DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/260,479 filed on 07/06/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant's claim for priority based on application filed on 01/07/2021 (CHINA 202110019120.6).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-16 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (Pub. No. 2018/0084489 A1 hereinafter Su) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. 2011/0244902 A1 hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Rao et al. (Pub. No. 2018/0175949 A1 hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claim 1, Su teaches “a method of controlling a mobile terminal,” as [(Para: 0020), The mobile device further can include one or more processors] “comprising: obtaining a network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in a plurality of candidate network frequency bands,” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition… (Para. 0021), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency… (Para. 0021), The at least one performance metric includes a signal strength or a signal quality.] “selecting the target network frequency band among the plurality of candidate network frequency bands according to the modified network signal strength, wherein the target network signal network strength of the target network frequency band is a maximum network signal strength among obtained network signal strengths,” [(Para. 0021), The method can further include selecting the LTE cell using the candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies having a highest value for the signal strength or the signal quality.] “and the target network signal strength is greater than the modified network signal strength;” [(Para. 0021), a highest value for the signal strength or the signal quality.] “registering the control mobile terminal in the target network frequency band when the target network frequency band is selected;” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell] “using the reference network frequency band as the target network frequency band” [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band].
However, Su does not specifically disclose according to a global positioning system (GPS) activation instruction; wherein the plurality of candidate network frequency bands do not include a reference network frequency band that conflicts with an operating band of GPS, and the reference network frequency band is a band 13 network frequency band in a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) network; determining a modified network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band, wherein the modified network signal strength is less than a reference network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band; and when the target network frequency band is not selected, using the reference network frequency band as the target network frequency band and reducing, by lowering a network antenna power of the mobile terminal, a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches “wherein the plurality of candidate network frequency bands do not include a reference network frequency band” as [(Para. 0074), the UE does not regard the barred cell as a selectable cell. The UE regards a non-barred cell or a non-reserved cell as a selectable cell.. (Para. 0090), In the LTE system, if carrier aggregation is set in the UE, all the primary serving cell and the secondary serving cells connected to the UE are barred… (Para. 0092), the UE searches for the cell suitable for camp-on except the barred cell] “and when the target network frequency band is not selected,” [(Para. 0074), the UE does not regard the barred cell as a selectable cell.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su to provide an effective technique as taught by Kim for handling a barred cell in a wireless communication system and to provide a cell selection method capable of preventing an unnecessary cell selection process [Kim: Para. 0022-0023].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose according to a global positioning system (GPS) activation instruction; that conflicts with an operating band of GPS, and the reference network frequency band is a band 13 network frequency band in a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) network; determining a modified network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band, wherein the modified network signal strength is less than a reference network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band; and reducing, by lowering a network antenna power of the mobile terminal, a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “according to a global positioning system (GPS) activation instruction,” as [((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation] “that conflicts with an operating band of GPS, and the reference network frequency band is a band 13 network frequency band in a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) network;” as [(Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14 causing interference to GPS radio 120] “determining a modified network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band, wherein the modified network signal strength is less than a reference network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band;” [(Para. 0030), There are some existing approaches or proposals to mitigate the LTE TX interference to ISM RX (receiver). For example, when LTE TX adjacent interference to ISM RX is higher than a threshold, one could limit or reduce TX transmission power… Note: Reducing transmission power would have been understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to result in a corresponding reduction in network signal strength.] “and reducing, by lowering a network antenna power of the mobile terminal, a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength” [(Para. 0030), There are some existing approaches or proposals to mitigate the LTE TX interference to ISM RX (receiver). For example, when LTE TX adjacent interference to ISM RX is higher than a threshold, one could limit or reduce TX transmission power, blank the TX transmission, or even switch the TX frequency to a different band which is farther away from ISM bands.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao, specifically Rao teaches “wherein each candidate network frequency band of the plurality of candidate network frequency bands and the reference network frequency band all belong to a working network frequency band of the mobile terminal” as [(Para. 0024), Multi-mode device 100 comprises radios 110, 120, 130 of three different radio technologies. In the present example, multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2, and ISM RF circuitry 130-1 coupled to ISM baseband circuitry 130-2… (Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14… Note: This shows Band 13 and other candidate bands are within the device’s working LTE bands].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “wherein the obtaining the network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands” as [(Para. 0020), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies] comprises: detecting whether the mobile terminal is registered in the reference network frequency band;” [(Para. 0025), camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell found] “and when the mobile terminal is registered in the reference network frequency band, obtaining the network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands;” [(Para. 0020), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose according to the GPS activation instruction comprises: when receiving the GPS activation instruction, and when the mobile terminal is not registered in the reference network frequency band, activating the GPS.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “according to the GPS activation instruction comprises: when receiving the GPS activation instruction,” as [((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation] “and when the mobile terminal is not registered in the reference network frequency band, activating the GPS” [(Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14 causing interference to GPS radio 120 …((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “further comprising: controlling the mobile terminal to register in the reference network frequency band” as [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose when a GPS stop instruction is received.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “when a GPS stop instruction is received” as [(Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14 causing interference to GPS radio 120 …((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 6, Su teaches “a method of controlling a mobile terminal,” as [(Para: 0020), The mobile device further can include one or more processors] “comprising: obtaining a network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in a plurality of candidate network frequency bands,” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition… (Para. 0021), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency… (Para. 0021), The at least one performance metric includes a signal strength or a signal quality.] “and according to corresponding network signal strengths of the reference network frequency band and each candidate network frequency band, determining a target network frequency band corresponding to the mobile terminal” [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band] “and controlling the mobile terminal to be registered in the target network frequency band” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell].
