Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to the communication filed on 11/07/2025. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 11/07/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome each and every objection to the claims.
Applicant’s amendments overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of the claims.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections of claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US-20200007960-A1; hereinafter Campbell) in view of Blanchard (US-20100147389-A1; hereinafter Blanchard).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell discloses:
A moisture sensor controlling apparatus (see at least Fig. 12, soil monitoring system 1200, specifically components 1202, 1204, 1206, 1208 and 1250) for a plurality of moisture sensors installable in soil in which plants are cultivatable to detect a moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0107]; “Sensors 1210, 1214, and 1218 may be buried in the soil and may each be equipped with a Transmit/Receive Structure (e.g., 1212, 1216, and 1220)…If such Sensors are placed in soil, such data may include parameters such as soil moisture, salinity, and temperature.” Paragraph [0109] discusses an agriculture application.), wherein the plurality of moisture sensors includes a first set of one or more moisture sensors and a second set of one or more moisture sensors (see at least [0047]; “For example, one user may install one sensor in each zone or multiple sensors in each zone.”), and wherein the moisture sensor controlling apparatus comprises:
a sensor controller (see at least Fig. 12, receiver 1202) operably coupled to the plurality of moisture sensors for receiving sensor state information of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0105]; “In some embodiments, Receiver 1202 may be located (typically at distances less than 5 m or so) near Sensors 1212, 1216, and 1220. In such an arrangement, if Sensors 1212, 1216, and 1220 are transmitting, then an electrical signal may be produced in Receiver 1202's receiver structure which may then be demodulated to recover the Sensor data transmission.”); and
an environmental data processor operably coupled to the sensor controller (see at least Fig. 12, data analytic component 1250) for calculating environmental information using environmental data regarding an environment of the soil and pertaining to growth characteristics and requirements of the plants (see at least [0108]; “In some embodiments, a Data Analytic Component 1250 may be included in System 1200. Data Analytic Component 1250 may reside on a server or at one or more the receivers of System 1200. Data Analytic Component 1250 may process incoming sensor data to provide management decisions and possibly implement control operations such as turning on irrigation, managing irrigation efficiently with respect to peak electrical power costs, scheduling agricultural operations such as spraying, tilling, etc. to reflect the actual conditions. In addition, Data Analytic Component 1250 may adapt System 1200 based on incoming data to reconfigure sensing to acquire enhanced information about the area being monitored.”), wherein at least some of the environmental data is received by the environmental data processor from sources external to both the moisture controlling apparatus and the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0134]; “Data Analytic Component 1250 may also have access to third party data streams such as peak power rates, weather forecasts, water district restrictions, etc. to further refine data presented to a user.”), wherein the environmental information calculated by the environmental data processor comprises
position information regarding a position of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0119]; “In other embodiments, if Sensors in System 1200 have both transmit and receive functionality, then various methods known in the art may be used to store a rough location of the Sensors in a database (e.g., non-differential simple GPS, sighting lines, or by triangulating distances from fixed, prominent locations to get within 5-10 m of the Sensor). A field unit may be used transmit a steady beacon of commands the Sensor may be capable of receiving, which may then be used to trigger a responding transmission from the Sensor, thereby allowing one to systematically scan an area and estimate the Sensor's precise location. As with differential GPS, a mobile application can greatly facilitate this process.”),
a position of a portion of the plants with respect to the position of each moisture sensor (see at least [0147]; “In locations such as greenhouses, grow operations, arboretums, interior planters, etc. the Receiver pickup coils used in System 1200 may be quite large and built into the floor, growing tables, or planter boxes and shelves. This may allow individual pots or planter boxes to have Sensors in them and when placed in these areas, Sensor data may be received to manage operations down to the single plant level if desired.”), and
water supply information regarding water supply to the soil (see at least [0109]; “For example, in the case of agriculture, water infiltration rates provide key information as to the most efficient irrigation strategies, plant health, and whether cultural practices such as deep tilling are indicated. A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”),
wherein the sensor controller controls an operation state of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors, the operation state comprising a first operation state requiring a first level of electric power and a second operation state requiring a second level of electric power that is more than the first level (see at least [0127]; “In embodiments where Sensors in System 1200 have a receive capability, the Receivers may time synch the Sensor response times so that each Receiver can be in a low power state except during Sensor transmissions. In addition, a Receiver in System 1200 may modify the Sensor(s) reporting interval or other behavior in response to system-wide operating conditions that are communicated to the Receiver, such as via an external network interface. For example, when crops are fallow, the Receiver may be informed of this state, and then direct itself, as well as the Sensors connected to it into a very low power, sparse reporting mode to conserve battery life during these periods when irrigation is not occurring. In further embodiments, a Receiver in System 1200 may monitor a Sensor transmission signal level and error rate (when employing FEC or parity bits) and if the signal is too low or noisy, such a Receiver may direct a Sensor to increase transmit power levels or use stronger error correction techniques.”),
wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor on a basis of the environmental information calculated by the environmental data processor (see again [0127]; “In addition, a Receiver in System 1200 may modify the Sensor(s) reporting interval or other behavior in response to system-wide operating conditions that are communicated to the Receiver, such as via an external network interface. For example, when crops are fallow the Receiver may be informed of this state, and then direct itself, as well as the Sensors connected to it into a very low power, sparse reporting mode to conserve battery life during these periods when irrigation is not occurring.”),
wherein the sensor controller causes for less frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the one or more sensors (see again [0127] regarding a lower power mode when crops are fallow), and
wherein the sensor controller causes sensor (see at least [0109]; “A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”).
However, Campbell does not explicitly teach the simultaneous, differentiated control of a first set of one or more sensors and a second set of one or more sensors. Rather, Campbell explicitly discusses controlling only one set of sensors at a time, and this set may employ a higher or lower power-consuming operation state according to proximate environmental conditions.
