DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 04 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 10, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the process fluid”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis (US 2,082,752):
Regarding claim 1, Lewis discloses an apparatus comprising a tube (a) with a length provided with stationary axial baffles (f’ or a subset thereof) mounted to provide a continuous gap between the baffles and the interior surface of the tube and further provided with axial stirrer blades (j’ or a subset thereof) which can be driven to sweep the gap.
Regarding claim 2, the tube is provide with connections (i,l) for feed and discharge.
Regarding claim 3, the intended use steps of this claim fail to further structurally limit the claimed structure. The structure of Lewis would be capable of being used in the recited manner.
Regarding claim 4, stationary radial baffles (j) within the plug flow length which do not extend into the gap.
Regarding claim 5, the tube is provided with covers (b, h) at its ends and the stirrer blades are held in position by a shaft (e) which passes through one end cover and the axial baffles are held in position by the opposing end cover.
Regarding claim 10, external jacket (a’’) is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 2,082,752) in view of Rainey (US 4,494,878). The apparatus of Lewis was discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, Lewis does not disclose axial and radial baffles being joined together by interlocking slots. Rainey teaches axial (11a-11d) and radial baffles (12) being joined together by interlocking slots (16, 19a-19b, 22a-22d) to form a rigid assembly without welding, bonding, screws or fixing bolts (see col. 1, lines 17-25). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized the interlocking slot arrangement of Rainey for the advantage of easier disassembly and cleaning (see col. 1, lines 17-25).
Regarding claim 7, Lewis further teaches mounting the axial and radial baffles on a baffle support shaft (i) as a slide fit.
Regarding claim 8, Rainey further teaches that the baffles are formed of a synthetic polymer (see col. 2, lines 14-22). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the baffles of synthetic polymer for the advantage of slight adjustment as explained by Rainey in col. 2, lines 14-22.
Regarding claim 9, the synthetic polymer taught by Rainey is polytetrafluorethylene (see col. 2, lines 14-22).
Claim 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US 2,082,752) in view of Webb (US 3,898,042). The apparatus of Lewis was discussed above.
Regarding claim 8, Lewis does not disclose the baffles being formed of a synthetic polymer. Webb teaches forming a baffle of synthetic polymer (see col. 13, lines 17-21). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have made the baffles of synthetic polymer for the advantage of non-stick properties as taught by Webb in col. 13, lines 17-21.
Regarding claim 9, the synthetic polymer taught by Webb is polytetrafluorethylene (see col. 13, lines 17-21).
Conclusion
DAVID L. SORKIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/DAVID L SORKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774