However, Su does not specifically disclose according to a global positioning system (GPS) activation instruction, wherein the plurality of candidate network frequency bands do not include a reference network frequency band that conflicts with an operating band of GPS.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches “wherein the plurality of candidate network frequency bands do not include a reference network frequency band” as [(Para. 0074), the UE does not regard the barred cell as a selectable cell. The UE regards a non-barred cell or a non-reserved cell as a selectable cell.. (Para. 0090), In the LTE system, if carrier aggregation is set in the UE, all the primary serving cell and the secondary serving cells connected to the UE are barred… (Para. 0092), the UE searches for the cell suitable for camp-on except the barred cell].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su to provide an effective technique as taught by Kim for handling a barred cell in a wireless communication system and to provide a cell selection method capable of preventing an unnecessary cell selection process [Kim: Para. 0022-0023].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose according to a global positioning system (GPS) activation instruction, the reference network frequency band that conflicts with an operating band of GPS.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “according to a global positioning system (GPS) activation instruction,” as [((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation] “the reference network frequency band that conflicts with an operating band of GPS” [(Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14 causing interference to GPS radio 120].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 7, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “wherein the obtaining the network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands” as [(Para. 0020), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies]. comprises: detecting whether the mobile terminal is registered in the reference network frequency band;” as [(Para. 0025), camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell found] and when the mobile terminal is registered in the reference network frequency band, obtaining the network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose according to the GPS activation instruction when receiving the GPS activation instruction.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “according to the GPS activation instruction comprises: when receiving the GPS activation instruction,” as [((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “wherein the obtaining the network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands” as [(Para. 0020), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose according to the GPS activation instruction further comprises: when the mobile terminal is not registered in the reference network frequency band, activating the GPS.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “according to the GPS activation instruction further comprises:” as [((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation].
