DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai et al. (JP 2011-219470, “Arai” a machine translation of which has been provided and is used as the citation copy unless otherwise noted).
Regarding claim 1, Arai teaches a phenylgycidyl ether structure having an epoxy compound having a formula reading on that of claimed [Chem. 1] wherein an epoxy resin may be represented by formula (8) (see pp. 3-4; and see pp. 3-5 of originally filed Japanese application for structures, which are further described herein)
and wherein the X group may be the following, formula (11) (see pp. 3-4; and see pp. 3-5 of originally filed Japanese application).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Arai further teaches the inclusion of a curing agent (see, e.g., [p. 27, curing agent [C], which may be an imidazole compound), and an additional epoxy compound (see p. 25, tri- or higher functional epoxy compound).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Arai additionally teaches that the resin may be used to create a cured product (e.g., p. 27, pp. 1-5).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Arai additionally teaches that the curable resin composition may be a one-pack curing type composition (see, e.g., p. 25, Examples pp. 33-40, wherein the resin may be created or used in a single setting).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Arai additionally teaches that the amount of curing agent may be adjusted so as to modify the mechanical properties of the resultant product and would have been obvious to have modified the amount of curing agent to with the range of from 0.01 to 100 pats by mass per 100 parts by mass of the tri- or higher functional epoxy in order to provide a product having a suitable elastic modulus (see pp. 27-28, 38-40). The Examiner notes that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Please see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, Arai additionally teaches that the amount of curing agent may be adjusted so as to modify the mechanical properties of the resultant product (p. 27). Arai additionally teaches that the glycidyl type epoxy resin may be on the range of 30 to 70 parts by mass of the total epoxy component (p. 27). It therefore would have been obvious to have modified the amount of curing agent to with the range of from 0.01 to 100 pats by mass per 100 parts by mass of the glycidyl type epoxy resin (p. 27) in order to provide a product having a suitable elastic modulus (see pp. 27-28, 38-40).
Regarding claim 7, Arai additionally teaches that the resin may be used to create a cured product (e.g., p. 27, pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 8, Arai additionally teaches that the curable resin composition may be a one-pack curing type composition (see, e.g., p. 25, Examples pp. 33-40, wherein the resin may be created or used in a single setting).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Arai additionally teaches that the amount of curing agent may be adjusted so as to modify the mechanical properties of the resultant product (p. 27). Arai additionally teaches that the glycidyl type epoxy resin may be on the range of 30 to 70 parts by mass of the total epoxy component (p. 27). It therefore would have been obvious to have modified the amount of curing agent to with the range of from 0.01 to 100 pats by mass per 100 parts by mass of the glycidyl type epoxy resin (p. 27) in order to provide a product having a suitable elastic modulus (see pp. 27-28, 38-40).
Regarding claims 13 - 15, Arai additionally teaches that the resin may be used to create a cured product (e.g., p. 27, pp. 1-5).
Regarding claims 16 -18, Arai additionally teaches that the curable resin composition may be a one-pack curing type composition (see, e.g., p. 25, Examples pp. 33-40, wherein the resin may be created or used in a single setting).
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Ota et al. (WO 01/014710, “Ota” a machine translation of which has been provided and is used as the citation copy unless otherwise noted).
Regarding claim 2, while Arai fails to specifically teach that the aminophenyl based compound comprises a ring having a bridged component (i.e., corresponding to structure a1 as claimed in claim 1). However, such structures are known in the art. For example, in the same field of endeavor of epoxy resin components (pp. 1-3), Ota teaches a structure that reads on the aminophenyl having a bridged ring component (see p. 7, figure I-d, shown below) and that such compounds are known to provide good properties when used in various resin products (see, e.g., pp. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a compound having a bridged aromatic structure in the aminophenyl portion of the descried epoxy, such as is shown in the below formula I-d, as such compounds are known to provide good mechanical properties (e.g., Ota, pp. 1-3). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known compound for another that would have provided predictable results (in this case the substitution of a compound having a bridged aromatic structure in the aminophenyl portion of the descried epoxy) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing (please see MPEP 2143). Thus the compound of formula (1A) as presently claimed would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 9, Arai further teaches the inclusion of a curing agent (see, e.g., [p. 27, curing agent [C], which may be an imidazole compound), and an additional epoxy compound (see p. 25, tri- or higher functional epoxy compound).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782