DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sridhar (US 4,210,426) or Smidt (WO 2017/158315).
The instant claim is drawn to an aliphatic alcohol, aliphatic amine, aliphatic acid, or an acrolein, obtained by a process according to claim 37 of the present invention. This is a product-by-process claim. However, of the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.
To that end, Sridhar discloses n-butanol and i-butanol, both compounds being aliphatic alcohols (ex.2). Smidt discloses ethylpropyl acrolein and propylbutyl acrolein (ex. 5-8). The instant claim is anticipated by the compounds disclosed by Sridhar or Smidt.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 21-39 are drawn to a process for separating heavy by-products and catalyst ligand from a vapor stream comprising an aldehyde, wherein a vapor stream comprising aldehyde, catalyst ligand, and heavy by-products are passed into a fractionator
The closest prior art of record, U.S. 4,792,636 to Hensman et al. teach a process for recovering aldehydes that comprises passing a vaporous stream comprising an aldehyde, ligand, and aldehyde condensation products to a fractionation zone.
Hensman et al. teach the recovery of a product stream containing aldehydes from the fractionation zone, and a liquid bottom stream containing the ligand and condensation products, and then recycling at least a part of the liquid bottom stream back to the hydroformylation zone.
The reference does not teach or suggest an additional step of passing the liquid bottom stream to a separation system, e.g., a distillation column, wherein the temperature at the bottom of the distillation column is greater than the temperature at the bottom of the fractionator, in order to remove any extra aldehydes from the liquid bottoms stream, as required in the present invention.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692