Campbell teaches obtaining telemetry environmental readings from within an electromagnetic-absorbing material, and Blanchard is directed to an irrigation control apparatus. Blanchard teaches:
A moisture sensor controlling apparatus (see at least Fig. 4, central control module 105) for a plurality of moisture sensors (see at least Fig. 4, sensor modules 125) installable in soil in which plants are cultivatable to detect a moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0067]; “In this manner, soil moisture data detected by the sensor modules 125 can be relayed through multiple components to the central control module 105 via the wireless networks 110, 120, and data requests and signal timing schedule updates can be transmitted to the sensor modules 125 via the wireless networks 110, 120.), wherein the plurality of moisture sensors includes a first set of one or more moisture sensors and a second set of one or more moisture sensors (see at least [0040]; “The sensors 65 are placed in one or more irrigation zones within an irrigation area. For example, in a residential application, one sensor 65 can be placed within a lawn area and another sensor 65 can be placed in a flower bed. The lawn area and flower bed can be divided into multiple zones. The lawn area zone in which the lawn sensor 65 is located can be defined as a master zone. The remaining lawn area zones are then set to follow (e.g., be dependent upon sensor readings from) the master zone with regards to irrigation events within the zones. The flower bed zones can be similarly and separately configured.”),
wherein the sensor controller causes the first set of one or more moisture sensors to enter the first operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for less frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the first set (see at least [0068] – [0069]; “Referring to FIG. 5, a method 200 for controlling a moisture content reading rate of a moisture sensor is shown according to one embodiment. The method 200 begins by determining 205 a rate of change of the moisture content in the soil in an irrigation zone using the soil moisture module 85. The rate of change can be determined by detecting the moisture content of the soil in an irrigation zone using the sensor module 20 at a first moment in time, detecting the moisture content of the soil in the irrigation zone using the sensor module at a second moment in time, and comparing the moisture content at the second moment in time with the moisture content at the first moment in time.
“The method 200 then determines whether an irrigation event is occurring at 210. If determined at 210 that an irrigation event is occurring, then the method 200 takes soil moisture content readings according to a high frequency timing schedule at 215 and the method ends. If, however, an irrigation event is not occurring then the method 200 takes soil moisture readings according to a low frequency timing schedule at 220 and the method ends.), and
wherein the sensor controller causes the second set of at least one moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors to enter the second operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for more frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the second set (see at least [0040], quoted above, regarding irrigation zones having separate sensors and being separately configured. See also [0068] – [0069], quoted above, specifically “If determined at 210 that an irrigation event is occurring, then the method 200 takes soil moisture content readings according to a high frequency timing schedule at 215 and the method ends.”).
Both Campbell and Blanchard teach changing the frequency of sensing for moisture sensors within a particular zone as a function of whether irrigation is taking place. Campbell teaches that irrigation systems are typically divided into multiple zones (see [0033] – [0034]). Blanchard specifically teaches controlling different zones simultaneously and independently. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art apply the teaching of Blanchard to the system of Campbell by controlling multiple zones. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so in order to independently manage the needs of each zone, as suggested by Campbell (see [0033]) and Blanchard (see [0040]).
Regarding claim 2, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein for controlling the operation state of the at least one moisture sensor, the sensor controller controls at least one of whether to supply power to each moisture sensor in order to detect the moisture amount in the soil, and how frequent the moisture amount in the soil is to be detected by each moisture sensor (see at least [0109]; “A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”).
Regarding claim 5, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein
the sensor controller causes the (see at least [0127]; “In addition, a Receiver in System 1200 may modify the Sensor(s) reporting interval or other behavior in response to system-wide operating conditions that are communicated to the Receiver, such as via an external network interface. For example, when crops are fallow the Receiver may be informed of this state, and then direct itself, as well as the Sensors connected to it into a very low power, sparse reporting mode to conserve battery life during these periods when irrigation is not occurring.”).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention of Campbell to separately control first and second sets of moisture sensors for the reasons given regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 5. Campbell further teaches:
wherein
the sensor controller causes the (see at least [0109]; “A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention of Campbell to separately control first and second sets of moisture sensors for the reasons given regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein
the environment data processor calculates the water supply information regarding water supply to the soil using at least one of water supply data of water supply to the soil that is performed by a water spraying apparatus, rainfall data of rainfall in the soil, or detection data of a detection performed by the one or more moisture sensors installed in the soil (see at least [0062]; “In various embodiments, the cloud platform may analyze various types of data and generate different metrics indicating the efficiency of a user's sprinkler system. As discussed earlier, in various embodiments, the cloud platform may be able to estimate the amount of water usage based on information regarding when the user's sprinkler system was in use. In various embodiments, the cloud platform may assess the amount of water usage relative to one or more different benchmarks, including but not limited to an ideal, desired, required, and expected set of garden parameters. Suppose, for example, that Alice's sprinkler system was turned on for a certain period time (e.g., X minutes). In some embodiments, the cloud platform may estimate what the expected level of moisture in Alice's garden should be after X minutes of watering. In some embodiments, the cloud platform's estimate may be generated based on a host of different types of data (e.g., Data 161-162, Data 261-262), including but not limited to current weather conditions (e.g., temperature, humidity, wind), historical garden parameters measurements from both Alice and other similar gardens taken before and after watering, and empirical statistics. In various embodiments, the cloud platform may determine the efficiency of Alice's sprinkler system as a measure of how close (e.g., expressed as a percentage) the moisture level in Alice's garden is to the expected moisture level.”).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein
the water supply information regarding water supply to the soil includes soil-water-permeation-region information regarding a soil-water-permeation region in the soil (see at least [0062], sprinkler system efficiency), and wherein the environment data processor (see at least [0062], cloud platform) calculates the soil-water-permeation-region information using:
at least one of water supply data of a water supply to the soil that is performed by a water spraying apparatus (see at least [0062], “estimate the amount of water usage based on information regarding when the user's sprinkler system was in use”), rainfall data of rainfall in the soil, and detection data of the detection performed by one or more moisture sensors installed in the soil and
pieces of environment data including at least one of soil classification for the soil, a speed at which soil water moves in the soil, the water supply data, the rainfall data, the detection data (see at least [0062], moisture level in Alice’s garden), and the soil classification.
