DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejection
The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1-4 as over Kim et al. (WO 2020/204430), made of record in the office action mailed on 10/02/2025, page 2 has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment in the response filed on 01/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-7, 9-14, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2020/204430) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2006/0229376).
Regarding claims 1, 20-21 Kim discloses deco film comprising: a protective layer composed of an organic film; and a black matrix which is patterned and formed on the front surface of the protective layer and composed of a monolayer organic film (abstract). The window film of the present invention may include a deco film described above, an adhesive layer bonded to the rear side of the separation layer of the deco film, and a functional layer bonded to the adhesive layer. In the window film of the present invention, the functional layer may be a transparent film, a polarizing plate, a touch sensor layer, a moisture-proof film, or an ultra-thin glass. Here, the ultra-thin glass may have a thickness of 25 to 50 μm (page 4). Kim discloses 110: protective layer 120: black matrix 130: planarization layer 140 (page 10, see figure 1 and 3).The black matrix 120 may be formed as a single layer of a thin film. The black resin composition is a composition containing a resin in which black pigment particles are dispersed, a binder resin, a polymerizable compound, a polymerizable initiator, an additive, etc., or a photocurable (thermosetting) resin composition containing a black pigment and having a black color. The black pigment may be carbon black, graphite, metal oxide, or the like. The black pigment may include an organic black pigment, and the organic black pigment may be aniline black, lactam black, or perylene black series. The additive may include an adhesion promoter, a photo-crosslinking sensitizer, a curing accelerator, a surfactant, a dispersant, an antioxidant, an ultraviolet absorber, a thermal polymerization inhibitor, a leveling agent, and the like, and may include one or more of these (page 6-7). The black matrix 120 may be patterned on the entire surface of the protective layer 110 to function as a light blocking layer to block light (page 6). The window film of the present invention may include a deco film described above, an adhesive layer bonded to the rear side of the separation layer of the deco film, and a functional layer bonded to the adhesive layer (page 4). Based on the figure 1 and 3, it is clear that film has uniform thickness.
The window film corresponds to outer substrate and adhesive layer or separation layer corresponds to inner substrate.
However, Kim fails to disclose light blocking layer comprises a light-reflective layer coupled to an inner surface of the visible light-blocking layer and configured to reflect the components of the externally introduced light except for the visible light component that is blocked by the visible light-blocking layer among the components of the light externally introduced from the outside to the inside of the film.
Whereas, Hayashi discloses curable resin composition having a high exposure sensitivity and a good developing property, and thereby capable of forming an accurate and precise pattern; a liquid crystal panel substrate on which a protective film for covering a color layer or spacers for a liquid crystal layer, by using the curable resin composition, hardly causing a color irregularity and contrast irregularity; and a liquid crystal panel using the liquid crystal panel substrate and having a superior display quality (abstract). Hayashi discloses a metal thin film such as chromium is formed as a light blocking layer on the transparent substrate 5 by a vapor deposition method (para 0240).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include chromium metal film as taught by Hayashi in the light blocking layer of Kim motivated by the desire to have high reflectivity for end use applications.
As Kim discloses window film comprising outer and inner substrate and a light blocking layer as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that visible light blocking layer comprising light reflective layer would intrinsically be configured to reflect the components of the externally introduced light except for the visible light component that is blocked by the visible light-blocking layer among the components of the light externally introduced from the outside to the inside of the film.
As Kim discloses black matrix layer which acts as light blocking layer comprising carbon black as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that light blocking layer would intrinsically prevent mirror phenomenon of the film and prevent thermal energy absorbed by the film from being re-emitted in to the inside of the film.
As Kim discloses window film comprising outer and inner substrate and a light blocking layer as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious that visible light blocking layer would intrinsically be configured to allow transmission of an infrared component of light externally introduced from the outside to the inside of the film but not to allow transmission of a visible light component.
As Kim in view of Hayashi discloses a window film comprising outer substrate, inner substrate, visible-light blocking layer, light-reflective layer and visible-light/infrared-ray blocking layer as presently claimed, it therefore would be obvious as seen from figure 1 and 3 and teaching of Hayashi that are each separate and discrete layer that are secured together.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the black resin composition is a composition containing a resin in which black pigment particles are dispersed, a binder resin, a polymerizable compound, a polymerizable initiator, an additive, etc., or a photocurable (thermosetting) resin composition containing a black pigment and having a black color. The black pigment may be carbon black, graphite, metal oxide, or the like. The black pigment may include an organic black pigment, and the organic black pigment may be aniline black, lactam black, or perylene black series. The additive may include an adhesion promoter, a photo-crosslinking sensitizer, a curing accelerator, a surfactant, a dispersant, an antioxidant, an ultraviolet absorber, a thermal polymerization inhibitor, a leveling agent, and the like, and may include one or more of these (page 6-7).
