DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 16 have been amended.
Claims: 1-15 and 17-30 have not been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/31/25 with regards to claims 1-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that … the Office Action has not shown that RAMACHANDRAN discloses each and every feature recited in claim 1. For example, the Office Action has not shown that RAMACHANDRAN discloses "modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT," as recited in claim 1. … Thus, RAMACHANDRAN discusses that a UE "may map the QRxLevMin parameter from SIB1 604 and the QRXLevMin parameter from SIB5 608 to generate a local reselection parameter." RAMACHANDRAN also discusses that the UE adjusts the learnt or default parameter set. However, the Office Action has not shown that RAMACHANDRAN discloses "modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT," as recited in claim 1. For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that claim 1 is patentable over RAMACHANDRAN. Independent claims 16, 21, and 26, recite similar features. Therefore, independent claims 1, 16, 21, and 26, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over RAMACHANDRAN. Claims 2-15, 17-21, 22-25, and 27-30 depend, directly or indirectly, from claims 1, 16, 21, and 26, and are therefore patentable for at least the reasons that claims 1, 16, 21, and 26 are patentable. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-7, 11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 19, 21, 23, 24, 26, 28, and 29 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 based on RAMACHANDRAN (See Pages 11-14 of Applicant’s Arguments filed on 12/31/25).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments the teachings of Ramachandran does disclose the applicant’s argued limitations of "modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT," as will be apparent in the following explanations provided below.
To begin with, contrary to the applicant’s arguments, the examiner has clearly shown how the Ramachandran reference discloses the argued limitations of "modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT," as can be seen from the highlighted portions of the excerpt taken from pages 7-9 of the previous office action filed on 10/01/25 seen below:
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of the excerpt seen above, the examiner has clearly indicated and shown which portions of the cited paragraphs of the Ramachandran reference corresponds to the applicant’s argued limitations.
The examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of paragraph [0130] of the Applicant’s Specification seen below:
[0130] As shown by reference number 604, the UE may modify a threshold based at least in part on the ping-pong behavior. More specifically, the UE may modify an NR threshold value (or a second RAT threshold value) in the LTE SIB24 to obtain a modified NR threshold value. The NR threshold value may be ThresX,HighP for an RSRP threshold value and/or ThresX,HighQ for an RSRQ threshold value. The UE may replace the NR threshold value in the LTE SIB24 with an NR threshold value from an NR SIB2 plus an offset, where the NR SIB2 may have been previously received at the UE. The NR threshold value from the NR SIB2 may be ThresServing,LowP for an RSRP threshold value and/or ThresServing,LowQ for an RSRQ threshold value. In other words, the NR threshold value from the NR SIB2 plus the offset may be used to ensure that the NR threshold value of a neighbor NR cell is more than the LTE threshold value of a serving LTE cell.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of the Applicant’s Specification seen above, Applicant’s Specification, [0130] discloses two instances where a threshold that is received from a SIB is being modified to obtain a modified threshold, a first instance would be that an NR threshold value received from LTE SIB24 is modified via replacement of another value and a second instance would be that the NR threshold value from an NR SIB2 is modified with an offset and as applicant’s argued limitations recite "modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value” without clearly specifying how said threshold is being modified, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the applicant’s argued limitations consistent with the applicant’s specification may be directed towards either of the first instance or the second instance, both of which are rendered obvious by the teachings of Ramachandran as can be seen in the following explanations below.
The examiner now directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of Ramachandran, [0178], [0187], [0193], [0210]-[0211] & [0214] seen below:
[0214] According to certain aspects, if after having started to apply the learnt or default Parameter Set, the UE detects a "ping-pong" network condition wherein the UE repeatedly transitions, or "ping-pongs", back and forth between the GERAN and the LTE cells, the UE may adjust the learnt and/or default parameter sets such as to reduce the number of cell transitions and alleviate the ping-pong condition. According to certain aspects, the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back-to-back GSM-LTE transitions happen within a given time interval. According to certain aspects, the UE may adjust the learnt and/or default parameters sets to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Q.sub.RxLevmin threshold parameter. According to certain aspects, the adjusted parameter set may valid for a certain time duration, after which the adjusted parameters are restored to the original parameter values of the learnt and/or default parameter set.
[0210] According to certain aspects, the local set of cell reselection parameters 602 may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter (e.g., Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH) indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection. According to certain aspects, the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter (e.g., Thresh.sub.ServingLow) collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter (e.g., Thresh.sub.X-Low) collected from SIB7. The Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to (or below) for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection. The Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target. As shown, the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 606 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 910 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter.