Regarding claim 13, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein for controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor, the sensor controller controls a supply of electric power to a transmitter of each moisture sensor to thereby alternately enable and disable transmission of moisture amount data by each moisture sensor to the sensor controller (see at least [0124]; “In some embodiments, Sensors in System 1200 may use a dynamic Sensor data transmission scheme to only sends data packets only if specific criteria have been met since the last Sensor transmission. Criteria that may be implemented include only sending transmissions when there has been a significant change in one or more measured values since the last transmission, a threshold in one or more values has been breached, etc. This may allow the Sensors in System 1200 to sample more frequently but only transmit values when the measured properties are changing. This can help conserve power on Sensors as well as Receivers in System 1200. For example, a Sensor in System 1200 with soil moisture measurement capability may be programmed to measure soil moisture once every minute, but only to transmit data if the soil moisture change exceeds a threshold. This approach allows such a Sensor to transmit data at frequent intervals during periods of dynamic change in soil moisture (such as during irrigation events) so as to determine important information about water percolation rates, while simultaneously suppressing redundant transmission of data during static soil moisture conditions.”).
Regarding claim 14, Campbell discloses:
A moisture sensor controlling system (see at least Fig. 12, soil monitoring system 1200), comprising:
a plurality of moisture sensors installable in soil in which plants are cultivatable to detect a moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0107]; “Sensors 1210, 1214, and 1218 may be buried in the soil and may each be equipped with a Transmit/Receive Structure (e.g., 1212, 1216, and 1220)…If such Sensors are placed in soil, such data may include parameters such as soil moisture, salinity, and temperature.” Paragraph [0109] discusses an agriculture application.), wherein the plurality of moisture sensors includes a first set of one or more moisture sensors and a second set of one or more moisture sensors (see at least [0047]; “For example, one user may install one sensor in each zone or multiple sensors in each zone.”);
a sensor controller (see at least Fig. 12, receiver 1202) operably coupled to the plurality of moisture sensors for receiving sensor state information of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0105]; “In some embodiments, Receiver 1202 may be located (typically at distances less than 5 m or so) near Sensors 1212, 1216, and 1220. In such an arrangement, if Sensors 1212, 1216, and 1220 are transmitting, then an electrical signal may be produced in Receiver 1202's receiver structure which may then be demodulated to recover the Sensor data transmission.”); and
an environmental data processor operably coupled to the sensor controller (see at least Fig. 12, data analytic component 1250) for calculating environment information using environmental data regarding an environment of the soil and pertaining to growth characteristics and requirements of the plants (see at least [0108]; “In some embodiments, a Data Analytic Component 1250 may be included in System 1200. Data Analytic Component 1250 may reside on a server or at one or more the receivers of System 1200. Data Analytic Component 1250 may process incoming sensor data to provide management decisions and possibly implement control operations such as turning on irrigation, managing irrigation efficiently with respect to peak electrical power costs, scheduling agricultural operations such as spraying, tilling, etc. to reflect the actual conditions. In addition, Data Analytic Component 1250 may adapt System 1200 based on incoming data to reconfigure sensing to acquire enhanced information about the area being monitored.”), wherein at least some of the environmental data is received by the environmental data processor from sources external to both the sensor controller and the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0134]; “Data Analytic Component 1250 may also have access to third party data streams such as peak power rates, weather forecasts, water district restrictions, etc. to further refine data presented to a user.”), wherein the environmental information calculated by the environmental data processor comprises
position information regarding a position of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0119]; “In other embodiments, if Sensors in System 1200 have both transmit and receive functionality, then various methods known in the art may be used to store a rough location of the Sensors in a database (e.g., non-differential simple GPS, sighting lines, or by triangulating distances from fixed, prominent locations to get within 5-10 m of the Sensor). A field unit may be used transmit a steady beacon of commands the Sensor may be capable of receiving, which may then be used to trigger a responding transmission from the Sensor, thereby allowing one to systematically scan an area and estimate the Sensor's precise location. As with differential GPS, a mobile application can greatly facilitate this process.”),
a position of a portion of the plants with respect to the position of each moisture sensor (see at least [0147]; “In locations such as greenhouses, grow operations, arboretums, interior planters, etc. the Receiver pickup coils used in System 1200 may be quite large and built into the floor, growing tables, or planter boxes and shelves. This may allow individual pots or planter boxes to have Sensors in them and when placed in these areas, Sensor data may be received to manage operations down to the single plant level if desired.”), and
water supply information regarding water supply to the soil (see at least [0109]; “For example, in the case of agriculture, water infiltration rates provide key information as to the most efficient irrigation strategies, plant health, and whether cultural practices such as deep tilling are indicated. A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”),
wherein the sensor controller controls an operation state of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors, the operation state comprising a first operation state requiring a first level of electric power and a second operation state requiring a second level of electric power that is more than the first level (see at least [0127]; “In embodiments where Sensors in System 1200 have a receive capability, the Receivers may time synch the Sensor response times so that each Receiver can be in a low power state except during Sensor transmissions. In addition, a Receiver in System 1200 may modify the Sensor(s) reporting interval or other behavior in response to system-wide operating conditions that are communicated to the Receiver, such as via an external network interface. For example, when crops are fallow, the Receiver may be informed of this state, and then direct itself, as well as the Sensors connected to it into a very low power, sparse reporting mode to conserve battery life during these periods when irrigation is not occurring. In further embodiments, a Receiver in System 1200 may monitor a Sensor transmission signal level and error rate (when employing FEC or parity bits) and if the signal is too low or noisy, such a Receiver may direct a Sensor to increase transmit power levels or use stronger error correction techniques.”),
wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor on a basis of the environmental information calculated by the environmental data processor (see again [0127]; “In addition, a Receiver in System 1200 may modify the Sensor(s) reporting interval or other behavior in response to system-wide operating conditions that are communicated to the Receiver, such as via an external network interface. For example, when crops are fallow the Receiver may be informed of this state, and then direct itself, as well as the Sensors connected to it into a very low power, sparse reporting mode to conserve battery life during these periods when irrigation is not occurring.”),
wherein the sensor controller causes the one of:
a need for more frequent monitoring of the soil proximate to the first set; and
a need for less frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the one or more sensors (see again [0127] regarding a lower power mode when crops are fallow), and
wherein the sensor controller causes the
a need for more frequent monitoring of the soil proximate to the second set; and
a need for more frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the one or more sensors (see at least [0109]; “A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”).
However, Campbell does not explicitly teach the simultaneous, differentiated control of a first set of one or more sensors and a second set of one or more sensors. Rather, Campbell explicitly discusses controlling only one set of sensors at a time, and this set may employ a higher or lower power-consuming operation state according to proximate environmental conditions.
