cooperation among multiple panels ([0059]; [0060], the terminal determines plurality of beams used for uplink cooperative transmission and antenna panels corresponding to the plurality of beams according to the indication information, thus performing uplink cooperative transmission/PUSCH transmission via the plurality of antenna panels.) (Hence processor of the terminal that controls to transmit PUSCH, in cooperation among multiple panels, based on the received information.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Liu and apply them on the teaching of Xu to provide cooperative transmission by the antenna panels, the requirements of a service requiring enhanced/improved PUSCH transmission can be satisfied (Liu; [0060]).
Xu-Liu does not teach wherein a number of antenna ports used for transmission of the SRS included in each panel of the multiple panels is the same.
However, in an analogous art, Guan teaches a terminal (900-Fig. 9; [0295]) comprising:
a transmitter (transceiver 920 of 900—Fig. 9; [0295]—has a transmitter—[0298]) that transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0169], terminal sends{via 920—[0298]} an SRS.)(Hence transmitter of the terminal transmits a SRS.);
wherein a number of antenna ports used for transmission of the SRS included in each panel of the multiple panels is the same ([0136], The terminal includes two antenna panels, and each antenna panel includes two antenna ports. The terminal sends an SRS on the 1.sup.st SRS resource through two antenna ports of a first antenna panel, and sends an SRS on the 2.sup.nd SRS resource through two antenna ports of a second antenna panel.) (Hence in the terminal, each panel of 2 panels includes 2 antenna ports (i.e. same no of ports) that are used for transmission of the SRS.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Guan and apply them on the teaching of Xu-Liu for improving downlink transmission efficiency (Guan; [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches a base station comprising:
a transmitter (BS has a transmitter—[0155]) that transmits higher layer (RRC) signaling for configuring a resource which transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0161], The base station configures UE with one or more SRS resource sets. For an SRS resource set, the base station configures the UE with one or more SRS resources. An SRS resource set is configured by a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter/signaling. Wherein the parameter indicates a resource in a resource set. The UE transmits one or more SRS resources {SRS is transmitted by a UE to a base station} in SRS resource sets.) (Hence transmitter of the BS transmits RRC signaling for configuring a SRS resource that transmits SRS.) and
a receiver (BS has a receiver—[0052]) that receives the SRS based on the higher layer (RRC) signaling ([0161], The UE transmits SRS resources {SRS is transmitted by a UE to a base station} based on one or more trigger types {i.e. higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC)}.)(Hence receiver of the BS receives SRS based on the transmitted RRC signaling.);
wherein an antenna port used for the PUSCH transmission is a same antenna port as an antenna port used for the transmission of the SRS ([0225], precoder {for UL transmission via PUSCH—[0225]} from an uplink codebook. The uplink codebook comprises a number of antenna ports being equal to the number of antenna ports of the at least one of the one or more SRS resources. Wherein the wireless device transmits one or more TBs via the PUSCH using the same antenna port(s) as the SRS port(s) in the SRS resource {that transmits SRS—[0161]}.) (Hence the UE transmits PUSCH and SRS using the same antenna port).
Xu does not teach a base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits, to the multiple panels, information regarding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission configuration; and a processor that controls, based on the information, to receive PUSCH transmitted in cooperation among multiple panels.
However, in an analogous art, Liu teaches a base station (1700-Fig. 17; [0246]) comprising:
a transmitter (1724 of 1700-Fig. 17) that transmits (1724 transmits—[0246]), to the multiple panels, information([0059]; [0060], base station transmits indication information to terminal{has multiple antenna panels—[0003]}) regarding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission configuration([0065], the indication information includes an uplink {PUSCH—[0060]} transmission configuration.)(Hence transmitter of the base station that transmits information regarding PUSCH transmission configuration to the terminal/multiple panels.); and
a processor (1722-Fig. 17) that controls(1722 that controls—[0386]--obvious), based on the information ([0059]; [0060], base station transmits indication information to terminal), to receive PUSCH transmission transmitted in cooperation among multiple panels ([0059]; [0060], the terminal determines plurality of beams used for uplink cooperative transmission and antenna panels corresponding to the plurality of beams according to the indication information, thus performing uplink cooperative transmission/PUSCH transmission via the plurality of antenna panels.) (Hence processor of the base station that controls to receive PUSCH transmission, from the terminal that transmits in cooperation among multiple panels, based on the transmitted information.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Liu and apply them on the teaching of Xu to cooperative transmission by the antenna panels, the requirements of a service requiring enhanced/improved PUSCH transmission can be satisfied (Liu; [0060]).
Xu does not teach wherein a number of antenna ports used for transmission of the SRS included in each panel of the multiple panels is the same.