[0211] According to certain aspects, the local set of cell reselection parameters 602 may comprise a neighbor RAT Minimum Receive Signal Level parameter (e.g., E-UTRAN-Q.sub.RxLevMin) indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE. According to certain aspects, the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.RxLevMin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.RxLevMin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5. The Q.sub.RxLevMin values determine the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell (for SIB1) or the neighbor LTE cell (for SIB5) must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping. As shown, the UE may map the Q.sub.RxLevMin parameter from SIB1 604 and the QRxLevMin parameter from SIB5 608 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.RxLevMin reselection parameter.
[0187] At 404, the UE performs a cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters generated at 402. According to certain aspects, the first RAT comprises GSM and the second RAT comprises LTE. According to certain aspects, the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information obtained, received, and/or collected during previous connections of the second RAT. According to certain aspects, the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received, and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell.
[0178] The default parameter set may be provided by a physical land mobile networks (PLMN), operator, or wireless device manufacturer, or may be loaded via a wireless device configuration. According to an alternative aspect, rather than being pre-loaded, the default cell reselection parameters may instead be obtained from one or more SIBs received in previous connections with another cell. In one implementation, the default parameter set may be formatted as a default SI2Q message. In some aspects, the default parameter set may be (e.g., initially be) a "null set".
[0193] As described above, the UE 510 may cache system information comprising cell reselection parameters obtained, received, and/or collected from the one or more SIBs. For example, the UE 510 may obtain, receive, and/or collect a SIB Type 1 ("SIB1") message comprising at least one cell selection parameter (e.g., operator preferences for camping on the LTE cell, signal thresholds for camping on this LTE cell), a SIB Type 3 ("SIB3") message comprising at least one cell reselection parameter (e.g., such as cell reselection criteria), a SIB Type 5 ("SIB5") message comprising information on other RAT frequencies (e.g., LTE frequencies) that may be present or in a neighboring area (e.g., a list of other LTE frequencies), and/or a SIB Type 7 ("SIB7") message comprising at least one inter-RAT (e.g., LTE-to-GSM) cell reselection parameters (e.g., operator preferences for inter-RAT cell reselection).
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Ramachandran seen above, Ramachandran, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the switching and reads on switch from the first RAT to the second RAT) happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust (i.e. reads on modifying) the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter (i.e. reads on a second RAT threshold value to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value and reads on the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to) and the adjusted parameter set may be valid for a certain time duration and after which the adjusted parameters are restored to the original parameter values of the default parameter set and Ramachandran, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter (i.e. reads on to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value) in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 (i.e. reads on modifying a second RAT threshold value in a SIB) and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection and Ramachandran, [0178] discloses the default cell reselection parameters may instead be obtained from one or more SIBs in previous connections with another cell and Ramachandran, [0193] discloses the UE 510 may obtain, receive, and/or collect a SIB Type 1 "SIB1" message comprising at least one cell selection parameter e.g., operator preferences for camping on the LTE cell, signal thresholds for camping on this LTE cell which clearly indicates to one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that a UE determines that a ping pong scenario caused by the GSM to LTE switching is occurring and modifies a default threshold that was previously received via a SIB by utilizing and modifying default values of another threshold also received via a SIB and which clearly reads on applicant’s argued limitations of "modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT,".
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references, as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19, 21, 23-24, 26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al. (US Patent Publication 2012/0322447 herein after referenced as Rama).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 21 and claim 26, Rama discloses:
A method cause the UE to and An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for switching between a first radio access technology (RAT) and a second RAT based at least in part on a condition; (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs (i.e. reads on performed by a UE) cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT (i.e. reads on switching between a first RAT) to the second cell utilizing a second RAT (i.e. reads on and a second RAT) based on the local set of cell reselection parameters (i.e. reads on based at least in part on a condition); Rama, [0017] discloses radio access technology RAT; Rama, [0023] discloses user equipment UE; Rama, [0221] discloses a storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor can read information from and write information to the memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent in a complex device such as a UE to include processors, memory and instructions in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
Rama discloses in one embodiment that the UE performs cell reselection based on cell reselection parameters but fails to explicitly disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE)” and “and modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT.”