Campbell teaches obtaining telemetry environmental readings from within an electromagnetic-absorbing material, and Blanchard is directed to an irrigation control apparatus. Blanchard teaches:
A moisture sensor controlling system (see at least Fig. 4, irrigation control system 100) comprising:
a plurality of moisture sensors (see at least Fig. 4, sensor modules 125) installable in soil in which plants are cultivatable to detect a moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0067]; “In this manner, soil moisture data detected by the sensor modules 125 can be relayed through multiple components to the central control module 105 via the wireless networks 110, 120, and data requests and signal timing schedule updates can be transmitted to the sensor modules 125 via the wireless networks 110, 120.), wherein the plurality of moisture sensors includes a first set of one or more moisture sensors and a second set of one or more moisture sensors (see at least [0040]; “The sensors 65 are placed in one or more irrigation zones within an irrigation area. For example, in a residential application, one sensor 65 can be placed within a lawn area and another sensor 65 can be placed in a flower bed. The lawn area and flower bed can be divided into multiple zones. The lawn area zone in which the lawn sensor 65 is located can be defined as a master zone. The remaining lawn area zones are then set to follow (e.g., be dependent upon sensor readings from) the master zone with regards to irrigation events within the zones. The flower bed zones can be similarly and separately configured.”),
a sensor controller operably coupled to the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least Fig. 4, central control module 105); and
wherein the sensor controller causes the first set of one or more moisture sensors to enter the first operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for less frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the first set (see at least [0068] – [0069]; “Referring to FIG. 5, a method 200 for controlling a moisture content reading rate of a moisture sensor is shown according to one embodiment. The method 200 begins by determining 205 a rate of change of the moisture content in the soil in an irrigation zone using the soil moisture module 85. The rate of change can be determined by detecting the moisture content of the soil in an irrigation zone using the sensor module 20 at a first moment in time, detecting the moisture content of the soil in the irrigation zone using the sensor module at a second moment in time, and comparing the moisture content at the second moment in time with the moisture content at the first moment in time.
“The method 200 then determines whether an irrigation event is occurring at 210. If determined at 210 that an irrigation event is occurring, then the method 200 takes soil moisture content readings according to a high frequency timing schedule at 215 and the method ends. If, however, an irrigation event is not occurring then the method 200 takes soil moisture readings according to a low frequency timing schedule at 220 and the method ends.), and
wherein the sensor controller causes the second set of at least one moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors to enter the second operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for more frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the second set (see at least [0040], quoted above, regarding irrigation zones having separate sensors and being separately configured. See also [0068] – [0069], quoted above, specifically “If determined at 210 that an irrigation event is occurring, then the method 200 takes soil moisture content readings according to a high frequency timing schedule at 215 and the method ends.”).
Both Campbell and Blanchard teach changing the frequency of sensing for moisture sensors within a particular zone as a function of whether irrigation is taking place. Campbell teaches that irrigation systems are typically divided into multiple zones (see [0033] – [0034]). Blanchard specifically teaches controlling different zones simultaneously and independently. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art apply the teaching of Blanchard to the system of Campbell by controlling multiple zones. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so in order to independently manage the needs of each zone, as suggested by Campbell (see [0033]) and Blanchard (see [0040]).
Regarding claim 15, Campbell discloses:
A moisture sensor controlling method for a plurality of moisture sensors installable in soil in which plants are cultivatable to detect a moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0107]; “Sensors 1210, 1214, and 1218 may be buried in the soil and may each be equipped with a Transmit/Receive Structure (e.g., 1212, 1216, and 1220)…If such Sensors are placed in soil, such data may include parameters such as soil moisture, salinity, and temperature.” Paragraph [0109] discusses an agriculture application.) , wherein the plurality of moisture sensors includes a first set of one or more moisture sensors and a second set of one or more moisture sensors (see at least [0047]; “For example, one user may install one sensor in each zone or multiple sensors in each zone.”), and wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a sensor controller operably coupled to each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors, sensor state information of each moisture sensor (see at least [0105]; “In some embodiments, Receiver 1202 may be located (typically at distances less than 5 m or so) near Sensors 1212, 1216, and 1220. In such an arrangement, if Sensors 1212, 1216, and 1220 are transmitting, then an electrical signal may be produced in Receiver 1202's receiver structure which may then be demodulated to recover the Sensor data transmission.”); and
calculating, by an environmental data processor operably coupled to the sensor controller, environment information using environmental data regarding an environment of the soil and pertaining to growth characteristics and requirements of the plants (see at least [0108]; “In some embodiments, a Data Analytic Component 1250 may be included in System 1200. Data Analytic Component 1250 may reside on a server or at one or more the receivers of System 1200. Data Analytic Component 1250 may process incoming sensor data to provide management decisions and possibly implement control operations such as turning on irrigation, managing irrigation efficiently with respect to peak electrical power costs, scheduling agricultural operations such as spraying, tilling, etc. to reflect the actual conditions. In addition, Data Analytic Component 1250 may adapt System 1200 based on incoming data to reconfigure sensing to acquire enhanced information about the area being monitored.”), wherein at least some of the environmental data is received by the environmental data processor from sources external to both the sensor controller and the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0134]; “Data Analytic Component 1250 may also have access to third party data streams such as peak power rates, weather forecasts, water district restrictions, etc. to further refine data presented to a user.”), wherein calculating the environmental information comprises calculating:
position information regarding a position of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0119]; “In other embodiments, if Sensors in System 1200 have both transmit and receive functionality, then various methods known in the art may be used to store a rough location of the Sensors in a database (e.g., non-differential simple GPS, sighting lines, or by triangulating distances from fixed, prominent locations to get within 5-10 m of the Sensor). A field unit may be used transmit a steady beacon of commands the Sensor may be capable of receiving, which may then be used to trigger a responding transmission from the Sensor, thereby allowing one to systematically scan an area and estimate the Sensor's precise location. As with differential GPS, a mobile application can greatly facilitate this process.”);
a position of a portion of the plants with respect to the position of each moisture sensor (see at least [0147]; “In locations such as greenhouses, grow operations, arboretums, interior planters, etc. the Receiver pickup coils used in System 1200 may be quite large and built into the floor, growing tables, or planter boxes and shelves. This may allow individual pots or planter boxes to have Sensors in them and when placed in these areas, Sensor data may be received to manage operations down to the single plant level if desired.”); and