However, in an analogous art, Guan teaches a base station (network device 1100-Fig. 11; [0321]) comprising:
a receiver (transceiver 1120 of 1100—Fig. 11; [0321]—has a receiver—[00324]) that receives, from multiple panels, a sounding reference signal (SRS)( ([0169], terminal sends an SRS{from 1st & 2nd antenna panel/multiple panel of the terminal—[0136]} to gNB/network device.)(Hence receiver of the network device receives a SRS, from multiple panels of the terminal.);
wherein a number of antenna ports used for transmission of the SRS included in each panel of the multiple panels is the same ([0136], The terminal includes two antenna panels, and each antenna panel includes two antenna ports. The terminal sends an SRS on the 1.sup.st SRS resource through two antenna ports of a first antenna panel, and sends an SRS on the 2.sup.nd SRS resource through two antenna ports of a second antenna panel.) (Hence in the terminal, each panel of 2 panels includes 2 antenna ports (i.e. same no of ports) that are used for transmission of the SRS.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Guan and apply them on the teaching of Xu-Liu for improving downlink transmission efficiency (Guan; [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches a terminal (UE) comprises:
a receiver ([0070]; obvious UE has a receiver) that receives higher layer (RRC) signaling for configuring a resource which transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0161], The base station configures UE with one or more SRS resource sets. For an SRS resource set, the base station configures the UE with one or more SRS resources. An SRS resource set is configured by a higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter/signaling. Wherein the parameter indicates a resource in a resource set. The UE transmits one or more SRS resources {SRS is transmitted by a UE to a base station} in SRS resource sets.) (Hence receiver of the UE receives RRC signaling for configuring a SRS resource that transmits SRS.) and
a transmitter (UE has a transmitter—[0052]) that transmits the SRS based on the higher layer (RRC) signaling ([0161], The UE transmits SRS resources {SRS is transmitted by a UE to a base station} based on one or more trigger types {i.e. higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC)}.)(Hence transmitter of the UE transmits SRS based on the received RRC signaling.);
wherein an antenna port used for the PUSCH transmission is a same antenna port as an antenna port used for the transmission of the SRS ([0225], precoder {for UL transmission via PUSCH—[0225]} from an uplink codebook. The uplink codebook comprises a number of antenna ports being equal to the number of antenna ports of the at least one of the one or more SRS resources. Wherein the wireless device transmits one or more TBs via the PUSCH using the same antenna port(s) as the SRS port(s) in the SRS resource {that transmits SRS—[0161]}.) (Hence the UE transmits PUSCH and SRS using the same antenna port).
Xu do not teach a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a receiver that receives information regarding a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission configuration; and a processor that controls, based on the information, to perform PUSCH transmission in cooperation among multiple panels,
However, in an analogous art, Liu teaches a system comprising a terminal and a base station, wherein
the terminal (1800-Fig. 18; [0247]) comprises:
a receiver (1816 of 1800 that receives-Fig. 18; [0256]) that receives information ([0059]; [0060]; terminal receives indication information from base station) regarding an a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission configuration ([0065], the indication information includes an uplink {PUSCH—[0060]} transmission configuration.) (Hence receiver of the terminal receives information regarding PUSCH transmission configuration.); and
a processor (1802 of 1800-Fig. 18) that controls(1802 controls—[0249]), based on the information([0059]; [0060]; the terminal receives indication information), to perform PUSCH transmission in cooperation among multiple panels ([0059]; [0060], the terminal determines plurality of beams used for uplink cooperative transmission and antenna panels corresponding to the plurality of beams according to the indication information, thus performing uplink cooperative transmission/PUSCH transmission via the plurality of antenna panels.) (Hence processor of the terminal that controls to transmit PUSCH, in cooperation among multiple panels, based on the received information.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Liu and apply them on the teaching of Xu to cooperative transmission by the antenna panels, the requirements of a service requiring enhanced/improved PUSCH transmission can be satisfied (Liu; [0060]).
Xu do not teach wherein a number of antenna ports used for transmission of the SRS included in each panel of the multiple panels is the same.
However, in an analogous art, Guan teaches a system comprising a terminal (900) and a base station (1100), wherein
the terminal (900-Fig. 9; [0295]) comprises:
a transmitter (transceiver 920 of 900—Fig. 9; [0295]—has a transmitter—[0298]) that transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0169], terminal sends{via 920—[0298]} an SRS.)(Hence transmitter of the terminal transmits a SRS.);
wherein a number of antenna ports used for transmission of the SRS included in each panel of the multiple panels is the same ([0136], The terminal includes two antenna panels, and each antenna panel includes two antenna ports. The terminal sends an SRS on the 1.sup.st SRS resource through two antenna ports of a first antenna panel, and sends an SRS on the 2.sup.nd SRS resource through two antenna ports of a second antenna panel.) (Hence in the terminal, each panel of 2 panels includes 2 antenna ports (i.e. same no of ports) that are used for transmission of the SRS.).
The base station (network device 1100-Fig. 11; [0321]) comprises:
a receiver (transceiver 1120 of 1100—Fig. 11; [0321]—has a receiver—[00324]) that receives, the sounding reference signal (SRS)( ([0169], terminal sends an SRS to gNB/network device.)(Hence receiver of the network device receives a SRS, from the terminal.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Guan and apply them on the teaching of Xu-Liu for improving downlink transmission efficiency (Guan; [0048]).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415