In a different embodiment, Rama discloses:
wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Rama, [0007] discloses an apparatus (i.e. reads on performed by a UE) for wireless communications (i.e. reads on wireless communication), the apparatus generally includes means for generating a local set of cell reselection parameters based on one or more default cell reselection parameters and means for performing cell reselection from a first cell utilizing a first RAT to a second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, [0222] discloses various modifications to these aspects will be apparent to those skilled in the art, and the generic principles defined herein may be applied to other aspects without departing from the spirit or scope of the disclosure).
and modifying, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, (Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the switching) happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust (i.e. reads on modifying) the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter (i.e. reads on a second RAT threshold value to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value) and the adjusted parameter set may be valid for a certain time duration and after which the adjusted parameters are restored to the original parameter values of the default parameter set; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter (i.e. reads on to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value) in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 (i.e. reads on modifying a second RAT threshold value in a SIB) and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection; Rama, [0178] discloses the default cell reselection parameters may instead be obtained from one or more SIBs in previous connections with another cell; Rama, [0178] discloses the default cell reselection parameters may instead be obtained from one or more SIBs in previous connections with another cell; Ramachandran, [0193] discloses the UE 510 may obtain, receive, and/or collect a SIB Type 1 "SIB1" message comprising at least one cell selection parameter e.g., operator preferences for camping on the LTE cell, signal thresholds for camping on this LTE cell. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that a UE determines that a ping pong scenario caused by the GSM to LTE switching is occurring and modifies a default threshold that was previously received via a SIB by utilizing and modifying default values of another threshold also received via a SIB).
wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT (i.e. reads on to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT) based on the local set of cell reselection parameters (i.e. reads on modified second RAT threshold value is a value); Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter (i.e. reads on wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value) such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection (i.e. reads on to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT) and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Rama, [0222]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a mobile device modifying the cell reselection parameters as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a mobile device modifying the cell reselection parameters with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Rama) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a mobile device modifying the cell reselection parameters (i.e. as taught by Rama) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1).
determining that a signal level associated with the second RAT does not satisfy the modified second RAT threshold value (Rama, [0206] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a threshold priority search parameter indicating a signal threshold that governs when the UE measures lower priority cells and the UE may modify a threshold priority search parameter of the default parameter set as a function of a non intra search signal level parameter indicating a signal strength threshold that governs when the UE measures lower priority inter-RAT neighbors and if the serving LTE cell drops below this threshold value, the UE may measure lower priority inter-RAT neighbors).
Regarding claim 4, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein switching between the first RAT and the second RAT based at least in part on the condition is based at least in part on a quantity of switches between the first RAT and the second RAT during a time period satisfying a threshold (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE).
Regarding claim 5, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein switching between the first RAT and the second RAT based at least in part on the condition is based at least in part on a time duration between the UE switching from the first RAT to the second RAT and switching from the second RAT back to the first RAT satisfying a threshold (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE).
Regarding claim 6, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein a target cell associated with the second RAT has a higher cell reselection priority than a source cell associated with the first RAT (Rama, [0019] discloses GSM as a legacy RAT having lower priority than LTE and it is understood that certain aspects may be extended to those cases where GSM may be given an equal or higher priority than LTE; Rama, [0205] discloses a serving RAT priority parameter such as GERAN priority indicating an absolute priority of the serving RAT GERAN and the priority may be indicative of the preference of the serving RAT with respect to other RATs and the UE may modify the GERAN priority parameter; Rama, [0209] discloses a neighbor RAT priority parameter such as E-UTRAN priority comprising a number signifying the priority of the neighboring RAT; Rama, [0180] discloses the LTE RAT priority may be set to a highest priority, the GERAN RAT priority may be set to a lowest priority).
Regarding claim 7, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein a target cell associated with the second RAT has a lower cell reselection priority or an equal cell priority as compared to a source cell associated with the first RAT (Rama, [0019] discloses GSM as a legacy RAT having lower priority than LTE and it is understood that certain aspects may be extended to those cases where GSM may be given an equal or higher priority than LTE; Rama, [0205] discloses a serving RAT priority parameter such as GERAN priority indicating an absolute priority of the serving RAT GERAN and the priority may be indicative of the preference of the serving RAT with respect to other RATs and the UE may modify the GERAN priority parameter; Rama, [0209] discloses a neighbor RAT priority parameter such as E-UTRAN priority comprising a number signifying the priority of the neighboring RAT; Rama, [0180] discloses the LTE RAT priority may be set to a highest priority, the GERAN RAT priority may be set to a lowest priority).
Regarding claim 11, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is configured to expire based at least in part on an expiry of a timer (Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter and the adjusted parameter set may be valid for a certain time duration and after which the adjusted parameters are restored to the original parameter values of the default parameter set).
Regarding claim 12, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the modified second RAT threshold value prevents the UE from switching between the first RAT and the second RAT a quantity of times that satisfies a first threshold or within a time duration that satisfies a second threshold (Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter and the adjusted parameter set may be valid for a certain time duration and after which the adjusted parameters are restored to the original parameter values of the default parameter set).