water supply information regarding water supply to the soil (see at least [0109]; “For example, in the case of agriculture, water infiltration rates provide key information as to the most efficient irrigation strategies, plant health, and whether cultural practices such as deep tilling are indicated. A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”); and
controlling, by the sensor controller and based on the calculated environmental information, an operation state of each moisture sensor, wherein the operation state comprises a first operation state requiring a first level of electric power and a second operation state requiring a second level of electric power that is more than the first level (see at least [0127]; “In embodiments where Sensors in System 1200 have a receive capability, the Receivers may time synch the Sensor response times so that each Receiver can be in a low power state except during Sensor transmissions. In addition, a Receiver in System 1200 may modify the Sensor(s) reporting interval or other behavior in response to system-wide operating conditions that are communicated to the Receiver, such as via an external network interface. For example, when crops are fallow, the Receiver may be informed of this state, and then direct itself, as well as the Sensors connected to it into a very low power, sparse reporting mode to conserve battery life during these periods when irrigation is not occurring. In further embodiments, a Receiver in System 1200 may monitor a Sensor transmission signal level and error rate (when employing FEC or parity bits) and if the signal is too low or noisy, such a Receiver may direct a Sensor to increase transmit power levels or use stronger error correction techniques.”), wherein controlling the operation state comprises:
causing the first set of one or more moisture sensors of the plurality of moisture sensors to enter the first operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for less frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the first set (see again [0127] regarding a lower power mode when crops are fallow); and
causing the second set of one or more moisture sensors to enter the second operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for more frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the second set (see at least [0109]; “A fixed interval soil moisture sensing approach may be optimal for battery life management in routine monitoring, but may be otherwise insufficient to capture the dynamic changes in soil moisture that occur when irrigation is in progress. To capture these events and better characterize the site, the system may increase the frequency of the Sensor soil moisture measurement and data transmission to the Receiver.”).
However, Campbell does not explicitly teach the simultaneous, differentiated control of a first set of one or more sensors and a second set of one or more sensors. Rather, Campbell explicitly discusses controlling only one set of sensors at a time, and this set may employ a higher or lower power-consuming operation state according to proximate environmental conditions.
Campbell teaches obtaining telemetry environmental readings from within an electromagnetic-absorbing material, and Blanchard is directed to an irrigation control apparatus. Blanchard teaches:
A moisture sensor controlling method (see at least Abs; “Described herein are various embodiments of an apparatus, system, and method for controlling the irrigation of an area. In one embodiment, an apparatus includes at least one sensor module that is configured to detect the soil moisture content of soil in an irrigation area. The sensor module is further configured to determine a rate of change of the soil moisture content based on the detected soil moisture content. A rate at which the sensor module detects the soil moisture content of the soil is based on the determined rate of change of the soil moisture content.”) for a plurality of moisture sensors (see at least Fig. 4, sensor modules 125) installable in soil in which plants are cultivatable to detect a moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0067]; “In this manner, soil moisture data detected by the sensor modules 125 can be relayed through multiple components to the central control module 105 via the wireless networks 110, 120, and data requests and signal timing schedule updates can be transmitted to the sensor modules 125 via the wireless networks 110, 120.), wherein the plurality of moisture sensors includes a first set of one or more moisture sensors and a second set of one or more moisture sensors (see at least [0040]; “The sensors 65 are placed in one or more irrigation zones within an irrigation area. For example, in a residential application, one sensor 65 can be placed within a lawn area and another sensor 65 can be placed in a flower bed. The lawn area and flower bed can be divided into multiple zones. The lawn area zone in which the lawn sensor 65 is located can be defined as a master zone. The remaining lawn area zones are then set to follow (e.g., be dependent upon sensor readings from) the master zone with regards to irrigation events within the zones. The flower bed zones can be similarly and separately configured.”), wherein the method comprises:
causing the first set of one or more moisture sensors to enter the first operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for less frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the first set (see at least [0068] – [0069]; “Referring to FIG. 5, a method 200 for controlling a moisture content reading rate of a moisture sensor is shown according to one embodiment. The method 200 begins by determining 205 a rate of change of the moisture content in the soil in an irrigation zone using the soil moisture module 85. The rate of change can be determined by detecting the moisture content of the soil in an irrigation zone using the sensor module 20 at a first moment in time, detecting the moisture content of the soil in the irrigation zone using the sensor module at a second moment in time, and comparing the moisture content at the second moment in time with the moisture content at the first moment in time.
“The method 200 then determines whether an irrigation event is occurring at 210. If determined at 210 that an irrigation event is occurring, then the method 200 takes soil moisture content readings according to a high frequency timing schedule at 215 and the method ends. If, however, an irrigation event is not occurring then the method 200 takes soil moisture readings according to a low frequency timing schedule at 220 and the method ends.), and
causing the second set of at least one moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors to enter the second operation state when the environmental information is indicative of a need for more frequent transmission to the sensor controller of moisture amount data obtained proximate to the second set (see at least [0040], quoted above, regarding irrigation zones having separate sensors and being separately configured. See also [0068] – [0069], quoted above, specifically “If determined at 210 that an irrigation event is occurring, then the method 200 takes soil moisture content readings according to a high frequency timing schedule at 215 and the method ends.”).
Both Campbell and Blanchard teach changing the frequency of sensing for moisture sensors within a particular zone as a function of whether irrigation is taking place. Campbell teaches that irrigation systems are typically divided into multiple zones (see [0033] – [0034]). Blanchard specifically teaches controlling different zones simultaneously and independently. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art apply the teaching of Blanchard to the system of Campbell by controlling multiple zones. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so in order to independently manage the needs of each zone, as suggested by Campbell (see [0033]) and Blanchard (see [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling method according to claim 15. Blanchard further teaches:
wherein controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor comprises controlling the operation state of the first set of one or more moisture sensors independently from controlling the operation state of the second set of at least one moisture sensor (see at least [0040]; “The sensors 65 are placed in one or more irrigation zones within an irrigation area. For example, in a residential application, one sensor 65 can be placed within a lawn area and another sensor 65 can be placed in a flower bed. The lawn area and flower bed can be divided into multiple zones. The lawn area zone in which the lawn sensor 65 is located can be defined as a master zone. The remaining lawn area zones are then set to follow (e.g., be dependent upon sensor readings from) the master zone with regards to irrigation events within the zones. The flower bed zones can be similarly and separately configured.”).