“when the mobile terminal is not registered in the reference network frequency band, activating the GPS” [(Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14 causing interference to GPS radio 120 …((Para. 0024), multi-mode device 100 comprises LTE RF circuitry 110-1 coupled to LTE baseband circuitry 110-2, GPS RF circuitry 120-1 coupled to GPS baseband circuitry 120-2… Note: This implies GPS activation within the multi-mode device operation].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands is different from each other” as [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition… Note: A “list” inherently requires: multiple entries and distinct frequencies].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose wherein each candidate network frequency band of the plurality of candidate network frequency bands is a network frequency band in an LTE network.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “wherein each candidate network frequency band of the plurality of candidate network frequency bands is a network frequency band in an LTE network” as [(Para. 0029), LTE RF radio 110 transmitting on LTE Band 7/13/14].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao, specifically Su teaches “wherein the mobile terminal stores in advance the network signal strength corresponding to each candidate network frequency band in the plurality of candidate network frequency bands,” as [(Para. 0020), The mobile device selects the cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics obtained for the list of candidate frequencies. The performance metric includes a signal strength or a signal quality… (Para. 0048), searching of LTE cells from a set of stored LTE frequencies (in one RF band or spanning multiple RF bands)… (Para. 0020), The mobile device further can include one or more processors in communication with the wireless circuitry and a storage medium for storing…] “wherein the network signal strength corresponding to each candidate network frequency band is acquired and recorded by the mobile terminal when the mobile terminal acquires each candidate network frequency band” [(Para. 0021), The method can further include selecting the LTE cell using the candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies having a highest value for the signal strength or the signal quality…Note: this implies signal values are stored/maintained and used later for comparison].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “wherein the determining the target network frequency band corresponding to the mobile terminal according to the corresponding network signal strengths of the reference network frequency band and each candidate network frequency band” as [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band] “and controlling the mobile terminal to be registered in the target network frequency band” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell] “comprises: selecting the target network frequency band among the plurality of candidate network frequency bands according to the modified network signal strength, wherein the target network signal network strength of the target network frequency band is a maximum network signal strength among obtained network signal strengths,” [(Para. 0021), The method can further include selecting the LTE cell using the candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies having a highest value for the signal strength or the signal quality.] “and the target network signal strength is greater than the modified network signal strength;” [(Para. 0021), a highest value for the signal strength or the signal quality.] “and registering the control mobile terminal in the target network frequency band when the target network frequency band is selected” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose determining a modified network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band, wherein the modified network signal strength is less than a reference network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “determining a modified network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band, wherein the modified network signal strength is less than a reference network signal strength corresponding to the reference network frequency band” as [(Para. 0030), There are some existing approaches or proposals to mitigate the LTE TX interference to ISM RX (receiver). For example, when LTE TX adjacent interference to ISM RX is higher than a threshold, one could limit or reduce TX transmission power… Note: Reducing transmission power would have been understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to result in a corresponding reduction in network signal strength.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Su teaches “wherein the determining a target network frequency band corresponding to the mobile terminal” as [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band] “and controlling the mobile terminal to register in the target network frequency band according to the reference network frequency band” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell] “and the corresponding network signal strength of each candidate network frequency band further comprises: using the reference network frequency band as the target network frequency band” [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band].
However, Su does not specifically disclose when the target network frequency band is not selected, reducing a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches “when the target network frequency band is not selected” [(Para. 0074), the UE does not regard the barred cell as a selectable cell.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su to provide an effective technique as taught by Kim for handling a barred cell in a wireless communication system and to provide a cell selection method capable of preventing an unnecessary cell selection process [Kim: Para. 0022-0023].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose reducing a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “reducing a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength” as [(Para. 0030), There are some existing approaches or proposals to mitigate the LTE TX interference to ISM RX (receiver). For example, when LTE TX adjacent interference to ISM RX is higher than a threshold, one could limit or reduce TX transmission power… Note: Reducing transmission power would have been understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to result in a corresponding reduction in network signal strength.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao, specifically Rao teaches “wherein the reducing the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength comprises: modifying the reference network signal strength by reducing the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band by lowering the network antenna” as [(Para. 0030), There are some existing approaches or proposals to mitigate the LTE TX interference to ISM RX (receiver). For example, when LTE TX adjacent interference to ISM RX is higher than a threshold, one could limit or reduce TX transmission power… Note: Reducing transmission power would have been understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to result in a corresponding reduction in network signal strength.].
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including “a mobile terminal comprising a processor,” as [(Su: Para: 0020), The mobile device further can include one or more processors] “a memory storing computer readable instructions executable by the processor,” [(Su: Para: 0020), one or more processors in communication with the wireless circuitry and a storage medium for storing program code] “and a bus for performing a communication between the processor and the memory…” [(Rao: Para. 0087), a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connector].
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 8.
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Kim, further in view of Rao and further in view of Chao et al. (Pub. No. 2014/0274162 A1 hereinafter Chao).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Su and Kim, specifically Su teaches “wherein after using the reference network frequency band as the target network frequency band” as [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band].
However, the combination of Su and Kim does not specifically disclose reducing by lowering a network antenna power of the mobile terminal, a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength, the method further comprises: when a GPS stop instruction is received, recovering the network antenna power of the mobile terminal to recover the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band.