Regarding claim 15, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: (see claim 1).
modifying a cell reselection priority of a second RAT neighbor frequency indicated in the SIB, wherein the switching is associated with the condition,
and wherein the first RAT is associated with a higher cell reselection priority than the second RAT (Rama, [0209] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT priority parameter such as E-UTRAN priority comprising a number signifying the priority of the neighboring RAT and the UE may modify each EARFCNs priority in the default parameter set based on RAT priority parameters derived from SIB3 and SIB5 stored in the local cache; Rama, [0178] discloses the default cell reselection parameters may instead be obtained from one or more SIBs in previous connections with another cell; Rama, [0205] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a serving RAT priority parameter such as GERAN priority indicating an absolute priority of the serving RAT GERAN and the priority may be indicative of the preference of the serving RAT with respect to other RATs and the UE may modify the GERAN priority parameter; Rama, [0180] discloses the LTE RAT priority may be set to a highest priority, the GERAN RAT priority may be set to a lowest priority; Rama, [0019] discloses GSM as a legacy RAT having lower priority than LTE and it is understood that certain aspects may be extended to those cases where GSM may be given an equal or higher priority than LTE;).
Regarding claim 16, Rama discloses:
A user equipment (UE) (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs (i.e. reads on a UE) cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT (i.e. reads on switching between a first RAT) to the second cell utilizing a second RAT (i.e. reads on and a second RAT) based on the local set of cell reselection parameters (i.e. reads on based at least in part on a condition); Rama, [0017] discloses radio access technology RAT; Rama, [0023] discloses user equipment UE; Rama, [0221] discloses a storage medium is coupled to the processor such that the processor can read information from and write information to the memory. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent in a complex device such as a UE to include processors, memory and instructions in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
Rama discloses in one embodiment that the UE performs cell reselection based on cell reselection parameters but fails to explicitly disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication” and “modify, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT; and determine that a signal level associated with the second RAT does not satisfy the modified second RAT threshold value.”
In a different embodiment, Rama discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Rama, [0007] discloses an apparatus (i.e. reads on performed by a UE) for wireless communications (i.e. reads on wireless communication), the apparatus generally includes means for generating a local set of cell reselection parameters based on one or more default cell reselection parameters and means for performing cell reselection from a first cell utilizing a first RAT to a second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, [0222] discloses various modifications to these aspects will be apparent to those skilled in the art, and the generic principles defined herein may be applied to other aspects without departing from the spirit or scope of the disclosure).
modify, based at least in part on the switching, a second RAT threshold value in a system information block (SIB), to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value, (Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the switching) happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust (i.e. reads on modifying) the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter (i.e. reads on a second RAT threshold value to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value) and the adjusted parameter set may be valid for a certain time duration and after which the adjusted parameters are restored to the original parameter values of the default parameter set; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter (i.e. reads on to obtain a modified second RAT threshold value) in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 (i.e. reads on modifying a second RAT threshold value in a SIB) and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection; Rama, [0178] discloses the default cell reselection parameters may instead be obtained from one or more SIBs in previous connections with another cell; Ramachandran, [0193] discloses the UE 510 may obtain, receive, and/or collect a SIB Type 1 "SIB1" message comprising at least one cell selection parameter e.g., operator preferences for camping on the LTE cell, signal thresholds for camping on this LTE cell. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that a UE determines that a ping pong scenario caused by the GSM to LTE switching is occurring and modifies a default threshold that was previously received via a SIB by utilizing and modifying default values of another threshold also received via a SIB).
wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT; (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT (i.e. reads on to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT) based on the local set of cell reselection parameters (i.e. reads on modified second RAT threshold value is a value); Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter (i.e. reads on wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is a value) such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection (i.e. reads on to switch from the first RAT to the second RAT) and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection).
and determine that a signal level associated with the second RAT does not satisfy the modified second RAT threshold value (Rama, [0206] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a threshold priority search parameter indicating a signal threshold that governs when the UE measures lower priority cells and the UE may modify a threshold priority search parameter of the default parameter set as a function of a non intra search signal level parameter indicating a signal strength threshold that governs when the UE measures lower priority inter-RAT neighbors and if the serving LTE cell drops below this threshold value, the UE may measure lower priority inter-RAT neighbors).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Rama, [0222]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a mobile device modifying the cell reselection parameters as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a mobile device modifying the cell reselection parameters with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Rama) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a mobile device modifying the cell reselection parameters (i.e. as taught by Rama) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 18 and claim 23 and claim 28, Rama discloses:
The UE of claim 16, (see claim 16) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, (see claim 21) and The apparatus of claim 26 (see claim 26).