Regarding claim 17, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein at least one of:
the first set of one or more moisture sensors includes a first plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0047]; “For example, one user may install one sensor in each zone or multiple sensors in each zone.”); and
the second set of one or more moisture sensors includes a second plurality of moisture sensors.
Regarding claim 18, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. Campbell further teaches:
wherein the first set of one or more moisture sensors includes a first plurality of moisture sensors, and wherein the second set of one or more moisture sensors includes a second plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0047]; “For example, one user may install one sensor in each zone or multiple sensors in each zone.”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Blanchard, further in view of Kumar et al. (US-10073074-B1; hereinafter Kumar).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. However, Campbell does not explicitly teach:
wherein for controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor, the sensor controller controls a supply of electric power to a signal generator of each moisture sensor to thereby alternately enable and disable monitoring of the amount of moisture by each moisture sensor.
Kumar teaches:
wherein for controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor, the sensor controller controls a supply of electric power (see at least col. 6, lines 41-44; “A further object feature or advantage of the present invention is a low power or ‘sleep’ mode in which sensor consumes few hundred microwatts of power compared to a few watts of power consumption under measurement mode.”) to a signal generator of each moisture sensor (see at least col. 13, lines 46-53; “The complete sensor architecture consisting of microprocessor, transceiver, phase-lock-loop (PLL) for sinusoid generation, directional coupler, gain and phase detector quadrature demodulator, SP4T and SP2T switches, power amplifier, low-pass-filter and diplexer is as shown in FIG. 11. When the system starts, the first step by the microprocessor is to program the PLL to the desired frequency of operation.”) to thereby alternately enable and disable monitoring of the amount of moisture by each moisture sensor (see at least col. 2, lines 18-21; “When the sensor is not making measurements, it switches to sleep mode and waits for an external trigger to wake it up again. Power saved in this fashion increases the battery life of the sensor.”).
Both Campbell and Kumar teach systems for wireless soil moisture sensing using probes installed in the soil. I would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to modify the soil probes of Campbell to have a sleep mode to deactivate the sensing electronic when not in use, as taught by Kumar. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to implement a sleep mode in order to increase the battery life of the sensor, as taught by Kumar (see at least col. 2, lines 18-21).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Blanchard, further in view of Haran et al. (US-20180146631-A1; hereinafter Haran).
Regarding claim 4, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. However, Campbell does not explicitly teach:
wherein the moisture sensor detects relative permittivity of the soil using an electromagnetic wave in order to detect the moisture amount in the soil, and
as the controlling the operation state of the moisture sensor, the sensor state selecting section controls a band of the electromagnetic wave.
Campbell discloses an plant monitoring system, and Haran is directed to an agricultural monitoring system. Haran teaches:
wherein the moisture sensor (see at least Fig. 11, sensor 1100 comprising proves 1120) detects relative permittivity of the soil using an electromagnetic wave in order to detect the moisture amount in the soil (see at least [0101]; “The moisture measurement of probes 1120 is based on the physical fact that between two electrodes inserted into the soil there exists a resistance dependent on the moisture, the quantity of salt and minerals, the distance between the two electrodes, and other factors. It is accepted that the conversion scheme of a measurement with two electrodes is a capacitor in parallel with a resistor. The resistor represents the quantity of salts, while the capacitor represents the distance between the electrodes and the quantity of water. Most of the measurement methods used today measure the capacity and resistance and estimate the moisture. One of the most accurate methods is called Time Domain Reflectometry. This is based on transmitting a high frequency wave and measuring the delay created by the gap in three directions.”), and
as the controlling the operation state of the moisture sensor, the control circuitry controls a band of the electromagnetic wave (see at least [0103]; “In operation, control circuitry 1190 is arranged to control clock 1180 to output a clock signal, optionally above 2.4 GHz.”).
Examiner notes that measuring the capacitance of the soil, as taught by Haran, is known in the art to be a measure of dielectric permittivity. Support for this knowledge in the art can be found in Hansen et al. (US-11707026-B1), col. 7, lines 39-42; “The soil moisture sensor may use capacitance to measure dielectric permittivity of the surrounding medium. In the soil 14, the dielectric permittivity may be a function of a moisture level.”
Both Campbell and Haran teach systems that include moisture sensors to monitor a plant environment and allow intelligent cultivation (see for example Abs of Haran). In both cases, the moisture sensor is a probe inserted into the soil that measure a capacitance (see Campbell at least [0100]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the multi-frequency probe of Haran in the system of Campbell, with such a modification representing a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Blanchard, further in view of Workman et al. (US-20170286772-A1; hereinafter Workman).
Regarding claim 7, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 1. However, Campbell does not teach:
wherein the environment data processor calculates the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants on a basis of image data that is the environment data and is acquired by an imager that captures an image of the plants above ground, and wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor using the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants on a basis of a distance between the portion of the plants and each moisture sensor.
Campbell discloses an irrigation monitoring system, and Workman is directed to a plant monitoring system. Workman teaches:
wherein the environment data processor calculates the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants on a basis of image data (see at least [0057]; “The system can automatically determine the location of the plant using, for example, a camera or any location based device.”) that is the environment data and is acquired by an imager that captures an image of the plants above the ground (see at least [0038]; “In some embodiments, sensors are cameras. For example, sensor 102, is shown as being a camera that is positioned above the plants 110a-110e.”), and wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor using the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plant on a basis of a distance between the portion of the plant and each moisture sensor (see at least [0013]; “In the method, the sensors include at least one of a soil sensor, a camera, or a water sensor.” See also [0052]; “A sensor can be assigned and placed with an individual plant (e.g., at B2, the sensor is assigned to one plant) and in some embodiments a sensor can be placed such that it covers a region (e.g., plants at B4, D4, F4, B6, D6, and F6 can be assigned to have their data gathered from the sensors at C5 and E5). Multiple horticultural monitors can service a garden layout 300. For example, the horticultural monitor at C6 can service the sensors at C5 and E5 while the horticultural monitor at F2 can service the sensors at B2, C2, D2, C3, and F4. Multiple horticultural monitors can service the same sensor for redundancy and accuracy purposes.”).
