DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “with a gap formed between another set of the broken rib and the broken rib adjacent to each other in the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator, disposed adjacent in the vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator.” It is unclear what structure is required by this limitation.
Claim 12 recites “with a gap formed between the broken rib and the broken rib second most adjacent to the broken rib, located on the left side of the broken rib with respect to the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator.” It is unclear what structure is required by this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (US-20200035974-A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
A separator for a lead acid battery for use in a flooded lead acid battery (“the present disclosure or invention is directed to novel or improved enhanced flooded lead acid battery separators,” see [0023]),
characterized in that the separator comprises a porous backweb and a plurality of ribs extending from each of both surfaces of the backweb (a web based porous separator that has a plurality of ribs that can suitably be provided on the positive and negative electrode facing surfaces, see [0022]),
wherein a rib of the plurality of ribs on a first surface of the porous backweb and on a side that comes into contact with a positive electrode plate is a broken rib (The plurality of ribs that can suitably be provided on the positive and negative electrode facing surfaces, see [0022]. The dashed lines of annotated Fig. 4E-1 and Fig.4E-2 below indicate a collection of ribs that comprise a broken rib, see also [0096]),
has a shape with two or more bending points (see annotated Fig. 4E-1 and Fig.4E-2 below),
and the rib of the plurality of ribs is a linear broken rib that bends in opposite directions at each of two consecutive bending points or is a curved broken rib having one or more inflection points (see annotated Fig. 4E-1 and Fig.4E-2 below).
Regarding Claim 3, Miller discloses:
characterized in that the broken rib has two-fold rotational symmetry (the indicated broken rib in Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 above has two-fold rotational symmetry along the axis into and out of the plane of the separator).
Regarding Claim 4, Miller discloses:
characterized in that the broken rib is a linear broken rib in which line segments located at both ends are substantially parallel to each other (all opposing ends are shown to have segments that are substantially parallel to each other, see annotated Fig. 4E)
Regarding Claim 5, Miller discloses Fig. 4E-1A below:
characterized in that the broken rib is a linear broken rib having a shape in which bending angles at all bending points are 90° or more and less than 180° (Shown in the annotated Fig. below, the individual ribs are orientated in a manner where there are two bending points with the dashed line showing the intersection between the indicated ribs. Based on the substantially perpendicular orientation of the ribs at the bending points, at least one of the angles indicated by the semicircles necessarily are limited between 90 and 180 degrees.).
Regarding Claim 6, Miller discloses:
characterized in that the broken rib is a linear broken rib having two bending points (see annotated Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Miller discloses:
characterized in that the plurality of broken ribs are arranged substantially horizontally to one another with respect to a horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator (see annotated Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Miller discloses:
characterized in that the plurality of broken ribs are arranged such that the broken rib and another broken rib adjacent to the broken rib in a vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator do not completely overlap with each other in the vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator (see the indicated broken ribs in Fig. 4E-2).
Regarding Claim 13, Miller discloses:
A lead acid battery, characterized by using the separator according to claim 1 (the separators of the invention of for use in a lead acid battery, see [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US-20200035974-A1) as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 2, Miller does not necessarily teach the following limitations for the embodiments shown in annotated Fig. 4E- and 4E-2 above:
characterized in that the broken rib includes those having mutually different bending angles
or those having mutually different line segment lengths (optional limitation).
However, Miller teaches the separator can suitably have ribs that independently can have different angles either in the same row or in different rows, see [0103].
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention two have used independently different angles for the alignment of the ribs, because Miller teaches that this is a suitable configuration for the separator of his invention.
Regarding Claim 11, the embodiments shown in Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 above do not teach the following:
characterized in that the plurality of ribs are arranged on the first surface of the porous backweb such that a gap formed between a set of the broken rib and the broken rib adjacent to each other in a horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator does not completely overlap in a vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator with a gap formed between another set of the broken rib and the broken rib adjacent to each other in the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator, disposed adjacent in the vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator.
However, Miller teaches an embodiment in which the patterning of the broken rib is staggered such that the gap formed in the adjacent broken rib pattern does not completely overlap in the MD direction, see Fig. 6B.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have staggered the pattern in the embodiments shown in Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 because Miller teaches this is a suitable embodiment.
Regarding Claim 12, the embodiments shown in Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 above do not teach the following:
characterized in that the plurality of ribs are arranged on the first surface of the porous backweb such that a gap formed between the broken rib and the broken rib most adjacent to the broken rib, located on a right side with respect to a horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator does not overlap in a vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator with a gap formed between the broken rib and the broken rib second most adjacent to the broken rib, located on the right side of the broken rib with respect to the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator,
or a gap formed between the broken rib and the broken rib most adjacent to the broken rib, located on a left side with respect to the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator does not overlap in the vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator with a gap formed between the broken rib and the broken rib second most adjacent to the broken rib, located on the left side of the broken rib with respect to the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator.
However, Miller teaches an embodiment in which the patterning of the broken rib is staggered such that the gap formed in the adjacent broken rib pattern does not completely overlap in the MD direction, see Fig. 6B.
Therefore, absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have staggered the pattern in the embodiments shown in Fig. 4E-1 and 4E-2 because Miller teaches this is a suitable way to orient the pattern.
It is noted that the claim as written and the art of Miller does not require an absolute orientation, therefore the recitation of right and left can be interpreted to be any direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed below.
Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 112b
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 5-6, with respect to claim rejections under 35 USC §112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1-6 and 9-10 and 13 has been withdrawn.
However, after consideration the 112b rejections of Claims 11 and 12 are respectfully maintained. The recitation of the following limitations remains unclear:
(per Claim 11) with a gap formed between another set of the broken rib and the broken rib adjacent to each other in the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator, disposed adjacent in the vertical direction (MD direction) of the separator
(per Claim 12) with a gap formed between the broken rib and the broken rib second most adjacent to the broken rib, located on the left side of the broken rib with respect to the horizontal direction (CD direction) of the separator
It is unclear what is structurally required by the Claims because there is no previous recitation of “the broken rib adjacent to each other” and there is no way of determining the horizontal and vertical directions.
Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 102
Applicant argues on pages 6-9 of the response that Miller does not teach that each rib includes two or more bending points. It is the Examiner’s position that the broadest reasonable interpretation for the claim term “a rib” does not exclude a collection of discontinuous raised structures on the porous backweb. Therefore, the argument made by applicant is not commensurate in scope with the claim because amended Claim 1 does not exclude the previously provided interpterion. After a review of the arguments made by applicant and the cited art, the Examiner respectfully maintains that the disclosure of Miller anticipates the amended limitations to Claim 1 as given above.
Note, if Claim 1 was amended to preclude the interpretation of the rib from being a discontinuous structure the cited prior art would be overcome.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Natesh (US-20170294639-A1), see Fig. 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.E.C./
Kayla E. ClaryExaminer, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721