wherein switching between the first RAT and the second RAT based at least in part on the condition is based at least in part on: a quantity of switches between the first RAT and the second RAT during a time period satisfying a threshold; or a time duration between the UE switching from the first RAT to the second RAT and switching from the second RAT back to the first RAT satisfying a threshold (Rama, Fig. 4 & [0187] discloses the UE performs cell reselection from the first cell utilizing a first RAT to the second cell utilizing a second RAT based on the local set of cell reselection parameters; Rama, [0214] discloses the UE may detect a ping-pong network condition if more than a certain number of back to back GSM-LTE transitions happen within a given time interval and the UE may adjust the default parameters set to alleviate the ping-pong condition by raising the EUTRA-Qrxlevmin threshold parameter; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE).
Regarding claim 19 and claim 24 and claim 29, Rama discloses:
The UE of claim 16, (see claim 16) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, (see claim 21) and The apparatus of claim 26 (see claim 26).
wherein: a target cell associated with the second RAT has a higher cell reselection priority than a source cell associated with the first RAT; or a target cell associated with the second RAT has a lower cell reselection priority or an equal cell priority as compared to a source cell associated with the first RAT (Rama, [0019] discloses GSM as a legacy RAT having lower priority than LTE and it is understood that certain aspects may be extended to those cases where GSM may be given an equal or higher priority than LTE; Rama, [0205] discloses a serving RAT priority parameter such as GERAN priority indicating an absolute priority of the serving RAT GERAN and the priority may be indicative of the preference of the serving RAT with respect to other RATs and the UE may modify the GERAN priority parameter; Rama, [0209] discloses a neighbor RAT priority parameter such as E-UTRAN priority comprising a number signifying the priority of the neighboring RAT; Rama, [0180] discloses the LTE RAT priority may be set to a highest priority, the GERAN RAT priority may be set to a lowest priority).
Claim(s) 3, 14, 17, 22 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al. (US Patent Publication 2012/0322447 herein after referenced as Rama) in view of Matolia et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0345204 herein after referenced as Matolia).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 17 and claim 22 and claim 27, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The UE of claim 16 (see claim 16) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21 (see claim 21) and The apparatus of claim 26 (see claim 26).
wherein the first RAT is associated with a Long Term Evolution network, (Rama, [0018] discloses GSM to LTE inter-RAT transitions).
Rama discloses performing reselection across multiple different networks utilizing reselection parameters from SIBs but fails to explicitly disclose a 5G or new radio network and therefore fails to disclose but fails to explicitly disclose a 5G or new radio network and therefore fails to disclose “the second RAT is associated with a New Radio (NR) network, and the modified second RAT threshold value is a modified NR threshold value.”
In a related field of endeavor, Matolia discloses:
the second RAT is associated with a New Radio (NR) network, and the modified second RAT threshold value is a modified NR threshold value (Matolia, [0038] discloses in case carrier settings persist and the UE opts to perform reselections in 5G NR, a local threshold is defined for the UE to move from FR1 to FR2 and the UE determines whether to perform reselection optimization based at least in part on the local threshold; Matolia, [0024] discloses carriers may have first camping to LTE and then reselection to 5G; Matolia, [0036] discloses if the UE finds a network that supports a 5G SA, the UE checks SIB24-LTE for 5G NR reselection parameters).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of Matolia for the purpose of providing the system with a means to incorporate newer networks and perform the reselection process across various types of network situations including LTE to NR reselection (Matolia, [0024] & [0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT, wherein the second RAT is a NR RAT and wherein the SIBs include SIB24 as taught by Matolia) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Matolia) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 14, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein modifying the second RAT threshold value in the SIB comprises modifying the second RAT threshold value in a SIB(Rama, [0187] discloses the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information and the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection).
Rama discloses performing reselection across multiple different networks utilizing reselection parameters from SIBs but fails to explicitly disclose a SIB24 and therefore fails to disclose “RAT threshold value in a SIB24”.
In a related field of endeavor, Matolia discloses:
RAT threshold value in a SIB24 (Matolia, [0036] discloses if the UE finds a network that supports a 5G SA, the UE checks SIB24-LTE for 5G NR reselection parameters; Matolia, [0038] discloses in case carrier settings persist and the UE opts to perform reselections in 5G NR, a local threshold is defined for the UE to move from FR1 to FR2 and the UE determines whether to perform reselection optimization based at least in part on the local threshold; Matolia, [0024] discloses carriers may have first camping to LTE and then reselection to 5G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of Matolia for the purpose of providing the system with a means to incorporate newer networks and perform the reselection process across various types of network situations including LTE to NR reselection (Matolia, [0024] & [0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT, wherein the second RAT is a NR RAT and wherein the SIBs include SIB24 as taught by Matolia) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Matolia) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 8-10, 20, 25 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al. (US Patent Publication 2012/0322447 herein after referenced as Rama) in view of Kinthada Venkata et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0373995 herein after referenced as Kinthada) and further in view of Matolia et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0345204 herein after referenced as Matolia).