In an analogous art, Rao teaches “reducing by lowering a network antenna power of the mobile terminal, a network signal strength of the reference network frequency band to the modified network signal strength” as [(Para. 0030), There are some existing approaches or proposals to mitigate the LTE TX interference to ISM RX (receiver). For example, when LTE TX adjacent interference to ISM RX is higher than a threshold, one could limit or reduce TX transmission power, blank the TX transmission, or even switch the TX frequency to a different band which is farther away from ISM bands.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su and Kim to provide an effective technique as taught by Rao for improve concepts for estimating adjacent channel interference for multi-mode devices and provide higher estimation accuracy and does not need to pre-store huge look-up tables in the mitigation interference process [Rao: Para. 0004 and 0088].
However, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao does not specifically disclose the method further comprises: when a GPS stop instruction is received, recovering the network antenna power of the mobile terminal to recover the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band.
In an analogous art, Chao teaches “the method further comprises: when a GPS stop instruction is received, recovering the network antenna power of the mobile terminal to recover the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band” as [(Para. 0039), Accordingly, blocks that may cause second harmonic interference with the GPS receiver by falling entirely into the GPS frequency range (Pi1, Pi2, . . . etc.) are first analyzed to determine if their power is greater than 0 (at 116). If so, power is reduced by stepping down the power of these blocks (at 118).].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su, Kim and Rao to provide an effective technique as taught by Chao for reducing harmonic interference between broadband wireless devices and GPS receivers [Chao: Para. 0004].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao, specifically Su teaches “wherein after the determining a target network frequency band corresponding to the mobile terminal” as [(Para. 0021), selecting an LTE cell on which to camp using the list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition. In one embodiment, the list of candidate frequencies can be generated by obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies and selecting the LTE cell on which to camp based on a set of performance metrics associated with the list of candidate frequencies… Note: Once selected that band becomes the target band] “and controlling the mobile terminal to be registered in the target network frequency band,” [(Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition and select a cell on which to camp … (Para. 0025), cause the mobile station to establish a connection on the legacy network using the first receiver and the transmitter for processing the voice call; determine, during the voice call, a strongest suitable LTE cell of the LTE network using a second receiver of the mobile station based on one or more measured performance metrics; and return to the LTE network by camping on the strongest suitable LTE cell].
However, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao does not specifically disclose the method further comprises: when a GPS stop instruction is received, recovering the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band.
In an analogous art, Chao teaches “the method further comprises: when a GPS stop instruction is received, recovering the network signal strength of the reference network frequency band” as [(Para. 0005), reducing the transmit power level stepwise for the second plurality of frequency blocks until valid GPS data is determined or until the transmit power level for the second plurality of frequency blocks is zero].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su, Kim and Rao to provide an effective technique as taught by Chao for reducing harmonic interference between broadband wireless devices and GPS receivers [Chao: Para. 0004].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Kim, further in view of Rao and further in view of Shilov et al. (Pub. No. 2020/0374861 A1 hereinafter Shilov).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao, specifically Su teaches “wherein the selecting the target network frequency band among the plurality of candidate network frequency bands according to the modified network signal strength comprises: comparing the obtained each network signal strength with the modified network signal strength to select at least one candidate network frequency band having a network signal strength greater than the modified network signal strength;” (Para. 0020), The program code can further cause the mobile device to generate a list of candidate frequencies for cell acquisition… (Para. 0021), obtaining at least one performance metric for each candidate frequency… (Para. 0021), The at least one performance metric includes a signal strength or a signal quality.] “and when the plurality of candidate network frequency bands corresponding to a maximum network signal strength is greater than 1” [(Para. 0021), The method can further include selecting the LTE cell using the candidate frequency in the list of candidate frequencies having a highest value for the signal strength or the signal quality.].
However, the combination of Su, Kim and Rao does not specifically disclose randomly selecting a candidate network frequency band as the target network frequency band from the number of candidate network frequency bands corresponding to the maximum network signal strength.
In an analogous art, Shilov teaches “randomly selecting a candidate network frequency band as the target network frequency band from the number of candidate network frequency bands corresponding to the maximum network signal strength” as [(Para. 0080), When selecting MCR tentative candidate resources for transmission UE prioritizes selection of at least one earliest in time candidate resource among MCS-EIT earliest in time resources (MCS-EIT<MCS) in order to announce its scheduling decision by PSCCH as soon as possible. Other resources may be selected randomly.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as in Su, Kim and Rao to provide an effective technique as taught by Shilov for improve NR V2X sidelink by efficient resource selection and/or reselection procedure suitable for periodic and aperiodic traffic communications [Shilov: Para. 0003-0004].
Conclusion
/NATALI PASCUAL PEGUERO/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463