DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 26, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention Group II in the reply filed on May 26, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claimed method (Group I) and device (Group II) are not patentably distinct but are linked by the same or corresponding special technical features because they share the same core inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because as elaborated in pages 2-4 of the previous Office Action, the inventions listed as Groups I-II do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
The special technical feature of Group II is a device for generating nano-sized water particles. The device of claim 15 does not present a contribution over the prior art because it appears to lack an inventive step. In support of this position, the examiner cites Hirano et al. (JP 2019018195 A1). This reference has been written in Japanese; as such, the examiner has provided a translation as of Google Patents (https://patents.google.com/patent/JP2019018195A/en?oq=JP+2019018195+ accessed 23 March 2026, 11 printed pages). Hirano et al. (hereafter referred to as Hirano) is drawn to a fine water particle emitting device capable of emitting nanosize water particles, as of Hirano, page 1, title and abstract. The device of Hirano appears to be designed in the following manner, as of Hirano, figures 1-2 and 22-27, reproduced below.
This device has a controller, as of page 2 of translation, top line of translation, which is a controlling means. This device also has an emitting element, as of page 1 of translation, 7th line of claims, which appears to read on the required applying means.
As such, Group II does not share a special technical feature with the instant claims of Group I. Therefore, the claims are not so linked within the meaning of PCT Rule 13.2 so as to form a single inventive concept, and unity between Groups I-II is broken.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fine water particle generating element” and “operation part” in claim 1 where “element” and “part” are the placeholder and “fine water particle generating” and “operation” are the functional language. And obviously, the limitations “means for applying” and “means for controlling” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph for lacking sufficient written description of the invention. The terms "means for applying" and “means for controlling” are not adequately defined in the specification so as to lack proper written description under 112, first paragraph. The specification fails to disclose sufficient corresponding structure, materials, or acts that perform the entire claim function of terms “"means for applying" and “means for controlling.” See MPEP 2181.IV.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the terms "means for applying" and “means for controlling” are not adequately defined in the specification so as to lack clarity under 112, second paragraph. Consequently, the same clauses set forth above under the 112, first paragraph rejection obscure the metes and bounds of the terms "means for applying" and “means for controlling” to the extent that the scope of the limitation is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the terms "means for applying" and “means for controlling” would be interpreted, as best understood, by the Examiner as a fan and a switch.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the applying means" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if "the applying means" refers to the "means for applying," in line 6. Clarification is respectfully requested. For the purpose of examination, "the applying means" will be interpreted as "means for applying."
The positively recited method steps/limitations such as “applying means for applying… (line 6 of claim 1)” and “controlling means for controlling… (line 9 of claim 1)” rendering the claim indefinite because claims 15-20 are apparatus claims. It is unclear what is the intention of the Applicant or significant of these positively recited method steps/limitations in apparatus claims. Clarification is respectfully requested. For the purpose of examination, these limitations are being interpreted as functional limitations.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 further recites the functional limitations of an apparatus, therefore, claim 16 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends (adding or further limiting the apparatus with structure). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Similar rejection applies to claim 17, where claim 17 further define a non-positively recited limitation, the fine water particles, having a temperature not exceeding 40°C to the target head part. Similar rejection applies to claim 18.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 further recites the non-positively recited limitation, the “target head part” of a human body that uses the apparatus, therefore, claim 19 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends (adding or further limiting the apparatus with structure). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Similar rejection applies to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirano et al. (JP 2020116032. Hirano hereinafter).
With respect to claim 15, Hirano discloses a hair/scalp care device (Figs. 1-9) comprising: a fine water particle generating element (10) caused to be, by a temperature decrease, in an absorption state of absorbing moisture on a surface, and caused to be, by a temperature increase, in a release state of releasing moisture, having been absorbed, as fine water particles (paragraph 23) having a size of 50 nanometers or less (paragraph 22); applying means for applying (40) the fine water particles having been released from the fine water particle generating element to a target head part that is one or both of hair and a scalp of a human body; controlling means for controlling (64) the fine water particle generating element and the applying means; and an operation part (34 and 64) operated for (capable of) causing the fine water particles to be applied to the target head part between a period before execution of washing of the target head part and a period after execution of drying of the target head part (the blow dryer device 10 can used before, during and after the step of washing the hair of a user).
With respect to claim 16, Hirano discloses the hair/scalp care device according to claim 15, wherein the operation part is operated for (capable of) causing the fine water particles to be applied to the target head part between a period before execution of agent application to the target head part prior to the execution of the washing and a period after execution of drying of the target head part (the blow dryer device 10 can used before, during and after the step of washing the hair of a user).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hirano.
With respect to claim 17, Hirano discloses the hair/scalp care device according to claim 15, wherein the controlling means (capable of) applies fine water particles having a temperature not exceeding 40°C to the target head part (since the blow dryer device 10 uses heater 45 that composed of a metal plate, a heating wire, or the like, and can certainly heats the air flowing through the air flow passage 26 to a predetermined temperature. Paragraph 14).
Alternatively, Hirano fails to disclose wherein the controlling means applies fine water particles having a temperature not exceeding 40°C to the target head part.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply fine water particles having a temperature not exceeding 40°C to the target head part, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 18, Hirano discloses the hair/scalp care device according to claim 15, wherein the controlling means applies fine water particles having a temperature equal to or higher than a glass-transition temperature of a protein structure of hair to the target head part (since the blow dryer device 10 uses heater 45 that composed of a metal plate, a heating wire, or the like, and can certainly heats the air flowing through the air flow passage 26 to a predetermined temperature. Paragraph 14).
Alternatively, Hirano fails to disclose wherein the controlling means applies fine water particles having a temperature equal to or higher than a glass-transition temperature of a protein structure of hair to the target head part.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply fine water particles having a temperature equal to or higher than a glass-transition temperature of a protein structure of hair to the target head part, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 19, Hirano discloses the hair/scalp care device according to claim 15, wherein the target head part to which fine water particles are applied by the applying means includes hair (of the user), and the fine water particle generating element releases the fine water particles larger than a single molecule of water (before fully heating the water) to (capable of) allow the fine water particles to remain in hair and to improve a state of cuticles of hair.
Alternatively, Hirano fails to disclose wherein the target head part to which fine water particles are applied by the applying means includes hair, and the fine water particle generating element releases the fine water particles larger than a single molecule of water to allow the fine water particles to remain in hair and to improve a state of cuticles of hair.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fine water particles larger than a single molecule of water, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 20, Hirano discloses the hair/scalp care device according to claim 15, wherein the target head part to which fine water particles are applied by the applying means includes hair (of the user), and the fine water particle generating element releases the fine water particles that are uncharged (paragraph 19) to allow the fine water particles to permeate into hair and to improve a state of cuticles of hair
Alternatively, Hirano fails to disclose wherein the target head part to which fine water particles are applied by the applying means includes hair, and the fine water particle generating element releases the fine water particles that are uncharged to allow the fine water particles to permeate into hair and to improve a state of cuticles of hair.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fine water particles that are uncharged, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a blow dryer device: Ono, Mailand, Harris et al., Lee et al., Taylor et al., Lindsay et al., Nakagawa et al., Saida, Takizawa et al. and Sabbatini.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 5, 2026