Regarding claim 8, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the second RAT threshold value in the SIB, to obtain the modified second RAT threshold value, comprises (see claim 1).
replacing the second RAT threshold value in a SIB(Rama, [0187] discloses the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information and the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection).
Rama discloses performing reselection across multiple different networks utilizing reselection parameters from SIBs but fails to explicitly disclose a SIB24 and an offset value and therefore fails to disclose “replacing the second RAT threshold value in a SIB24 with a second RAT threshold value from a previously received second RAT SIB and an offset value”.
In a related field of endeavor, Kinthada discloses:
replacing the second RAT threshold value in a SIB with a second RAT threshold value from a previously received second RAT SIB and an offset value (Kinthada, [0050] discloses the signal quality threshold may include an initial signal quality threshold TH1 and a signal quality offset and the initial signal quality threshold TH1 may be close in value to a threshServingLowQ value that could be set in LTE cells that use RSRQ-based cell selection/reselection, as communicated, for example, in one or more system information blocks SIBs and the signal quality offset A may also be experimentally determined and may be set so as to require that the FilteredRSRQ value be sufficiently greater than the initial signal quality threshold TH1 if the UE 115 is to remain camped on the LTE cell; Kinthada, [0029] discloses apply an offset to a measured RSRP value such that the offset favors the triggering of a cell selection / reselection operation and the offset may be applied so as to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells; Kinthada, [0005]-[0006] discloses a reference signal received power RSRP based cell selection or RSRP based cell reselection and discloses the offset RSRP may also be used to prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of Kinthada for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various different parameters including RSRQ and RSRP to perform reselection (Kinthada, [0050] & [0029]) which also prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality (Kinthada, [0006]) and to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells (Kinthada, [0029]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT, wherein the reselection parameters utilizes an RSRP threshold that includes an offset as taught by Kinthada) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Kinthada) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Rama in view of Kinthada fails to disclose “RAT threshold value in a SIB24”.
In a related field of endeavor, Matolia discloses:
RAT threshold value in a SIB24 (Matolia, [0036] discloses if the UE finds a network that supports a 5G SA, the UE checks SIB24-LTE for 5G NR reselection parameters; Matolia, [0038] discloses in case carrier settings persist and the UE opts to perform reselections in 5G NR, a local threshold is defined for the UE to move from FR1 to FR2 and the UE determines whether to perform reselection optimization based at least in part on the local threshold; Matolia, [0024] discloses carriers may have first camping to LTE and then reselection to 5G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama in view of Kinthada to incorporate the teachings of Matolia for the purpose of providing the system with a means to incorporate newer networks and perform the reselection process across various types of network situations including LTE to NR reselection (Matolia, [0024] & [0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT, wherein the second RAT is a NR RAT and wherein the SIBs include SIB24 as taught by Matolia) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Matolia) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein modifying the second RAT threshold value in the SIB, to obtain the modified second RAT threshold value, comprises replacing the second RAT threshold value in a SIB(Rama, [0187] discloses the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information and the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection).
Rama discloses performing reselection across multiple different networks utilizing reselection parameters from SIBs but fails to explicitly disclose a SIB24 and an offset value and therefore fails to disclose “replacing the second RAT threshold value in a SIB24 with a first RAT threshold value from a previously received first RAT SIB and an offset value”.
In a related field of endeavor, Kinthada discloses:
replacing the second RAT threshold value in a SIB with a first RAT threshold value from a previously received first RAT SIB and an offset value (Kinthada, [0050] discloses the signal quality threshold may include an initial signal quality threshold TH1 and a signal quality offset and the initial signal quality threshold TH1 may be close in value to a threshServingLowQ value that could be set in LTE cells that use RSRQ-based cell selection/reselection, as communicated, for example, in one or more system information blocks SIBs and the signal quality offset A may also be experimentally determined and may be set so as to require that the FilteredRSRQ value be sufficiently greater than the initial signal quality threshold TH1 if the UE 115 is to remain camped on the LTE cell; Kinthada, [0029] discloses apply an offset to a measured RSRP value such that the offset favors the triggering of a cell selection / reselection operation and the offset may be applied so as to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells; Kinthada, [0005]-[0006] discloses a reference signal received power RSRP based cell selection or RSRP based cell reselection and discloses the offset RSRP may also be used to prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of Kinthada for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various different parameters including RSRQ and RSRP to perform reselection (Kinthada, [0050] & [0029]) which also prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality (Kinthada, [0006]) and to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells (Kinthada, [0029]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT, wherein the reselection parameters utilizes an RSRP threshold that includes an offset as taught by Kinthada) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Kinthada) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Rama in view of Kinthada fails to disclose “RAT threshold value in a SIB24”.