Although, Kim does not disclose the claimed amount of carbon black, curing agent, additive and solvent, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization motivated by the desire to have desired light blocking characteristics and improved optical density for the application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 8, 14 Kim discloses deco film comprising: a protective layer composed of an organic film; and a black matrix which is patterned and formed on the front surface of the protective layer and composed of a monolayer organic film (abstract). The window film of the present invention may include a deco film described above, an adhesive layer bonded to the rear side of the separation layer of the deco film, and a functional layer bonded to the adhesive layer. In the window film of the present invention, the functional layer may be a transparent film, a polarizing plate, a touch sensor layer, a moisture-proof film, or an ultra-thin glass. Here, the ultra-thin glass may have a thickness of 25 to 50 μm (page 4). Kim discloses 110: protective layer 120: black matrix 130: planarization layer 140 (page 10, see figure 1 and 3).The black matrix 120 may be formed as a single layer of a thin film. The black resin composition is a composition containing a resin in which black pigment particles are dispersed, a binder resin, a polymerizable compound, a polymerizable initiator, an additive, etc., or a photocurable (thermosetting) resin composition containing a black pigment and having a black color. The black pigment may be carbon black, graphite, metal oxide, or the like. The black pigment may include an organic black pigment, and the organic black pigment may be aniline black, lactam black, or perylene black series. The additive may include an adhesion promoter, a photo-crosslinking sensitizer, a curing accelerator, a surfactant, a dispersant, an antioxidant, an ultraviolet absorber, a thermal polymerization inhibitor, a leveling agent, and the like, and may include one or more of these (page 6-7). The black matrix 120 may be patterned on the entire surface of the protective layer 110 to function as a light blocking layer to block light (page 6). The window film of the present invention may include a deco film described above, an adhesive layer bonded to the rear side of the separation layer of the deco film, and a functional layer bonded to the adhesive layer (page 4).
Regarding claims 9-11, Kim discloses the black resin composition is a composition containing a resin in which black pigment particles are dispersed, a binder resin, a polymerizable compound, a polymerizable initiator, an additive, etc., or a photocurable (thermosetting) resin composition containing a black pigment and having a black color. The black pigment may be carbon black, graphite, metal oxide, or the like. The black pigment may include an organic black pigment, and the organic black pigment may be aniline black, lactam black, or perylene black series. The additive may include an adhesion promoter, a photo-crosslinking sensitizer, a curing accelerator, a surfactant, a dispersant, an antioxidant, an ultraviolet absorber, a thermal polymerization inhibitor, a leveling agent, and the like, and may include one or more of these (page 6-7).
Although, Kim does not disclose the claimed amount of carbon black, curing agent, additive and solvent, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization motivated by the desire to have desired light blocking characteristics and improved optical density for the application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claims 12-13, Kim in view of Hayashi fails to disclose metal oxide is selected from ATO, WO3 and ITO having a particle size in a range of 5-100 nm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include ATO, WO3 or ITO in the light blocking layer of Kim motivated by the desire to have improved conductivity and high transmittance.
Change in size and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/30/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as stated above. \
Applicant argues that Hayashi teaches that the chromium metal thin film is processed and formed for the production of black matrix layer 6 that is specifically design to block light. As such, at most Hayashi teaches that black matrix 120 of Kim could be replaced by black matrix layer 6 of Hayashi but there is no teaching that black matrix layer 6 of Hayashi would be used in conjunction with black matrix 120 of Kim. As such, the combination of Kim and Hayashi fails to disclose the combination of the "visible light-blocking layer" and "light-reflective layer," as recited in claim 1.
However, it should be noted that Hayashi is not used to teach chromium metal thin film and replace with black matrix layer 6, it is taught to include metal thin film in the light blocking layer which would yield the claimed window film structure as present and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include chromium metal film as taught by Hayashi in the light blocking layer of Kim motivated by the desire to have high reflectivity for end use applications and Kim does not disclose against adding additional metal thin layer in the light blocking layer.
Applicant argues that even assuming arguendo that it would be obvious to modify Kim to include the chromium metal thin film as taught by Hayashi and that the metal thin film produced a "light- reflective layer," a point that applicant does not concede, applicant submits that Kim and Hayashi, either independently or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the combination of the visible light-blocking layer, light-reflective layer, and visible-light/infrared-ray blocking layer, wherein each of the layers are "separate and discrete layers that are secured together," as recited in claim 1.
However, it should be noted that as seen in figure 1 and 3, all the layers are separate by itself and discrete and are attached together.
However, if the Applicant wants to overcome the Kim reference, Examiner proposes an amendment to recite, “visible light-blocking layer, light-reflective layer, and visible-light/infrared-ray blocking layer, wherein each of the layers are fully and completely attached with each other from end to end”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONAK C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788