DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-12 as amended on 7/05/2023 (preliminary amendment) are pending and under examination in the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al);
The cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) discloses the use of enzyme DNase for treating or presenting tissue adhesion that occur during endometriosis (see abstract; see page 1, par. 2; see page 5, par. 2 last 2 lines). Thus, the cited documents teaches a method for treating endometriosis in a patient, comprising administering an effective dose of DNase to said patient. The enzyme DNase is a recombinant DNase (page 11, par. 2). The enzyme DNase is DNase I (page 5, last paragraph).
Thus, the cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) anticipates the claimed method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) and Zachariah et al (IDS reference; Reproductive Biomedicine on line; 2009, Vol. 18, No. 3, pages 407-411).
The cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) is relied upon for a teaching of a method for treating endometriosis in a patient by administering an effective dose of DNase or DNase I. The cited document recognizes that DNase I catalyzes decomposition of free DNA (page 5, last par.). But the cited document does not explicitly state that women with endometriosis have greater level of free DNA over women who do not have endometriosis.
However, it is well known in the art that women with endometriosis have greater level of free DNA over women who do not have endometriosis and that concentration of free DNA in plasma of patients is a biomarker for development of diagnosis of endometriosis; for example: see abstract of the reference by Zachariah et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed that women with endometriosis have greater level of free DNA over women who do not have endometriosis because it was knonw in the art as evidenced by Zachariah.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The claimed subject matter fails to patentably distinguish over the state art as represented be the cited references. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) and Zachariah et al (IDS reference; Reproductive Biomedicine on line; 2009, Vol. 18, No. 3, pages 407-411) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Deraya et al (IOP publishing: Earth and Environmental Science 457 (2020) 0120079, pages 1-7).
The cited documents WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) and Zachariah et al are relied upon as explained above.
In particular, the cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) teaches a method for treating endometriosis in a patient by administering an effective dose of DNase or DNase I. The cited document recognizes that DNase I catalyzes decomposition of free DNA (page 5, last par.). But the cited document does not explicitly disclose characterization of cell free DNA in patients with endometriosis is characterized by specific gene methylation profiles including methylation of gene such as FN1.
However, it is known in the art that there is a significant difference in methylation level of FN1 gene in cases of endometriosis over a normal condition; for example: see abstract of reference by Deraya.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed that cell free DNA of patients with endometriosis are characterized by specific methylation profiles including methylated gene such as FN1 (Deraya).
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The claimed subject matter fails to patentably distinguish over the state art as represented be the cited references. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) and Zachariah et al (IDS reference; Reproductive Biomedicine on line; 2009, Vol. 18, No. 3, pages 407-411) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Deraya et al (IOP publishing: Earth and Environmental Science 457 (2020) 0120079, pages 1-7) as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of WO 2014/020564 (Hazout et al).
The cited documents WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al), Zachariah et al and Deraya are relied upon as explained above.
In particular, the cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) teaches a method for treating endometriosis in a patient by administering an effective dose of DNase or DNase I. The cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) clearly recognizes that enzyme DNase I catalyzes decomposition of free DNA (page 5, last par.). The effective doses as taught by WO 2018/134403 are 2000 to 6000 U of the enzyme (page 17, last line), wherein the disclosed dose range covers the claim-recited dose. Further, the cited document WO 2018/134403 clearly teaches and suggests that specific amount and/or protocol of administering DNase enzyme depend on several factors, including body weights and severity of conditions of subject, and that those of skill in the art would obviously appreciate and optimize effective doses of DNase enzyme (page 17, par. 2).
Furthermore, the cited WO 2014/020564 (Hazout et al) teaches that enzyme DNase is administered intramuscularly (page 7, par. 3, last line); and it discloses dose 2500 UI of DNase twice a day for at least 7 days (page 7, last 3 lines) as intended to decrease high pathological levels of cell-free DNA (page 7, par. 4). It is known that woman with endometriosis are characterized by high pathological levels of cell-free DNA (Zachariah). The cited document WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) clearly recognizes the therapeutic function of DNase I for decomposition of free DNA (page 5, last par.) in patients with endometriosis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to modify specific amounts and/or protocol of administering enzyme DNase in the method of WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) for treating endometriosis with a reasonable expectation of success because woman with endometriosis are characterized by high pathological levels of cell-free DNA (Zachariah), because enzyme DNase I catalyzes decomposition of free DNA as recognized by WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al) and because those of skill in the art would obviously appreciate and optimize effective doses of enzyme depending on several factors including severity of condition of patients with endometriosis as recognized by WO 2018/134403 (Boettcher et al).
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole was clearly prima facie obvious, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
The claimed subject matter fails to patentably distinguish over the state art as represented be the cited references. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Vera Afremova
January 16, 2026
/VERA AFREMOVA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653