In a related field of endeavor, Matolia discloses:
RAT threshold value in a SIB24 (Matolia, [0036] discloses if the UE finds a network that supports a 5G SA, the UE checks SIB24-LTE for 5G NR reselection parameters; Matolia, [0038] discloses in case carrier settings persist and the UE opts to perform reselections in 5G NR, a local threshold is defined for the UE to move from FR1 to FR2 and the UE determines whether to perform reselection optimization based at least in part on the local threshold; Matolia, [0024] discloses carriers may have first camping to LTE and then reselection to 5G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama in view of Kinthada to incorporate the teachings of Matolia for the purpose of providing the system with a means to incorporate newer networks and perform the reselection process across various types of network situations including LTE to NR reselection (Matolia, [0024] & [0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT, wherein the second RAT is a NR RAT and wherein the SIBs include SIB24 as taught by Matolia) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Matolia) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 10, Rama in view of Kinthada and further in view of Matolia discloses:
The method of claim 9, (see claim 9).
wherein the first RAT threshold value is a Long Term Evolution (LTE) threshold value and the previously received first RAT SIB is a previously received LTE SIB (Rama, [0018] discloses GSM to LTE inter-RAT transitions; Rama, [0187] discloses the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information and the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell).
Regarding claim 20 and claim 25 and claim 30, Rama discloses:
The UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors, to modify the second RAT threshold value in the SIB, to obtain the modified second RAT threshold value, are configured to: (see claim 16) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the UE to: (see claim 21) and The apparatus of claim 26, further comprising: (see claim 26)
means for replace the second RAT threshold value in a SIBor replace the second RAT threshold value in a SIBreceived first RAT SIB is a previously received LTE SIB (Rama, [0187] discloses the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information and the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell; Rama, [0210]-[0211] discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a RAT-High Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH indicating a signal threshold that must be exceeded by the received signal strength of a higher priority LTE neighbor cell for it to be considered a candidate for cell reselection and the UE may modify the Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-High parameter in the default parameter set as a function of Low Serving Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.ServingLow collected from SIB3 and a Low RAT Threshold parameter such as Thresh.sub.X-Low collected from SIB7 and the Thresh.sub.ServingLow parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the serving LTE signal cell must drop to for the UE to consider a lower priority RAT as a candidate for reselection and the Thresh.sub.X-Low parameter indicates a signal strength threshold that the signal strength of a lower priority inter RAT cell must exceed for the inter RAT cell to be considered a suitable cell reselection target and the UE may utilize a Thresh.sub.ServingLow from SIB3 and a Thresh.sub.X-Low from SIB7 as input parameters to a mapping function to generate a local Thresh.sub.E-UTRAN-HIGH parameter and discloses the local set of cell reselection parameters may comprise a neighbor RAT minimum received signal level parameter such as E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin indicating a minimum received signal strength required for an LTE cell to be considered suitable for camping by the UE and the UE may modify the E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter in the default parameter set as a function of the Q.sub.rxlevmin values collected from SIB1 and SIB5 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin values determined the minimum signal strength at which the LTE cell for SIB1 or the neighbor LTE cell for SIB5 must be received by the UE so as to be considered suitable for camping and the UE may map the Q.sub.rxlevmin parameter from SIB1 and the Q.sub.rxlevmin from SIB5 to generate a local E-UTRAN-Q.sub.rxlevmin reselection; Rama, [0018] discloses GSM to LTE inter-RAT transitions; Rama, [0187] discloses the UE may update one or more of the default cell reselection parameters based on cached system information and the cached system information comprises cell reselection parameters from one or more SIBs obtained, received and/or collected in previous connections with the second cell).
Rama discloses performing reselection across multiple different networks utilizing reselection parameters from SIBs but fails to explicitly disclose a SIB24 and an offset value and therefore fails to disclose “replace the second RAT threshold value in a SIB24 with a second RAT threshold value from a previously received second RAT SIB and an offset value; or replace the second RAT threshold value in a SIB24 with a first RAT threshold value from a previously received first RAT SIB and an offset value”.