Both Campbell and Workman teach systems that monitor a plant environment and allow intelligent application of water (see for example [0054] of Workman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system used in Campbell to include cameras to monitor the plants, as taught by Workman. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include cameras in order to detect plant location and growth for use in informing plant care activities, as recognized by Workman (see Workman at least [0052]. See also [0069]; “The sensors can include a depth sensor or depth sensor to provide special information. This spatial data in combination with pictures and other visual data can help create a three-dimensional model of the plant. The three-dimensional model can then be used for entertainment as well as technical purposes. For example, the three-dimensional model can be compared with structural data of similar plants to determine if it is healthy or within normal size expectations. The plant monitoring system can suggest that a user trim or prune certain parts of the plant.”).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell in view of Blanchard and Workman discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 7. Workman further teaches:
wherein the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants, the portion of the plants being situated above the ground (see at least [0069]; “The sensors can include a depth sensor or depth sensor to provide special information. This spatial data in combination with pictures and other visual data can help create a three-dimensional model of the plant.”).
It would have been obvious to combine Campbell and Workman for the reasons given regarding claim 7.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Blanchard and Workman, further in view of Javault et al. (US-20210149406-A1; hereinafter Javault).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell in view of Blanchard and Workman discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 7. Workman further teaches [Note: what Workman fails to disclose is strike-through]:
wherein the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants (see at least [0069]; “The sensors can include a depth sensor or depth sensor to provide special information. This spatial data in combination with pictures and other visual data can help create a three-dimensional model of the plant.”),
It would have been obvious to combine Campbell and Workman for the reasons given regarding claim 7. However, neither Campbell nor Workman explicitly teach calculating the position information of a portion of the plant that is situated in the soil.
Javault is directed to analyzing individual plants in an agricultural field. Javault teaches:
wherein the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants, the portion of the crop plants situated in the soil (see at least [0018]; “In order to populate plant profiles for an individual plant in an agricultural field, system can extract features from images depicting the individual plant and derive various plant metrics of the plant from these features, such as normalized difference vegetation index (hereinafter “NDVI”), approximate plant volume, approximate plant height, approximate plant maturity, approximate root diameter, approximate root depth, approximate water content etc.”).
Campbell, Workman and Javault all implement systems to monitor plants and inform plant care. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system used in Campbell or Workman to include an estimation of root dimensions based on camera imagery as taught by Javault. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include an estimation of root structure in order to guide plant care operations such as weeding or harvesting, as recognized by Javault (see Javault at least [0081]; “Generally, the system can extract plant metrics characterizing the root structure of target plants in the agricultural field in order to guide weeding and harvesting operations (and prevent impingement or other damage to the root structure of target plants during these operations).”).
Regarding claim 19, Campbell in view of Blanchard discloses the moisture sensor controlling system according to claim 14. Blanchard further teaches:
wherein: for controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor, the sensor controller controls the operation state of the first set of one or more moisture sensors independently from controlling the operation state of the second set of at least one moisture sensor (see at least [0040]; “The sensors 65 are placed in one or more irrigation zones within an irrigation area. For example, in a residential application, one sensor 65 can be placed within a lawn area and another sensor 65 can be placed in a flower bed. The lawn area and flower bed can be divided into multiple zones. The lawn area zone in which the lawn sensor 65 is located can be defined as a master zone. The remaining lawn area zones are then set to follow (e.g., be dependent upon sensor readings from) the master zone with regards to irrigation events within the zones. The flower bed zones can be similarly and separately configured.”);
It would have been obvious to combine Campbell and Blanchard for the reasons given regarding claim 14. However, Blanchard does not explicitly teach:
the environment data processor calculates the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants on a basis of image data that is the environment data and is acquired by an imager that captures an image of the plants above ground;
the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor using the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants on a basis of a distance between the portion of the plants and each moisture sensor; and
the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants:
situated above the ground; and
situated in the soil.
Campbell discloses an irrigation monitoring system, and Workman is directed to a plant monitoring system. Workman teaches:
the environment data processor calculates the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants on a basis of image data (see at least [0057]; “The system can automatically determine the location of the plant using, for example, a camera or any location based device.”) that is the environment data and is acquired by an imager that captures an image of the plants above the ground (see at least [0038]; “In some embodiments, sensors are cameras. For example, sensor 102, is shown as being a camera that is positioned above the plants 110a-110e.”), and wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor using the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plant on a basis of a distance between the portion of the plant and each moisture sensor (see at least [0013]; “In the method, the sensors include at least one of a soil sensor, a camera, or a water sensor.” See also [0052]; “A sensor can be assigned and placed with an individual plant (e.g., at B2, the sensor is assigned to one plant) and in some embodiments a sensor can be placed such that it covers a region (e.g., plants at B4, D4, F4, B6, D6, and F6 can be assigned to have their data gathered from the sensors at C5 and E5). Multiple horticultural monitors can service a garden layout 300. For example, the horticultural monitor at C6 can service the sensors at C5 and E5 while the horticultural monitor at F2 can service the sensors at B2, C2, D2, C3, and F4. Multiple horticultural monitors can service the same sensor for redundancy and accuracy purposes.”); and
the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants, the portion of the plants being situated above the ground (see at least [0069]; “The sensors can include a depth sensor or depth sensor to provide special information. This spatial data in combination with pictures and other visual data can help create a three-dimensional model of the plant.”).
Both Campbell and Workman teach systems that monitor a plant environment and allow intelligent application of water (see for example [0054] of Workman). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system used in Campbell to include cameras to monitor the plants, as taught by Workman. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include cameras in order to detect plant location and growth for use in informing plant care activities, as recognized by Workman (see Workman at least [0052]. See also [0069]; “The sensors can include a depth sensor or depth sensor to provide special information. This spatial data in combination with pictures and other visual data can help create a three-dimensional model of the plant. The three-dimensional model can then be used for entertainment as well as technical purposes. For example, the three-dimensional model can be compared with structural data of similar plants to determine if it is healthy or within normal size expectations. The plant monitoring system can suggest that a user trim or prune certain parts of the plant.”).