In a related field of endeavor, Kinthada discloses:
replace the second RAT threshold value in a SIB with a second RAT threshold value from a previously received second RAT SIB and an offset value; or replace the second RAT threshold value in a SIB with a first RAT threshold value from a previously received first RAT SIB and an offset value (Kinthada, [0050] discloses the signal quality threshold may include an initial signal quality threshold TH1 and a signal quality offset and the initial signal quality threshold TH1 may be close in value to a threshServingLowQ value that could be set in LTE cells that use RSRQ-based cell selection/reselection, as communicated, for example, in one or more system information blocks SIBs and the signal quality offset A may also be experimentally determined and may be set so as to require that the FilteredRSRQ value be sufficiently greater than the initial signal quality threshold TH1 if the UE 115 is to remain camped on the LTE cell; Kinthada, [0029] discloses apply an offset to a measured RSRP value such that the offset favors the triggering of a cell selection / reselection operation and the offset may be applied so as to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells; Kinthada, [0005]-[0006] discloses a reference signal received power RSRP based cell selection or RSRP based cell reselection and discloses the offset RSRP may also be used to prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of Kinthada for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various different parameters including RSRQ and RSRP to perform reselection (Kinthada, [0050] & [0029]) which also prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality (Kinthada, [0006]) and to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells (Kinthada, [0029]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT, wherein the reselection parameters utilizes an RSRP threshold that includes an offset as taught by Kinthada) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Kinthada) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Rama in view of Kinthada fails to disclose “RAT threshold value in a SIB24”.
In a related field of endeavor, Matolia discloses:
RAT threshold value in a SIB24 (Matolia, [0036] discloses if the UE finds a network that supports a 5G SA, the UE checks SIB24-LTE for 5G NR reselection parameters; Matolia, [0038] discloses in case carrier settings persist and the UE opts to perform reselections in 5G NR, a local threshold is defined for the UE to move from FR1 to FR2 and the UE determines whether to perform reselection optimization based at least in part on the local threshold; Matolia, [0024] discloses carriers may have first camping to LTE and then reselection to 5G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama in view of Kinthada to incorporate the teachings of Matolia for the purpose of providing the system with a means to incorporate newer networks and perform the reselection process across various types of network situations including LTE to NR reselection (Matolia, [0024] & [0036]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT, wherein the second RAT is a NR RAT and wherein the SIBs include SIB24 as taught by Matolia) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT and a second RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Matolia) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandran et al. (US Patent Publication 2012/0322447 herein after referenced as Rama) in view of Kinthada Venkata et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0373995 herein after referenced as Kinthada).
Regarding claim 13, Rama discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
Rama discloses performing reselection across multiple different networks utilizing reselection parameters from SIBs that includes a signal strength threshold but fails to explicitly disclose a reference signal received power or received quality threshold and therefore fails to disclose “wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is one or more of: a second RAT reference signal received power threshold value or a second RAT reference signal received quality power threshold.”
In a related field of endeavor, Kinthada discloses:
wherein the modified second RAT threshold value is one or more of: a second RAT reference signal received power threshold value or a second RAT reference signal received quality power threshold (Kinthada, [0050] discloses the signal quality threshold may include an initial signal quality threshold TH1 and a signal quality offset and the initial signal quality threshold TH1 may be close in value to a threshServingLowQ value that could be set in LTE cells that use RSRQ-based cell selection/reselection, as communicated, for example, in one or more system information blocks SIBs and the signal quality offset A may also be experimentally determined and may be set so as to require that the FilteredRSRQ value be sufficiently greater than the initial signal quality threshold TH1 if the UE 115 is to remain camped on the LTE cell; Kinthada, [0029] discloses apply an offset to a measured RSRP value such that the offset favors the triggering of a cell selection / reselection operation and the offset may be applied so as to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells; Kinthada, [0005]-[0006] discloses a reference signal received power RSRP based cell selection or RSRP based cell reselection and discloses the offset RSRP may also be used to prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rama to incorporate the teachings of Kinthada for the purpose of providing the system with a means to utilize various different parameters including RSRQ and RSRP to perform reselection (Kinthada, [0050] & [0029]) which also prevent the UE from quickly returning to a cell from which the UE has left due to poor signal quality (Kinthada, [0006]) and to discourage the UE from bouncing back and forth such as ping ponging between cells (Kinthada, [0029]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT as taught by Rama) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT, wherein the reselection parameters utilizes an RSRP threshold that includes an offset as taught by Kinthada) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device performing a process of a mobile device performing reselection between RATs utilizing reselection parameters in SIBs and the RATs including an LTE RAT (i.e. as taught by Rama & Kinthada) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645