However, Workman does not explicitly teach the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants, the portion of the plants being situated in the soil.
Javault is directed to analyzing individual plants in an agricultural field. Javault teaches:
wherein the environment data processor calculates, from the image data of the plants, the position information regarding the position of the portion of the plants, the portion of the crop plants situated in the soil (see at least [0018]; “In order to populate plant profiles for an individual plant in an agricultural field, system can extract features from images depicting the individual plant and derive various plant metrics of the plant from these features, such as normalized difference vegetation index (hereinafter “NDVI”), approximate plant volume, approximate plant height, approximate plant maturity, approximate root diameter, approximate root depth, approximate water content etc.”).
Campbell, Workman and Javault all implement systems to monitor plants and inform plant care. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system used in Campbell or Workman to include an estimation of root dimensions based on camera imagery as taught by Javault. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include an estimation of root structure in order to guide plant care operations such as weeding or harvesting, as recognized by Javault (see Javault at least [0081]; “Generally, the system can extract plant metrics characterizing the root structure of target plants in the agricultural field in order to guide weeding and harvesting operations (and prevent impingement or other damage to the root structure of target plants during these operations).”).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell in view of Blanchard, Workman and Javault, further in view of Buss (US-20200359583-A1; hereinafter Buss).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell in view of Blanchard, Workman and Javault discloses the moisture sensor controlling apparatus according to claim 9. Workman further teaches:
wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors on a basis of a distance between the position of the portion of the plants and each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0052]; “A sensor can be assigned and placed with an individual plant (e.g., at B2, the sensor is assigned to one plant) and in some embodiments a sensor can be placed such that it covers a region (e.g., plants at B4, D4, F4, B6, D6, and F6 can be assigned to have their data gathered from the sensors at C5 and E5).”), the position of the portion of the plants being estimated by the environment data processor (see at least [0057]; “The system can automatically determine the location of the plant using, for example, a camera or any location based device.”),
It would have been obvious to combine Campbell and Workman for the reasons given regarding claim 7. However, neither Campbell nor Workman explicitly teach controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor on the basis of a distance between the moisture sensor and a portion of the plants situated below the soil.
Campbell discloses an irrigation monitoring system, and Buss is directed to determining water stress on plants in a crop. Buss teaches:
wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0117]; “Multiple sensors in a vertical array (whatever type the sensor may be) and their output values are usable to determine at predetermined intervals over each 24 hour period (typically a day midnight to midnight) the total soil moisture value in the vicinity of the sensor array which is in the vicinity of the crop plants in particular the root zone of the crop.”) on a basis of a distance between the position of the portion of the plants and each moisture sensor, the portion of the plants being situated in the soil (see at least [0117]; “The use of an array of sensors, typically a linear array (vertically disposed in a close fitting aperture in the soil) is arranged to detect soil moisture at locations within the soil and in particular, to a depth along and to at least below the depth of the root zone of the respective plant or at least for the whole of the plant growth period which may require the depth of the sensor array to be well below the starting depth of the root but deep enough to not have the roots grow below the lowest zone from which the soil moisture field of influence can measure soil moisture values.”).
Campbell, Workman and Buss all implement systems to monitor plants and inform plant care. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system used in Campbell or Workman to include sensors that measure the moisture as a function of depth in the plant root region as taught by Buss. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a measure of moisture along the depth of the roots in order to detect water stress of the plants, as recognized by Buss (see Buss at least Abs; “This disclosure provides a method for indicating the onset of water stress in one or more plants located in a soil the roots of which are within the measurement zone of a soil moisture sensor located in the soil…”).
Regarding claim 20, Campbell in view of Blanchard, Workman and Javault discloses the moisture sensor controlling system according to claim 19. Workman further teaches:
wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors on a basis of a distance between the position of the portion of the plants and each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0052]; “A sensor can be assigned and placed with an individual plant (e.g., at B2, the sensor is assigned to one plant) and in some embodiments a sensor can be placed such that it covers a region (e.g., plants at B4, D4, F4, B6, D6, and F6 can be assigned to have their data gathered from the sensors at C5 and E5).”), the position of the portion of the plants being estimated by the environment data processor (see at least [0057]; “The system can automatically determine the location of the plant using, for example, a camera or any location based device.”),
It would have been obvious to combine Campbell and Workman for the reasons given regarding claim 19. However, neither Campbell nor Workman explicitly teach controlling the operation state of each moisture sensor on the basis of a distance between the moisture sensor and a portion of the plants situated below the soil.
Campbell discloses an irrigation monitoring system, and Buss is directed to determining water stress on plants in a crop. Buss teaches:
wherein the sensor controller controls the operation state of each moisture sensor of the plurality of moisture sensors (see at least [0117]; “Multiple sensors in a vertical array (whatever type the sensor may be) and their output values are usable to determine at predetermined intervals over each 24 hour period (typically a day midnight to midnight) the total soil moisture value in the vicinity of the sensor array which is in the vicinity of the crop plants in particular the root zone of the crop.”) on a basis of a distance between the position of the portion of the plants and each moisture sensor, the portion of the plants being situated in the soil (see at least [0117]; “The use of an array of sensors, typically a linear array (vertically disposed in a close fitting aperture in the soil) is arranged to detect soil moisture at locations within the soil and in particular, to a depth along and to at least below the depth of the root zone of the respective plant or at least for the whole of the plant growth period which may require the depth of the sensor array to be well below the starting depth of the root but deep enough to not have the roots grow below the lowest zone from which the soil moisture field of influence can measure soil moisture values.”).
Campbell, Workman and Buss all implement systems to monitor plants and inform plant care. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system used in Campbell or Workman to include sensors that measure the moisture as a function of depth in the plant root region as taught by Buss. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include a measure of moisture along the depth of the roots in order to detect water stress of the plants, as recognized by Buss (see Buss at least Abs; “This disclosure provides a method for indicating the onset of water stress in one or more plants located in a soil the roots of which are within the measurement zone of a soil moisture sensor located in the soil…”).
Conclusion
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648